User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 72
  2. Negative: 31 out of 72

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2013
    2
    A total waste of money. The game must be named Errors of Might and Magic: Install error, Uplay error, crush errors, deleted saved games errors, etc etc etc
  2. May 5, 2013
    0
    I don't even own this game, but i feel i ought to write a review of it anyway, and here is why. When this game released on steam (not that it's even on steam, as you just download the files and then you get stuck with uplay crap), the heroes of might and magic 6 pack was on sale, i saw it and it looked interesting so i purchased. However due to the incredibly poor release of this game, i am unable to play my game. The release was so bad, it has effected me and i don't even own this. Ubisofts poor DRM and server/game issues are SOO bad, this games release has denied me access to the original game, as their server claims i don't have the game. Not just me, but a huge amount of people have this problem. Literally unbelievable, ubisoft should be ashamed. Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    0
    What a piece of I had the same results and the other reviewer, upon installing the game my progress in the main game was wiped. I remember having bought quite a bit of stuff from my dynasty points when i played the campaing when it came out, these are gone. My dynasty weapons are all back to level 1. Old save games are not there in their "cloud". My conclusion, before even playing the damned thing, is that it's a piece of do not buy. If they can't even get things as bloody obvious as that right... Expand
  4. May 2, 2013
    0
    Installing this standalone addon with the main game still installed deleted all savegames and achievement progress. Main game campaings are greyed out and can't be played anymore. Connecting to the Conflux often results in CTD. Dynasty weapons can't be unlocked, same thing happened after release of main game. Well done, Limbic and Ubisoft! *clap clap clap* Another release abusing the customers as beta testers. Do not buy until game is properly patched. Considering it's Ubisoft, that should happen... never. Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    0
    Completely broken servers, cant access your save games due to uplay cloud. what a waste of money. get your freaking act together Ubisoft, another disappointment.
  6. May 7, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Today again conflux go down. Cant play first days, cant play today, bugs with dynasty weapon that reduce cost of spells (its grow with each loading). at the end of first mission of necropolis mass agony cost 280 manna (must 40), than i have maximum 240. How people check storyline and other if this game broken so often? Cant play, bugs, nice start for this nice game Expand
  7. May 4, 2013
    0
    Heroes 6 base game was infested by bugs, uplay problems (thank you uplay for randomly delete my saves, sync not working, etc...). Limbic patches fixed some bugs but at the same time created more and more bugs. Guess what happened with this expansion? new bugs are discovered each day, even old bugs reappear! The game was officially to be released on 2 of MAy, but the whole day the servers were down and no chance playing. Damn you Ubisoft! You only ruin franchises and milk money from them, while punishing legal players Expand
  8. May 5, 2013
    3
    What a scum not only this game does not bring nothing new to the genre except from a new mostly boring campaign with the same disappointing gameplay elements as its predecessor it is also full with bugs and glitches. M&M6 and this expansion are just little shadows of what Might and Magic was as a series in the past. What a shame Ubisoft ruined the series...
  9. May 7, 2013
    0
    STEAM forums have been DISABLED for this product since it launched (which is my main reason for writing this review) That tells me something. The developers do not want people reading real time reviews... I wonder why? Also,If you look closely (check the reviewer's number of games reviewed) nearly every positive review is from someone who has reviewed only one game, this one. Then we have a mid level review (whoopya) pointing out how the negative reviews are all from people who just created accounts... my guess is that the people who made the game are hyping it because it's a pos just like the last pos they put out, and one shouldn't spend one's hard earned money on garbage that needs lies to bolster it's sales. Just a thought. Expand
  10. May 14, 2013
    0
    With rating the product as 0, I am deliberately overrating the product.
    Strictly speaking it deserves 8.5 for the game development and concept and -12 for the U-play system implementation.
    I am located in Shanghai, China. The game needs at least 20-30min to synchronize with Ubisoft servers, and most often fails much earlier prompting a U-play error. This is utterly ridiculous and defies
    any description.
    So, let's sum up: -12+8.5=-3.5. Since, I am not allowed to score -3.5, it get's a 0. Fair and square.
    Expand
  11. Jun 8, 2013
    4
    I really shouldn't be posting this as a review (this is my true score, but I don't want to detract from my point with a review of the actual game), but I figured it had to be said, and it is very relevant to the content of this particular game.

    Always-on DRM for single-player games is always cracked. Go to whatever tracker, and you can find this game running perfectly by people
    carefully bypassing the DRM. It functions better than the "real" game, and has shown Ubi's always-on DRM as both ineffective and extremely detrimental for players. Diablo 3 is cracked, Far Cry 3 is cracked, SC2 is cracked and multiplayer-capable through LAN (probably publicly online I don't keep up with piracy *that* much), even MMORPGs like WoW have private servers facilitating piracy (as well as legitimate modded and/or free-online play). WINDOWS is cracked iOS is cracked, everything is cracked, so devs need to quit thinking they can reinforce a dam when the water just flows over, anyway. Always-on DRM does NOT deter piracy. Once it's cracked, it's cracked, and no pirate cares what fancy ways the devs came up with to try curbing it, it's still easier to install and play pirated than legitimate. If the devs/pubs really cared, keep the DRM active and bugging people off until a cracked version is widely distributed in public, then de-activate the DRM, because it's no longer doing its job any better than CD keys. I wonder, sometimes, if devs purposefully go with publishers on outrageous DRM schemes just to show the publishers what a ridiculously pointless and horrible idea it is, and which will be criticized to no end by the people who PAID for (not pirated) the game. Expand
  12. Sep 8, 2013
    1
    A mostly-fun (but unoriginal) rehash of the Heroes formula. The game would be solid (an 8.0 or so), but the U-play DRM completely ruins the game. It crashes frequently, even four months after release. The cloud save system fails to save properly almost half the time. Overall, the DRM makes the game not worth playing. Sadly, paying customers suffer once again, in what is becoming an unbearable trait of the gaming industry as a whole. Don't buy this game. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    I did complain in this review but as a whole Shades of Darkness is the best thing Heroes VI has to offer. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.84]
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    If you are fans of Might and Magic: Heroes VI and you crave for some new content, the standalone expansion Shades of Darkness is a must-have. If you've never played the sixth installment, beware of a loads of unpleasant surprises originating in the game's strongly unbalanced AI.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    75
    The latest installment in the Might & Magic Heroes franchise might not be the best game ever in the series, but the complete edition filled with extra content will guaranteed keep you busy for hours. Whether you're new to the game or veteran.