Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This fully fledged expansion will feature a new fan-favorite faction to Heroes VI, Dungeon, led by the Dark Elves. The Dark Elves have left the forests of Irollan, made a pact with the mysterious Faceless and escaped extermination by becoming underground renegades - stealthy and reveredThis fully fledged expansion will feature a new fan-favorite faction to Heroes VI, Dungeon, led by the Dark Elves. The Dark Elves have left the forests of Irollan, made a pact with the mysterious Faceless and escaped extermination by becoming underground renegades - stealthy and revered assassins. This faction is introduced into an epic campaign that not only unveils unexplored territories of Ashan, but also recounts the mysterious origins of their people. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. May 17, 2013
    81
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    75
    The latest installment in the Might & Magic Heroes franchise might not be the best game ever in the series, but the complete edition filled with extra content will guaranteed keep you busy for hours. Whether you're new to the game or veteran.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    I did complain in this review but as a whole Shades of Darkness is the best thing Heroes VI has to offer. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.84]
  4. May 27, 2013
    65
    The game includes two campaigns, many objects, monsters, characters achievements and a brand new faction. Enough to make it interesting for old and new players even if the price is a little high and some big problems of the original are still there.
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    65
    A decent expansion, albeit not very exciting, to an extremely addicting original. It doesn't do anything to improve on the mistakes made by the original, but leans on the same strong, strategic layer. This expansion does characterize itself by providing players with a new faction, which is more than the previous two could say.
  6. May 28, 2013
    65
    The newest expansion for Heroes VI - Shades of Darkness - is worth your attention, but it's far from perfect. The new and improved dark elves with cloaking ability are a welcome thing. Unfortunately the game lacks proper balance between power and magic and commanding Realag's army doesn't give you the feeling of controlling a great force. Still - the fans will be pleased, because Shades do not deviate from a well liked, basic gameplay of Heroes VI.
  7. May 23, 2013
    40
    There are many games that will only appeal to "fans of the genre," but this goes farther than that and becomes a game that appeals to "fans of the series." It's not really a terrible thing, but it's not a great thing, either.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 13 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    Love this game and the series of Might and Magic. Very addictive and fun. Perhaps it can be considered too addictive.. :) Love it. VeryLove this game and the series of Might and Magic. Very addictive and fun. Perhaps it can be considered too addictive.. :) Love it. Very creative game! Takes some skill and thought to win and defeat your enemies. Expand
  2. May 7, 2013
    10
    Update: I just completed the Dungeon campaign today (managed to get into the game on the 2nd of May). Some people who have not played HeroesUpdate: I just completed the Dungeon campaign today (managed to get into the game on the 2nd of May). Some people who have not played Heroes of Might and Magic V may probably not understand some parts of the story line, but that isn't critical to the game. I did have some occasional glitches in the battle maps (map items like rocks, braziers etc appearing very large, absence of gridlines), but nothing really that significant that a reload couldn't solve. The only glitch that I couldnt not find a solution for, was the mana required to cast some of Sorshan's spells. Mass regeneration takes up like 40 mana, but Mass Drain Life 217 mana, especially frm a Magic Hero? Seems like a bug? But that said, it wasn't a biggie since the main hero i.e Raelag, wasn't affected by the bug.

    I hope those who had problems with the game will give the game a chance...assuming you guys can get into the game i.e Sure, Ubisoft sucked in the DRM and Conflux, but once you get over that, and play the game proper, it is pretty good.

    (PS :when conflux was down today for server maintenance, I replayed the 1st HoMM campaign again offline, just to check if there my game had any problems that some people complained about. I played Duke Slava's 1st mission without any problems as well. I had also forgotten how funny Kraal and the orcs can be! (from my first play thru when HoMM 6 was first released).
    Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    10
    I pre-purchased the steam version, and after they got the uplay servers up running (that this takes a while is almost to be expectedI pre-purchased the steam version, and after they got the uplay servers up running (that this takes a while is almost to be expected nowadays), everything runs smoothly. I did not lose any data, campaign progess, save games or dynasty content. I suppose the user reporting this will get it all back once they connect to uplay again. The content is great, up until now (halfway in the first map). The new faction adds a new, tactically interesting play style. Everything I hoped for. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2014
    5
    It is incredibly annoying to have to be connected to UPlay. I am constantly having problems with it. I am updating my review though becauseIt is incredibly annoying to have to be connected to UPlay. I am constantly having problems with it. I am updating my review though because the game itself is actually pretty fun. Pain to run, though... Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    3
    What a scum not only this game does not bring nothing new to the genre except from a new mostly boring campaign with the same disappointingWhat a scum not only this game does not bring nothing new to the genre except from a new mostly boring campaign with the same disappointing gameplay elements as its predecessor it is also full with bugs and glitches. M&M6 and this expansion are just little shadows of what Might and Magic was as a series in the past. What a shame Ubisoft ruined the series... Collapse
  6. May 14, 2013
    0
    With rating the product as 0, I am deliberately overrating the product.
    Strictly speaking it deserves 8.5 for the game development and
    With rating the product as 0, I am deliberately overrating the product.
    Strictly speaking it deserves 8.5 for the game development and concept and -12 for the U-play system implementation.
    I am located in Shanghai, China. The game needs at least 20-30min to synchronize with Ubisoft servers, and most often fails much earlier prompting a U-play error. This is utterly ridiculous and defies any description.
    So, let's sum up: -12+8.5=-3.5. Since, I am not allowed to score -3.5, it get's a 0. Fair and square.
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2013
    0
    I don't even own this game, but i feel i ought to write a review of it anyway, and here is why. When this game released on steam (not thatI don't even own this game, but i feel i ought to write a review of it anyway, and here is why. When this game released on steam (not that it's even on steam, as you just download the files and then you get stuck with uplay crap), the heroes of might and magic 6 pack was on sale, i saw it and it looked interesting so i purchased. However due to the incredibly poor release of this game, i am unable to play my game. The release was so bad, it has effected me and i don't even own this. Ubisofts poor DRM and server/game issues are SOO bad, this games release has denied me access to the original game, as their server claims i don't have the game. Not just me, but a huge amount of people have this problem. Literally unbelievable, ubisoft should be ashamed. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews