• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    88
    Might & Magic Heroes VI is a solid installment of the popular turn-based strategy series, probably one of the best.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    87
    Stays true to the spirit of the old Heroes of Might & Magic games. There are some gameplay innovations, most of which are good, but basically it feels very familiar. Whether this is good or bad depends on the player, but overall Heroes VI is a fine specimen of an almost extinct genre. [Nov 2011]
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    85
    Heroes VI brings back the kind of game I thought I'd never see any more. It's rare to see a turn-based strategy game come from a major company these days, but Heroes VI goes back to the series' roots, and comes out with a great game.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    85
    Extends the tradition of complex strategy with infinite replayability that the series is known for. It is the perfect blend of RPG and turn-based strategy, giving players that like a personal relationship with the characters as well as those that simply enjoy sending nameless masses to their death something to love.
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    85
    An update that brings the series to current times. Maybe some of its changes will disappoint series followers, but it is as addictive as always. Classic gameplay, a great campaign, good community features and a great artistic design, this sixth entry in the series provides hours of fun.
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    85
    Here it is again, that good old Heroes feeling including the forget-about-time-syndrome and the just-one-more-level-excuses. We could write a lot more, but there's just that one battle to fight.
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    85
    Might & Magic Heroes VI is a solid installment of the series but definitely lacks innovation, but fans should check it out anyway even so it's not another Heroes III.
  8. Oct 11, 2011
    85
    Many of you will have a problem with accepting some of the new gaming solutions, for many this game will never surpass you-know-which installment of the series, but nevertheless you should give the new Heroes a chance. I don't regret the time spent with Heroes VI and truthfully - it gave me more satisfaction than playing HoMM V a few years back. There is no doubt that Ubisoft made a right choice by choosing a hungarian team to develop this game. I'm waiting for more.
  9. Oct 16, 2011
    84
    This is a huge, well-made title that stays true to the roots of the series without throwing in the towel and becoming a straight-up nostalgia trip. It can be punishing at times, and its elaborate plot is a spectacular misfire thanks to the horrendous voice acting, but it's a must-play for Might & Magic fans.
  10. Nov 27, 2011
    83
    Immersive, absorbing, annoying, and very long – if you're after getting a tan from your monitor, get in there.
  11. Oct 23, 2011
    83
    Its bells and whistles can be off-putting, but otherwise, Might & Magic: Heroes VI demonstrates why it's one of the longest-running series in strategy gaming.
  12. Oct 19, 2011
    83
    The nature of the franchise itself makes Heroes VI an excellent title for gamers who don't typically spend much time in the strategy genre, and if Black Hole and Ubisoft can entice an old hand like me to stick around as well, I consider it a success.
  13. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    A damn fine - if at times somewhat unforgiving - turn-based game with strategic depth and hours upon hours of play. [Christmas 2011, p.52]
  14. Nov 30, 2011
    80
    Engrossing exploration, diverse development, and challenging combat return in Might & Magic Heroes VI.
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    Heroes VI is a new step in the series' development: a step aside, but a step forward as well. [December 2011, p.75]
  16. 80
    Heroes have returned in very good shape. Part six of the Might & Magic saga comes with a great campaign and less micromanagement and the pure joy of exploring is still there. [Nov 2011]
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    Five years after the fifth chapter, the Might & Magic saga is renewed with enhanced graphics, tecnichal improvements, and a leading online support. Recommended to all strategy games addicts, the fans of the M&M Heroes saga or fantasy lovers looking for a new experience.
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Might and Magic Heroes VI is a great game. It brings back much of what veterans loved about the first few titles and remains feeling fresh and notoriously addictive.
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Those looking for a good turn based strategy RPG with a lengthy campaign will find a lot to like with Heroes VI
  20. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    All in all, Heroes 6 is a game worthy of its legendary name.
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    80
    Fans of strategy games and those looking for something a little different would be interested in the title. For beginners, there is a bit of a learning curve to get through and with an adjustable difficulty setting, you can easily take things slow. I just wish certain aspects of the game were explained a bit better.
  22. 80
    A triumphant return for the series, albeit one slightly spoiled by a ridiculous name change and irksome DRM. Nonetheless, the game manages to be simultaneously slick and expansive, complex yet simple to learn. As I myself discovered, if you're yet to try the series, now is a good time to get involved.
  23. Oct 27, 2011
    80
    Despite some difficulty balance issues Might & Magic Heroes VI is rich, full of missions, scenarios and maps. Definitely a good chapter of the M&M franchise that can be easily improved with a patch or two.
  24. Oct 25, 2011
    80
    Might and Magic Heroes VI may have some issues with battlefield tactics in the late game and its story, but the strategy remains a blast nonetheless.
  25. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    Graphical improvements as well as small game play changes make for another great game in the Heroes of Might & Magic series.
  26. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    While Heroes VI isn't a new book, it's an immensely satisfying sixth chapter.
  27. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    Heroes III and Heroes V combine into a great addition to the M&M universe. The many improvements offer one of the most challenging games in the market, albeit a bit frustrating due to its "cheap" A.I.
  28. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    Thanks to its strong narrative, solid gameplay and overall richness of contents, Might & Magic: Heroes VI proves to be an absolute must buy for any fan of the series. If you're not among them, you might want to take a look at it anyway.
  29. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    With the perfect blend of old and new, Might & Magic: Heroes VI manages to entertain just as much as its previous incarnations.
  30. Oct 14, 2011
    80
    A great sequel that is once again giving glory and pouring new blood to this legendary series. Heroes VI is a tribute to the finest titles of the series – a very good reason to play it.
  31. Oct 14, 2011
    80
    Might & Magic Heroes VI seems to be handling its innovations quite nicely. They add fluidity and dynamism to an already very appealing game, the scenario of which perfectly handles the license's richness. Too bad our review version didn't allow us to judge the balancing in multiplayer enough, nor its final polishing (it was quite bugged at the time of this review).
  32. Oct 21, 2011
    79
    A really good game but some new features or will divide its fanbase. It's better thant the fifth chapter, but will not top the previous installments of the series.
  33. 78
    If you've never played Heroes though, the current installment isn't that bad: 50 campaign hours, Hot Seat to keep my friends close, online multiplayer and many customization options. If the bugs are solved and the designers actually listen to the criticism, the next game will gain more favor.
  34. Oct 28, 2011
    78
    Fiddling with a well-loved formula is frequently a recipe for disaster, but Might and Magic Heroes VI manages to maintain the feel of the series while making the franchise relevant for a new generation.
  35. Dec 12, 2011
    76
    This is definitely not the high point of the series. Someone may need to return to the old drawing board.
  36. Nov 28, 2011
    75
    The more it gets patched, or the more its price drops, the more it will be worthwhile to check out.
  37. Oct 20, 2011
    75
    Might & Magic: Heroes VI is a refreshing look to the franchise, bringing it back to its roots without over-complicating its simple mechanics.
  38. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    As an attempt to create an old school game Might & Magic Heroes VI did not sweep me off my feet. It tries to bring back the old days and sometimes it does succeed but I couldn't shake off the feeling that I'm spending too much time with it and getting not enough fun in return. [November 2011, p.52]
  39. Oct 25, 2011
    70
    The last appearance in the Might & Magic series is a game that intentionally seeks to incorporate new regulars. Characteristics have been reduced and a more dynamic mechanical has been created. Its result is a product that can provide hours of fun but will hardly become our choice for a long time. The amount of technical errors can eventually scare the more impatient players but once corrected... we will find a game with enough quality.
  40. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  41. Oct 12, 2011
    70
    Might & Magic: Heroes VI is a turn-based strategy game that hails traditionalism and old design values. It is true to its predecessors, and fans won`t be disappointed despite the fact that it in many ways lacks evolution in gameplay and core mechanics.
  42. Nov 29, 2011
    61
    Might & Magic Heroes VI's entire experience is driven by repetitious, mechanical tactics; it should be reserved for those with masochistic tendencies. The average gamer should definitely pass this up.
  43. Nov 7, 2011
    61
    Heroes of Might and Magic VI isn't a bad game, per se; it's just that it's too safe.
  44. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    The real killjoy – and potential deal breaker – is the horrendous UPlay system's draconian requirement that you be connected to the internet at all times to play.
  45. Oct 19, 2011
    60
    I plan on playing more Heroes VI, and if you've enjoyed past Heroes game, you're going to enjoy this one, too. But it'd be nice to see Ubisoft try more new things and ditch their lousy online strategy.
  46. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    Most British gamers will find it unbearably obtuse and slow-winded but there's a depth of content and gameplay here that will still find its fans.
  47. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    Might & Magic Heroes VI follows the same concept as its predecessors, yet with more emphasis on the heroes this time around. Imbalanced and slow, but it is still easy to lose track of time while playing just a couple of more turns.
  48. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Might & Magic: Heroes VI can still be fixed with adequate patching, because the bugs really are its biggest problem.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 498 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 168
  2. Negative: 61 out of 168
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    First I want to dispel some of the myths you'll find in the mixed and negative reviews:
    1. You can move your units before battle, but you need
    to get a skill to do it. Had the reviewers who argue this isn't possible played beyond the tutorial they would have learned this.
    2. I do not have any graphical glitches whatsoever. It may be a driver issue for some, I'm running a Radeon 6970 so it might be an nVidia issue or something who knows.

    Okay so I really love this game. I think the graphics could be better and I think it's tough for the developers because so many people just want them to remake HOMM3. So for myself the really only issue I have with the game is no random maps and I'd like to see an option for even higher quality graphics.

    The new things they've brought in are quite welcome. I'm a huge fan of the massive skill tree. The previous option left you with random choices when you leveled up and you couldn't build the character you wanted. The tutorial shows you how to do just about everything so there's no need for confusion. The voice acting and music is good, and I also like the combat. So all in all a good game. I'm really excited to try out the multiplayer. And just a friendly reminder to all the whiners giving this a 0: you can place your troops, but it's a skill that you get when you level up. Play more of the game before you review it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Suprisingly good. I LOVED HoMM III as we all did, and hated IV and V, however this is remarkably good, and goes back to its roots more. It doesnt offer much new, although it feels very polished and well thought out. The game looks amazing in play, the graphics and animations really blend well, its not an easy game, and the AI whilst not genius level seems to offer a decent challenge for learning the game. You will get at least 40 hours play in single player alone. All in all a good addition to this series. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    It's great Might and Magic Return, good graphic, audio, interface, gameplay and great story. Music of Paul Romero is beautiful. Voice of actors is amazing. Big game for 40-60 hours, it's giving a lot of fun! Full Review »