Might & Magic: Heroes VI PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2011
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    70
    As an attempt to create an old school game Might & Magic Heroes VI did not sweep me off my feet. It tries to bring back the old days and sometimes it does succeed but I couldn't shake off the feeling that I'm spending too much time with it and getting not enough fun in return. [November 2011, p.52]
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    70
    The last appearance in the Might & Magic series is a game that intentionally seeks to incorporate new regulars. Characteristics have been reduced and a more dynamic mechanical has been created. Its result is a product that can provide hours of fun but will hardly become our choice for a long time. The amount of technical errors can eventually scare the more impatient players but once corrected... we will find a game with enough quality.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    70
    Might & Magic: Heroes VI is a turn-based strategy game that hails traditionalism and old design values. It is true to its predecessors, and fans won`t be disappointed despite the fact that it in many ways lacks evolution in gameplay and core mechanics.
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    61
    Might & Magic Heroes VI's entire experience is driven by repetitious, mechanical tactics; it should be reserved for those with masochistic tendencies. The average gamer should definitely pass this up.
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    61
    Heroes of Might and Magic VI isn't a bad game, per se; it's just that it's too safe.
  7. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    The real killjoy – and potential deal breaker – is the horrendous UPlay system's draconian requirement that you be connected to the internet at all times to play.
  8. Oct 19, 2011
    60
    I plan on playing more Heroes VI, and if you've enjoyed past Heroes game, you're going to enjoy this one, too. But it'd be nice to see Ubisoft try more new things and ditch their lousy online strategy.
  9. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    Most British gamers will find it unbearably obtuse and slow-winded but there's a depth of content and gameplay here that will still find its fans.
  10. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    Might & Magic Heroes VI follows the same concept as its predecessors, yet with more emphasis on the heroes this time around. Imbalanced and slow, but it is still easy to lose track of time while playing just a couple of more turns.
  11. Oct 25, 2011
    50
    Might & Magic: Heroes VI can still be fixed with adequate patching, because the bugs really are its biggest problem.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 535 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 179
  2. Negative: 67 out of 179
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    First I want to dispel some of the myths you'll find in the mixed and negative reviews:
    1. You can move your units before battle, but you need
    First I want to dispel some of the myths you'll find in the mixed and negative reviews:
    1. You can move your units before battle, but you need to get a skill to do it. Had the reviewers who argue this isn't possible played beyond the tutorial they would have learned this.
    2. I do not have any graphical glitches whatsoever. It may be a driver issue for some, I'm running a Radeon 6970 so it might be an nVidia issue or something who knows.

    Okay so I really love this game. I think the graphics could be better and I think it's tough for the developers because so many people just want them to remake HOMM3. So for myself the really only issue I have with the game is no random maps and I'd like to see an option for even higher quality graphics.

    The new things they've brought in are quite welcome. I'm a huge fan of the massive skill tree. The previous option left you with random choices when you leveled up and you couldn't build the character you wanted. The tutorial shows you how to do just about everything so there's no need for confusion. The voice acting and music is good, and I also like the combat. So all in all a good game. I'm really excited to try out the multiplayer. And just a friendly reminder to all the whiners giving this a 0: you can place your troops, but it's a skill that you get when you level up. Play more of the game before you review it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Suprisingly good. I LOVED HoMM III as we all did, and hated IV and V, however this is remarkably good, and goes back to its roots more. ItSuprisingly good. I LOVED HoMM III as we all did, and hated IV and V, however this is remarkably good, and goes back to its roots more. It doesnt offer much new, although it feels very polished and well thought out. The game looks amazing in play, the graphics and animations really blend well, its not an easy game, and the AI whilst not genius level seems to offer a decent challenge for learning the game. You will get at least 40 hours play in single player alone. All in all a good addition to this series. Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    It's great Might and Magic Return, good graphic, audio, interface, gameplay and great story. Music of Paul Romero is beautiful. Voice ofIt's great Might and Magic Return, good graphic, audio, interface, gameplay and great story. Music of Paul Romero is beautiful. Voice of actors is amazing. Big game for 40-60 hours, it's giving a lot of fun! Full Review »