Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 100
    From the second that I stepped into the game's world and into the first village that would become a base of operation for a few subsequent hours, I was hooked as wave after wave of nostalgia hit me.
  2. With Legacy, Might & Magic returns to its roots, and combining with modern elements and map editor, the possibilities are endless.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    85
    Might and Magic X: Legacy is a huge comeback for the series and a great way to celebrate the brand.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    83
    It’s a completely satisfying nostalgia romp for the old-school PC gamer, and an accessible, modern delve into the core PC RPG.
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    82
    Legacy is the "return of the old-school rpg”. The turn based combat is well done, but not perfectly balanced. The development of the four hero-characters, chosen from 12 playable classes, is motivating, because there is much room to specialize them. The story is classic fantasy stuff, mostly told within text windows. Some technical issues like the bad performance in the open-world areas can be frustrating sometimes. But in the end, Legacy offers much old fashioned and charming rpg content from good old M&M-days.
  6. 80
    A perfect blend of the old and the new, which shows that archaic gameplay can still be lots of fun. [Issue #239]
  7. Mar 28, 2014
    80
    While it's clearly not a game for everyone, fans of the original series will find a lot to fall in love with, and at a bargain price to boot. [Apr 2014, p.54]
  8. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    An anachronism? Not necessarily. The number ten is standing on modern feet, and if it took you into the past, then only with those feelings of intoxication that you will grow together with your adventurers party, whom you aid fight their way through to reach treasures, arcanums, and naturally their eternal glory.
  9. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Might & Magic X is a well-designed game that demands some patience. It's definitely not the prettiest and has some irritating technical issues, but all in all is a great return of an old franchise. It generates lots of old-school fun and will generate even more (hundreds of hours of gameplay are possible, the developers only have to deliver on their promise to make modders' lives easier).
  10. Jan 24, 2014
    80
    It's my new favorite installment in the series, and it offers a great example of how to update old-fashioned RPG mechanics for the present day.
  11. Jan 31, 2014
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Feb 13, 2014
    78
    Might & Magic X Legacy is not only a faithful tribute to one of gaming’s most lauded RPG series but also a solid, time devouring RPG.
  13. Jan 27, 2014
    78
    Might & Magic Legacy X is not a retro masterpiece as someone expected, but at the same time it's not just a simple exercise of nostalgic role playing gaming. It's rather an imperfect mix of the two and if you liked the old episodes of the series, you're gonna like this too.
  14. Jan 23, 2014
    78
    A great choice for those looking for a classic RPG experience. It needs some extra polish, but at the end of the day is a satisfying experience.
  15. Jan 28, 2014
    75
    Fantastic work to bring us back to the M&M IV & V era. It is not as good as the best works of New World Computing, but it´s very good on its own merits and a joy for anyone looking back to those years.
  16. Jan 24, 2014
    75
    Legacy is a great choice for classic RPG gamers and a great comeback for the Might & Magic series.
  17. Jan 23, 2014
    75
    Might and Magic X: Legacy is an uncompromisingly old school trip into forgotten territories. It’s a risky move, but it’s one that should attract plenty of gamers who want less new school action and a more cerebral roll of the dice in their RPGs.
  18. Jan 28, 2014
    73
    As an old-school dungeon crawling experience that doesn't shy away from punishing you for errors, Legacy usually delivers.
  19. Jan 23, 2014
    73
    What gives Legacy its old school charm though is that as much as it's weighed down by an obviously low budget and the mechanical sacrifices of jumping back a decade, there's a love for its style underpinning the action. The result isn't likely to do much for anyone raised on a diet of The Elder Scrolls, and even at its best is a nostalgia trip rather than call for revolution.
  20. Apr 13, 2014
    70
    It is not easy to sum up a game like Might & Magic X: Legacy. It is beyond reasonable doubt a game largely based on nostalgia, but at the same time is honest and well made.
  21. Mar 12, 2014
    70
    Legacy doesn't convey the greatest of first impressions, but the more you explore of the game's venerable interior the more you find yourself falling under its spell. [Issue#145, p.129]
  22. Mar 12, 2014
    70
    The pros and cons of Might and Magic X: Legacy are more straightforward here than they tend to be for the series.
  23. Feb 19, 2014
    70
    While it is wonderful that Might & Magic is back with us after so many years, it is a bit frustrating that it is enclosed in a new generic fantasy world. Nevertheless, its brutal gameplay and dungeon crawling is back with a bang and fans of the series will be well rewarded by returning to the cradle of western RPGs.
  24. Feb 19, 2014
    70
    Look up ‘old-school’ in the dictionary and it might very well have a screenshot of Might & Magic X included. Gamers that grew up with turn & tile-based RPG’s will get exactly what they remember, including technical faults. Newcomers might just run for their lives.
  25. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    So I guess I’m still looking for that perfect old-school D&D experience, something that pays homage to the way those games used to play while at the same time integrating some newer gaming facets to smooth over the roughest edges and sharpest corners of the old gaming world. M&MX is not that game.
  26. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    A messy, bland RPG that might attract some for its nostalgic powers.
  27. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    A bit buggy and a bit uninventive, but a loving, enjoyable tribute to RPGs of olde.
  28. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    Might & Magic X presents a chance to re-ignite the love of this kind of game as if they hadn't been gone for the last two decades.
  29. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    If Legend of Grimrock is the mysterious and deadly dungeon crawler counterpart to Dark Souls, then Might & Magic X is closely related to Diablo 3: colorful, entertaining and full of loot- but almost without any sense of danger.
  30. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    Might & Magic 10: Legacy feels like a pleasant throwback to dungeon crawls of decades past, but its limited scope and combat-heavy focus might put off those pining for the freedom afforded by the more recent Elder Scrolls games, or the wordy character interaction of a Dragon Age.
  31. Mar 10, 2014
    69
    Oddly comforting. [Apr 2014, p.78]
  32. Feb 3, 2014
    65
    For the people of the nostalgic factor, Might & Magic X Legacy is a great game. It does, however, have no story whatsoever and feels quite outdated. Legacy is a game for a certain group of people.
  33. Jan 23, 2014
    65
    What good is a fully 3D world when you can’t touch or interact with hardly anything? What sense does it make that you can’t run away from an encounter in which you’re clearly outmatched (or even move once you’re in melee rage, for that matter)?...These glaring issues, combined with a general lack of polish, make for an experience that just doesn’t live up to my fond memories of Might & Magic.
  34. Jan 23, 2014
    65
    These caveats are not minor ones, and it's important that people don't rush into buying the game from blind nostalgia without some idea of its not inconsiderable technical deficiencies.
  35. Mar 9, 2014
    60
    Brutal and decidedly old fashioned but definitely enjoyable if you had fond memories of gaming in the 90s. [Apr 2014, p.66]
  36. Feb 19, 2014
    60
    Might & Magic X - Legacy has the potential to be a fantastic and challenging party-based RPG in the style of old games from the genre. It is more focused on exploration and combat than it is on story. There are some weak presentation issues that hold it back a little and unfortunately, intolerable performance issues that are a fatal blow.
  37. Feb 3, 2014
    60
    Hardcore fans of old school western RPG’s may have a good time, but the majority will find it confusing and uninspired.
  38. Jan 26, 2014
    60
    If nostalgia drives you to visit this particular kingdom, you'll not likely regret the time spend there. If your good old days weren't brimming with games of this nature, it's more difficult to appreciate the take-no-prisoners challenge and overlook the limitations.
  39. Mar 2, 2014
    58
    It’s not so much a resurrection of a cult series, as just a pale imitation, complete with familiar names and sound effects, but devoid of depth and charm. Not much of a legacy, I’m afraid.
  40. Mar 5, 2014
    55
    Additional proof that it’s better to relive fond memories in your head than resurrect them and be disappointed that turning back time went wrong. There’s a reason for the evolution the RPG genre underwent. 20-year-old gameplay mechanics today are wearisome and frustrating. And Legacy does not even serve them in modern wrapping, because the visuals are a decade old. [03/2014, p.62]
  41. Jan 30, 2014
    55
    Might and Magic X is an unabashedly old school RPG experience that, despite on or two high notes, often only serves to remind us why so many of these mechanics were relegated to history.
  42. Feb 11, 2014
    50
    Might & Magic X offers an average gameplay with some good intentions, but it is poor in terms of graphics and unbalanced in its difficulty curve.
  43. Jan 26, 2014
    50
    Authentically retro but then many games are these days and Legacy’s dungeon-crawling action is not nearly as entertaining as the best of its rivals.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 246 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 84
  2. Negative: 21 out of 84
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is
    retro done right - no weird art styles to make the game "look" retro, instead they took an old game system and rejuvenated it . The entire game is turn based - in dungeons and overworld. And every step has to be thought about. The fights are brutally hard, even on adventurer level. If you don't think about every choice, you're going to die.

    The loot is interesting. The battles are fun. The enemies are varied. The overworld has a lot of interesting stuff - exploration pays off, that square of land a few steps away may contain some loose dirt that needs to be dug in, or a hidden shrine to some god tucked away on the side that will give you valuable benefits you may *need* to get past the next fight.

    Fights are tough but fair. Magic is interesting. Character/racial choices have a huge effect on gameplay - for example some characters may only be able to get to "novice" on swordplay, whereas someone else may be able to become a grand master. (There are four levels: Novice, expert, master, grandmaster, for every skill.) If you particularly want a grandmaster healer, you better pick the right race AND occupation.

    There are a few minor blemishes - movements keys are set up so that WASD, rather than being what most people are probably used to, is Forward/Left/Backward/Right. But as the keys are reconfigurable you can fix this in seconds. Also on the overworld map trees spin in place each time you take a step. Minor stuff indeed.

    What you need to know is, this game is FUN. Not because it's retro, but because it's tough but fair and thought is rewarded. It's as if chess and D&D had a beautiful baby.

    If you like RPG's or if you like strategy, TRY THIS GAME.

    I can't wait to see what the devs do next. I congratulate them for a wonderful first outing and I'm really hoping they do an M&M XI.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic return to form for the classic M&M franchise. This returns to the series roots of turn based, strategic, grid based gameplay. These classic elements enhance strategy over twitch reflexes and promote deep character promotion. Experimentation with party builds and a decent range of skills have been generally missing in the last decade of gaming and its great to see these come back. The fresh and cartoony graphics are rather enjoyable (given a reportedly limited budget) but really help throw the series into this decade. All in all a great game for people who love a serious RPG classic! Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Hi, I have played all of the Heroes games, the favorite one is 6, partially due to the fact that I had never really gotten into the old universe and its lore. It just looked bizarre to me, with its mix of sci-fi and fantasy and the overall feel. So, from the Might and Magic series I have only played 6, 8 and 9, with 9 being my favorite. I did lay some tile-based RPG such as Eye of Beholder, and others. So to me the main reason for buying this game was the Ashan universe, which I love, and the overall game experience that I thought would be similar to 9. Well, its not really. But that's the good thing. Because this game is awesome.

    This game is very brave, I give you respect for trying out such a game in this period of mindless shooters. So thank you devs. At first, it was hard t o me to get into tile-based game like that, but the more I play the more I love it! It has its unique feel and charm to it, so please don't change it to a free roam in out of battle situations. However, I am all for more speedy movements out of battle when holding W for example.

    The game is very vivid and colourful. Despite some washed out textures, I think the game looks extremely good. It is a thinking man game. So many possibilities! Skills stats, spells, hirelings. Love all these old-school mechanics. Teamwork Other players made a lot of suggestions lately, and I agree with most of them. But just some points I would like to make:

    About reusing Heroes 6/DoC assets: at first, I thought it was a bad idea but in the game it looks really fitting and impressive. So don't worry about that, at least for me, even though I played a lot of heroes 6, it does not seem boring or repetitious.

    Overall thank you for making this game, I wish you all the luck and success.

    Solid 9.
    Full Review »