Might & Magic X: Legacy PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jan 23, 2014
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    From the second that I stepped into the game's world and into the first village that would become a base of operation for a few subsequent hours, I was hooked as wave after wave of nostalgia hit me.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    87
    Might and Magic X: Legacy is a shamelessly old-school RPG made for us raised on Might and Magic and Eye of Beholder. It's a fine romp even without the nostalgia. The generic setting lacks personality, like some of the quirky aspects of Jon van Caneghem's old Might and Magic games, but solid combat system with spot on difficulty curve makes up for it. Budget production values show on how much some of the assets are recycled throughout, and the fairly short adventure never reaches truly epic proportions, but despite that I'd adventure more in a world like this. [March 2014]
  3. With Legacy, Might & Magic returns to its roots, and combining with modern elements and map editor, the possibilities are endless.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    85
    Might and Magic X: Legacy is a huge comeback for the series and a great way to celebrate the brand.
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    83
    It’s a completely satisfying nostalgia romp for the old-school PC gamer, and an accessible, modern delve into the core PC RPG.
  6. Jan 30, 2014
    82
    Legacy is the "return of the old-school rpg”. The turn based combat is well done, but not perfectly balanced. The development of the four hero-characters, chosen from 12 playable classes, is motivating, because there is much room to specialize them. The story is classic fantasy stuff, mostly told within text windows. Some technical issues like the bad performance in the open-world areas can be frustrating sometimes. But in the end, Legacy offers much old fashioned and charming rpg content from good old M&M-days.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    80
    A perfect blend of the old and the new, which shows that archaic gameplay can still be lots of fun. [Issue #239]
  8. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 28, 2014
    80
    While it's clearly not a game for everyone, fans of the original series will find a lot to fall in love with, and at a bargain price to boot. [Apr 2014, p.54]
  9. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    An anachronism? Not necessarily. The number ten is standing on modern feet, and if it took you into the past, then only with those feelings of intoxication that you will grow together with your adventurers party, whom you aid fight their way through to reach treasures, arcanums, and naturally their eternal glory.
  10. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    Might & Magic X is a well-designed game that demands some patience. It's definitely not the prettiest and has some irritating technical issues, but all in all is a great return of an old franchise. It generates lots of old-school fun and will generate even more (hundreds of hours of gameplay are possible, the developers only have to deliver on their promise to make modders' lives easier).
  11. Jan 24, 2014
    80
    It's my new favorite installment in the series, and it offers a great example of how to update old-fashioned RPG mechanics for the present day.
  12. Jan 31, 2014
    79
    It's old fashioned, but interesting and motivating and can make time fly - but if you expect a fast-travel feature or like to moan about bad drop rates, stay away from this one.
  13. Feb 13, 2014
    78
    Might & Magic X Legacy is not only a faithful tribute to one of gaming’s most lauded RPG series but also a solid, time devouring RPG.
  14. Jan 27, 2014
    78
    Might & Magic Legacy X is not a retro masterpiece as someone expected, but at the same time it's not just a simple exercise of nostalgic role playing gaming. It's rather an imperfect mix of the two and if you liked the old episodes of the series, you're gonna like this too.
  15. Jan 23, 2014
    78
    A great choice for those looking for a classic RPG experience. It needs some extra polish, but at the end of the day is a satisfying experience.
  16. Jan 28, 2014
    75
    Fantastic work to bring us back to the M&M IV & V era. It is not as good as the best works of New World Computing, but it´s very good on its own merits and a joy for anyone looking back to those years.
  17. Jan 24, 2014
    75
    Legacy is a great choice for classic RPG gamers and a great comeback for the Might & Magic series.
  18. Jan 23, 2014
    75
    Might and Magic X: Legacy is an uncompromisingly old school trip into forgotten territories. It’s a risky move, but it’s one that should attract plenty of gamers who want less new school action and a more cerebral roll of the dice in their RPGs.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 103
  2. Negative: 28 out of 103
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is retro done right - no weird art styles to make the game "look" retro, instead they took an old game system and rejuvenated it . The entire game is turn based - in dungeons and overworld. And every step has to be thought about. The fights are brutally hard, even on adventurer level. If you don't think about every choice, you're going to die.

    The loot is interesting. The battles are fun. The enemies are varied. The overworld has a lot of interesting stuff - exploration pays off, that square of land a few steps away may contain some loose dirt that needs to be dug in, or a hidden shrine to some god tucked away on the side that will give you valuable benefits you may *need* to get past the next fight.

    Fights are tough but fair. Magic is interesting. Character/racial choices have a huge effect on gameplay - for example some characters may only be able to get to "novice" on swordplay, whereas someone else may be able to become a grand master. (There are four levels: Novice, expert, master, grandmaster, for every skill.) If you particularly want a grandmaster healer, you better pick the right race AND occupation.

    There are a few minor blemishes - movements keys are set up so that WASD, rather than being what most people are probably used to, is Forward/Left/Backward/Right. But as the keys are reconfigurable you can fix this in seconds. Also on the overworld map trees spin in place each time you take a step. Minor stuff indeed.

    What you need to know is, this game is FUN. Not because it's retro, but because it's tough but fair and thought is rewarded. It's as if chess and D&D had a beautiful baby.

    If you like RPG's or if you like strategy, TRY THIS GAME.

    I can't wait to see what the devs do next. I congratulate them for a wonderful first outing and I'm really hoping they do an M&M XI.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Hi, I have played all of the Heroes games, the favorite one is 6, partially due to the fact that I had never really gotten into the oldHi, I have played all of the Heroes games, the favorite one is 6, partially due to the fact that I had never really gotten into the old universe and its lore. It just looked bizarre to me, with its mix of sci-fi and fantasy and the overall feel. So, from the Might and Magic series I have only played 6, 8 and 9, with 9 being my favorite. I did lay some tile-based RPG such as Eye of Beholder, and others. So to me the main reason for buying this game was the Ashan universe, which I love, and the overall game experience that I thought would be similar to 9. Well, its not really. But that's the good thing. Because this game is awesome.

    This game is very brave, I give you respect for trying out such a game in this period of mindless shooters. So thank you devs. At first, it was hard t o me to get into tile-based game like that, but the more I play the more I love it! It has its unique feel and charm to it, so please don't change it to a free roam in out of battle situations. However, I am all for more speedy movements out of battle when holding W for example.

    The game is very vivid and colourful. Despite some washed out textures, I think the game looks extremely good. It is a thinking man game. So many possibilities! Skills stats, spells, hirelings. Love all these old-school mechanics. Teamwork Other players made a lot of suggestions lately, and I agree with most of them. But just some points I would like to make:

    About reusing Heroes 6/DoC assets: at first, I thought it was a bad idea but in the game it looks really fitting and impressive. So don't worry about that, at least for me, even though I played a lot of heroes 6, it does not seem boring or repetitious.

    Overall thank you for making this game, I wish you all the luck and success.

    Solid 9.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    If you liked oldschool M&M games youll like this, if you however expect it to be a complete copy and clone of those games you will beIf you liked oldschool M&M games youll like this, if you however expect it to be a complete copy and clone of those games you will be dissapointed as the game is "modernized" to a certain degree (graphics/simpler skill interface)

    So far all the mainstream reviewers are critizising the game for "not revolutionizing or doing something new" i can only cringe and how idiotic "professional" reviewers can be when they review a game that is suppose to be a throw back to older grid based/turnbased RPGs and complain its not doing something vastly diffrent or copying Skyrim

    Im addicted to this game and thinking about playing it everyday, i havent had one mainstream game do that for me yet, so for that i give it a 9
    Full Review »