Might & Magic X: Legacy PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Jan 23, 2014

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    As an old-school dungeon crawling experience that doesn't shy away from punishing you for errors, Legacy usually delivers.
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    If nostalgia drives you to visit this particular kingdom, you'll not likely regret the time spend there. If your good old days weren't brimming with games of this nature, it's more difficult to appreciate the take-no-prisoners challenge and overlook the limitations.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    Might & Magic 10: Legacy feels like a pleasant throwback to dungeon crawls of decades past, but its limited scope and combat-heavy focus might put off those pining for the freedom afforded by the more recent Elder Scrolls games, or the wordy character interaction of a Dragon Age.
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 10, 2014
    Oddly comforting. [Apr 2014, p.78]
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    So I guess I’m still looking for that perfect old-school D&D experience, something that pays homage to the way those games used to play while at the same time integrating some newer gaming facets to smooth over the roughest edges and sharpest corners of the old gaming world. M&MX is not that game.
  6. games(TM)
    Mar 12, 2014
    Legacy doesn't convey the greatest of first impressions, but the more you explore of the game's venerable interior the more you find yourself falling under its spell. [Issue#145, p.129]
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    It is not easy to sum up a game like Might & Magic X: Legacy. It is beyond reasonable doubt a game largely based on nostalgia, but at the same time is honest and well made.
  8. Jan 23, 2014
    What gives Legacy its old school charm though is that as much as it's weighed down by an obviously low budget and the mechanical sacrifices of jumping back a decade, there's a love for its style underpinning the action. The result isn't likely to do much for anyone raised on a diet of The Elder Scrolls, and even at its best is a nostalgia trip rather than call for revolution.
  9. Feb 3, 2014
    For the people of the nostalgic factor, Might & Magic X Legacy is a great game. It does, however, have no story whatsoever and feels quite outdated. Legacy is a game for a certain group of people.
  10. Feb 19, 2014
    Look up ‘old-school’ in the dictionary and it might very well have a screenshot of Might & Magic X included. Gamers that grew up with turn & tile-based RPG’s will get exactly what they remember, including technical faults. Newcomers might just run for their lives.
  11. Jan 26, 2014
    Authentically retro but then many games are these days and Legacy’s dungeon-crawling action is not nearly as entertaining as the best of its rivals.
  12. Feb 11, 2014
    Might & Magic X offers an average gameplay with some good intentions, but it is poor in terms of graphics and unbalanced in its difficulty curve.
  13. Jan 23, 2014
    If Legend of Grimrock is the mysterious and deadly dungeon crawler counterpart to Dark Souls, then Might & Magic X is closely related to Diablo 3: colorful, entertaining and full of loot- but almost without any sense of danger.
  14. CD-Action
    Mar 5, 2014
    Additional proof that it’s better to relive fond memories in your head than resurrect them and be disappointed that turning back time went wrong. There’s a reason for the evolution the RPG genre underwent. 20-year-old gameplay mechanics today are wearisome and frustrating. And Legacy does not even serve them in modern wrapping, because the visuals are a decade old. [03/2014, p.62]
  15. Jan 23, 2014
    These caveats are not minor ones, and it's important that people don't rush into buying the game from blind nostalgia without some idea of its not inconsiderable technical deficiencies.
  16. Feb 3, 2014
    Hardcore fans of old school western RPG’s may have a good time, but the majority will find it confusing and uninspired.
  17. Feb 19, 2014
    While it is wonderful that Might & Magic is back with us after so many years, it is a bit frustrating that it is enclosed in a new generic fantasy world. Nevertheless, its brutal gameplay and dungeon crawling is back with a bang and fans of the series will be well rewarded by returning to the cradle of western RPGs.
  18. Jan 30, 2014
    Might and Magic X is an unabashedly old school RPG experience that, despite on or two high notes, often only serves to remind us why so many of these mechanics were relegated to history.
  19. Feb 3, 2014
    A messy, bland RPG that might attract some for its nostalgic powers.
  20. Jan 23, 2014
    A bit buggy and a bit uninventive, but a loving, enjoyable tribute to RPGs of olde.
  21. Mar 2, 2014
    It’s not so much a resurrection of a cult series, as just a pale imitation, complete with familiar names and sound effects, but devoid of depth and charm. Not much of a legacy, I’m afraid.
  22. Jan 23, 2014
    Might & Magic X presents a chance to re-ignite the love of this kind of game as if they hadn't been gone for the last two decades.
  23. Feb 19, 2014
    Might & Magic X - Legacy has the potential to be a fantastic and challenging party-based RPG in the style of old games from the genre. It is more focused on exploration and combat than it is on story. There are some weak presentation issues that hold it back a little and unfortunately, intolerable performance issues that are a fatal blow.
  24. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 9, 2014
    Brutal and decidedly old fashioned but definitely enjoyable if you had fond memories of gaming in the 90s. [Apr 2014, p.66]
  25. Jan 23, 2014
    What good is a fully 3D world when you can’t touch or interact with hardly anything? What sense does it make that you can’t run away from an encounter in which you’re clearly outmatched (or even move once you’re in melee rage, for that matter)?...These glaring issues, combined with a general lack of polish, make for an experience that just doesn’t live up to my fond memories of Might & Magic.
  26. Mar 12, 2014
    The pros and cons of Might and Magic X: Legacy are more straightforward here than they tend to be for the series.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 103
  2. Negative: 28 out of 103
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is retro done right - no weird art styles to make the game "look" retro, instead they took an old game system and rejuvenated it . The entire game is turn based - in dungeons and overworld. And every step has to be thought about. The fights are brutally hard, even on adventurer level. If you don't think about every choice, you're going to die.

    The loot is interesting. The battles are fun. The enemies are varied. The overworld has a lot of interesting stuff - exploration pays off, that square of land a few steps away may contain some loose dirt that needs to be dug in, or a hidden shrine to some god tucked away on the side that will give you valuable benefits you may *need* to get past the next fight.

    Fights are tough but fair. Magic is interesting. Character/racial choices have a huge effect on gameplay - for example some characters may only be able to get to "novice" on swordplay, whereas someone else may be able to become a grand master. (There are four levels: Novice, expert, master, grandmaster, for every skill.) If you particularly want a grandmaster healer, you better pick the right race AND occupation.

    There are a few minor blemishes - movements keys are set up so that WASD, rather than being what most people are probably used to, is Forward/Left/Backward/Right. But as the keys are reconfigurable you can fix this in seconds. Also on the overworld map trees spin in place each time you take a step. Minor stuff indeed.

    What you need to know is, this game is FUN. Not because it's retro, but because it's tough but fair and thought is rewarded. It's as if chess and D&D had a beautiful baby.

    If you like RPG's or if you like strategy, TRY THIS GAME.

    I can't wait to see what the devs do next. I congratulate them for a wonderful first outing and I'm really hoping they do an M&M XI.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    Hi, I have played all of the Heroes games, the favorite one is 6, partially due to the fact that I had never really gotten into the oldHi, I have played all of the Heroes games, the favorite one is 6, partially due to the fact that I had never really gotten into the old universe and its lore. It just looked bizarre to me, with its mix of sci-fi and fantasy and the overall feel. So, from the Might and Magic series I have only played 6, 8 and 9, with 9 being my favorite. I did lay some tile-based RPG such as Eye of Beholder, and others. So to me the main reason for buying this game was the Ashan universe, which I love, and the overall game experience that I thought would be similar to 9. Well, its not really. But that's the good thing. Because this game is awesome.

    This game is very brave, I give you respect for trying out such a game in this period of mindless shooters. So thank you devs. At first, it was hard t o me to get into tile-based game like that, but the more I play the more I love it! It has its unique feel and charm to it, so please don't change it to a free roam in out of battle situations. However, I am all for more speedy movements out of battle when holding W for example.

    The game is very vivid and colourful. Despite some washed out textures, I think the game looks extremely good. It is a thinking man game. So many possibilities! Skills stats, spells, hirelings. Love all these old-school mechanics. Teamwork Other players made a lot of suggestions lately, and I agree with most of them. But just some points I would like to make:

    About reusing Heroes 6/DoC assets: at first, I thought it was a bad idea but in the game it looks really fitting and impressive. So don't worry about that, at least for me, even though I played a lot of heroes 6, it does not seem boring or repetitious.

    Overall thank you for making this game, I wish you all the luck and success.

    Solid 9.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    If you liked oldschool M&M games youll like this, if you however expect it to be a complete copy and clone of those games you will beIf you liked oldschool M&M games youll like this, if you however expect it to be a complete copy and clone of those games you will be dissapointed as the game is "modernized" to a certain degree (graphics/simpler skill interface)

    So far all the mainstream reviewers are critizising the game for "not revolutionizing or doing something new" i can only cringe and how idiotic "professional" reviewers can be when they review a game that is suppose to be a throw back to older grid based/turnbased RPGs and complain its not doing something vastly diffrent or copying Skyrim

    Im addicted to this game and thinking about playing it everyday, i havent had one mainstream game do that for me yet, so for that i give it a 9
    Full Review »