• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 304 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the wake of the spectacular events in Might & Magic Heroes VI, you will play in a party of four adventurers entangled in intrigue and political machinations unfolding in and around Karthal. The city, on the verge of secession, is prey to competing factions vying for its control. YourIn the wake of the spectacular events in Might & Magic Heroes VI, you will play in a party of four adventurers entangled in intrigue and political machinations unfolding in and around Karthal. The city, on the verge of secession, is prey to competing factions vying for its control. Your actions will determine the fate of the city. Might & Magic X Legacy is an authentic solo experience in the classic first-person RPG genre. Create and lead your group into an exciting world and battle powerful mythical creatures while collecting ancient magical treasures. Through a turn-based gameplay system, defeat creatures and bosses to accomplish unique quests and make your way through dangerous dungeons, cities and labyrinths full of traps. Dive into vintage Might & Magic and play old school, new rules. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    From the second that I stepped into the game's world and into the first village that would become a base of operation for a few subsequent hours, I was hooked as wave after wave of nostalgia hit me.
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    82
    Legacy is the "return of the old-school rpg”. The turn based combat is well done, but not perfectly balanced. The development of the four hero-characters, chosen from 12 playable classes, is motivating, because there is much room to specialize them. The story is classic fantasy stuff, mostly told within text windows. Some technical issues like the bad performance in the open-world areas can be frustrating sometimes. But in the end, Legacy offers much old fashioned and charming rpg content from good old M&M-days.
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    80
    It's my new favorite installment in the series, and it offers a great example of how to update old-fashioned RPG mechanics for the present day.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    A bit buggy and a bit uninventive, but a loving, enjoyable tribute to RPGs of olde.
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    70
    The pros and cons of Might and Magic X: Legacy are more straightforward here than they tend to be for the series.
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    65
    For the people of the nostalgic factor, Might & Magic X Legacy is a great game. It does, however, have no story whatsoever and feels quite outdated. Legacy is a game for a certain group of people.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    50
    Authentically retro but then many games are these days and Legacy’s dungeon-crawling action is not nearly as entertaining as the best of its rivals.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 100
  2. Negative: 27 out of 100
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is retro done right - no weird art styles to make the game "look" retro, instead they took an old game system and rejuvenated it . The entire game is turn based - in dungeons and overworld. And every step has to be thought about. The fights are brutally hard, even on adventurer level. If you don't think about every choice, you're going to die.

    The loot is interesting. The battles are fun. The enemies are varied. The overworld has a lot of interesting stuff - exploration pays off, that square of land a few steps away may contain some loose dirt that needs to be dug in, or a hidden shrine to some god tucked away on the side that will give you valuable benefits you may *need* to get past the next fight.

    Fights are tough but fair. Magic is interesting. Character/racial choices have a huge effect on gameplay - for example some characters may only be able to get to "novice" on swordplay, whereas someone else may be able to become a grand master. (There are four levels: Novice, expert, master, grandmaster, for every skill.) If you particularly want a grandmaster healer, you better pick the right race AND occupation.

    There are a few minor blemishes - movements keys are set up so that WASD, rather than being what most people are probably used to, is Forward/Left/Backward/Right. But as the keys are reconfigurable you can fix this in seconds. Also on the overworld map trees spin in place each time you take a step. Minor stuff indeed.

    What you need to know is, this game is FUN. Not because it's retro, but because it's tough but fair and thought is rewarded. It's as if chess and D&D had a beautiful baby.

    If you like RPG's or if you like strategy, TRY THIS GAME.

    I can't wait to see what the devs do next. I congratulate them for a wonderful first outing and I'm really hoping they do an M&M XI.
    Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    Once I figured out how to crank up the graphics (there is currently a bug which forces you to do it from the title menu rather than in game),Once I figured out how to crank up the graphics (there is currently a bug which forces you to do it from the title menu rather than in game), M&M X became quite a beautiful game. I grew up playing the early titles in the series, starting with the very first.

    Make no mistake, this game is a throwback to those days and compares quite favorably to M&M VI (arguably the best in the series). I would like to see more enemy variety, but so far the developer has been churning out little blurbs of content on a pretty regular basis, so I am not too worried.

    Even on the default setting, this game does not hold your hand and you can be prepared for some tough and interesting battles. Like the RPGs of yore, it is quite possible to wander into a group of foes you simply can't handle early on in the game.

    This is worth a look if you are a fan of oldschool CRPGs or simply wish to try something "new".
    Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Might and Magic X Legacy is purely a game designed and made for fans of the earlier Might and Magic games (I - V), with strong nods to fans ofMight and Magic X Legacy is purely a game designed and made for fans of the earlier Might and Magic games (I - V), with strong nods to fans of VI - VIII. Even a slight influence from M&MXI can be seen. If "fan of Might and Magic 1-5" does not describe you, you are more than likely NOT the target audience for M&M X, and will likely not enjoy it as much as your usual entertainment. Legacy utilises mechanics and design concepts that are more and more in this day and age, seen by the mainstream as archaic, outdated and unnecessary, such as turn-based combat, grid-based movement, and relatively little wiggle room for difficulty on the harder setting. If any of this doesn't sound like your cup of tea, M&M X is not for you.

    If you are a fan of previous Might and Magic titles, there is plenty of nostalgia for you to enjoy here. Despite a clearly limited budget and (probably) very little support from the publisher (though who can really blame them with such a niche title - let's be thankful they made it at all), there is plenty of love and care lavished on M&M X. The creative director is a huge fan of the series, and has made this game with painstaking reference to the previous titles, rather than trying to reboot the series with new graphics and mechanics.

    Might and Magic X stays true to its legacy in basically all the important ways. The only things lacking here for a Might and Magic fan are that there are no non-combat skills (the game is completely combat focused - this is not really a negative, they had a fairly low budget, and the publisher was testing the waters), the game is set in the relatively bland fantasy world of Ashan (ala Heroes of Might and Magic V and VI), and it unfortunately requires Uplay to run.

    Still, I'm not complaining. After a decade or so, I finally have my hands on some awesome new Might and Magic again. Hopefully sales are strong enough that Ubi is willing to continue the series. Props to you, Ubisoft, for getting this made. For the next installment, give the guys at Limbic a bigger budget and some more creative freedom, and see what they come up with.

    TL;DR - If you like the (early) Might and Magic series, you'll like this. If you aren't turned off by low(ish) budget graphics or "archaic" turn-based combat, M&M X is probably worth a try. Would get a 10 if they brought back Alchemy, Enchanting, Shops and Homes with pre-rendered backgrounds, and mah Horseshoes.
    Expand
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    This would be a masterfully created oldschool RPG that brings the old days of M&M series to it's full glory. Pure retro gaming with beautifulThis would be a masterfully created oldschool RPG that brings the old days of M&M series to it's full glory. Pure retro gaming with beautiful modern overlay. Nice visuals and hand-drawn pictures, catchy gameplay and storyline, engaging character development, challenging tactical combat, it's all there. You can clearly see this game has been created with love and respect for the original series and when it worked I had a great time that lasted for about 60 hours of gampeplay...

    BUT... they rushed the release! Not sure if the devs or publisher is to blame, but this is unacceptable. Legacy is massively infested with game breaking bugs that it's almost unplayable in places. Graphic glitches, low-res or missing textures, stuttering, really badly optimized engine causing overheating of the GPU, audio problems, quest errors, missing crucial quest items, crashes to desktop, corrupt saves, completely missing quest tokens in journal, unfinished cinematics, missing voice-overs, even ending of the game resulted in a crash and the final boss didn't even bother to show up. This is the worst case of the buggy disaster I have ever played and it just saddens me that it must have happened with such a beautiful game in it's core. It almost feels like you're playing a beta and you're paying the full price for this game to be their beta tester.

    This could have been easily 10/10 piece and I just love the heart of this game, the atmosphere and the experience when it works, I even love the nice deluxe packaging with cloth map and all the goodies, this could have been really something, but the overall experience has been so damaged by bugs, that I am being extremely generous by giving this 8. When they patch everything and fix all the bugs (and I hope they will eventually), this will be the full score. For now - 8/10
    Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    M&MX is the perfect game for people who are getting old and want to feel younger again. You know, those people in their 30/40s that **** aboutM&MX is the perfect game for people who are getting old and want to feel younger again. You know, those people in their 30/40s that **** about everything being better in the old days, mainly because they hate themselves for what they have become...

    Personally, I'm on the fence about this one. I came into PC gaming with Might & Magic IV: The Mandate of Heaven, which was basically a new starting point for the Might & Magic series. It was a fantastic game, with a huge open world, tons of loot, and huge amounts of enemies. Eventually the series would crash hard with Might & Magic IX, which was basically a bug-infested travesty. A shame, and when the news came out that Might & Magic would return for a tenth instalment, I was very, VERY happy. I mean, with all the technical possibilities we have today, and the series it was based upon, it HAD to be a great game right?

    Well...not really.

    Sadly M&MX isn't based on the fantastic sixth/seventh/eight instalments of the series, but rather on the ancient first five. Great games in itself, but gaming has moved on, and not for nothing. Of course, it is "hip" to go "old school", yet now we have a game that only sad, stuck in their ways men (no woman will play this, EVER) will love. The rest might like it, but most will give it a pass.

    My main beef with this game is that they went back to turn-based grit movement/combat. This makes the entire game feel very sluggish and slow, less open world, and, especially, very old. I used to love it when I could just run around a map full of enemies, pelting away arrows and spells at a huge group of enemies. It was one of the best parts of the newer older games (VI to IX). In M&M X, you have to move grit by grit and wait until the enemy is within range for some slow turn-based combat. Don't get me wrong, the combat works, but it's not much fun when you have to do it against every single enemy. But I guess it's one way to make a 20 hour game last over 50...

    Graphics are a bit dodgy for 2014, but the M&M series was never a graphic marvel so it's easily overlooked. They work, let's just keep it at that.

    Sound is solid, with some epic music that hits the spot.

    Gameplay is OK, if you don't mind very slow turn-based fights. You need to use your smarts, especially in the beginning of the game, and that might put some people right off. The lack of "modern" implementations like fast travel or town portals is another thing that will make a lot of people leave this game alone. You have to walk, in turned based fashion no less, over the entire map to cities, if you need to buy a rations/potions/level skills. It's a chore, one that should have been lightened by including a town portal spell (even if it was on a CD).

    Still, the game is fun in it's own way. You get a real feeling of accomplishment when your piss-poor party slowly turns into a lean mean slaughtering machine when you level them the right way and pimp them out with the right kind of equipment. There is loot is a-plenty, and even though it is never spectacular (even artifacts, sort of unique items, won't blow your mind) it is a joy to sell off big amounts of stuff you don't need to buy equipment you do, or to find stuff you can actually use (take that Diablo 3...). Also there is plenty to discover, in a big more or less open world. It's RPG heaven really.

    This game would have gotten a solid 9 from me, if they wouldn't have walked the trendy "old school" line. It's aged and therefore bothersome gameplay (turn-based movement in a grit, no quick ways to travel), sadly takes a lot of fun out of the game. It might be great for old farts who like to complain on the internet about "how great games used to be", but for more modern or casual gamers, it can be off putting. And that's a shame. Oh well, better next time!

    7/10
    Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its average game.Sometimes you feel - hey this moment its quite nice but then you see a damaged (with shalow watter) bridge whitch you cant cross cause you dont have right blessing (!?) - autors are here insulting inteligence of players heavily.Next big problem is whole world of ashan or what is called its collorfull boring and ugly - ordinary knights looks like kings or emperors and so on... Best parts of MM was 6 and 7 but this is far from it .. they came from heroes 3 and that was also great game but this comes from heroes 6 and thats also average or even below.. Skill system is weak combat feels too simple.Technically very weak game.Sounds are ok. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2014
    0
    MM9 was steep back from series but MM10 is even further going far away from classic to point beyond recognize. Am expect return to classicMM9 was steep back from series but MM10 is even further going far away from classic to point beyond recognize. Am expect return to classic World of Xeen style with better gfx but what I see much more resemble Grimrock clone. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews