User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3269 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    I'm really disgusted by the obvious bias among the critics. Minecraft is certainly a revolutionary game having rocketed the procedurally-generated voxel based world to a place in history. However, it hasn't progressed past its first steps. The game, if you can even call it that, hasn't really developed into anything lasting even though its been in development for almost 2 years with more feedback prior to official release than probably any other game.

    It doesn't take very long with the game to encounter any one of its numerous faults: buggy features (even with a revisit, the mine carts have numerous problems), incomplete features (achievements are basically filler and the nether was a waste of development time), a complete lack of multiplayer server browsing, stupid AI, and to top it all off the game is essentially over within a few hours - you can obtain all of the items and see all of the sites and enemies in one sitting. This all assumes that your computer will even run the game as many systems encounter memory leaks that guarantee crashing with just a few minutes of play. It upsets me that the critics completely overlooked these many short comings as though the game is perfect. The worst part is that many of these problems have existed for months and there is still no indication that they'll be fixed anytime soon. Without providing the proper feedback, Minecraft may never actually get the serious attention it requires to earn the grade it has received. There is just so much potential in a voxel engine and Minecraft hasn't even begun to tap it. It's just a matter of time before someone else comes along with a better product because Minecraft simply doesn't deliver.
    Expand
  2. Dec 20, 2011
    4
    Minecraft is actually quite a fun experience for a while, a fairly short while and it is by no means a game. Notch struck it lucky with a great idea and an amazing response from the internet that has catapulted him into the realms of the super rich, I think this was probably the worst thing for minecraft, a good steady income would of resulted in much more work being done on the game over the last year or so instead it has seen little progress as like anyone would in the same situation Notch has been distracted by his new found wealth.It has been the tireless efforts of unpaid mod makers that have fleshed the game out into a much more enjoyable experience. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    While this game is fun at first, it quickly loses it's steam. The developers don't take the game seriously, they would rather sit around in the office all day, playing games, promising features they never deliver on. It would be great to see a serious developer who isn't full of themselves take this game on and make it into something really great. It has SO MUCH potential. The only great thing about this game is the community, they have MADE the game with all the mods and support. The developer has simply profited off everyone else's hard work. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Minecraft is like lego on acid...... acid made out of marsmen concentrate. It is the first game ever made for people who have OCD and it is very addictive. Highly recommended
  6. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    I must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage. mojang have sold thousands of copies already and you can see the game showing up on all the big gamer sites. This game combines sandbox with survival and it have already given me more playtime than in any other game. The multiplayer is still buggy but Notch (the developer and founder of mojang) is working his guts of on updates etc. The whole community is friendly, big and will welcome you with open arms! Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    5
    Minecraft is a game about moving blocks around. At its most basic, it's digital legos, but it also has monsters and a bit of a survival horror aspect to it. It's a fun and enjoyable way to blow some many hours, and it's a good deal for the price. But the fun wanes very rapidly, and the game has extremely little by way of content compared to other games that encompass the building genre, such as Dwarf Fortress and Terraria. This is the game that exploded in hype, mostly due to graphics and payment model, but it's not really the best of its kind. Expand
  8. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    Minecraft is an excellent game, no doubt about it. The gameplay is simple yet completely addictive, enough so that most people can play it for hours and not get bored. However that being said, it's novelty will wear off after a while. There's only so many things you can do with a bunch of blocks. This game is definitely well worth the price of admission, though, because you will most likely play it for longer than most blockbuster titles while paying less than half the price. Expand
  9. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The environment is creative and the building and mining is interactive and addictive.
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Games is awesome. I couldnt believe it when i first saw it. But men, it got me hooked like a Drug from the start. Starting out on a Island in a World thats 8 Time the Surface of the Earth. Crafting the first Wooden Pickaxle, building your House. And digging just so you find a Cave filled with Gold, iron etc. Gotta watch out for the Zombies though. Traveling to a far away Island for a new beginning. SO much fun Expand
  11. Sep 19, 2011
    1
    This game use to be fun, but its way too repetitive and boring
  12. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Disclaimer: Played every version since 1.2 alpha. As a game, it sucks. As a game, it sucks. The ending is poorly done an innovative compared to the other concepts in the game. After these newer updates, minecraft has become seemingly random. It started as a creativity game, but started getting odd RPG elements like leveling, dragon bosses, fortresses, and enchanting. All of which seem prehistoric compared to modern games. If you are looking for enjoyment, it is in the building. That is where this game soars. It's awesome to build castles and mines, but I wish it hadn't strayed so much. I blame Notch's laziness. Notch slowed his updates to a crawl once he got rich and started vacationing most of the time. Minecon's high ticket price makes me think that it was for-profit and it make it harder to respect the MineCraft game/company. So, overall, MineCraft ended up as a messy, unfinished game with strange elements, but being creative can lead to lots of fun. You just have to come up with the creativity yourself. Expand
  13. May 29, 2011
    0
    Minecraft is just a little novelty game, if you can get past the sickeningly horrid graphics, which I couldn't. I have NEVER hated a game for it's graphics before, but this... this is just wrong. I mean for starters you can't give this game a perfect score when it has 70's graphics yet it came out last year.
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    A very fun game at Beta when Notch was developing it. Went downhill fast after 1.0 (full release version). Put it this way, the game was worth it in BETA, not so much in it's current state. The Full Retail seems rushed and not complete.

    BETA - The Beta was fun, building large complex structures is great, especially in Multiplayer. Singleplayer gets old real fast, unless you're into
    building stuff out of the world stuff like a 1 to 1 scale of Middle Earth and have no life.

    Full Retail - Like I mentioned, feels very rushed and incomplete. While the Beta was fun and full of anticipation, the Full Retail adds little while adding what seems to be 'a lot' on the surface. In other words, inconsistent.

    Here's hoping that Notch will continue supporting the game, because the Retail version isn't the minecraft I enjoyed in Beta.
    Expand
  15. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Minecraft has risen to a great success because of it's loyal fan base. The game has good graphics (It's what the developer wanted to be) and might have infinite replay-ability thanks to the constant updates and the creativity of some of the fan base.
  16. Nov 30, 2011
    3
    A fine little gem of a sandbox marred by apathetic developers, primitive and thereby buggy coding and an unreasonable amount of praise for what is really just a simplistic open-world sandbox. While that might be a rarity nowadays, it doesn't constitute an amazing game or gameplay; it merely allows for a potentially huge investment.
  17. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Virtual Lego's with bad graphics. That's all it is and it sells for over $25. It does nothing new, creative or original. I don't understand fads, never have and probably never will. What I do understand is people waste millions on them and later wonder what they were thinking. This is Minecraft.
  18. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    Not delivering seems to be mantra of Mojang, as Minecraft, now in final release, delivers nothing from the better priced (and less expensive) beta-release but at a higher price.

    The game, if you can call it that, relies on the user to make their own fun that, while interesting for the first few hours, will quickly become boring and tedious. This can be sometimes overcome with new
    content supplied by it's large user-base and their custom mods (many of which were designed to fix problems within the game or with it's lack of actual content).

    However, if you don't feel like taking your time and finding new mods to try and extend the game's playtime, many of these mods will find their way into actual Mojang official updates.

    This product, for better or worse, is more of a "LEGOS on computers" than a sandbox-style RPG but you might have more fun with the limitations of the LEGOS than then the "here is the world, you figure out what to do" style of Minecraft.
    Expand
  19. Nov 24, 2011
    4
    nothing to see here just an over-rated game; it doesn't even come close to living up to the hype; definitely not worth the asking price. the game does run properly, but its all programmed in java, which sucks. its far from a masterpiece; its at best a temporary distraction; or a game to play if you have a computer from the stone age.
  20. Dec 15, 2011
    3
    Lets see. This game ripoffs Infiniminer. The devs are obviously lazy and greedy. Not only it looks like **** but it also runs so, i get more FPS in Skyrim than here. Its also overhyped, overrated and overpriced. Hardly worth even a neutral rating.
  21. Nov 25, 2011
    3
    At it's core a strong game, but lacking too many promised features and functions to be considered a complete game. Minecraft lowers the bar for design, graphics, expectations for a finished title (no server browser?), and only functions well when mods are implemented. Buying this one-hit wonder from Notch is only increasing the length he'll inevitably fall, since he isn't an experienced enough dev to either refine / fix this game by himself or create another fun one. Expand
  22. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played and it's still just in alpha.
    While it might not look like much it's one of the most exciting games I've played, it features endless possibilities for exploration, adventuring, crafting, building and shaping the world around you.
    It can also be hysterically frightening in a panicky kind of way, when you've just mined a bunch of high value ores down
    in a deep and dark cave and suddenly run into a bunch of monsters.
    It's very hyped at the moment, but coming from someone who bought it earlier this year I think it deserves all the attention it's currently getting.
    Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    Ignore the critics. Buy this game today and you'll be nothing but bitterly disappointed. There are no tutorials meaning you'll spend most of your play time on the wiki and actually and no real purpose to this game. Yes it is an excellent time sink at first and some people will never grow tired of building ever more vast structures, but the average gamer should look for something else. There are far better actually complete games (that have only been around for as long as the Beta's) you can spend your money on. Look at games around or under the £17 mark, check it's metacritic score is more then 50 and buy it. I can pretty much guarantee it will be a far better *game* then this. Expand
  24. Nov 24, 2011
    1
    Minecrap final version review: DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! The final version of this game is nothing but the original game with added "survival mode." The Survival element gets boring after a few days of playing. The combat is boring and repetitive. The few amounts of weapons and armor are all the same, they just have a different color. The AI... they suck. Get close to them, you loose health. You just spam attack from a distance and kill them. You block them in a hole, they can't get out. Then you have the NPCs.... THEY DO NOTHING! You can't talk to them, can't trade items with them, you can't do anything with them! The dungeons? All the same. Filled with the same boring AI inside them. The only enjoyable element of this game is building structures alone or with friends.... WHICH YOU CAN DO FOR FREE ON MINECRAFT CLASSIC! DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! Its not worth 30 bucks, its no better then any other free java game on the web. Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is not really a game. It's more like phenomenon. I can not really imagine person which has not heard of Minecraft. So far millions of people played it. I have watched it since January 2010 and first played it in November 2010. I have watched all the process of constructing and upgrading the game, and I guess I was one of the first thousand Poles who bought it. With this knowledge, i can really say it: alpha 1.2.6 was the best part of Minecraft, and it would deserve 10. But since then, adding incomplete stuff and ruining it's point have ruined it's final score, too. But, even therefore there's so many stupid and incomplete stuff (NPC's, villages, etc. etc.) I love it. I love it the damn outta it. It really is not a game; you can not say "Minecraft has bored me, I am leaving". You just open it sometimes and play. It's not like "I like it" or "I don't like it", since it's YOUR game. You decide what are you doing in your fantastic, randomly generated world and your own decision is, what you'll build, and what will you see. You can build, you can discover or you can kill everything in sight. Whatever you choose, it's your game and even if you don't like building, you can for example go and look for dungeons, and vice versa. It can never make you bored as if you'll get bored of something, you can always make something different. The point of my score (9 out of 10) is just because of Notch's decision to make it more RPG like than sandbox like. Yeah, you still can ignore villages and strongholds and keep building, but still it makes me feel like I'm playing incomplete Diablo clone than 100% complete, full and enjoyable sandbox game. I enjoyed 1.2.6 alpha more, but 1.0.0 release is still, by far, the most enjoyable game... ever made? Maybe. That's because the possibilities are endless. If I'll ever get bored of this game... I'll do something else in my beautiful world. Funny, how 9 out of 10 game is more enjoyable than games I've rated 10. And I feel really bad of having incomplete game as the release version. But now... back to my mine. Expand
  26. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    I am a serious gamer, i play games that fulfil all game mechanics - characters, storyline, gameplay etc. And when i sat down and played this game, i thought why am i playing this. It has no storyline, no campaign, no real characters. So how can a game that defies all of these aspects even sell 1 copy. I eventually found myself enjoying making something out of mined pieces, but only for about 17 minutes. For those with simply entertained minds i would reccommend this game, however for serious gamers, you may as well have a go at it, but i would not reccommend purchasing it. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    We are really close to the end of the world for this kind of game being appointed as the best PC game of the Year. If it was appointed for best game for your Windows 95 I would try to accept, because it's not a game, it's a tool. I don't see any elements that appoint this as a game, it's more like a 3d map editor with disguised monsters and horrible AI. The graphics isn't the problem, the "game" is the problem and such high metascore for a map editor... Well it's a joke. Expand
  28. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    - Full of bugs - Performs terribly - Bad graphics - Repetitve gameplay - Maps have near infinite horizontal space but very limited vertical space - Half-assed RPG elements. - Monsters have the worst AI in the history of game programming - Multiplayer often doesn't work - Poor developer support - Despite simple aesthetic, requires immensely powerful hardware to run at acceptable settings. + Cheaper than most other games
    + Good replay value
    + Large modding community

    This system won't let me go into the negatives so a zero was the best I could give this. This game is an excellent example of wasted potential. It became popular as a building/Lego game with small combat elements to keep you on your toes. Now it's a game about swinging pixelated swords at things until they fall over. The world is so cluttered with 'dungeons' now that it's impossible to dig for five minutes without breaking into another spider pit. The height limit hasn't been raised since pre-alpha, so you won't be building anything taller than the London Tower or digging anything deeper than your swimming pool. The multiplayer is buggy, incomplete, and lacks the tools for proper moderation. This game is so incomplete that there is literally no one that plays this game vanilla.
    Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    This game is absolute rubbish. The combat is mindlessly simple spamming of mouse 1 and the enemies pathing and AI is a joke. The building and mining is incredibly boring. The "exploration" is an absolute waste of time. The entire game is the same thing with slightly different textures. What a waste of money.
  30. Sep 17, 2011
    0
    This game is just terrible, its boring and it has the graphics of a calculator. I played games in the 80's that had better graphics than this. This is only a game for people who are sheep. Stay away from this Horrible, terrible game
  31. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created... bad graphics? WHO CARES? the gameplay possibilities are almost infinites! Awesome.... thanks notch ... keep up the good work :)
  32. May 15, 2012
    4
    Minecraft had a lot of potential. I have been checking up with Minecraft since its alpha stages, back when the only player modes were some weird survival and creative, and zombies dropped feathers. People like to root for the underdog, and I understand. So, of course, people root for Notch. But if you separate yourself from the emotions and the novelty, you realize that Minecraft is vastly unfinished upon release. Promises made by Notch, for example, included various game modes like capture the flag, and a fully-functioning NPC village, among others I won't even bother listing. Yes, I play this game. I do like it to some degree, which is why I'm giving it a 4 out of 10. But the reality is that, when you compare it to everything on the market, nay, just compare it to other indie games, and you realize just how hard Notch dropped the ball on this one. The graphics are atrocious, and the term "retro graphics" don't justify it. Chrono Trigger is "retro" and still a beautiful game, so calling something retro to justify it being plain and ugly is awful. The music is serene, but nice. The combat is unvaried and unfortunately dull when it comes to the majority of the game, but the brewing/potion system and enchanting added a little to the game. Shame your only two real weapons are swords and bows.

    The strength in Minecraft's programming comes from Jeb and, guess what, people other than Team Mojang. It's the mods and add-ons that aren't from Team Mojang that make this game actually fun and entertaining, and people tend to forget that. If you mod the heck out of it, great, fantastic, good game. But stand-alone it's an incredibly monotonous, uninspired simulator.
    Expand
  33. Dec 23, 2011
    2
    Game seems like a great idea and building is fun but... The AI is really bad and the NPCs merely exist (they don't talk, interact with you or even run when attacked). The game has been in beta development for years and is still bug ridden after the "official release" this year. It's sold well but once you play, you'll see how much the developer has dropped the ball with giving meaningful updates and listening to the community. It takes me 15 minutes to log into MY OWN server due to Minecrafts central server having issues with validation. Anyone else trying to log in has the same problems. The game gets very boring to play by yourself (but once again, good luck getting other players on your server). The end dimension is very pointless and you can tell that there wasn't much effort put into coming up with it, as with most of their other updates...just read the update history and you'll see: Mooshroom cows for example.

    Don't buy this and get Terraria instead. You can usually get it for under $3 on Steam (it goes on sale all the time) and it's a much better made (and less buggy) game.
    Expand
  34. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Minecraft, while being slightly entertaining, is almost completely pointless. The only value it holds for me is that it is virtual legos. Being a Voxel game, the graphics dont bother me. what does is the lack of objectives. While I know the game designer didnt want to be objectives, I feel like a guiding hand would have been helpful even if its a manuel in your inventory. Not only did the game seem to randomly start, it didnt give any instuructions. it simply was 'Here is the game, play it." Even giving directions on how to make a crafting table would have been helpful. Not only does "Virtual Legos" come without a manuel, it also is way over priced. I do not believe that minecraft is worth more than $5. It is possible for you to get a few good hours out of the game, but i would suggested not wasting your time. Expand
  35. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    Honestly, i have only one quite small question. Where is the magic in it ? Because i don't see any reason to waste my money and pay for Tetris-like looking game...
  36. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. The multiplayer experience allows you to play online with your friends to go on more adventures in this blocky world, or just to create epic structures. The 3 modes that you can play on are survival, creative (unlimited resources, and items), and hardcore (basically survival, but if you die your world is deleted without any recovery). The amount of mods for this game and neat texture packs will have you scouring the internet for the ones you love, making the game even more personal to you without any extra charge. This is a game that does not disappoint. You won't regret your purchase. Expand
  37. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Bought the game during its development when the offer was play now and get the full game on release, at the time the building was quite amusing but that was as far as any fun went, the combat and actual gameplay elements other than the building were reminiscent of some very early 8-bit games and poorly implemented. I stuck with the game a while as these elements were said to be improving as the game neared release. Roll on to a few versions near before release and still the gameplay was primitive but some new features had crept in and the final version started to sound like it had promise from what was being told, I started to gain more interest in the game again which I had left alone for months. A few weeks back and the final 1.0 is announced so I try to log into minecraft (bear in mind the login name still persists in its entry box of both my windows PC and linux notebook so I know they are correct and I have the details written down and kept somewhere safe) and I get an error message - login failed. I have since tried to get the game to work again - lost password, lost account, hack request, etc have no effect on the main site and it looks like my account has vanished, my emails to mojang go unanswered for weeks, I even tried an attempt to tweet the developer but no answer. Sorry but I cannot rate a game higher than 0 that is not playable in any shape or form, and for them to lose/wipe my account details after having paid is shocking and it looks like it will go unresolved. If you pay for the game I hope you dont have this happen to you, but I know for one I wont being giving mojang any more of my cash. Expand
  38. Dec 8, 2011
    2
    A game in which you play as a generic block guy and run around a randomly generated world full of blocks. Your aim is a collect blocks and stack them. If you're an imaginative person you can quite possibly pretend that the game is an amazing adventure. Reality suggests otherwise. Buggy, horrible graphics, horrible AI, rushed final release. Meanwhile, the creator is a multimillionaire who passive-aggressively abuses people on twitter, takes more vacations then he actually works and abandons the game upon release. Expand
  39. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I dont know whats up with the people that is scoring this game 0 because of the graphics. AS far as i know the "my score" slider is to rate the game NOT THE GRAPHICS. Now, people writting about repetitive gameplay... how a sandbox game can be repetitive? only will be repetitive if you want! Why dont you go fishing? hunting? farming? this game isnt about breaking and putting blocks! I like this game, i play alot and sure, has lots of bugs, but they're working on it. 10/10 hatters gonna hate. Expand
  40. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive.
    one you start playing, you will not stop, either by creating new stuff or by perfecting existing creations Expand
  41. Nov 24, 2011
    5
    Summary: A quirky, unique indie game rocketed to popularity by Penny Arcade, run by a greedy bearded Swede with an over-inflated ego.

    I've played minecraft since maybe a month after they first released SMP (multiplayer) mode. I wish I could say it's come a long way since then, but in reality, it hasn't. Markus Persson (Notch) who originally coded the game obviously has very little
    experience with actual game design and optimization in Java, and as a result, Minecraft will tax your computers resources more than its blocky voxelized graphics would lead you to believe.

    Like other games to come before it, the mod community absolutely makes this game, and Notch is in complete denial about this fact. The game is still missing fundamental features and sorely needed code optimization, but instead Mojang insists on adding cake and dragons.

    This game is in no way complete, finished, or polished and as such it is rather sad to see the metacritic score eclipsing the mirror-finish polished Skyrim. Don't let its "1.0" version denotation fool you into thinking this game is any less beta than before, it is still sorely lacking on features.
    Expand
  42. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is not a game. Minecraft is more of a creativity toy. Of course, with the recent addition of experience points and the hunger meter it's now steering towards the game portion. But still, Minecraft is and (hopefully) will always be about creating rather than surviving. Without a real in-game goal, the player is given free reign to whatever they want to do. They can sculpt a giant hand flipping the bird if they really want to, or create a scale model of the Enterprise. Or they can build a castle, a dungeon, a maze... Minecraft lets the player build almost anything they want.

    Of course, a game without clear goals will bore some people and turn them off this game. The blocky graphics as well, while ideal (more or less) for a game of this kind, would probably turn some people away, especially with the ongoing "prettier is better" thought process that seems to be spreading in the industry. Minecraft is still fun though, and with some creativity can last you a very long time.
    Expand
  43. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    Terrible, unfinished game. Not even old school games look this bad and the lack of an actual AI past, "I KILL U" and "I NO KILL U" is inexcusable.
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Fun and original. I have spent many hours building and exploring these randomly generated worlds. And with the ongoing improvements, I keep coming back for more .
  45. Oct 23, 2011
    6
    Minecraft is an alright bit of harmless fun, but after you've built what you've wanted to build and explored a bit, I found it rather forgettable. The graphics are alright and there are very few enemies, zombies, skeletons, creepers, endermen, spider jockeys, spiders, cows, pigs, chickens, sheep and wolves compared to something like Terraria which has 45 and the cows, pigs, chickens and sheep aren't really even classified as enemies. Many people are HUGE fans of minecraft, but I didn't find the charm that Minecraft addicts find in the game. Although, if you are a sandbox fan boy, minecraft can't be recommended enough because it is the ultimate sandbox game.(And it's cheap!) Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Yes, there are still bugs. Yes, the coding is messed up. But I give Minecraft a 10 out of 10 for it's replay value. I first played this game before the Halloween Update came out and I got hooked. I still play it every day. The reason people love this game is because they aren't rating the graphics, they are rating the fun, and that's how a game should be. Thank you Notch and the rest of the Mojang team for this masterpiece! Expand
  47. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an incredible game. I love the survival aspects of it, how you can make your own stories and do whatever you want! The mods are great, multiplayer fun and there are very few bugs now. The out of memory bug can be solved simply by downloading java x64 (rather than the x32 that is installed.) great fun game.
  48. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    The reason i give this game is because modders made the game so interesting yet notch just throws a half baked game at you. Notch is the founder of Minecraft btw. So basically its a good game, amazing idea, PERFECT execution. Why a 5 then? Cuz notch is now too busy getting laid and signing papers to care about the game anymore. There used to be HUGE updates, upgrading visual effect and quality, more content....now they just fix bugs and leave it at that...i see modders who spend 2 days making a mod and BAM! we have small clay soldiers having a war, or a giant world where you and your friend have a all out war with skeletons and zombies with explosions eveywhere and upgraded combat algorithms! Yet Notch and his small team take a month to fix a bug where a monster accidently kills himself all the time cuz he touches water....like wow. So basically the game gets a 10, the developers now get a 0. So overall the package is a 5 because if you want to have fun you are going to mod. Thats the end of it. Expand
  49. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Addictive game and will keep you entertained for a long time but you will eventually get bored but that will be a long time coming, i have had it since a week after the launch of the beta and have seen every new addition and it has evolved enormously since the beta launched. The graphics are certainly unique and it surprisingly has excellent lighting effects, its a huge game and has limitless things to do, great value well worth the price. Expand
  50. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! I really can't wait for this game to be fully released. At it's $14.98 US price tag, this game should not be missed. I am very surprised there are not hundreds or thousands of reviews for this game as popular as it has been recently. The creator has sold over 1 million copies of the game and it is still in beta! That is how great this game is. This game is by far the best indie game I have even played! A must Buy! Expand
  51. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    0.o Minecraft is insanely addictive yet so very simple. It has soul, it has character, it has creepers. This is gaming at it's finest - back to basics indie development at it's best.
  52. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The difference between this game and other sandbox games is that you have to work hard to find what your looking for. Sure, you could coat yourself in golden armor and wield a sword of diamond, but you will need to turn an area of land the size of Hawaii to find it all. Which sets it apart from other similar games, with the fact that, while your free to set your own goals in this game, like in all sandbox games, it isn't all given to you. You feel a great sense of accomplishment when you finish one of the goals you set for yourself. The system of achievements giving you a general idea of what you can do in this game. Let your imagination roam free, just make sure it's back by dark, always be back home by nightfall in Minecraft.

    The largest complaint I hear about this game is that the graphic are poor, I could not disagree more. Only the cobblestone texture is poor. Nonetheless, a remedy exists for all graphic centric people, this is called "installing a texture pack". Texture packs are commonly found on the popular Minecraft forums, and there is one for all sorts of tastes, though a nice one to find out what you think looks good in Minecraft is the Painterly Pack (http://painterlypack.net/). The website allows you to customize the various textures in Minecraft, there are at least for different texture options for any given block or item in the game.

    I highly recommend you buy this game, though don't be surprised if you fall prey to the "Minecrack" and stay up until 1 A.M. on your search for diamonds.
    Expand
  53. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Even if the graphics aren't that good, this game will keep you on the computer for hours! The environment is very well done and the music very soothing and sometimes creepy. Minecraft might be a simple game, but it still can scare the living daylights out of you when you listen to the sounds emitted by the unfriendly monsters that roam the world when night comes.
  54. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    An addictive, simple, yet beautiful game. If you are someone who judges a game by it's graphics, then you will probably dislike this game. However every gamer knows not to judge a game by it's graphics, as a game can be rewarding in different ways, and indeed Minecraft is. A tiny sized game, that has huge potential, and is going to take the world by storm.
  55. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    A great game to build, get together, and survive.

    It has two game types so far; Survival (with multiplayer) and Classic. Classic is a building game-mod and is free to play. Survival is not free but has way more options than classic.

    You have limitless possibility's to what you want to build or do on minecraft.

    I recommend this game to almost everyone.
  56. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    If you need linear gameplay, avoid this game. If you need pseudo-realistic graphics, avoid this. If you need a plot driven game, avoid this. If you hate being told what to do, this is the game to end all. Don't like the world? make a new, completely random one. Don't like the textures? change them. Bored with mining? take all those blocks and build a ten story tall castle shaped like longcat. Bored with the gameplay? install one of the -thousands- of user created mods and play an entirely new game. Expand
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Either it was too nerdy and over my head or too boring. I stopped playing before I could figure it out. It probably just needs some hot cars with gold teeth explosions and a Disturbed soundtrack. Expand
  58. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the best game I have played in years! Having just taken out a 6 month sub playing Rift (which Iâ
  59. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the only game since perhaps Morrowind that has left me feeling amazed, terrified and peaceful all at the same time. As a person who has continually grown jaded towards the design of new games, Minecraft has been exactly what I need.
  60. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Very nice game. The never-ending open-world concept is refreshing and quite welcome. I get so sick and tired of devs that think a game HAS to have an ending like a book or a movie. Mojang have their heads on straight though and realize that a game can be fun and extremely addicting and open-ended to the point of lasting virtually forever (or as long as the gamer can play physically play it). I've built entire cities in Minecraft. Some underground, some on the ground, some in the sky, and even one in the Nether using materials I had to bring in from the normal world. I hope Mojang don't get lazy or distracted with other silly projects now that they are loaded with cash. I want them to keep focusing on this game to completion and beyond. My only complaint would be that the game is possibly TOO modable and almost every multiplayer server I've tried has been moded to the point of idiocy. Expand
  61. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that's just .. i don't think that there's a word for it. It is just such a wonderful game. With the addictive content i think that this is a game that just needs to be played, even for once, just for trying. The game is really a first for the indie game collection. Totally different from the other FPS or any other popular mainstream game. I just LOVE it, highly recommended !
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Why does this game get 10 points from me? It's obviously neither graphically nor technologically advanced, nor even up to current standards. That said, it is one of very few recent games that were not a re-hash of something that was already popular, with slightly new story and slightly better visual effects. While most of the industry is stagnating and even top titles rarely bring something new to the table, Minecraft is (reasonably - it's also not an entirely origianl idea) new experience at a much lower price tag than the industry standard re-hashes. Even in the same genre, where other survival games mostly focus on surviving against hordes of enemies, Minecraft's approach is refreshingly different. Where else can you build elaborate machinery to do the slaughtering for you and automated forts that offer safe harbor? Even if you only play it in the recently released creative mode, it's the digital box of legos that you always wanted but that, somehow, Lego themselves never really got around to making. Expand
  63. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I found this game a year ago and I'm still playing it. I have my own server with 900 registered players. Playing this game is like playing with LEGO as a child and it's still great game. I hate idiots, who will never play it because it has 8-bit graphics.... MINECRAFT IS BEST GAME EVER!
  64. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is just amazing. It has already been played for a long time and is still fresh due to updates and the limitless creativity it offers. It's something that creative people should not pass! The game also has a great and large community. And, really, it doesn't matter how many times a creeper killed me or ruined my structures. I keep addicted to it. If I had something like a top 100 of games, Minecraft would be surely in the top 5, maybe after the epic Nintendo titles like Ocarina of Time and Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2. Expand
  65. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Great game overall! Even though metacritic got the release date wrong(supposed to be dated to 11/18 for release date). But great game, with all the monster killing, building, sandbox design, can't wait for more updates to the game itself in the future!
  66. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games out there.You have a giant world in which you can do what ever you wish.You can either explore caves and strongholds,build giant sky scrapers,create big farms of sugar cane,or simply wander.
  67. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is a very fun game if your bored or are playing with mates. Everything is repetitive thats why this game will only get an 8 from me. But on the other hand it does have many things to keep you going. In MC you can build and do anything you want which is the fun side, but then once you have built a house and dug a big mine you think to yourself why am I dont this? and then you shut down your computer and go watch TV. Thats really what Minecraft is in a few hundred words. Minecraft is worth the money if your a sandbox gamer, but your like me and randomly saw yogscast one day and thought cool that look fun then dont buy it because theres two of them and one of you and at the end of the day your a very lonely person standing in a block house hiding from a green block monster at night. Expand
  68. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game was practically a dream for me. As a kid I loved building with Legos, made towns and loved using my imagination to add in stories for things. This is precisely what Minecraft lets you do better than any Lego game out there right now. When you start it can be a little overwhelming, and can seem a bit complicated, but you learn, you master your environment, and you build. In single player it can get a bit lonesome, but if you find a great group of people to play with online there will always be new things to explore, and occasionally surprises (good and bad) left for you to find at your houses. The charming looks, rather amazing landscapes you can find, and the expandability provided by a supportive fan-base will keep you entertained for a while assuming you don't need to see blood and gore every few minutes to keep your attention.

    I would like to address some of the ridiculous low scores some users gave the game. Reading through some there appear to be 2 major complaints, one being entirely illegitimate to me. Graphics. This really boils down to an argument the art community had some time ago, something that impressionism annihilated. In order to look good things do not need to strive for photo-realism. If you keep your aesthetic consistent which Minecraft does very well, things will look great even when full of blocks. It all just adds to the core mechanic of the game, you are in a world of building blocks, go build!
    There is also the trend of those siting graphics for not liking the game actually admit to not trying it purely because of the looks.

    The second major complaint is that after a while it gets boring. This can be true but is this not true of all games? For me I keep coming back and making new worlds. I do believe you will get your money's worth of playtime out of the game before becoming bored.

    All in all I will say this is a game for those with imagination, those who want to see themselves as the last knights of a kingdom long since overrun by undead and explosive creeper hoards, and gathering the last of their resolve strive to survive and rebuild the kingdom that was lost. Or may be you just wanna run a weird hotel in the middle of the ocean with pig riding out back, whatever floats your boat :-p
    Expand
  69. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most addicting games EVER. I have not stopped playing this game since it came out in beta. with the new 1.0.0 update this game is better than ever with potion brewing and a new realm with a final dragon boss to fight. I have also bought this game for the Ipod, which works like creative mode. This game is one of the best I have ever played. 10/10 Expand
  70. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Only word that can describe this game to its fullest. Do you want free world and do-what-you-want style of gameplay? Do you want endless fun? Do you want quality spent time? This game is just what you might be searching for! When I first played it, I was not very impressed in any part. But after youtube-ing some videos and playing it for few hours, I got mildly addicted. Now, 1 year later, I have spent more than 750 hours playing the game, and hell, it was well worth it. Buy it. Only thing that really needs to be said. Magnificent! Expand
  71. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I love Minecraft. It's a great game, and it's ensnared me for almost as much as some of The Elder Scrolls games. It's gotten me through boring calculus lectures and has inspired my Halloween costume. With Minecraft finally being "released", it's interesting when you look back at what it was like when you started. I am going to review this in three different sections: Single Player, Creative Mode, and Multiplayer.

    Single Player:

    I started in the early-middle Beta (around Beta 1.3). It was a fun game, building a house to protect yourself from the horrors at night, mining deep down in to the earth to find iron, gold, or, if I was lucky, diamond. I died quite a bit from experimentation (Hint: Don't dig straight down. That lava is nasty stuff.) but I always kept playing. It's addicting. Even now, it's still great. Since I started, they've added new mobs (for those that don't know, mob is short for mobile), new enemies, new blocks, and new concepts. Instead of only caves to explore, there are now strongholds, abandoned mine shafts and more. It's a blast to play, trying to discover that next cave to explore and mine. The experience system is rather shallow and pointless (enchanting weapons is the only current purpose for those damn green orbs) and I prefer the days of no food bar, where you could simply eat food and your health healed depending on what you ate.

    I have a few minor gripes with the single player, but they are easily overlooked. SP is, in my opinion, the best part of Minecraft.

    Creative Mode:

    Think of this as your canvas to build whatever you want. You have unlimited access to all the blocks and you can build to your heart's content. A castle, a giant Mario, an underground dungeon...it's all up to you. This is a fun, albeit rather boring at times, mode. It is good to experiment with, however. Creative mode helped me finally refine all the redstone circuits (complicated electrical stuff) and has helped me tap in to my inner Minecraft engineer. It's a good mode, but not something that can be played constantly. Multiplayer:

    Everyone's experiences with multiplayer depends on what server you play on. I ultimately found it to be kind of boring, no matter if I was on a strict survival server, an RPG server, or just with some of my friends. There is only so much to do in multiplayer and, if you are on a server that is inhabited by many different players, it is likely someone else has already mined that cave you found, or has griefed (destroyed) your house while you were offline. This is the only reason I really gave Minecraft a 9.


    Overall, Minecraft is a great game that will take your life away. You'll be obsessed with finding diamonds, caves, or beating that dragon. You'll find yourself crossing oceans just to find a wolf to follow you around. It's a great game that everyone should play.
    Expand
  72. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the most addicting game I've ever tried. I have been playing it since alpha, and i will continue to play for the next many years to come.
  73. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing Sandbox-Game. You need to play it and get into it, in order to understand it. If you think this Game is silly, ugly, or old, you probably haven't tried it yet.
  74. Mar 10, 2012
    4
    This game has a good premise and literally nothing else. The game looks ugly (not "retro"), the combat is shallow, most items are either too easily obtained or just plain pointless (for example rare food types do nothing for you that common foods do not) and the randomly generated nature of the game means that while occasionally you'll stumble upon something kind of cool that might take you a fair while. As far as building stuff goes a lack of intelligent opposition and the general low difficulty level makes it pointless while building for its own sake is boring due to the simple nature of the game's engine.

    A novelty that became a short lived cultural phenomenon. Avoid.
    Expand
  75. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This is a must-have game in my opinion because its a nice wind-down with peaceful music after playing a bit of battlefield 3. the multiplayer is so much fun with friends and the overall look and peaceful feel of the game is wonderful. who needs graphics?
  76. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game. I bought it at the Alpha stage and was pretty amazed. No such game has so much freedom. Yeah, Notch became money hungry, but he does not work on it anymore. Instead Dinnerbone is a really awesome guy and you notice that he loves to develop it. All updates were and are awesome. The updates only added things you don't NEED to use. You don't like enchanting? Don't use it. You don't like the bosses? Don't kill them. Easy as that. I still love the RPG-like elements. They add progression to the game. At the Alpha versions you got diamonds... that's it.

    I love everything about it. Just be aware of that not everybody can enjoy it. Some people can't play games without a main quest or something. :D 10/10
    Expand
  77. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Well...some people pay millions of dollars for fancy graphics, motion-capture and even 3D. Others pay writers to write out a well fleshed-out storyline with many choices. A few claim to offer "sandbox" style of gameplay...but nothing every comes CLOSE to amount of sandbox play style in this game. There is literally limitless potential, and because the world is constantly being generated, there is always somewhere new to go. Not to mention, this is only one mode! There are so many possibilities with modes, some that the single developer is working on, and some being suggested by the community. It's hard to believe a game like this 10 years ago would have been shot down for poor graphics, but now is probably Game of the Year material. Match it with a $20 price tag, I don't think any game will be able to match the addictiveness. Expand
  78. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Probably the most popular Alpha ever. By its fans, it is revered for being the "perfect" game. By their wives, it's farmville for men. In reality this game is a huge timesink, it'll last you as long as your imagination fuels you, but as the game has no real purpose, there's nothing to hold you after exhausting your imagination, then you're left waiting on updates to allow you to do more. This game is incredibly enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone looking to waste some time for cheap, but until the game gets a purpose, some sort of story, it will never be "perfect". Expand
  79. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    Enjoy it while you can. This game was and still is incredible, but I get the feeling that it's slipping. The creator, Notch, is a failure of a programmer who should win the prize for the most inefficient coding that has graced this Earth. The core of this game is poorly coded, but Notch chose to ignore it and continue coding to the point where it's too late to do anything about it.

    Other
    than that, it's an excellent game with a wonderful concept, but it's only set to get worse as far too many features will be added and will mar the initial charm of the game. (Dragons!? Wtf!? You trying to ruin this game!?) It's a shame the 'engine' for this game is far too poorly coded to be released with an SDK. It would have made this game incredible. My solution? Recode the whole damn thing now, before it get's any worse! Expand
  80. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a far too addictive game especially online.

    You can build everything and everything from Hogwarts School to whole Kingdoms if you wished and the best part is that its available for download meaning you HAVE TO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
  81. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    One of the things often overlooked in game reviews is value. How much for a game and how many hours can you expect out of a game? Minecraft is arguably the best value you can get from a game this generation. Minecraft somehow combines the addictive gameplay of Simcity and Resident Evil, not two games that normally go together. You start the game with no weapons or shelter, just a vast landscape consisting of different 'blocks' of materials that you can cut and shape into tools and building supplies. The only other creatures you see on your horizon (the gameworld is reported to be about eight times the size of the earth) are assorted animals such as pigs and cows. In the first few minutes of gameplay, you start to notice the sun moving across the sky, and it occurs to you that it will soon be getting dark. And this is where Minecraft can turn from a simple looking Lego game with cute quacking ducks into something that is about to scare the hell out of you.

    As darkness settles, you can see 'things' shuffle along the beach towards you, making growling noises. Arrows start flying at you from skeleton archers. It occurs to you that spending the afternoon and early evening exploring your world was possibly not the most productive use of your time. Building a shelter close to where you initially spawned is the first order of business. And this is where the 'mine' and 'craft' come in.

    By chopping down a tree with your hands, you can get wood. With wood you can create a workbench to make tools such as an pick, axe or sword. Once you have a pickaxe, you can tackle harder materials like stone or iron by digging into the earth or chipping away at cavern walls. And with these better materials, you can use your workbench to make stronger tools, weapons and armor. By the time the moon comes up on your first night, you won't have time to make an impregnable castle fortress, but at least you should be able to put up four walls and make a door, windows and roof. In the morning, the monsters that kept you a prisoner in your home at night burn up from the morning's sun, making it safe once again to explore.

    This when when you'll start to figure out that better materials are buried at deeper levels. And shortly after that, you'll realize that deep in your mine (or anywhere that lacks a light source) the monsters are waiting for you. There is genuine fear of being killed, because if you are it means you drop all of items you were holding, carrying or wearing at that spot, and you re-start at your initial spawn point that could be miles away, assuming you can even remember where that was.

    Minecraft offers addictive gameplay mixed with creativity. Later, as you progress through the game (there aren't any 'levels', you just craft better weapons and items) you can aid your exploring by making boats, a compass that always points toy your spawn area, a watch (so you know if it's dark when you emerge from your mine), even to a minecart rail system! With a strong sword and good armor, you're now able to defend yourself from *most* monsters (called MOBS), allowing you to focus on building whatever you want. I recommend you check out a few Youtube videos of what people with time and imagination can come up with. For really large projects, such as a life-size USS Enterprise... this is where the multiplayer aspect of the game really shines.

    Together, a group on a server can build entire cities. Players can download or create their own player skins to maintain a bit of style while swinging that diamond pick-axe to bore through tunnels that run under the ocean. Servers can chose to offer players any materials they need to aid in the construction. Again, check online to see just what is possible! Online games also allow you to build without fear of Mobs, which at that point really turns the game into a sim builder.

    The game also features different climates, so you might spend one day on a sunny beach, and the next hiking across a mountain through the snow. You can explore (and create) lava pools, waterfalls, and occasionally you'll stumble across dungeons. These have chests with loot in them, and a spawn cage that creates the Mobs (there's seven different ones, but I've chosen not to mention one in particular that will eventually give you nightmares). Using torches that you create from wood sticks and coal (of course) keep you from being in the dark underground, and if you surround a Mob spawn cage with torchlight, it will remain safely dormant.

    Expect to lose yourself in this game for many, many hours. Minecraft (still in beta) is currently about $15, so get in while it's still half price. Beta simply means it's still under development, so items are constantly being added. Great value indeed!
    Expand
  82. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is so interesting and original that it makes me piss blood. It is the definition of a game which is not overrated at all. I have aspersers and am a fat autistic neck beard.
    Luckily the game is filled with novelty. While most games these days have sickeningly horrid graphics filled with realism. I have NEVER loved a game for it's graphics before, but this... this is just perfect.
    I mean for starters you can give this game a perfect score, it has 70's graphics yet it came out last year and thatâ Expand
  83. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    There is a zen tranquility to Minecraft that might not appeal to everyone, but this game offers a unique and engaging outlet for creative expression. If you still haven't tried Minecraft and you are actually reading through user reviews in order to make your final decision, just go for itâ
  84. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Minecraft is a good game. But at the same time it might possibly be one of the most overrated games ever. Minecraft is either a "love or hate" game. For people who like to build and create structures and just be creative minecraft is excellent. For people who expect good gameplay and story telling from a game. Minecraft clearly isn't for us.
  85. May 31, 2011
    9
    Graphics complaints are missing the point of this game. There is plenty to do and much to explore, dont bother with the free version, the only version worth beans is survivor. And find a guide to help you get started.
  86. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a ten - not because it is perfect - but because it is perfectly addictive and the best example of substance over style when creating a fun and emnminently replayable game. I too have been playing since the alpha and have only scratched the surface of all that there is to do and that I want to do in the game! This game also is super friendly to modders who will continue to transform this game into new and amazing things long after Notch and his team has put his final touch on it. If I was not at work right now - I would not be writiing this review - I would be at home playing this game. Expand
  87. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game is epic!!!You will have tons of fun mining and or just building what you want,plus it has tons of mods that will add to the awesomeness, I highly Recommend this game for the price
  88. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    Minecraft has been an insanely popular first person sandbox ever since it gained mainstream popularity, during it's Alpha and Beta releases. Now with the final version out, a review can be done.
    The graphical style of Minecraft is pretty inspired by retro games, what with it's emphasis on blocks. It won't require the holiest of graphics cards, but that doesn't mean the game looks bad. In
    fact, the game can prove that good graphics aren't needed to make a beautiful looking game. You start off each world with three modes; Survival, Creative and Hardcore. Survival tasks you with surviving the world of Minecraft and progressing through a very light 'campaign'. It is more survival like than it's biggest rival Terraria, but don't expect to go all Bear Grylls. Hardcore Mode, however, tasks you with surviving even more than Survival; you get one life (meaning once you die, the world gets deleted, almost similar to Terraria) and you are stuck on the hardest difficulty.
    Creative is where Minecraft can show it's true colours. Creative Mode gives you all the items available in the game (with an infinite supply), unlimited health and the ability to fly and destroy blocks with one hit. Minecraft has shown that the possibilities of what you can do are almost endless. You can make anything from a 1:1 scale, fully functional space-ship, to pixel art of Rainbow Dash. There is also a very heavy modding scene in the game, with custom maps, texture packs and even mods that add more features to the game. However, the game isn't without it's faults. Unless you give yourself a goal, the game could turn out getting stale after a while. There's only so many times one can venture into a dungeon and have an epic battle with spiders. Also, the game still feels like a beta. A late beta, but a beta nonetheless. Multiplayer isn't polished yet and don't expect the single player experience to be flawless. Despite this, Minecraft is worth your time, if you have any. At almost £17, it can seem a bit steep for what you get initially, but this game can offer much more content than even a £40/£50 game.
    Expand
  89. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    "Minecraft" lacks the graphics, but is abundant with creativity. Expect enormous fun...with CRAFTING!!!
  90. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I'm surprised that roughly 1 in 7 people scored this game negatively (325 positive vs 47 negative at the time of this review), but then I realized that this game's detractors mostly attack the graphics and "slow" development, and the game's "boring" nature. As for the graphics, believe it or not, there is appeal in styling it with a retro-pixelated feel. Certainly some people wish every game had a team of 3,000 people working on it and a budget close to a Pirates of the Caribbean movie, like Grand Theft Auto and Call of Duty titles. And I enjoy my fair share of big budget titles, but I'm not dependent on graphics to allow me to enjoy a game, and anyone who is dependent on graphics over gameplay is set up for disappointment not only in this game, but in gaming in general. In this same reasoning, they are a company who has made 1 game, they are still a small developer, AND everyone who is complaining about features bought into the game while in development. I wonder if they'd complain so much if they were trusted to play a beta version of Madden that it wasn't still fresh after a full year of development.
    As for complaints about the game being boring, it's due to the (strangely) realistic nature of the game, in as such that you are alone in the middle of nowhere, and starting with no tools other than your hands. It does take time to assemble a comfortable zone for your player in game, and you are constantly learning through trial-and-error of ways to do things faster and better. The game isn't boring as much as it's lonely. And that's the intention of the developers, and it's certainly not a flaw or drawback to this game. And for those who need company in their games, the multiplayer option exists. I've actually been fortunate enough to have a desktop at home and my own laptop, and my girlfriend used her laptop along with mine to connect to our own server on my desktop, which allowed for a great 2-player game. All in all, the game is great, and the critical reviews explain why. I just wanted to counter the negative user reviews, because sadly, sometimes in every 7 people there is 1 person who can't be satisfied.
    Expand
  91. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Having been rather against Minecraft at the time of it's transfer into beta, I thought it would be a sensible idea to play the game and get some evidence on what it was really like. I was really expecting something bad. I was wrong. The game itself is brilliant - simple, yet complex. Endless hours have been spent mining, crafting, and mining more. Every world morphed into a brilliant landscape by hand (or pickaxe). But what really makes me come back to this is that there is no set limit as to what you can do. Even when you defeat the Enderdragon on Release 1.0, you can still continue on and do yet more stuff. Even the ending titles are attractive. Sure, the graphics aren't as good as other games (unless you run a HD texture pack), and there are a few bugs here and there, but, for a game that's been having so much hype from the online community... it certainly provides... Expand
  92. Apr 14, 2012
    1
    The brilliantly simplistic and fun idea that powered Minecraft at the beginning of its creation is overshadowed by many, many flaws. The graphics are disgusting. Supposedly they are suppose to look "retro"; no retro game has ever looked this bad. It really hurst your eyes to look at it. The combat is very basic and boring. It basically comes down to who has farmed enough items and has spent enough hours playing the game to get the better loot. Multiplayer (without a whitelist) is absolute mayhem. Most of the server "owners" are 15 years old or a furry. (Usually both) This leads to you getting banned from servers because the owner was mad because he was picked on in school that day, you have a skin they don't like, or you killed an animal (and furries evidentally hate that). In conclusion, the game gets boring very quickly and a community that is full of furries, children and homosexuals makes it even worse. So, unless you are one of the above mentioned, you will want to steer far clear from this game as it will dillude your mind and pull you into those digusting and appalling fandoms. If you are one of the above mentioned, then by all means play the game and discuss your pathetic, freakish, loner lives together away from all the normal people of the world. Expand
  93. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    Fast fact: if you rate a game solely on its graphics, you're an idiot. I'm giving it an 8 because while I don't care about graphics in games, the gameplay is solid, sure, but it does get repetitive and boring at times. I played this game non-stop when it was in alpha 1.2.2, and it sure was a lot of fun back then, but when I play it now I just feel boredom. It's a great game to play for the first few weeks of owning it, and then you've pretty much done everything there is to do and it's not as enjoyable as it was before. It's fun at first but after a while it's pretty boring, but I'll give it an 8 because it WAS a lot of fun. Expand
  94. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Very Fun, yet simple game. Getting friends together, Getting some microphones, and collecting those precious resources to survive in your new habitat. mining for new materials, such as Gold, or Diamond, for making of the better tools, until you get the best of the best. then, it doesn't even end there! , until you finally have a tower 100 blocks high, and as far as the eye can see, you dont end your journey! this game had me pre-occupied for hours upon hours This is truly and amazing adventure. BUT, it could be better. until it gets some sort of goal that needs achieving, such as a campaign, then that one point shall rest with me. I have faith, however, that soon enough there will a story line waiting for us. Expand
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    minecraft is any amazing game but it lacks in few areas.
    Graphics: 8 the graphics are more artistic than realistic and it pulls it off great except for some occasional areas,
    Gameplay: 9 the gameplay is near endless with mods and many other options this area does suffer from bad optimazation and bugs.
    Sound: 7 the music is great for this game but the sound affects due lack alot.

    Multiplayer: 8 the multiplayer is just really you with other people building it is fun but noting groundbreaking.

    Overall: 8 it is a great game for the creative person but bugs bad optimization and poor sound effects due bring it down. the game is really hard to review for if you are creative you will love it but if you need graphics and intense action then no it;s not so great. this is a indie game and it should be rated as one not a big budget title.
    Expand
  96. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    An amazing game and technical achievement that is sure to inspire the industry for years to come. There is an impressive amount of things you can do in Minecraft yet there are times where you can get bored of building something and have nothing else to do. I want to give it 10 but the lack of alternative challenges makes me quit the game all too often out of boredom.

    It is really a game
    that get better the more people you are playing with as when team work and cooperation are involved it adds a lot to the gameplay. Expand
  97. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is as simple or as complex as you want to make it. There is really no "end" to the game, the possibilities are endless. You can gather, build and see different areas of the game to collect all the achievements if you wish or you can build, mod, explore and multiplayer is a whole other realm by itself.

    I'm not sure why people are complaining about features and how the
    developers are "full of themselves" they release an update weekly called "weekly snapshots". They contain bugs and are works in progress but that is the whole idea behind Minecraft it is a work in progress. It always will be. Unlike other open world games like GTA, there is always more coming. The only limitation to this game is yourself and if the game doesn't have a feature, there is most likely a mod that does. Expand
  98. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    This game is really awesome, you can do so much with it and you can be really creative and build lots of things. However, the game doesn't last forever, there is only so much you can do, about after 2 weeks gameplay It will not be as fun and you will probably stop playing because at that time you already have a giant house, mines everywhere, lots of ore and many items, farm and such and then you can't really do more, you've reached your peak, and once you can't really accomplish anything else you stop playing, but still really good for that two weeks. Expand
  99. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Mojang's "Minecraft" is the Electronic Age's LEGOs, there is simply no other way to state it. It heavily (yet subtly) encourages the less objectively-good things in humanity, such as beauty, creativity, and teamwork, all while maintaining the guise as a "survival adventure" game. In reality, Minecraft is less about crafting and more about creating; a simple 1x2 mud hut can keep you alive through the night, but no one builds that (except out of desperation!)...the players of this game build towering monstrosities of castles, Nordic keeps, 1-to-1 scale replicas of Star Trek ships and Hogwarts castle. Not because they MUST, but simply because they CAN. This is the game of our generation. Expand
  100. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    notch is a complete hack. He gets way too much esteem for his "accomplishments." First off, Minecraft is almost an exact copy of Infiniminer, a game created by Zach Barth. Do a search on Google if you are not familiar with that game. So he is no genius game designer. Secondly, Minecraft runs like crap. Given the way the game looks, it should easily run at 60fps in a browser. Instead, even on high performance machines, it still does not run smoothly as a standalone application. So he is no genius programmer.

    Lastly, he's hired a crew of programmers and started a "game company", yet take a look Minecraft today versus 2 years ago. It's virtually the same game, with a few new crafting items thrown in.

    I still don't understand why people regard this game so highly. It feels like a classic "the emperor has no clothes."
    Expand
  101. Feb 2, 2012
    0
    The game isn't horrible, but for 30 dollars this isn't worth it for the average person. Survival becomes incredibly boring once you're done making your house with all your friends(this game is horrible unless you play it with friends). Unless you can sit for hours and build crazy things with your friends, this is a no go. Setting up your own server isn't hard, but the lack of a server browser is a major detriment to the game, the multiplayer is the only good aspect, me and my friend bought the game when it was $15 and have played it a lot, but it has a sizable amount of problems as everyone else has explained. The game is good if you and your buds can sit around building crazy stuff, but don't expect a 10/10 amazing experience that critics promise. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]