User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3116 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Pure, unadulterated fun. If you have a creative mind for Minecraft, be prepared to spend a portion of your life on this game. And considering this game is still in the beta stage, I'm having a hard time trying to hold my breath for when this actually gets released.
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever created in the history of man..........................................................................................................
  3. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Simply the best virtual Lego simulator out there complete with monster pieces and crafting recipes! The best deal/hours played ratio that I could ever imagine...
  4. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Very, very addictive game and this is one of the best game of 2011 and one of my favorite. You can create your ideal world oneself or with friends. This game is for everyone. I started play Minecraft 1 year ago and play now. New version is really great. I advice this game all creative people...... or everyone ;) Rate 10/10.
  5. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    There are never too many great building games. Minecraft is one of the best. If you played with legos in your childhood you've got to love this. The idea is simple, put blocks and remove blocks. This easy mechanism allows you to create whatever you want. And it's cheap too.
  6. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. If you don't like the graphics GET A **** TEXTURE PACK. I can be bad if you don't look up a tut (no tutorials or guides in-game). I highly recommend this to anyone who has some creativity and enjoys giant, randomly generated worlds (getting to one end of one takes 850-1000 hours,) and has a lot of time.
  7. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game that is updated frequently. Its definitely worth playing. The game play style is extremely addictive. I would recommend this game to anyone out there. The graphics arent a problem, in fact the graphics define minecraft and makes it unique. The graphics remind me of good games I used to play. The game is also very expansive and complex. The terrain is infinite and once an update has been patched, nearly every bug is purged from the game. It is easy to play and content is added frequently. Expand
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    The 2nd Best Indie Game EVAR!!!!!
    Apart from the fact that sometimes it's hard to come up wih something to do, so a bit too free for all, this game is the best 3d indie game, like a 3d (WHYDOESHEKEEPSAYINGTHREEDEE???!!!) 8 bit game. At night monsters come out and try to KILL YOU OF DEATH and the whole game is an amazing experience. Because there is no point of the game (that sounded...
    negative) there is no actual replay value, which means the game is infinite!!!! (Once I craft everything that's what I call completion...)
    Anyways:

    + Me likes graphics
    + It goes on forever
    +Mods, texture packs and more
    + Only in Beta: Imagine in November when the game is released... HEAVEN
    - Sometimes confusing...

    95%
    Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Finally, a fun game for kids-to-adults which harnesses one's imagination. Once you get past the blocky visuals, you get drawn in by the freedom and possibilities of a virtual open world unlike any other game I've yet seen. In fact, the simplicity of the fundamentals of this game -- everything is made of equally-sized cubes -- is one of its greatest strengths. Compared to some other much fancier games offering user-generated content (e.g. Virtual Life, Little Big World, Lego Universe), there is no barriers of entry in Minecraft -- anyone can do it, regardless of one's technical or artistic aptitude. Once inside, the possibilities are endless. You can immerse yourself alone or bring your friends and collaborate together via a server. Don't like the default 8-bit look? There are mods aplenty. Prefer just building over adventuring? Go Creative Mode. If you are going to spend a ton of time gaming on your PC, you can't do much better than this. Expand
  10. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    To be honest, this game is basically better than most games that you can buy for the Xbox 360/PS3 Ect.

    I own a copy myself and I have been hooked. The sandbox nature of peoples minds is in this game. There is no structure to the game itself, no story, but it doesn't need that. It is a masterpiece. It is the best game that I have ever owned.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Lightning + pig = zombie pigman. Need I say more?? Just an awesome game. So simple. So complex. So addictive. So going to go play it right now..........
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It's AMAZING!!! The graphics are horrible. the sound is... well... there isn't much sound at all. I gotta say though this game has made me so obsessed with it's simplicity and addictive gameplay that i cannot believe it! First off, when i tried it, i didn't know what the heck to do, so if you're new then go on you tube and search for "minecraft tutorial". A user named paulsoaresjr did some crazy 30 something video series on the game. Yes, it is that involved that he had to make 30 some odd videos 15 minutes long each! Expand
  13. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is starting a new genre of games. I think its the best pc-game of the 2000 century.it's so mutch to explore and so much materials to find. I like the graphics because its cool that everything is made of cubes. Noch has made a fantastic game witch i hope will be the game of the year 2011
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    The games is so incredible, cause it has some of the most primitive graphics, yet they immediately reach into your heart, because of the fantastic game-play. The best indie game there is in my opinion,
  15. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the most addicting games I have ever played. The graphics are very simple, and the game won't be loved by everyone, but if you want an extremely open experience with an incredible depth of game play, then Minecraft is a great choice. There is no story or plot, which leaves the entire purpose of the game up to the player, and with the massive number of obtainable items and building materials in a practically infinite world, Minecraft is truly a unique game that places virtually limits on creativity. Expand
  16. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Minecraft, built from the ground up and inspiring creative build in a simple and naturalistic way. Minecraft is a game which hours can be spent on, but its what you get out of those hours. With its over expanding modification base, adding new monsters and now spells, add that extra something to the game. With its ability to change to Hi-Def texture packs and run full screen. While single player has it advantages its multiplayer packs a punch, with the ability to share you creations with others, and other activities that were based off the original Minecraft, which is now free of course. Being one of the most addictive games out there, you don't want to miss out on this game. Expand
  17. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant at what it does. If you expect current gen graphics or are overly concerned with how the game looks, this is not for you. If you didn't play with legos or like you games with set goals that tell you what you need to do, this game is not for you. However, if you have a love of creating things and play game that is what you make of it, then minecraft is for you. This is not a traditional game, it is a simplified 3d rendering program done in a game theme. While some may argue your time is better spent actually learning how to use the real programs, minecraft is simpler and cheaper. You literally have the freedom to create whatever your imagination can come up with using 1 meter cubed blocks. The game is simple in appearence, and wonderfully complex at the same time, its simply a matter of how play it. I myself have recreated the Temple of Artemis, a football stadium, an ancient city, Wayne manor....... I've seen people do Enterprises, AT-AT walkers, hell go to youtube and search minecraft, you'll see a near endless list of things people have done. And then there is the modding community that creates some wonderful modes that enhance the gameplay, like the planes mod for example. And while the game is really fun solo, it is even more amazing when playing with a group of friends, the stuff my friends and I have created is amazing and alot of fun to do. Remember the game is what you make of it, so have fun. Expand
  18. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Minecraft from about the 1.5 Beta stage. At first it was quite boring, but as the game progresses, you uncover a world full of wonderful things. From the first time you find diamonds to finally creating a house made up of all the stuff you can successfully scrape together off the ground, it is an unusually addictive game. But what makes this complete is the community. From the amazing mods that improve the game so much, to the fan made maps and community on YouTube, this is one of the greatest games of all time, and with it expanding to the 360 early in the new year, I cannot wait to play it on both my PC and 360 with all of my friends and family, because of course, it is a family game. Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Probably the best game ever made. There is a goal to the game, although it isn't obvious at first. Minecraft's weakest point would have to be the fact that it can get boring after a while. However, starting afresh usually helps.
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Minecraft isn't a perfect game, but it is a great game. As some of the professional reviews have stated, it is a difficult game to sum up. It is a game that gives you a lot of freedom; you can build whatever you want out of (usually) cube-shaped items, fight a variety of monsters, craft potions and item enchantments, and/or explore a variety of randomly generated biomes, ruins, even villages. Generally speaking, you can choose some of these activities and ignore others, or engage in all of them. The world technically has a limit, but it is so vast (eight times the surface area of Earth) you are extremely unlikely to ever hit the limit. Even if you did, you could simply generate a new world and start anew (without losing anything in your original save). There are currently two game modes: Creative and Survival. Creative gives you all of the materials and lets you freely build, while in Survival you have to worry about maintaining your health and manually collecting items. Regardless of mode, this is a game that is easy to find something to do, whether you only have a few minutes or a few hours. There is both single player and multiplayer available. If you are put off by the default graphics, there are many user-made texture packs available allowing you to choose a look you like. If you are looking for more features, there are also many mods available. Also, as of this writing, Mojang plans to continue releasing bug fixes and new content. It is also pretty friendly to lower-end computers compared to most high-profile games.

    There are some notable shortcomings. There is no formal in game tutorial; you will probably want to get some help from other people or the Minecraft Wiki when trying Survival mode. Some features are only partially implemented at the moment; notably, the NPC villagers found in the villages cannot be interacted with currently. Multiplayer offers neither an in game server browser or matchmaker, meaning you will have to go through several steps you may not be used to to play with others. Modding isn't very user friendly either, and this is something that had been promised a long time ago. Mojang claims, however, that they still intend to address this. Even in the current release version (1.0.0), crashes are reasonably frequent for me; thankfully, the game does a good job of saving right before the crash and it is fairly painless to boot up the game again and re-enter the world. Perhaps the biggest criticism I have seen, however, is the absence of any formal goals. Some people have gotten bored of the game pretty quickly. Mojang has addressed this concern somewhat, but to get the most out of the game you will still need to set your own goals.

    If you think you are at all interested in Minecraft, give Minecraft Classic a try. It is basically an outdated version of Creative mode you can play for free. It will give you some idea of what to expect. If you like it at all, I would encourage you to try the full game. I have enjoyed the game over much of the past year and I expect I will continue to enjoy it for some time to come.
    Expand
  21. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    What to say the only game that I play ATM than its awesome. There are bugs but Mojang is fixing them and the bugs aren't like that you can't play the game properly, you can be creative than there are no limits in our creativity only our mind.
  22. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    At its core Minecraft is the ultimate game, simple yet elegant, and infinitely re-playable. From when i started playing while it was in alpha to now the best part is the multi-player being able to create literally whatever you want from things you find while exploring. Its infinite plain and simple like Lego when i was growing up this recreates a part of my life i desperately needed again
  23. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Personally, it really annoys me that people rate and hate games due to their graphics, even if a main feature of the game is the aesthetics which are only made possibly by the graphics. One such game is Minecraft, and I'll tell you it's had me addicted from the beginning. The creativity it inspires in me genuinely shocks me sometimes, and I've been known to spend hours at a time making a roller coaster, or a palace, or a city! The game has (as far as I'm concerned) infinite replay-ability, due to the very nature of the game. And I've seen people complaining that 'it has no story'. That's the whole point, everything is left for the player to imagine, including the origins of the world you just created if you so wish. This is not COD, this is not an action filled, heavily scripted, game where you can almost guess that somethings about to explode in your face. This is, along with a few other games, nearly completely unscripted. As for the ending, it is there not to explain the world you made and how it came to be, but to thank the modding community for all the support they have shown for the game. However, i have to say that the final release was almost rushed out, simply because people were growing impatient and wanted it right here, right now. The fact that some people would complain that Notch is ignoring the bugs is ridiculous, he originally wanted to completely iron out all the bugs, but the fanbase said he could do that over the next few updates. And Minecraft is still updating, it can only get, while there are a few things left to be desired, better. Expand
  24. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    I give the untouched plain minecraft a 6, enjoyable, but not amazing. However, the ammount of cusumizabilty due to all the mods makes it a certain 10. You can shape the game into what ever you want.
  25. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    Minecraft ITSELF, is a pretty bad game. Repetative combat, essentially no plot, a lot of stuff to do, but your working towards no goal. Now, why the 10 out of 10. Because although Minecraft itself is terrible, the thing that pulls me in is what is can become! Its as if Notch gave the world a toll to create a game that you wanted. It has about the largest modding community I've ever seen in a game, and what people have done has amazed me. There are servers where you can join factions, and there are servers where you can fight a zombie invasion. There are mods where you can destroy a world with technology, and there are mods where you can turn it into an RPG and be whoever you want to be. Never before have there been so many possibilities in one game. Yeah I'm still going to by RPGs becuase I love a good story, but if I just want to do whatever I please in a world where ANYTHING is possible, then I'm gonna sit down log in to Minecraft and play some YogBox. 10 out of 10. Expand
  26. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the most creative game you will probably ever play. You can basically do anything with and if that isn't enough there are plenty of mods out for it that will add just about anything to the game. With that the game is constantly updating, adding more and more features making it even more limitless. For the graphics, well lets just say that they are not modern but you really don't care when your playing because your having so much fun. Besides you can just get texture packs for it anyways. Chances are your friends are playing it already so you can just hop on a server and start playing together. There are so many servers that you'll find one quickly. Overall i think this game is a must buy with all it has to offer and all the mods have to offer. Expand
  27. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    This game, minecraft is a truly awesome, epic game. it is for anyone who is a fan of terraria and other sandbox/building game. Even though it costs a lot of money, it is well worth the cost. I bet you could play this game for 10 years and not get bored with it.
  28. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of emergent gameplay. The graphics don't matter, not in this case. The game is as good as you want it to be, nobody with a creative bone can find it boring. It's not "addictive" in the sense an MMO or a Facebook game can be addicting, it pushes the inventive buttons in the player's head and makes him want to outdo him/herself all the time, to improve his/her creations, to make new landmarks or embark on new expeditions. In addition to that, the game is continuously evolving, adding more objects and items to change the game world with. There's a reason why many call it "revolutionary". Expand
  29. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game has kept me entertained for almost 2 years now, and was well worth the 7,50
  30. pxl
    Dec 20, 2012
    10
    A game that has kept my entertained for around 2 years. I can always refer back to this game when the boredom sets in, if that refers to playing one of its many mods like Tekkit or The Aether, or just playing survival with Vanilla Minecraft. Then if I feel like mixing it up a bit, I'll refer to the forums and go play one of the thousands upon thousands of player created adventure/parkour maps. The interactivity Minecraft has was brilliantly devised and its nice to have tools at your disposal. Well done to the people that made Minecraft what it is today, which in my opinion, means the community. The mods and the maps make this game what it is, and Standard un-modded Minecraft is also a fun game. Thanks for the good game Notch, and thanks to the community, for keeping my entertained for hours on end. Expand
  31. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game on the PC. Building for free is great and Survival is excellent. I thought because it was pixelated it was bad but when i played it it was satisfying and really excellent fun
  32. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    My new favorite game. Once you get over the fact that it isn't a fast paced game and that yes, everything is made of blocks, will you understand the true splendor of Minecraft. My recommendation is find a good server that you enjoy playing on and make some friends on their - it will be worth it. You can find servers on the minecraft forums.
  33. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Great game overall. Frequently updated and improved and many new blocks added regularily adding up to the amount of clever contraptions and machines you can build. Great pastime and quite addicting.
  34. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    This game is more than a game, it will suck in your life and force you to become one of the square people, you will start to relate everything in real life to stuff in minecraft, some people are saying this game is bad because "its a game where you move around blocks, its digital legos" Well guess what folks, you can choose between creative mode or survival mode! so its more about surviving than building, not to mention the huge amount of servers that all have their own cool game modes, another complaint is : "there is no goal!" Yes there is, you can build a portal to the final boss called "the ender dragon" so THERE is a goal, I could also say that guess what : ITS A SANDBOX GAME, IF YOU DONT LIKE SANDBOX GAMES, then dont play minecraft, yes, after you have done everything it CAN get boring and you wish you could get that feeling of discovery whenever you craft a new thing out of blocks, but its a rather cheap game in comparison to other titles, also, one may say that terraria is better than minecraft, I would debate that they are incomparable because terraria has ALOT of unbalanced garbage in it, but everything in minecraft has a purpose and is balanced to a very good extent. Such as melons being easier to farm but wheat can be used to get your more animals (etc) or stone pick axes are better at mining huge areas than iron pick axes but iron picks pick faster, etc. The people who are voting this game down dont like sandbox games and cant see beyond their own gameplay perspectives, Geoffory2 says "this game is repetitive and boring" well its an opinion. You cant state opinion without evidence. Dont forget that this game is very unique in comparison to other titles, seriously, give this game a shot because its a master piece. (but only if you like sandbox games) if you dont like sandbox games then dont buy it, its as simple as that. Some people are marking this game down for the modding community working faster than Notch (the game creator) WHATS THE PROBLEM WITH MODS? MORE CONTENT FOR YOU.Some say "OMG THE GRAPHICS SUCK, THIS GAME IS SO GAY" well guess what, those people are COD aid infected idiots, because minecraft was not meant to be a very graphical game, graphics are extra credit really, nothing more. Also, it does NOT perform terribly if you simply dont set everything on highest settings, yes folks the rules still apply because JAVA is a REALLY REALLY BAD ENGINE.
    If there are any problems with this game, its that notch worked so slowly to get everything right before it was released, but that does not matter now!
    Expand
  35. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a sandbox, block based building game. It gives players the ability to dworko whatever they want to their environment; anything from building a castle to blowing up the world. The freedom to do whatever you want gives the game an unlimited replay value. In edition, the multiplayer functionality gives you the ability to work on massive projects with your friends. All in all, an excellent game, and more than worthy of the price. Expand
  36. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This game is addicting, simple and very fun. Read this review and see why you should buy this game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox construction game, inspired by Infiniminer, and created by Markus Persson, the founder of Mojang AB. The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create
    blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes. This game is highly liked by many people and has sold over 1 million copies.

    The graphics for minecraft are nothing special; however, I'm pretty sure this was intended. The graphics aren't great at first glance, although you get used to it the more you play the game. The art design is quite charming and interesting, and it kindof sucks you in. I started liking the graphics as the pixel art design fits the game nicely however, die-hard graphics fans will never get used to them.


    The gameplay is simple and complex in different ways. You start off in a randomly-generated world and you need to survive as long as possible. The game involes you to gather resourses, make shelters and kill baddies. The game has many crafting recipes and this can be very rewarding. There is a bit of a learning curve, however, once you start to get the hang of things, you can't stop thinking what to make next. The building in this game is endless, with tons of materials to get. I found myself making houses and all sorts of things. Anyways, back to the "survival" aspect. The game's AI is quite good; as the badguys really try to kill you. Obviously, this can be turned off, but the game kinda loses it's spunk. There are many enemies, from zombies to spiders, there is tons to kill. The game has an online feature, however this is a big pain for people who are forced to make a server. Unforthunately, I didn't get a chance to play online, but I'm quite sure it would be a lot of fun. I could sit here for hours telling you about how interesting this game is, but I'll let you try it out for yourself and expierience how great this game is. For a game that only costs $20, this is a must-buy for all PC owners.

    The sound effects in this game are realistic and somewhat creepy. The animals such as cows, pigs, and sheep sound spot on and really make the game come to life. The game's baddies sound weird, but that isn't to much of a factor. The game's music is somewhat relaxing and peaceful. Some of the music is excellent, and others are decent. Overall, the audio is fresh and is a blast to listen to. The controls are extremely responsive and customizable. I had very little control issues with this game. I don't have much to say here; except the fact that the controls are almost perfect. The game's replay value is the best I've ever seen in a video game. The game edges LittleBigPlanet2 by using randomly-generated worlds, tons of items to craft, many updates to come and much more features. The game's replay value is unlimited, due to the fact of the cost, features and content. PROS: +Randomly-Generated Worlds
    +Tons to Explore
    +Excellent Controls
    +Great Music
    +Sound Effects are spot-on
    +Cost of $20
    +Charming
    +Good AI
    +Decent Graphics

    CONS:
    -No Maps
    -Learning Curve
    -Online Setup is a pain

    Ratings:
    Graphics: 7.5/10
    Gameplay: 9.5/10
    Audio: 8.5/10
    Controls: 9.5/10
    Replay Value: 10/10
    OVERALL: 9.0/10 To conclude, Minecraft is a stunning game. The graphics may not be for everyone, but that shouldn't judge the game completely. The gameplay and all the other features overpowered that flaw, and you get used to the graphics after awhile. For all the people who hate the graphics, download a texture pack to make the graphics better. I think this is one of the best games for the PC.
    Expand
  37. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    As much as I want to give this a 10 out of 10, it isn't done yet. However, Minecraft has become as affected almost everyone I've met. The concept is simple, easy to explain, but impossible to master. I have wasted away countless hours on this game, building, crafting, being blown up by creepers, and repeating. Plus, it's only $21 now. Multiplayer is just as fun, if not better, than single-player. However, making a server takes some time and practice, so start watching some YouTube videos if you're going to make one. Now, onto the graphics: I have 3 words for you: Haters gonna hate. The graphics are low-rez for a reason. If they weren't, people wouldn't focus on the game play. In the end, I don't see why you need to read this review, as you don't need someone to say Minecraft is a good game. In other words, buy this game and tell you're friends about it. Expand
  38. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game, whoever complains about graphics is just dumb because Minecraft is about simply about creativity and the ease of building and the feeling of accomplishment whenever you do.
    Minecraft has kept me entertained for 10 months now. 10000% worth it
  39. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    The game is amazing, the world is like 10x bigger than earth itself, the blocky graphics make it a good thing, as if the graphics were Crysis-Like, the game would lag to hell, and it already does at times. It has a large variety of mods and you can build HUGE ass places, you will never be in the same place again after you generate a new world, every world is unique and different, there will be not one thing identical about sepearte worlds. All-in-all, the retards that claimed the graphics were bad are graphics-whores and don't know a good game when they see one.

    [REUPLOADED DUE TO INVALID RATING]
    Expand
  40. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Ignoring the graphics, Minecraft isn't really a game, it's a drug, an amazing drug. I understand the reasoning of the low graphics as most computers won't be able to run the game at all if the graphics level were higher like higher resolution blocks, but most imperfections can be fixed with mods found in the forums, adding in more depth to the game like a high resolution mod or guns or even a pink creeper.

    The game is simple, build, mine, fight, yet the creator, Notch, keeps expanding on this Idea and keeps this game fresh with every update, considering that it's still in beta. Definitely worth the buy.

    And a quote to the harsh reviewers (Most are giving low scores due to graphics)
    "If a pirated download is a loss sale, should negative reviews be illegal?"
    Markus Perrson, Mojang AB, Minecraft Developer
    Expand
  41. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    From many people I have heard that they say the graphics are rubbish yet they have yet to play such a simple yet addictive game. Sure there are some bugs in the game but as it reaches the official version in the 4th Quarter the creases will be 'ironed' out. As it's constantly updated I find even more fun yet interesting additions that make the game so much more enjoyable. A favourite of mine would be the addition of hatches (door in the floor). This allowed lots of new creations and to further it, the cleaning up of various things such as the large and 'ugly' normal doors. Overall a great game for a great price. In my opinion a must play! However it can't get a 10 as I'm sure it will be better as time progesses Expand
  42. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    It's a good, awesome, perfect and interesting game. i am recommended this for all my friends.
    in this game am possible build and dig and fight with a pig and simply to live.
  43. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    The simplest of ideas are often the best. A great idea and value for money. Players can look forward to many improvements and possibilities in the future of Minecraft. Highly recommended.
  44. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Explore - Adventure - Build - Destroy. This game is everything to everyone, minecraft is the most creative thing to come along in years and years, let's hope it stays awesome.
  45. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is brilliant, a truly masterful piece of work. It is simple, yet addictive, and the pure creationism of it allows you to build to your heart's content. There are those who complain about the graphics, but if those people can't get over the graphics and see this brilliant game is then I pity them. And the graphics aren't actually bad at all, they suit the game and are quite charming. Just the thrill of exploring a randomly generated world and finding all kinds of wonderful and peculiar things. And exploring the bowels of the earth, hunting for those elusive diamonds and always looking over your should lest a monster creep up on you. Multiplayer, though still in development, allows players to connect with their friends and build their dream house, castle, fort ,cave, or whatever they may wish. There are also those who would criticise the game's single developer, and we do need to remember that this game is made by one man, Notch works hard to produce this brilliant game, but if he decides that he doesn't want to patch the game, then the game is not patched, god forbid he should ever go on holiday. He may have established an office for Mojang, but it is simply so that he can surround himself with the greatest programming talent in Sweden. If you are even considering buying this game, then you definitely should. I held out for a while but when I finally played this game, I was hooked from the very beginning. For the price it's at it is great value. This is definitely the best indie game that I have played in a long, long time, and at a price that wont break the bank. Expand
  46. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games. This game is really fun and will give you hours of entertainment. it is constantly updated as it is still in development. the only bad thing about the game is that it is very addictive and you can waste a lot of time playing.
  47. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    I was introduced to this game back in December '10, and it was explained to me as a "never ending world made of cubic meter cubes where you can build to survive attacks from creatures and excavate to upgrade tools." I nearly s*** my pants when I heard this because I've been looking for a game that had vast terraforming capabilities ever since I played Red Faction (the first one) where you could make your own tunnel with rocket launchers. I bought the game, started it up, looked at the graphics and was disappointed, but my friend told me "just give it a try, it'll grow on you." I've been playing 11 months since then (off and on). The saving grace to this game is the modding community, without it I would be bored to death, but since the developers programmed in functionality to be modded (with a simple programming language, mind you) I am including the online community while rating this game. I host my own server, my friends join with me, and we have an RP world made with mods, and a Survival world made legit. That's the fascinating thing about this game, is that it is made to be a single player survival game, but unintentionally has practically turned into an MMO with all of the online modding capabilities. Idk if it's fair or not, but i docked a point for the speed of Majang's work, I've been in beta for 11 months and haven't seen much added. Sure there's a big list of core changes to the game in the last year, but month-to-month it's actually not that much. Keep in mind that I am rating this as an indie game, as if this were a fully financed corporate project then I would rate this a 6, due to lack of content, but for a small team of developers, the fair price (comparative to a typical game), and the online community, this is definitely deserving of at least a 9. Expand
  48. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    This game is the definition of the word time-waster, but it is so damned addicting that it makes you forget all about that. at first glance of the game it looks like a crappy Lego, game but actually playing it blows your mind. it's so unique and intriguing that it deserves a class of its own. I say if you have 20 dollars and 6 hours to kill give it a look.
  49. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is probably the most innovative game since Doom. It is not a normal game, it created a whole new genre. It really deserves the perfect score.
  50. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Please disregard reviews from people claiming the game doesn't have enough to do. Many of those reviews were written when the game was in alpha, at the time of this review it is still in beta and won't be released for several months. Mojang is constantly adding new features and tuning the experience.

    Also disregard reviews from people who don't care for the genre, would you trust a review
    of an RTS by someone who doesn't like RTSs?

    That said, Minecraft has captured the essence of sandbox gaming. So far the features have been more abstract than concrete giving players tools to explore and shape the world without imposing any sort of virtual reality other than the one they create. This may change in the future, Terraria has named bosses and the team at Mojang have expressed an interest in doing something similar in Minecraft. However, so far I like the way the team has implemented the game so I suspect they will add more concrete concepts in elegant ways.

    If you even think you may like this game, pick it up and/or check out the many videos people have posted on YouTube
    Expand
  51. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    This is possibly my most favourite game and its money well spent buying this, with countless mods you can install and the opportunity to add such a huge variety of texture packs, the community has really built this game, that aside, the general game you receive is a masterpiece in its self with no goal offered you are thrown into the wilderness to survive, building a home and keeping monsters at bay and doing countless things to stay alive, this alone is a fun factor also the fact you can build pretty much anything you want is just amazing, i extremely recommend this to anybody and even more to those of you who have a creative mind and you can go online and make mega structures with your friends now that awesome, the only downfall i can see is that the game can crash sometimes depending on what your doing and sometimes the servers can get overloaded taking time go go online but this is usually sorted and you can play offline making this game one of my top 5. Expand
  52. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    It's a beautiful game! Created with every single detail from the real world when I sit in front of the computer starts Minecraft I fell FREE! And no one can tell me what to do! It's the real world in a game. Build your home protect it! Loads of stuff to do! Hail Notch :)
  53. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This game is not simple. Lots of things to craft, multiple mobs, a huge variety of blocks, and redstone enable you to accomplish incredible things. Its mod-friendly environment allow you to improve the graphics, add new items, mobs, and blocks. This game is well worth the price.
  54. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have played Minecraft since Alpha and a lot of changes had occurred in the game over time, Notch dose frequent updates and adds new content to the game and said he will continue to do so in till the game has stooped being sold and im going to venture its not going to stop selling for along time. i will say this is the best indie game of all time and matches up agents the big companys like Bethesda, valve, bioware, all of them. Great job Mojang love the game and glad to see that Minecraft is now released :) Expand
  55. Oct 29, 2011
    9
    This is a very creative sndbox game, where everything exists of blocks. Except form creative and survival mode, you can also go online or download custom made adventure maps. Also you can customize your player skin and the way everything looks like.
  56. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Great game. I have played it a lot. When I first saw people playing it I though "this is dumb but I know I will enjoy it immensely." This game is like virtual 3d Legos it is the best.
  57. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    This game is very fun, addicting, and innovative. I have played since Alpha. I will continue to play even after it is released, because even then updates will still be available. My friends love it, though others might say it has "stupid blocky graphics." But they need to learn that graphics don't make the game, it's how fun it is. You should get this game if you haven't!
  58. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. The only reason it is really getting hated upon is because of its art style and updates. Both of which are nothing to complain about even if you don't like the game.
  59. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing. i used to obsess about graphics but this game taught me you don't need graphics for a good game. I've been playing since alpha and i will continue to play hopefully forever. i can't wait for the full release. and i wish mojang the best. the first time i found diamonds i was so excited i did a back flip and screamed OMG DIAMONDS :D
  60. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME IN HISTORY. A very creative game that takes long to get bored. It is huge open map where you can do anything, whenever i want for e.g i can even save in the middle of the map and then chose to join that map again. It's just amazing too amazing took me a long time to get bored of it and in the 1.0 full release everything i want is there
  61. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    This game has so many ways to play, explore, build etc. You can play this game so long that you usually forget how long you are playing. Playing this with friends is absolutely iceing on the cake.
  62. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    as games go this is up there with the best. simple. addictive , fun, intuitive, clever. you can pl;ay the game in a variety of ways some focus on building, others mining, some exploring the infinite land which is generated. some people slate it and those are mostly the people who haven't played it. give it a go for an hour and you'll be hooked. watch out for the creepers though!
  63. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played (as you can see by my username) and I am addicted to it! Minecraft is a very addicting game in which you build things out of blocks of materials. You can build anything you want! This may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I think that this game is a masterpiece that is overlooked because of its graphics (which aren't that bad!). Even though it is still in beta versions, I can see this game becoming very successful in the near future. Expand
  64. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is an amazing game. It is a game where you can literally build anything. Mountain in your way? Remove it. Want one somewhere else? Build it. Want a small cottage or a giant mountain? Your choice. Want to replicate the White House or an entire city? If you have the time, it can be done. Hell, want to build a computer inside Minecraft to do basic math? Dedicate A LOT of time to redstone. It's been done, and you can do it too. Enchanting, potions, secret doors, farming, smelting, mining, pet wolves, this game has everything. Not only this, with multiplayer, you can do this all with friends. Go off and do your own thing, build cities together, trade with gold and diamonds, discover strongholds and villages together...it's fantastic. And I'm not done yet. Don't like the graphics? Apply an HD texture pack with everything from custom items and grass textures to different clouds. You can make this game look however you want. Although the game needs more bugfixes and is far from perfect, it's overall the first game where you can just about do anything. Get it. Now. Expand
  65. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A perfect game for the casual player, many interesting functions and many more to come. Fun to play.
    Collect the blocks, build a house, get to the End and much more..........
  66. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    i utterly love this game you explore build fight (play on hard if you want the most fun) the game its self is lacking but its still rather enjoyable needs a little polishing but its still the best game i have ever played a year after buying it i still play it just about every day for a good few hours. I know this might not be everys ones cup of tea you need to be some what creative to like it but after you play this for a good amount of time you will be changed for life i recommend it to every one to at least try using a freinds account, ect) if you like it you will totaly agree it will be worth the $30 and it will be the best dam $30 you ever spent. Expand
  67. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Even when haters gonna hate, gamers gonna play. Minecraft looks terrible, has no storyline (yet), but its one of the best sandbox lego-simulator ever made. Good job Mojang. I still remember my beloved booster glitch (RIP).
  68. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn brahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn minecraft
  69. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    now minecraft release date is Nov 18, 2011 ï¼
  70. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a great game. Its not perfect, but a step in the right direction. everyone trolls about this game having bad graphics. It doesn't. Its a game of blocks. the textures are pixilated, but there's plenty of texture packs to fix this problem if your really worried about that sort of thing. the game plays well enough, tight controls and excellent crafting, but combat is very awkward. the main thing i actually have a problem with is the games bugs. there's a lot of them, and most are simply overlooked. but i cant say that these things have actually annoyed me that much. when your constantly basking in the game's beauty, you not worried about these things. you're thrust in this new world of mystery, you wake up, knowing nothing about the world around you, and you have to figure out whats going on. how to survive. once you do this, you'll be spend endless hours building in the infinite space that the game has. you'll know that the problems are there, but you wont care about them. you'll create your city, your empire. you'll find many ores and go to the nether, and once your done there, you discover the "End". and you'll realize the evil that this beautiful world has under its surface. and once you sit through the incredible and unique credits, you come back wanting more. Expand
  71. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I would give this game a solid 10/10 for starters the game itself has a solid gamplay which leans more toward a sandbox/RPG type game but thats good because it gives you freedom within the world to do as you please.Then on to the graphics sure there pixely but thats what defines this game as is and if you don't like the graphics you can just get a texture pack. Now onto its multiplayer mechanics it's multiplayer is well defined and makes a mark for itself just look at the immense servers sprawling with creations requiring tons of people. Lastly Minecraft isn't a game much more its a genre because now you have games popping up like Terraria, FortressCraft, and alot of other games. So it's well worth that $26.95 for admission to such a diverse game with endless possiblty and it has so many mods to content people who are getting bored of the vanilla gameplay. Expand
  72. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is definetly worth a purchase, one of the best game I have played and I have played a fair bunch. Hard to get bored, I bought while it was still in Alpha mode and i still play it all the time.
  73. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I wandered through the woods, killed skeletons, spiders, zombies. I discovered deep canyons and high mountains. I dug deep into the soil to find ores of iron, gold and diamonds. I built a palace made of glass surrounded by waterfalls that keep the creepers away. I built a rollercoaster, a chicken farm, a musical gangway. On our server I can travel by cart to a Cathedral built a friend or to the depths of Moria built by another...

    There are so many adventures, crafting recipies... possibilities!
    The music is so awesome and inspiring, I bought and d/l'd some C418 CDs so I can hear the music while I'm working. Minecraft is a phenomenon that I'm happy to be part of.
    Expand
  74. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Truly an amazing game. You can put in hours upon hours and still have fresh gameplay. I totally recommend you on getting this amazing fantastic family friendly game that has no curse words at all!
  75. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I bought Minecraft in alpha, and it has been one of the few games i have hatched on like a slug

    I started out in singleplayer, and as a lot of other people say, it gets boring after a while.

    THAT is where Multiplayer comes in. I joined Super-Earth, and ever since, the game has delivered more entertainment than you could get for a 1000$
  76. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Minecraft have it's flaws.The total lack of a tutorial and a better guidance for the player certainly can put some gamers lost in the vast world before them. However, what we have here is the birth of a new game genre which inspired other game developers to create similar games (the most famous is Terraria). Despite the blocky and pixelated graphics (or better saying: Voxels) Minecraft is another proof you don't need a PS3 or DX11 graphics to make a game good and entertaining. Sure, sometimes you get lost and bored when you don't know what to do, but as long you have a goal to do in this game it'll never get boring. Be building (or reforming) a home, crafting new items, spelunking the caves searching for rare minerals, wandering in the vast world or just creating or recreating a mansion or whatever you want to do in the Creative Mode.

    Also despite the blocky graphics, Minecraft CAN scare you. Specially when you're venturing in the mines. Nothing more scaring than digging for minerals in a mine when suddenly you hear a "sssss" right behind you before you're victim of a explosion (and dies) or when you turn around a dark corner just to see a big and furry spider lunging at your face.

    In the end, Minecraft is a game for creative and intelligent gamers who can see what lies behind a world made of blocked and "ugly" grafics. In my most honest opinion, if this game don't deserves a 10. Then no other game deserves it.
    Expand
  77. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is an amazing game. Infinite, procedurally-generated terrain, that makes the game never ending and forever entertaining. It gives you the opportunity to build anything and everything, except circles. It has redstone that allows for circuitry to make amazing machines, survival version to make it challenging, and an almost infinite modding capability for those who figure it out.
  78. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    Minecraft-PC review

    Minecraft is a game that challenges your creativity! Minecraft has been around for a year and has developed so much since its release to the world, back when it was in
  79. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    People who don't like this game are unintelligent, immature, retards. Graphics don't make a game. If you think they do then you are the CANCER KILLING GAMING. This game makes you try at something. Which most modern gamers lack. You guys want a checkpoint and guns to be in everything. Minecraft is for creative people who like to be imaginative. If you don't have an imagination then don't bother playing this game. Don't try to say that you have an imagination and try playing this. You won't like it and you wasted your time. If you are a creative and imaginative person, and always have that little need for exploring in your head. Then this game is for you. If all you want it good graphics and guns. Then don't waste your time. Expand
  80. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Since people like lists ill list just some of the features in this game. - crafting - mining - fighting - exploring - gathering - breeding - farming - jumping - swimming - running - building - killing - eating - wood chopping - smelting - raining - lightning - planting - nethering - sleeping - customizing - sailing - enchanting - digging - shaving - slaughtering - socializing ....the list could go on but i ran out of words with" ing " Expand
  81. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    After a while it grows on you a bit, plus everyone was telling me how great the building aspect of it is when I'm more into the adventure and mining of it. Although it still seems like the fans are the ones that carried this game...
  82. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a terrific, simple, unfinished game that deserves the praise it receives. It appeals to the creative, the innovative, the adventurous. Most people will leave satisfied after building a house, fighting zombies, or building some giant contraption out of redstone (the game's version of wires). While it may get a little tiresome after you've done nearly everything, but that's the beauty of being unfinished, because the creator Notch can create something completely new, pull us back into the magical world of Minecraft Expand
  83. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best PC game I've played in years. There's so much content here, and that content keeps getting expanded on month after month after month. It started out as a small sort of Lego game, then mining got expanded, then building got expanded, we got minecarts, redstone circuitry to make complex machines, we got more mobs to go out and fight, biomes to explore. Snowlands, huge mountains, vast deserts. RPG mechanics, villagers, -pistons-... and there's more on the way. On top of that the game is highly moddable, the likes of which I, as a big time modder, haven't experienced much of since Morrowind, Half-Life 2, and Civ4. Expand
  84. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    I love this game! If you like building 'n crafting games you will like this! You can deal with zombies, skeletons, and more or you can live peacefully building your own things, crafting good items or you go to the mines, get coal, gold, iron and even diamonds and use everything for your own benefit! You can be an efficient builder, miner, designer, fisher, hunter and all of this in multiplayer feature! I highly recommend this game if you have creativity to spare or just like fighting monsters. Expand
  85. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is just amazing, there is so many things you can do, but few updates then this will be completed. Minecraft maybe need story or something but community will help you mods, servers, texture packs, those is why this is so damn good and without those, this is still very good game.
  86. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is an innovative game and a timesink of another world.
    It is what you make of it, and a great example of a game that keeps you interested through depth, instead of unlocks/achievements. - Especially multiplayer is very fun and interesting, as I can think of few games that'll build a feeling of community as this. Building entire worlds with other people is very satisfactory.
  87. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    What a phenomenal game. Where to start... where to start. A game like Minecraft is unbelievable difficult to review, for one main reason: Minecraft is what you make of it. Literally. Minecraft requires devotion and care. It is a game of brilliance. It shines everywhere. The second reason reviewing this game is hard, is because this game has endless opportunities, and the amount of things the developers could have included are /literally/ endless.

    This is why Minecraft has a plugin system. It needs improvement, but its a very good start. Where can this game improve? It needs a main world for all minecrafters to explore, almost like World of Warcraft.

    Reviewing this game will take ages, which is why I will put into a few main categories:
    -- Gameplay: 10
    -- Fun: 9.5
    -- Graphics: N/A
    Expand
  88. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Great game, the bad graphics may be a minus, but compared to the stunning gameplay and the huge amount of things you can do for fun. I would say you'll love it!
  89. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    amazing game, you should already know about it. not without its flaws, but probably the best building game i've played in YEARS. or maybe since legos.
  90. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Highly enjoyable, especially with modding capabilities, making it a go-to game if you're bored. Although, for a game with quite simple graphics, some computers might not handle the fun of this cube shaped piece of indie legend.
  91. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I hate Minecraft. There are more bugs than any other game I have ever played, and I can safely predict that almost all of them will remain un-fixed throughout the entirety of the game. Why did I give it a 10, you ask? Because even in spite of all of these bugs and lack of features, some of which can be game-breaking at times, it's still a *million* times more fun than any game I have played recently. Even Skyrim hasn't been able to keep me coming back as much as Minecraft has.

    And if there's really some feature that I feel it should have, I can always mod it. God I love modding. If modern game creators should learn anything from Minecraft, it should be to make their make their game moddable. If there's anything I don't like about the game, I can change it, so any problems I have with the game would ultimately be a result of my lack of coding ability. :-)

    Also, Notch! Release a proper modding toolkit or I'll do something naughty to your servers!
    Expand
  92. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a game that caters exclusively to the visionaries and creative audience of the PC gaming world. Of course many would say it is repetitive and otherwise boring, because they have very little vision on what they can do next. While I'm sad to see it suffer in that regard, I'm very glad that for every nay-sayer there are 5 people who could blow me away with their creations and excellent uses of the ultimate sandbox world. However, I think there is one big flaw in Minecraft, and that is the development team. I do realize it is an indie developer, and can only handle so many bug fixes and content addition, many of them (Notch especially) were planning and talking about moving on from Minecraft to new projects before the game was even released at Minecon. There was so much potential and momentum in this game that I thought was lost in the area of the staffing at Mojang. However, the silver lining is that much of that potential was regained within the excellent modding community. All that aside, Minecraft is a game one would enjoy in a predisposed "creative" mood. Typically I find those who don't enjoy it aren't visual thinkers, and enjoy tight corridor games with point and shoot mechanics. But at the end of the day, Minecraft is, by indie development standards, an excellent and solid game. Bugs are minor and exploitable, and otherwise go unnoticed at times. Content may be lacking in some respect, but it has come a long way from the alpha version. Expand
  93. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a genre in its own and manages to make tedious gameplay fun and exciting with a cool original look. Also its free if you download it, don't make an account, and play in offline mode :P
  94. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    With the variety of play modes, Minecraft makes itself attractive to more than just one type of gamer. Not only can one choose between "Classic" or "Adventure mode, but when playing the latter, one can choose to focus on being either a miner, explorer or adventure seeker (or why not just a little of each).
    With the new update (leaving beta), a whole new world of possibilities has opened up
    letting the player even choose to completing the game by going after the end boss.
    The only thing I'd want to see in Minecraft is more use of experience and level points, and also a bigger variety to what one can craft. Like why can't I make pizza?! ;-) And i'm looking forward to more game modes like CTF or Adventure (where one doesn't build, but runs through a pre-made level).
    Expand
  95. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Very fun game, start in a world with nothing and build it into your own.
    Fight, play or build. Learn new skills and improve your red stone circuits to make some awesome things.

    A****
  96. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    An amazing game. I haven't seen another game do anything like it (before this was released). There is an infinite amount of things you can do. A randomly generated world, with caverns, mines, towns, mountain ranges, swamps, you name it. It has many different modes but my favorite is survival. Cook food, hunt, build shelter, etc. My friend and I built a giant tower, a stone keep, a train station, and much more. Build whatever you want, go cave exploring to find materials. Whatever you want to do, you can do. You'll never be bored. Expand
  97. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. In fact the first one I bought since the 80:s, and the only one I still play after about a year buying it. The possibilites in the game makes every new world unique, and the Hardcore-mode makes dying very less desirable.
  98. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This game is very cool. Some people say the graphics sucks, but I think that's one of the special things, which makes minecraft so interesting. Only thing I hate is the missing mod-support.
  99. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is amazing. Too many people are rating Minecraft Alpha version or Beta version. But Minecraft is now in 1.0.0. And now, it's even better. Do what you want. REALLY what you want. Not like other games.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]