User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2931 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Minecraft rocks. it has bad graphics but is still a good , it gives lots of fun and entertains me for a long time. it actually has a point, unlike most games. hopefully the paid version will be even better
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    the best game ever! thats it. i have been playing this for around a year or two, and it is my favorite (currently) game! notch is my awesome idol, i got to meet him at minecon, thus game is amazing. everyone should have this game
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    Although not high on graphics, this game offers a pleasing aesthetics that contributes to the theme of simplicity and tranquility of the game. Although it is a rather old genre, this title breathes new life into the sandbox genre, adding the element of adventure. Furthermore, the ability to apply mods and texture packs are a delight to any gamer. Utilizing the two main elements of "mining" and "crafting", Minecraft is a unique and suits all types of players: builders, explorers, or even a hybrid of the two. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    This game is what you make of it, creativity is fully utilized. I personally love this game and had since the alpha. While others may get bored of just building- it's not just building, it's so much more! Endless fun and creation. It may get boring if you don't have the right imagination or maybe it just isn't 'action packed' enough for you, and if that's the case, go on survival mode, pit it up to the highest difficulty, and enjoy surviving the hordes of enemies! I would of given it a solid 10/10 of it wasn't for the bugs and glitches that come up every so often, but it is definitely worth playing! I have had hours of fun already on minecraft and plan to have may more. That is my review for minecraft, and I'm going to go play it again now. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is literally the epitome of video games. This game is in my top 3 favorite games of all time. So simple and yet so elegant in its gameplay that it keeps you hooked for hours on end. With the massive community development of mods for this game, it looks like we will be playing Minecraft for a long time to come.
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    At first, while looking at the screenshots, you may think : "What is this pixelated and blocky piece of crap! How can people POSSIBLY like this game!?". That was my first reaction to this game. But once you do decide to give it a go, you'll find it's much more than a pixelated game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox game. There are no scripted objectives, no "go there and get me this and that".
    There are many RPG elements such as armour, enchanting, and potions, as well as the old hotbar. There's also the survival element (if you choose to play survival mode). But minecraft is more about doing it your way. You can choose any playstyle, not constrained by pesky quests or classes or objectives. There are no restrictions. You can feel free to do whatever you want. Want to make a giant LolCat picture? Sure, go ahead. Even open world games like Skyrim can't give you this amount of freedom. It's even better when playing with friends, building giant structures together. If building isn't your thing, you can go exploring for dungeons or monster hunting.

    And of course, the modding and mapping community is basically what makes Minecraft one of the greatest games of all time. There are countless mods for almost anything you can think of. From advanced machines to cool magic and wizadry mods, mods make Minecraft have a limitless amount of replayability. Not the mention the plethora of custom maps and adventures that are like playing an RPG.
    Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This game is very refreshing. You won't like it if you're just a run and gun, action gamer. You'll probably still like it, hours of gameplay in it. endless possibilities
  8. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games made in the history of mankind. You wont see a game with this feeling in atleast ten years. The ability of being able to rule your own way of doing things is magical. Sure the latest updates are pretty bad, but the game for itself is amazing. He did a great job with the game. For a one-man project its really something. The new Mojang team have been helping Notch with the game yes, but Notch managed the game all for himself for a whole year. I give this game a 10/10. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, it don't matters the graphics because that's the idea. A game which has no limits except your imagination. This awesome game deserves an awesome score. 10/10
  10. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I made a few hundred dollars with a friend of mine by setting up a server, soliciting donations, and shutting it down a few months later. Minecraft is an A++ title for Ponzi schemes, as thousands of children will whip out their parent's credit cards on PayPal to get Admin privileges on your server, allowing you to rinse and repeat. Now my friend's FTP server has 8 terabytes of hard drive space. Thank you, Minecraft users! Expand
  11. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, had it since alpha and I still cannot get enough, best of its kind. Notch has done a great job with this game I hope him and Mojang keep bringing out the updates :)
  12. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is really awesome game . You can sit all the day and play it . After few maps on singleplayer you will move to Multiplayer and after around few months you will get bored again . Then you will download some mod and you will be addicted again . minecraft is ultra fun game
  13. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    how could you hate a game that lets you do whatever you want there is no downside if you dont like something mods are easy as pie and ill bet most haters dont play on a server with friends cause thats where the real fun is
  14. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    I bought the game a few months back and really got into it. I was playing single player and the wide range of things you can do in the game is only limited to your imagination. Granted, the graphics are not that good, but with MODS, you can really visually play the game the way you like. After days of playing, I started to get bored, maybe that's just me. I tried a server, which you can play with other people, but it still was pretty much void of players. I think if you had a friend to play with, the game would be more interesting.

    It is a great game for the creative mind type people, but lacks the social aspect of some other games out there.
    Overall, I would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes to create and has an artistic mind. It is allot of fun and should be a game to have in your library.
    Expand
  15. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Bugs, content which could have been made in a different way, lower FPS as the game has developed and no real change between BETA and official release, but why care? Spending a first night stuck in a cave in the dark, wondering what that green depressing creature is outside is probably one the best experiences you can get from any game. After a mad dash to find shelter in the first day, ignoring everything, you come out into the daylight and well, it's beautiful. The landscapes are randomly generated and sometimes very odd, but look as if they have been hand crafted, the animals just tempt killing sprees and who doesn't like punching a tree?
    Minecraft may not be perfect for everyone, but it has potential and ongoing development is sure to give us a few hidden suprises.
    Expand
  16. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    This game is for those that enjoy creating. If you do not like creating, you will instantly be turned away. Now, this game, as many have already pointed out, the graphics are not that great, but what you must understand is that the game was not built to host amazing graphics, and that it is an indie game. The game isn't an AAA game, and if you can't rap your head around the fact it doesn't have good graphics, and you can't play it because of that, then so be it. You get used to the games graphics, and then eventually love it, and its uniqueness. This game is hands-down amazing. I started playing when it was Alpha, and it didn't even have multiplayer at the time. Back then, it was so much fun to play Single Player, because you had an entire world to explore and make a house impervious to enemies, find out all the tricks to the game and the like. I have played many games, and I must say, this game compels you strongly to build bigger houses, get better gear, find better ways of producing your resources, and the like. Then Multiplayer came out-- the game became wonderful! Sure, it had a few kinks here and there, but having friends to explore that world with, makes you feel like you were a little kid again exploring the world as a free soul trying to find cool things to do. The only problem was, after Multiplayer came out, Single Player was not worth playing to me anymore, because my friends couldn't use the things I made, therefore Single Player felt worthless.But, the game is wonderful: music that fits the atmosphere, gripping gameplay that makes you thirst for more, and graphics that gives it, its own style and spot inside your heart. As a side note, forget all those people that keep complaining about Notch and his choices; everyone makes mistakes and he has made a few, but he has still tried to make the game great, even more so great than it already is. Collapse
  17. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    A great example to use in the "Graphics don't make a game good" argument with its unhealthily addictive gameplay. Single player will last only as long as your imagination will let you and multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of multiplayer servers have their own little community that are friendly enough to welcome you in and help build if you don't have your own friends to play with and feel that way inclined. To counter the low scores given by people, I'd have to say "Did you get your moneys worth?". Sure there is no multiplayer server browser (You need to use Google to find servers), the achievements are tacked on, the NPC A.I is barely there and Notch may have promised more than he delivered but £12 for what can easily turn into 50+ or even 100+ hours of truly enjoyable and fun gameplay makes it unimportant to me.

    Did I get my moneys worth? Definitely.
    Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the best game ever.The Grafik is nice and if you don't like it,insall a texture pack.You want to play even more and more.Buy it,20 â
  19. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Minecraft proved to be the great game independent of year 2011, Minecraft is a game that explores the infinite creativity and puts the games back at the top of survival.
  20. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores. It's bad enough that Spore, a great game, has a 4.6 user rating because people were upset that they didn't get the 2005 Spore. That being said, Minecraft is probably one of the most intuitive ideas for a game that I've seen in a long while. It's a good example of how a huge idea can derive from a simple concept. This is true art at its very finest. Expand
  21. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    I cannot stop playing this game it is so much fun. The possibilities are endless, you can do and build whatever you can think of. I agree the graphics are not the best, but Notch has even said he supports texture packs. Notch has said he's not an artist. Me and my kids play it all the time. What other game can you make your own adventures up? Build whatever you want? I don't think their are that many other games. When I first saw this game, I thought it was the worst game ever because of the graphics. Then i played 20 minutes of it and didn't want to stop it was so much fun. It is worth the $20. I can't see any reason to not like this game. Listen to the critics and play the game longer than 5 minutes so you can see how good the game actually is. Expand
  22. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    It really is hard to review Minecraft. Some people review it by how it is made. Some people review it by the concept of the game. I am going to review it by both. I am going to say it's a bad game if you think by how it was made. Many things aren't done yet, and there are still thousand of bugs. But it was made by 5 people, and they were being rushed by thousands. But I think that the concept of the game kind of weighs up that is was badly made. I have been playing it for about a year and a half, and I still enjoy it. The limitation really is your imagination. Most games give you the content. Minecraft gives you the tools. So people who wants to be served content shouldn't play this game. People who can give them their own content should play it. I'm gonna give Minecraft 9 in score, because I know how to play it. Expand
  23. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    I was going to give this game a 10 but the block for 10 got blown up by a Creeper so it'll have to do with a 9+ A very fun game that is great for relaxing and planning vs the frantic intensity of an FPS or hack and slash of a dungeon crawl in Skyrim. This game is great for relaxing, and building something cool but also with the planning so your creation doesn't get destroyed. Minecraft appeals to both the old school gamer and the new gamer, it's more of a thinking person's game but is also friendly to the casual gamer if you don't want to risk having your creations destroyed. All in all a fun and enjoyable game to play. Expand
  24. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is game witch is some what hard to try to compare to any other and that is one of its greatest strong points. There have been games in the past that were some what based around the idea that Minecraft is built on, but where they failed Minecraft has managed to do it brilliantly. The massive and open world is a blank canvas for the gamer to build or destroy what ever they feel. Which give a feeling of great feedback towards the player. And has a re-playability way beyond anything that has been released to this date. It is a gaming landmark and an eye opener for other gaming developers around the world. Expand
  25. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a very good game where you can do a lot of things just with block... You can have a lot of fun... Notch is a pretty cool guy the game is really awesome.......................
  26. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    A wonderfully balanced game. With all of the different mods and texture packs, you can never get bored. Multiplayer is awesome and I've sunk hundreds of hours. Definitely a 10.
  27. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    I have played Minecraft since close to the end of Alpha, In the time between there and now it has changed quite a lot. For the good or for the worse is completely for you to decide. I'm fine with the way it wen't, From a building game of awesome to adding adventure elements to spice the game up it. A great Developer team who chat with the community all the time to some of the greatest support from the gaming community in a long time. I suggest that instead of reading these reviews you go over to YouTube and see what this game has to offer. As for myself, I will be playing Minecraft for a long, long time after this. Expand
  28. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    why the hell is everyone complaining?whoever paid for it is still receiving updates all the time,i love the game,and everytime an update comes out i go try it,to me?a solid 10,an excellent idea growing each day more and more,wait for the final version,most games you buy,you end them in 8 hours and they fall into oblivion because there is no new content on them and the ones which have new content are PAYED after you already BOUGHT the freakin game. this one?payed for it and still looks like a new one Expand
  29. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    I have had this game for about 6 months now and probably 2 of those months have been consumed by minecraft. i bought this in the early stages of 1.7 and when i first played it i was a bit confused on what to do, after many hours of looking on youtube for guides and tutorials i finally had a grasp on what to do, and i started to create my own kingdom. this game appeals to everyone as the creating and building appeals to a younger audience whilst survival and mining appeals to an older audience.But the game is nit without it's faults firstly it is difficult to some people to make a server to play with their friends as you need to port forward or download different pieces of software.Also every update comes with more bugs which can be annoying.
    Overall its a really fun game that keeps giving if your willing to put in the effort.
    Expand
  30. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    I've played a lot of different types of games, but in the end, Minecraft probably brings home the best game award. It's incredibly fun and addicting, and it's got the whole sandbox idea down. I can agree with people that it can get boring after awhile, but that's where the forums come in. The amazing community provides thousands of different mods and adventure maps to play with when vanilla survival just isn't enough. I've played Minecraft for about 1-2 years now, but I'm still as in love with it as I was when I started playing it. There's been a few times where I've gotten completely bored with it, but then I just wait about a month and I'm hooked again. The replay value is amazing, the lack of story line is excused because of the style of the game and surprisingly enough, the graphics are amazing. Before you jump to conclusions, I do realize that the graphics are all "blocky and square". But that's what makes it so amazing, it recreates the pixel feeling from old video games, looks great, and accept it or not, it's a big part of the game it self. It wouldn't really be Minecraft without the "blockness", would it? Expand
  31. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    If you have anything bad to say about this game you are stupid. This game is fun because f the building and digging and playing with your friends. Some of these reviews are complaining about money shut up about money why did u buy the game then. If you like creating things and enjoy games that you can play with friends this game is for you.
  32. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    It's a fairly good game. The graphics don't bother me at all. I actually think that they give the game a unique quality. It's fun to roam around and just explore whatever you want. To build whatever you want to is also a very fun thing to do. Overall, pretty good game. Not the best sandbox game I've ever played, but certainly not the worst.
  33. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This game isn't perfect, but it's very fun. While Minecraft's main goal (defeat the Enderdragon) won't take that much time to complete, it's not necessarily the goal to focus on. The best part, I think, is the sandbox element. Take blocks that represent iron, water, sand, snow, etc. and make whatever you want. There are many devices to help you build just about anything imaginable. A great game for people who like to build things. Expand
  34. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Pros: -Most fun you can have online with your friends -Innovative gameplay -Redstone circuit stuffs -Building gives you a sense of accomplishment because u had to find the materials -Mods if you want to (lots of em) -Texture packs galore -Systems and things (mob systems, etc. are fun to build) -Quirks (weird bugs that make certain devices possible, adds complexity) -Good Graphics (they chose a style and did it well)
    -No tutorial (tutorials piss me off)

    Cons:
    -Glitchy (also a pro, see above)
    -Laggy
    -No tutorial (for me this wasn't a problem, minecraftwiki.net is an excellent resource)
    -Final Release is rushed (give them a break guys, people begged them to release the full game, and so they set up MineCon and then rushed to complete the game on time - since when does a game developer ever release a game on time????)
    -Unfinished features (this will be fixed though eventually)
    -Weak AI (this is not that bad, the AI actually allows you to do certain things like mob system, but new AI is coming soon and would be appreciated)
    Expand
  35. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    When I read the negative reviews, I mostly see people complaining about how much fun the game was a year or 2 ago. They say it is boring and doesn't get updated anymore. BAH! I challenge these people to name 1 game they played for multiple years that wasn't a time sink, soul devouring MMO that they didn't get bored with after playing the heck out of it. I can't, they can't, you can't. The fact is, this game is fun. It takes you back to the days when creativity and imagination were enough to keep you entertained. So many of these kids nowadays are so cracked out on Mountain Dew and Call of Duty, that they forgot what using their own creativity feels like.

    Minecraft is a game that you will buy and enjoy. A LOT. The world is your oyster in Minecraft. Want to build something magnificent? CHECK. Want to explore a new, random world every time you load? CHECK. Want to create weapons, machines, farm, raise livestock, fish, build your own world? CHECK. Want to explore caverns, search for rare gems/rocks, fight zombies & skeletons? CHECK. The point is, there is a lot to do, a lot to keep you entertained and it is worth every penny you will spend. What more do you want in a game? Truly, the only potential turnoff is the graphics. Some people will hate having a PC with a GTX 580 and playing a game that looks so archaic. I challenge those people to go DL a texture pack or just give it a shot. If you have any shred of imagination you will like this game.
    Expand
  36. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    First off, if you think this game sucks, you are one of the MOST stupidest people on the face of the Earth. I mean, there is nothing bad about Minecraft. When you first play the game, you generate a open world with trees, grass, sand, water, etc. Once you get some wood, that's when the REALLY starts to to get exiting. You build your own house, fight some monsters to get some resources and many more. My only complaint about this game is the ending. The ending is just a 10 minute long story of text then its the credits. So I think that can be improved. Plus, the game updates every so often so you will never get bored. Definitely worth your both your time and money. Expand
  37. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a creative and fun game. Unlimited world space. and you can build whatever you want in this game. Ive spend over 100 hours playing this game. Great job Notch!
  38. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    A true gaming legend in it's late days glory.
    You won't find great graphics here, no robust voice acting, no storyline to follow and no rules to oblige.
    What you get is a limitless virtual sandbox, where you can mine resources with a pickaxe in one minute, just to jump into a multiplayer TDM modern guns fight the next.
    The vanilla experience in itself is great, but true strength of
    Minecraft lies in modability&multiplayer.
    There is massive amount of content provided by Minecraft's high modability (there are probably more mods to this than Skyrim and flexible multiplayer with dozens of different ideas for servers ranging from 10 player survival sandbox through medium RPG-themed servers to colossal 400 players (yes the number is right four and four zeroes) PvP faction servers.
    The creative aspect of this game is it's biggest perk just google "epic Minecraft buildings" if you want to see what I'm talking about here. Amount of user-created buildings and maps is so mind-boggling it hurts my brain to just think about it (check out planet minecraft there are tons) !
    While poor graphics may deter you at first, you will quickly learn to love it, as usage of such graphics allow the great freedom player has in Minecraft.

    There is no other game like Minecraft it created it's own genre and legend. An absolute must-own.
    Expand
  39. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing, Its just so strange that about 1 out of 3 people say the game is rubbish and boring. But beg to differ, Its in a genre of its own. This genre is what I call building-sandbox. It is the only game that actually saved creativity in gaming. Many of my friends say there is nothing special about the game, It aways annoys me, It is one of the most editable games in history. Plus, along with the amazing amount of content that games like COD and BF3 lack, Theres a whole nice community supporting it. It has a HUGE selection of Mods to choose from, Even a computer mod!!!! If you dont like the "rubbish and dull" Graphics that the game possesses, You can choose from a variety of texture packs! Even make your own! That is the one thing most reviews are missing When my friends say "ohh theres a New minecraft like game that has zombies in it!!!" all I say is "theres a modification for that!" Im surprized that they just ignore me.They also said, "theres a new game thats way better than minecraft that takes place on the moon!" Again they never knew this but heres one thing again, "theres a mod for that!" Yup, The mod community is basically endless, You can even Play adventure maps on it! No more need To buy New map packs that cost nearly as much as Minecraft itself,So minecraft is a money saver,However, every game has its flaws, just like every human has their flaws. The two bad things about the game is The game needs a STRONG computer,To run like the big games like COD and BF3. another flaw is the many bugs the game has, the good thing is, if you are a good JAVA programmer, You prob can fix the bug yourself! But many people that are reading this are not good programmers. A Unique Thing about the game is that some of the previous bugs had a personality Like the score bug where when Instead of showing a number, It showed a score of &e0 which I just ignored at first but Now I noticed that was a unique bug that was not nessisary to fix, That was a thing I am dissapointed about with minecraft, So overall, The game rates a 9 out of 10 But I want to soo badly Rate a 10. Expand
  40. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    I think I know why Minecraft is getting so many negative ratings. A large portion of these people are Hardcore FPSers. Playing MW3, and such. I feel sorry for them. They have completly missed the great thing that Minecraft is built around. Minecraft has no goals for a reason. It has no "Go to the checkpoint.", "Kill X ememies.", or "Press the button.".

    *It Does Not Tell You To Do
    Anything! The Only Goals Are Those You Create!*

    This is the secret to why people love Minecraft. There is nothing you have to do, you can do whatever you want.
    Expand
  41. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Create your own world in this simple and fun game. Although its clearly lacking in the graphics department, which is not of concern, this game lets you expand on any creativity you have to let you build your own world. I've wasted hours exploring, making houses, and surviving. You would be crazy not to buy this game.
  42. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    i dont see why people hate this game. they bash the graphics, they say it's boring, when the clearly know that it isn't. the graphics are bad? these guys are indie devs, i'd like to see you make better graphics by yourself by just using java. actually, the graphics are very beautiful in it's own sense. just look out at the sun setting behind the trees, and you will see it's real beauty within. it's boring? how about challenge yourself in the survival and hardcore modes, or what about do whatever YOU WANT in creative mode. want to build houses your friends, or blow up your friends house? you can, thanks to minecraft's multiplayer. the game is incredible, and has nearly UNLIMITED replay value, thanks to the fact that each land is randomly generated in an infinite world. and lastly, this game is not overrated. CoD is the definition of overrated. minecraft most certainly isn't. it's hard to believe that this game started with one man, and that one man changed the world. Expand
  43. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game Is absolutely revolutionary. However I cant give it a 10 because of the new pointless NPC villages and the new world generation. Still a great game though
  44. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    Minecraft ist meiner Meinung Nach eines der besten Indiespiele aller Zeiten! Wie das Spiel funktioniert ist schnell verstanden. Blöcke abbauen, einsammeln und Items craften. Ein simples, aber geniales Prinzip. AnschlieÃ
  45. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    The most amazingly addicting game I have ever played. The price may seem a bit high, but it is totally worth it. Your world is literally YOURS. Build it the way YOU want (or destroy it the way you want). Although the graphics are less than modern, the simple game mechanics easily compensate. And the texture pack option allows for different graphics for different consumers (with different interests). It is, above all, a great game to have Expand
  46. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Very hard to talk about as a game, which may be the 9/10. But I have put tons of hours into this and watched it evolve from alpha, to beta, to release and get better and better. A lot of fun if you like building stuff, if you are a MW3 fan, then you might want to stay away.
  47. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Excellent game that can be played in a variety of ways. While I find the survival aspects wear themselves out fairly quickly, the building aspect of the game is extremely fun, and is literally limited only by your own creativity and patience. The game is literally what you make of it.
  48. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is a revolution. Its concept is simple yet so addictive. It was copied by Terrarria which is also pretty good. The 3D is pretty bad whn you look closely but from a distance it can create true masterpieces. Google them and you'll see. A really innovative game that is deserving of the success it got.
  49. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Digital lego's. Combined with mods, it provides endless hours of gameplay. One thing you really need though is a project. Picture what you want to build and start gathering the materials and build away. If you have friends who play this game too you should look into setting up a server which can boost the fun factor by several times. Those who give this game negative reviews because of graphics need to seriously get their heads out of their arses and realize that gameplay is where it's at. Expand
  50. May 18, 2012
    10
    Epic. Best game ever so far. Beautiful graphics, terrain. And "turing complete" redstone logic. Yeah, the game isnt really finished yet, but it's nearly open source (thanks java) so everybody can extend and modify what he wants. I bought it for 10â
  51. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is a game on survivalism. It teaches you the basics to survive in a world you spawn in.

    What's great about this game: There's always something to accomplish every time you play!

    What's not so great about this game: I can't sing "I'm on a Boat" when I'm actually on a boat correctly...

    Would I recommend this game to a friend? Definitely.
  52. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    Only recently started playing after noticing all the hype. Really addictive, rather clever and unique!
    So much creativity among the player base, i'm really enjoying it.
  53. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    At first, my interpretation of Minecraft was... wait what? What am I doing? Then, as we went through Beta, I eventually got the hang of it. The lack of guides is there to intall a sense of community in the game and it's surely worked. The amount of things that you can do in the game are quite incredible and playing online (either via lan or on a server) is incredibly fun. It get's its high score not for the gameplay, not for the aesthetics, but for the amount of things anyone can actually do. A game that gives you this much freedom is very much unseen in this day and age. Expand
  54. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a great game. It's a game where people can pretty much do whatever you want. Not only is the original version fun and will keep you busy for days, if you ever somehow get bored there are hundreds of mods and texture packs you can use, to always keep you entertained.
    Also, the game is always being updated with new content and has a lot of potential.

    Minecraft receives a 10 out
    of 10 from me for all these reasons. Expand
  55. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game is not the best game ever created (obviously), but I think this indie blockbuster deserves most of the hype it is getting right now. Lackluster graphics, truckloads of bugs (even though the game is after full release, but still getting updated about every month), and virtually no storyline lowers my rating of this game, but once you hear the possibilities with this game, you will like this game very much. Guaranteed. Plus, the new updates usually have a lot of new features and bugfixes. Expand
  56. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is best game for creative people. You Have there Creative mod And Survival. I hope there will be Adventure too. In every update there are new things. Its something like Life Simulation Because you must survive, and you have Hunger, Breath under water, On servers you can build with your friends or Fight them in PVP. I thinks that 304 dislikes of this game are people who envious of the success of the game.
    And earnings of Mojang
    Expand
  57. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    People who are writing about the games "horrid" graphics are not very observant in the slightest. The POINT of the style of graphics is that it's supposed to be blocky. It gives the user the literal "building blocks" style for the game. And the reviewers who point to the games "repetitiousness" clearly haven't explored the entire world. It's a sandbox game...you do what you want in the game. That's like saying Gary's Mod is repetitious (you just fool around in the game). This game is very well done. For people who DON'T know *cough zero rating reviewers cough*, there is actually an avenue for those wishing to go beyond the sandbox aspect. You can level up and equip and enchant your equipment in preparation for taking on the Ender Dragon. It is a very difficult monster that you have to kill. However, if you didn't take the time to actually explore the game and simply paid the money to buy the single player because of the hype and then dropped the game, you wouldn't know that would you? I highly recommend this game. The sandbox aspect allows you to build amazing creations that you could only see in your imagination (and thanks to the somewhat quirky engineering physics, you can really do some amazing things). The survival aspect gives you something to do from the start and makes the game more interesting from the second you are dropped into the middle of your randomized world. The end game dragon gives you something to work towards (and if you die, you lose your equipment, making taking on the Ender Dragon something you really have to prepare for). All in all, a very well rounded and strong game. Expand
  58. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Many people miss the point of what Minecraft truly is. Sure, Minecraft in of itself is a fun game that allows people to explore their imagination and build whatever comes to mind, but what has truly given Minecraft its significance over the years is it's fantastic community. No other community has been able to offer as much extra user-made content as this game. That's what really makes Minecraft shine over other games. The game's simplicity allows you to do what you want with it. Expand
  59. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    I started to think that Minecraft was just a 7, but after joining a Multiplayer server and now running my own Minecraft server, I find the real draw to this game. Playing single player will only bring so much satisfaction. Building massive projects with gaming friends does. With the additional mods available for both single player and multiplayer, Minecraft gets a 10 in my book. Some of those who have given poor reviews here have not experienced the full game obviously. Expand
  60. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is a great game but i dont play it mush because then minecraft gets boring but the only thing i miss is the old minecraft there are too much new stuff in the game but if youre new its a great great game
  61. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Minecraft does have its flaws but it has come a long way from the game I initially invested in and really that's how I viewed the game. It was a risk, I bought in just the other side of sight unseen and have been pleasantly surprised ever since. It has moved in a few directions I don't personally care for but most of those are easily avoided and forgiven. I have found myself somewhat bored with the game at times but the redstone always draws me back. Expand
  62. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    Minecraft offers a somewhat simple experience in designing what you want with some adventure elements placed in. While there are some bugs, Minecraft excels in exactly what it advertised, the power for us to build to our heart's content. Despite this Minecraft feels somewhat incomplete though every block of it is still worth what you paid for.
  63. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. I never get bored of it. I started playing Minecraft in Beta 1.3, and i still play it now, when its 1.2.5.
    There is so much content in this game, you can literally use over 300 hours on this game, not only playing. Also other Minecraft things.
    It still get updated which is good. The thing I don't like is, that the game can end. I don't like that.
    By the way this is a
    sandbox game, as you might know. Its very blocky, 16X16 pixels, so you don't need a good graphic card, but you'll need a good RAM. Because Minecraft use alot of RAM, it have to load chunk all the time, so it will lag.
    he start of the game is the best, you don't know what to do and all that. But later when you have played the game alot, you now what to do. And you will never get that feeling you had, when you first played it, for the first time.
    I can recommend this game to everyone, young or elder. Maybe not a 90 year old man, but grown-ups can also play this.
    PLEASE don't hear what other people say about this game, even though they say this game is great. It is YOUR opinion, so if you like it, buy it.
    This is one of my favourite games.
    Expand
  64. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    I can get totally addicted to this game. The price for premium is too high, in my opinion. It really isn't worth $26... I should have stayed at $10. Anyway, I still love this game because I enjoy building things out of my imagination and role playing on certain servers with random miners and my friends. The battle system is kind of sad. Overall, I give this a 10 because I enjoy it all the way. It has bugs and questionable features, but It's still really really fun. Expand
  65. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is an unhealthy game to play, and it's sad to see people who are addicted to a game that has no point at all. The game steals all the creative ideas planned to do outside. Then it brings them to a neverending spiral of misery. Minecraft has bugs and mediocre graphics with a price tag of $30. The best way to save money is to not purchase Minecraft since there obviously wasn't enough effort developing the game. If you are planning to buy video games, don't buy Minecraft. There are so many other options to spend free time such as hiking, investing, learning something new, or socializing with friends. It's possible to be happy without Minecraft. Expand
  66. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    The PC version of "Minecraft" is fantastic. It's a brilliantly designed 3-D game. You can play by yourself and construct houses, explore caves and fight mobs. You can also play online and build together with your friends, PVP with other online players, or just explore the beauty of Minecraft together with friends. Definitely a recommended game for young and old.
  67. May 17, 2012
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous. This game is incredibly personal and acquires over time it's own sort of personality. It's brilliant, and in multiplayer, can be a beautiful escape. The graphics are, yes, squares, but that takes no beauty from the stunning imagery of Minecraftia. This is a brilliant thing, and though it runs horribly, it's something that almost makes Minecraft more what minecraft really is, a PC game. Incredible game, incredible soundtrack, incredible graphics, Notch really has created something evolutionary here. Expand
  68. May 19, 2012
    9
    This will/would be excellent game if it had just a bit more depth in content. Hope the guys at Mojang will get some decent advancements to get it even more interesting. The digging and building part of the game gets quite tedious after few dosen worlds. Multiplaying makes the world a bit more alive and more fun.

    So.. waiting for updates and ultimately the upcoming awesome mods for this game!
  69. May 22, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is sandbox in its purest form. You can do whatever you want or follow its small story line to defeat the Ender Dragon. You decide. One of the most fun aspects of this game is manipulating the mechanics to create insane creations. Honestly there is nothing that annoys me about this game besides that it has consumed many hours of my life. I'm giving it a 9 instead of 10 only because for those that don't have the sandbox mentality it is difficult to understand this game. It is pure sandbox and some gamers would like at least a little direction while playing. Expand
  70. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    One of the most brilliant game ideas ever. The world is infinitely sized, and every small change you make to any small block in this world persists. Every structure you build, everything that is made. Put that on multiplayer and you literally have cities of creation. The underground is huge to explore, digging tunnels and discovering things is sick. The crafting system and incentive to find minerals add tons of longevity to the game, and goals. You must have a creative mind to grasp this game, there are no "quests", you are simply but into an infinite world to interact with it as you wish. People not finding entertainment in this just goes to show they have no imagination or creativity whatsoever and they are themselves unable to forge an epic experience from the never seen before sandbox that has been given to them. This game has blown my mind. The point lost is due to the unfortunate lack of quality in character control and mechanics and lack of polish in many areas of the game, had it been taken more seriously or made by a more professional team. Thirdly, the game could have run much faster if better coded. Expand
  71. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I am a Chinese player. But in China, it is not very popular.
    It's a creative game. But Chinese education kills students' creativity.
    So, many students think it's a puerile game.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    MCå
  72. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I have to give the user score a boost here, a lot of hateful trolls are trying to make it look bad.

    Minecraft is what you make of it, and if you suck at making good things, then the game is going to suck for you. But that doesnt make it a bad game. You just suck.
  73. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is amazing! This is a great example to what games should be. Complete freedom and choice. Like you can do almost whatever you want. You can mine, build, farm, and do much, much more. The game may seem difficult and frustrating when first playing survival, but once you know all you need to know, it becomes quite fun and simple. Even though the graphics look like they're from the 90's, the game is still a true masterpiece. Expand
  74. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best indie games out there. This one can't be missed. You can make so much stuff, a lot of excitement, just one of the best out there. Don't listen to the bad reviews!
  75. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Some people hate the game. I seriously don't know why. Its a fun game were you can do pretty much anything you want. Anyways its a very good game and mabye play the game for more than 5 minutes before you rate it.
  76. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Where to begin on this incredible sandbox game? If you can picture Legos in a survival dimension against pixel monsters and the ability to fight them or avoid them in various ways, you'd be grazing the tip of the iceberg that is Minecraft. Literally this game has no specific "goal." Some players would argue otherwise, but really, the point of Minecraft is pure creativity. It doesn't get better than being able to build a house, dig for materials to build said house, and fend off various monsters in the night! Whether you're having a peaceful building game where you construct whatever your mind can fathom or you're surviving by the skin of your teeth in hardcore mode, Minecraft is sure to give a new experience every time you play it. How awesome is this! But how could Mojang (the developers) make it better? Multiplayer? You mean I can now build and/or survive with my best friends? I can either ally myself with them or fight against them as I see fit? This game is incredible. Literally, Minecraft comes to a new level as it employs a wonderful multiplayer experience with other players. Combining creativity and ingenuity together as you build the ultimate creation! What will your mind(s) think of next? My only negative is that the price for the game has consistently increased since the time I bought my copy in Alpha. What was $5 is now almost $30. I wouldn't give a game like this that high of a price, but Mojang has to make money in some way and some respect is deserved there. Definitely loads of fun for any creative gamer and something I will say should be in your gaming library even if you only play it on a rainy day! Expand
  77. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Minecraft proves that modern games don't need fancy graphics or in-depth story to be truly amazing. Highly recommended, and one of the most innovative games I have ever played.
  78. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    For the amount of games I own in my steam library, and on the xbox the game that I still have put more hours in, and continue to put many hours in is Minecraft. I don't know why this game is so incredibly addicting but it keeps me coming back day after day.
  79. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    First of all, U780, sure it's full of bugs, he will fix them you fool. The game is still updating, so your review is quite dumb. Npcs will have a use, the graphics do suck, but they have a unique style to it. If you don't like it, go play your Call Of Duty Games. UMad? There are attack animations, and some of your points are very exaggerated. Survival Mode is what it is. Try to look at the good side and also, This is game is totally worth it for $20.00 and also he fixed many bugs. Most of you say "the critics are stupid" BLAH BLAH BLAH *all haters start drooling*. The critics appreciate it but you COD fans don't. If you don't have creativity stay away. IDIOTS Expand
  80. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best pc game I had ever played.I loved the way you have to create your own house and live there. You can do crafting which is great.
  81. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Notch is thick and it is from Sweden, if you bought Minecraft you are what destroys the games!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  82. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game in existence, besides from Doom I and Doom II. It is a 16-bit voxel based creative sandbox game in which you can do WHATEVER you want. The people saying it has very limited customization options obviously haven't played the game or searched around about it at all, you can change texture packs which provide different visual effects, you have mods which change the game a bunch, then you can change your player skin, to a robot or a man with a mustache. You can build whatever you desire, from a castle to an underground home, or you can use redstone to build an 8-bit computer, or a game of hangman. The worlds are basically infinite, larger than the Earth. This is a game for creative minds and creative people, this game may not look it for some people, but when you begin to play it, you are into it right away until you hit diamonds or any modded ores, items, blocks, etc. I have seen this game in schools to teach people certain things. This game is far more fun than Call of Duty, even though they are in different game genres. I highly recommend this game for everyone that brings gameplay over graphics. Expand
  83. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    It is truly the worlds only true "open-world" game, having unlimited possibilities, unlimited stories, and an unlimited world. Minecraft has plenty of flaws, but it adds to the game somehow, making it more interesting, and, occasionally, frustrating. The only limit Minecraft has is the limit of the players own mind, and that is what makes it special.
  84. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a 10 simply because if you want it to be simple, it's simple, but if you want it to be complex, it's complex. And the fact that you can literally make anything you want in the game, as long as you have the imagination. You even have electricity which is called Red Stone. With this you can make lamps with a switch (just to make an easy example). You could also do pixel art, which is art with the pixels (duh). A friend of mine had a friend that is a girl that created a picture of Albert Einstein. Yeah I'm serious.

    Make your own server, get mods, get it known all overthe world and have FUN! Worth every penny.
    Expand
  85. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First,
    almost every computer in the world runs it, you don't need a megalodon with high-tech specs to run the game. Second, don't **** about graphics. Minecraft is a beautiful game. It's blocky art stile is charming, and seeing a sunset for the first time with the eclectic piano music behind is just mesmerizingly beautiful.
    The objective in Minecraft is to survive. Or at least it is in "Survival" mode. As you progress through the game, you will progress in things like building a house, hunting monsters or going to hell. Everything can be for nothing in a blink of an eye (When you are dead, YOU ARE dead). You must orientate yourself in the random generated world, find shelter and food, and protect yourself from the creatures of the night. At moments it is thrilling, at moments scary, at moments funny. You never know what is going to happen in a typical Minecraft day.
    Then you have "Creative" mode. In this mode, you can do whatever you want with the blocks you want. Build a giant diamond mansion, and why not shape it like a yatch? How about farming zombies? The limit is literally your imagination.
    Minecraft also offers a multiplayer service. You can either play with friends or join a server to play something with the community. Want to play Hunger Games, Block Hunt and many other games with people from all around the world? Then the multiplayer experience is perfect for you. The variety of things to do and see is amazing.
    Minecraft is easily one of the jewels of this generation and of gaming history. It isn't ambitious and still, it feels like the biggest-scaled game ever made. It is always updating, expanding to keep things fresh, and it truly is the Indie Game that revolutionized the industry.
    Expand
  86. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    This game is truly a wonder of 8-bit gaming, I mean who doesn't like donkey kong or super mario bros? If you want an older 8-bit feel with a touch of 3D than this is the game for you, easy to learn and the mobs are easy to fight, plenty of mods to make the game better. The only problem ive had with it is it gets boring after awhile, but all games do.
  87. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    I first read about Minecraft on IgnorantGamingNews.com, and I was intrigued so I had a go on the basic free version. Though it was completely simplistic, I could see the potential of a full working game built around the principle. I went ahead and bought the full game, and I think it is one of the best value-for-money games out there.

    Before I talk about the gameplay, I want to talk
    about the way it is handled by its designer(s). First up, they constantly update the game for free - you make one payment for the game, and then you own it, and you can download subsequent updates without paying! Not just fixing errors and glitches, but adding entirely new things to do in the game. There is no subscription cost, so they appear to be doing it out of love for the game, more than anything else. Second, they listen to feedback from fans, and even incorporate elements that have been created by fans, if they realise they are good enough to be added to the official version. On top of this, the director has said that if you don't feel that Minecraft is worth the money, just pirate it, and if you decide later that it's worth the money, then you can choose to pay if you want. You don't hear that very often these days. So I love the attitude. Of course, you can have a nice bunch of guys make a game, but who gives a **** if the game plays like a bag of balls? Luckily that is not the case.

    You start the game up and you can choose either Survival Mode (which is the kind of "standard" mode), or you can choose Creative Mode, which gives you access to everything in the game, like a God Mode, and you can also fly around and do whatever you want. In Survival Mode, you begin with nothing at all, and you spawn on a land mass in the wilderness. First thing you notice is that the game generates the landscape as you move through it (though once it is generated, it is permanent). This means that your game experience will be unique to everyone else's - and if you start a new game, it will be different to your first game. You can choose to play Minecraft however you want to. But I advise going to http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Recipes to get an understand of how to make things to help you.

    Once you've checked out that list, you will want to dive in and start making things. Most likely you will begin with a wooden pick axe, so that you can mine a bit of stone, so you can make stone tools. Stronger material makes better tools, which mine quicker, and last longer before breaking, as well as being able to give you access to more kinds of materials that you can't mine with an inferior tool. So once you have a stone axe, trees are easy to take down, and you can mine through stone to find coal and iron ore with your stone pick axe. You can also make a stone sword to fend off baddies - such as zombies, giant spiders and exploding monsters.

    Finding coal is important to start with, to make torches, because it will get dark pretty quick, and as well as not being able to see what you're doing, baddies will spawn in dark places and kill you fairly swiftly (especially early in the game when you don't have much to defend yourself with). You should also make yourself a shelter, to hide up and make a treasure chest to save all the goodies you've found. It is satisfying to make your first little hideout, whether it's a wooden hut, a cave you happen to come across, or a hole in the ground leading to a little tunnel. There is a feeling of safety and personality that is not present in other games. You feel like it's "yours", and as you start to furnish it and dig out new rooms, or put flooring down, you turn a hostile world into a pleasant environment. You can make a door or a trapdoor on the entrance to stop enemies just walking in. Also important is making a bed - they act as checkpoints or spawn points, so when you are killed, you will respawn at the last bed you slept in, rather than always having to respawn at the place you spawned at the very beginning of the game.

    From this point on, your imagination is really your limit. Do you want to explore and see what the land is like, and find all kinds of terrain ranging from snowy mountains, to deserts and swamps? Do you want to go mining and dig into some caves and look for gold, diamonds, ruins, dungeons and treasure? Do you want to hunt enemies, and loot them for their unique items? Do you want to build a castle, or a tree house? Do you want to build traps to catch enemies automatically? Do you want to build a water slide, or a roller coaster? Do you want to make a safe area by making it light up with torches, then build a village or even a city? Do you want to build an underground tunnel system? Do you want to build a railway system? Do you want to build a farm and raise animals? Do you want to grow plants and fruits? Do you want to see how high you can build, or how deep you can dig? It's basically like a giant playground, a giant wilderness where you can build whatever you want.
    Expand
  88. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Minecraft is what you make it and much more. An incredible idea that was executed flawlessly, Minecraft is the best of its genre and can easily rival major titles. Minecraft proves that while simplicity might be requisite in an indie game, it can be used to make something much greater. It takes a massive world, a player, and produces an infinite number of solutions. Exploration is always overlooked in video games. Developers focus on things like mechanics, challenge, variety, interactivity, and visuals, but don't realize that if given an environment that allows players to freely conquer each of those aspects, their work is done. All a player needs is tools and the internet, because someone will gain enough interest in a game to learn everything about it, and the resulting cascade is a devoted fan base. Expand
  89. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I don't understand that why people think Minecraft is a low-graphic game? Are you serious? This game does not about GRAPHIC. This is about your creativity. You can do whatever you want! Like castles,houses... Example, someone made a Battlefield 3 map in Minecraft (Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=be3CyvUptEc) This game will broad your mind. Just build something. Or play with your friends.
  90. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is a great game. Ia would recommend this game whether you are a hardcore gamer or just someone who is looking for a game just to kick back and relax. Some people may think that this game gets a bit boring but that is why there are tons of mods to experiment with.
  91. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This is the game that made indie gaming so popular it is really good while the graphics aren't realistic they are memorable and not dull but interesting the exploration is really encouraging and will keep you engaged the unlimited creativity is what makes this game excel. Then there are all the mods and texture packs.
    The Bad
    The multiplayer is hard to set up
    Java is slow
  92. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Opening the door for creativity and absolute sandbox give this game a perfect score in my book. Gamers understand that sometimes the modding community can make the game so much more than its original developers... for for that This game will be forever entered into the hall of firsts. some times good graphics do not matter, as long as mechanics and fun exist. HINT HINT AAA developers.
  93. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Amazing game! Unending fun, addicting multiplayer, and the ability to be extremely creative make this one of the most memorable and maybe one of the best games of all time. You can put hundreds of hours into Minecraft and still have fun.
  94. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing its endless fun and hard to stop playing. If you don't like the main game that's fine just check out some mods. If you don't like the graphics get a texture pack. Over all this is an amazing game.
  95. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is probably the most popular Sandbox indie game in existence, with almost 10,000,000 users! which shows that for many, it's a very fun game! Minecraft obviously has some problems, some of which are just part of the game and are deliberate (i.e the graphics). Minecraft allows you to make or do anything that you wish, which can be very fun if you're a creative person, and if you find yourself to be a good builder in the game, you can begin to create great things Minecraft has mainly become famous because of it's popularity on Youtube, especially from the Yogscast group.
    As well as this, minecraft's multiplayer option has made the game ever-more addictive, with easy interaction and chat with other players (which also causes some problems). I personally find multiplayer fun because of the competition offered by many servers; which is greatly improved when the server is modded to have extra abilities and features added to the game, like shops and skills. In short, some people will either love the game, or get bored after about 10 minutes; if you're really put off by the graphics, either don't bother getting the game, or get it and improve the graphics with texture packs, which can make the game look quite sophisticated indeed, presuming that your computer can handle it.
    Expand
  96. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I don't really know what to write in here. Minecraft is just awesome. If you are creative, you'll never get out of work and fun! To describe it very short: Minecraft is THE game, I would take to a lonely island!
  97. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Honestly, Minecraft is the best game I have ever played. There's something in it for everyone. Yeah, singleplayer vanilla may get boring after a while, but there's a practically endless assortment of awesome mods to choose from. And multiplayer, in my opinion, is really the great part of this game. For me, if I can find myself a relatively small server with a good community, I'm in heaven. Although many would disagree with me, I think the graphics work perfectly for the game, and even if you're unhappy with them there are plenty of great texture packs (one I would recommend is John Smith). The price point may look a little high, but when you compare it to a generic FPS that may be 20 dollars more with a 6 hour campaign and unimaginative gameplay, its a steal. Expand
  98. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    You Absolutely would not guess how many hour i have sunk into this game, and it is simply the most innovating game and one of the best games i have ever played, a well earned 10 is what this games gets. it has flaws of course, but every game does. for example, there should be more purpose to exploring places like the nether and the end( but it is also satisfyingly rewarding) like nether chest. i would complain that there should be level for mining but they have fixed that. a harder game mode would be nice, hardcore is scary but mobs can be killed very easily. and finally, just add herobrine. it would give a little bit of fear into the game. if they did this, i would try to convince metacritic to make and 11 out of 10 option Expand
  99. Apr 20, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is one of these very controversial and heavy opinionated games. I my personal opinion it's one of these games that have a huge impact in the gaming world Never have I seen a voxel based game improve over time as this game If you really look at it for what it's done as a game done to it's players it has brought back the creativity in all of us reviving people's imagination and If you look at it as the game it self well that's your own opinion but it is easy one of those game the I will mention of years to come. It well deserves this praise and if you tell me if this game is unfinished well that's the best thing about it because it your imagination the finishes it. Expand
  100. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    This game is for those that enjoy creating. If you do not like creating, you will instantly be turned away. Now, this game, as many have already pointed out, the graphics are not that great, but what you must understand is that the game was not built to host amazing graphics, and that it is an indie game. The game isn't an AAA game, and if you can't rap your head around the fact it doesn't have good graphics, and you can't play it because of that, then so be it. You get used to the games graphics, and then eventually love it, and its uniqueness. This game is hands-down amazing. I started playing when it was Alpha, and it didn't even have multiplayer at the time. Back then, it was so much fun to play Single Player, because you had an entire world to explore and make a house impervious to enemies, find out all the tricks to the game and the like. I have played many games, and I must say, this game compels you strongly to build bigger houses, get better gear, find better ways of producing your resources, and the like. Then Multiplayer came out-- the game became wonderful! Sure, it had a few kinks here and there, but having friends to explore that world with, makes you feel like you were a little kid again exploring the world as a free soul trying to find cool things to do. The only problem was, after Multiplayer came out, Single Player was not worth playing to me anymore, because my friends couldn't use the things I made, therefore Single Player felt worthless.But, the game is wonderful: music that fits the atmosphere, gripping gameplay that makes you thirst for more, and graphics that gives it, its own style and spot inside your heart. As a side note, forget all those people that keep complaining about Notch and his choices; everyone makes mistakes and he has made a few, but he has still tried to make the game great, even more so great than it already is. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]