User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4019 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game is epic!!!You will have tons of fun mining and or just building what you want,plus it has tons of mods that will add to the awesomeness, I highly Recommend this game for the price
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Having been rather against Minecraft at the time of it's transfer into beta, I thought it would be a sensible idea to play the game and get some evidence on what it was really like. I was really expecting something bad. I was wrong. The game itself is brilliant - simple, yet complex. Endless hours have been spent mining, crafting, and mining more. Every world morphed into a brilliantHaving been rather against Minecraft at the time of it's transfer into beta, I thought it would be a sensible idea to play the game and get some evidence on what it was really like. I was really expecting something bad. I was wrong. The game itself is brilliant - simple, yet complex. Endless hours have been spent mining, crafting, and mining more. Every world morphed into a brilliant landscape by hand (or pickaxe). But what really makes me come back to this is that there is no set limit as to what you can do. Even when you defeat the Enderdragon on Release 1.0, you can still continue on and do yet more stuff. Even the ending titles are attractive. Sure, the graphics aren't as good as other games (unless you run a HD texture pack), and there are a few bugs here and there, but, for a game that's been having so much hype from the online community... it certainly provides... Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    For creative types, one of the best video games to be released in many years. The ability to tear the world down and build it again as your own makes this game well above the typical creativity-based games out there today. I don't think a game has ever made me more excited to build since the first Sims game: highly recommended for anyone who enjoys gaming in general, well worth theFor creative types, one of the best video games to be released in many years. The ability to tear the world down and build it again as your own makes this game well above the typical creativity-based games out there today. I don't think a game has ever made me more excited to build since the first Sims game: highly recommended for anyone who enjoys gaming in general, well worth the purchase price (I also can't understand why there is so much user hate...the game is half the price of the usual crap that's sold today) Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is a uniquely creative game. In fact, almost all of the gameplay is based on harnessing your creations to survive. The fate of character is fully up to you. With so many things to do it seems like it would take an endless amount of time to completely explore the world of Minecraft. However, the game felt slightly repetitive too. I found myself going on to online servers for aMinecraft is a uniquely creative game. In fact, almost all of the gameplay is based on harnessing your creations to survive. The fate of character is fully up to you. With so many things to do it seems like it would take an endless amount of time to completely explore the world of Minecraft. However, the game felt slightly repetitive too. I found myself going on to online servers for a more interactive approach. The online is really enjoyable also but it too is not perfect. There are risks to playing online: "grieving" which can be annoying. Also I have had a server crash on me a few times. Both single player and online Minecraft are fun enough to keep you playing for hours, if not days or months. The game design is fun with a 8-bit look. It is easy to learn while playing and controlling it isn't hard. Overall, the game doesn't deserve and perfect score but I would DEFINITELY recommend it to anyone looking for a new game. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Extremely fun with endless possibilites. Nice soundtrack and great fun! Minecraft is different to other games and is full of things to do. The game centers on crafting, collecting, exploing, building and all sorts of things.Build houses, construct huge endless tunnels, explore an amazing endless world made up of blocks of sand, dirt, diamond, coal, iron, gold, water - the list goes on.Extremely fun with endless possibilites. Nice soundtrack and great fun! Minecraft is different to other games and is full of things to do. The game centers on crafting, collecting, exploing, building and all sorts of things.Build houses, construct huge endless tunnels, explore an amazing endless world made up of blocks of sand, dirt, diamond, coal, iron, gold, water - the list goes on. Hirely reccomend it. Its brilliant. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    There is something very, very, special about this game. It's ingenious, and boldly defiant of all modern gaming conventions. It's vague, intimidating, and beautiful. You make your own stories, your own objectives, your own game. The feeling you get from putting a door on your first dirt slab house is immensely satisfying, but that feeling only increases until you reach a point where youThere is something very, very, special about this game. It's ingenious, and boldly defiant of all modern gaming conventions. It's vague, intimidating, and beautiful. You make your own stories, your own objectives, your own game. The feeling you get from putting a door on your first dirt slab house is immensely satisfying, but that feeling only increases until you reach a point where you feel like god standing on your castle with your enchanted diamond sword and network of minecarts and storage of precious materials. I can already predict, that this game will be looked back on as one of the most important games of a generation, as it's randomly generated worlds and subtle complexity will be the future of all games. This is the start of true open world, a true role playing experience. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The game offers original concept and total freedom, while access to the code itself allows modders to do literally anything. This game is an ultimate sandbox and while it may not be equally fun to everyone (certain I got bored pretty fast), it is hands down brilliant.
  8. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    0.o Minecraft is insanely addictive yet so very simple. It has soul, it has character, it has creepers. This is gaming at it's finest - back to basics indie development at it's best.
  9. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    This game is really awesome, you can do so much with it and you can be really creative and build lots of things. However, the game doesn't last forever, there is only so much you can do, about after 2 weeks gameplay It will not be as fun and you will probably stop playing because at that time you already have a giant house, mines everywhere, lots of ore and many items, farm and such andThis game is really awesome, you can do so much with it and you can be really creative and build lots of things. However, the game doesn't last forever, there is only so much you can do, about after 2 weeks gameplay It will not be as fun and you will probably stop playing because at that time you already have a giant house, mines everywhere, lots of ore and many items, farm and such and then you can't really do more, you've reached your peak, and once you can't really accomplish anything else you stop playing, but still really good for that two weeks. Expand
  10. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Mojang's "Minecraft" is the Electronic Age's LEGOs, there is simply no other way to state it. It heavily (yet subtly) encourages the less objectively-good things in humanity, such as beauty, creativity, and teamwork, all while maintaining the guise as a "survival adventure" game. In reality, Minecraft is less about crafting and more about creating; a simple 1x2 mud hut can keep you aliveMojang's "Minecraft" is the Electronic Age's LEGOs, there is simply no other way to state it. It heavily (yet subtly) encourages the less objectively-good things in humanity, such as beauty, creativity, and teamwork, all while maintaining the guise as a "survival adventure" game. In reality, Minecraft is less about crafting and more about creating; a simple 1x2 mud hut can keep you alive through the night, but no one builds that (except out of desperation!)...the players of this game build towering monstrosities of castles, Nordic keeps, 1-to-1 scale replicas of Star Trek ships and Hogwarts castle. Not because they MUST, but simply because they CAN. This is the game of our generation. Expand
  11. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Probably the most popular Alpha ever. By its fans, it is revered for being the "perfect" game. By their wives, it's farmville for men. In reality this game is a huge timesink, it'll last you as long as your imagination fuels you, but as the game has no real purpose, there's nothing to hold you after exhausting your imagination, then you're left waiting on updates to allow you to do more.Probably the most popular Alpha ever. By its fans, it is revered for being the "perfect" game. By their wives, it's farmville for men. In reality this game is a huge timesink, it'll last you as long as your imagination fuels you, but as the game has no real purpose, there's nothing to hold you after exhausting your imagination, then you're left waiting on updates to allow you to do more. This game is incredibly enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone looking to waste some time for cheap, but until the game gets a purpose, some sort of story, it will never be "perfect". Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I'm surprised that roughly 1 in 7 people scored this game negatively (325 positive vs 47 negative at the time of this review), but then I realized that this game's detractors mostly attack the graphics and "slow" development, and the game's "boring" nature. As for the graphics, believe it or not, there is appeal in styling it with a retro-pixelated feel. Certainly some people wish everyI'm surprised that roughly 1 in 7 people scored this game negatively (325 positive vs 47 negative at the time of this review), but then I realized that this game's detractors mostly attack the graphics and "slow" development, and the game's "boring" nature. As for the graphics, believe it or not, there is appeal in styling it with a retro-pixelated feel. Certainly some people wish every game had a team of 3,000 people working on it and a budget close to a Pirates of the Caribbean movie, like Grand Theft Auto and Call of Duty titles. And I enjoy my fair share of big budget titles, but I'm not dependent on graphics to allow me to enjoy a game, and anyone who is dependent on graphics over gameplay is set up for disappointment not only in this game, but in gaming in general. In this same reasoning, they are a company who has made 1 game, they are still a small developer, AND everyone who is complaining about features bought into the game while in development. I wonder if they'd complain so much if they were trusted to play a beta version of Madden that it wasn't still fresh after a full year of development.
    As for complaints about the game being boring, it's due to the (strangely) realistic nature of the game, in as such that you are alone in the middle of nowhere, and starting with no tools other than your hands. It does take time to assemble a comfortable zone for your player in game, and you are constantly learning through trial-and-error of ways to do things faster and better. The game isn't boring as much as it's lonely. And that's the intention of the developers, and it's certainly not a flaw or drawback to this game. And for those who need company in their games, the multiplayer option exists. I've actually been fortunate enough to have a desktop at home and my own laptop, and my girlfriend used her laptop along with mine to connect to our own server on my desktop, which allowed for a great 2-player game. All in all, the game is great, and the critical reviews explain why. I just wanted to counter the negative user reviews, because sadly, sometimes in every 7 people there is 1 person who can't be satisfied.
    Expand
  13. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! I really can't wait for this game to be fully released. At it's $14.98 US price tag, this game should not be missed. I am very surprised there are not hundreds or thousands of reviews for this game as popular as it has been recently. The creator has sold over 1 million copies of the game and it is still in beta! That is how great this game is. This game is by far theThis game is amazing! I really can't wait for this game to be fully released. At it's $14.98 US price tag, this game should not be missed. I am very surprised there are not hundreds or thousands of reviews for this game as popular as it has been recently. The creator has sold over 1 million copies of the game and it is still in beta! That is how great this game is. This game is by far the best indie game I have even played! A must Buy! Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an incredible game. I love the survival aspects of it, how you can make your own stories and do whatever you want! The mods are great, multiplayer fun and there are very few bugs now. The out of memory bug can be solved simply by downloading java x64 (rather than the x32 that is installed.) great fun game.
  15. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought.To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought. Building an awesome house. Go out and fight the mosters. Tame a Wolf to be you pet. I'm always finding these underground waterfalls and lavafalls. You get the sense that you're going where no-one else has gone before. Bugs and Glitches: This is an indie game that is massive. Ok. Some bugs are major and they suck. Moving on! This game is overwhelming if you don't know what to do. Use the Minecraft Wiki to help. Build a house and go out mining and exploring. Build a massive minecart track. Sometimes, a nice little tune would play to ease you up a bit in tough situations. Bottom line: It's a triumph of Indie gaming. It's up there with the games that started out small and turned huge like the classic Donkey Kong, World of Goo, Braid and many others. A modern classic, hands down. I'd like to give it a 9.5, but I can't... Expand
  16. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a simple game with simple mechanics and simple graphics but its very fun and addictive. The game is not a complete game is being updated once in a while. I can't really say anything negative because its all good but what this game lacks is a tutorial for beginners. Its an easy game but not for beginners. Minecraft is AWESOME and ADDICTING.
  17. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    A hugely entertaining game that is as addictive as an illegal substance. The sandbox feel is what I enjoy the most; just the idea of being able to go anywhere, anytime and do anything you want once you arrive is a sense of freedom that goes so far as to possibly give GTA a run for its money. My only complaints are that if your computer is slow, the game is VERY laggy when you try to playA hugely entertaining game that is as addictive as an illegal substance. The sandbox feel is what I enjoy the most; just the idea of being able to go anywhere, anytime and do anything you want once you arrive is a sense of freedom that goes so far as to possibly give GTA a run for its money. My only complaints are that if your computer is slow, the game is VERY laggy when you try to play on maximum settings. Also, there is not a wide variety of tools and weapons and once you play for a little while, you will notice that most tools are just upgraded rather than being different (eg. a wooden pick-axe will upgrade to a stone pick-axe etc.). But apart from that, this unique take on the free roam genre is destined to become a classic. Expand
  18. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This game is addicting, simple and very fun. Read this review and see why you should buy this game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox construction game, inspired by Infiniminer, and created by Markus Persson, the founder of Mojang AB. The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create
    This game is addicting, simple and very fun. Read this review and see why you should buy this game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox construction game, inspired by Infiniminer, and created by Markus Persson, the founder of Mojang AB. The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes. This game is highly liked by many people and has sold over 1 million copies.

    The graphics for minecraft are nothing special; however, I'm pretty sure this was intended. The graphics aren't great at first glance, although you get used to it the more you play the game. The art design is quite charming and interesting, and it kindof sucks you in. I started liking the graphics as the pixel art design fits the game nicely however, die-hard graphics fans will never get used to them.

    The gameplay is simple and complex in different ways. You start off in a randomly-generated world and you need to survive as long as possible. The game involes you to gather resourses, make shelters and kill baddies. The game has many crafting recipes and this can be very rewarding. There is a bit of a learning curve, however, once you start to get the hang of things, you can't stop thinking what to make next. The building in this game is endless, with tons of materials to get. I found myself making houses and all sorts of things. Anyways, back to the "survival" aspect. The game's AI is quite good; as the badguys really try to kill you. Obviously, this can be turned off, but the game kinda loses it's spunk. There are many enemies, from zombies to spiders, there is tons to kill. The game has an online feature, however this is a big pain for people who are forced to make a server. Unforthunately, I didn't get a chance to play online, but I'm quite sure it would be a lot of fun. I could sit here for hours telling you about how interesting this game is, but I'll let you try it out for yourself and expierience how great this game is. For a game that only costs $20, this is a must-buy for all PC owners.

    The sound effects in this game are realistic and somewhat creepy. The animals such as cows, pigs, and sheep sound spot on and really make the game come to life. The game's baddies sound weird, but that isn't to much of a factor. The game's music is somewhat relaxing and peaceful. Some of the music is excellent, and others are decent. Overall, the audio is fresh and is a blast to listen to. The controls are extremely responsive and customizable. I had very little control issues with this game. I don't have much to say here; except the fact that the controls are almost perfect. The game's replay value is the best I've ever seen in a video game. The game edges LittleBigPlanet2 by using randomly-generated worlds, tons of items to craft, many updates to come and much more features. The game's replay value is unlimited, due to the fact of the cost, features and content. PROS: +Randomly-Generated Worlds
    +Tons to Explore
    +Excellent Controls
    +Great Music
    +Sound Effects are spot-on
    +Cost of $20
    +Charming
    +Good AI
    +Decent Graphics

    CONS:
    -No Maps
    -Learning Curve
    -Online Setup is a pain

    Ratings:
    Graphics: 7.5/10
    Gameplay: 9.5/10
    Audio: 8.5/10
    Controls: 9.5/10
    Replay Value: 10/10
    OVERALL: 9.0/10 To conclude, Minecraft is a stunning game. The graphics may not be for everyone, but that shouldn't judge the game completely. The gameplay and all the other features overpowered that flaw, and you get used to the graphics after awhile. For all the people who hate the graphics, download a texture pack to make the graphics better. I think this is one of the best games for the PC.
    Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games. This game is really fun and will give you hours of entertainment. it is constantly updated as it is still in development. the only bad thing about the game is that it is very addictive and you can waste a lot of time playing.
  20. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    This game has so many ways to play, explore, build etc. You can play this game so long that you usually forget how long you are playing. Playing this with friends is absolutely iceing on the cake.
  21. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is definetly worth a purchase, one of the best game I have played and I have played a fair bunch. Hard to get bored, I bought while it was still in Alpha mode and i still play it all the time.
  22. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Well...some people pay millions of dollars for fancy graphics, motion-capture and even 3D. Others pay writers to write out a well fleshed-out storyline with many choices. A few claim to offer "sandbox" style of gameplay...but nothing every comes CLOSE to amount of sandbox play style in this game. There is literally limitless potential, and because the world is constantly being generated,Well...some people pay millions of dollars for fancy graphics, motion-capture and even 3D. Others pay writers to write out a well fleshed-out storyline with many choices. A few claim to offer "sandbox" style of gameplay...but nothing every comes CLOSE to amount of sandbox play style in this game. There is literally limitless potential, and because the world is constantly being generated, there is always somewhere new to go. Not to mention, this is only one mode! There are so many possibilities with modes, some that the single developer is working on, and some being suggested by the community. It's hard to believe a game like this 10 years ago would have been shot down for poor graphics, but now is probably Game of the Year material. Match it with a $20 price tag, I don't think any game will be able to match the addictiveness. Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Still I don't see how this game gets "perfect" scores, because hosting multiplayer is a sincere pain and crafting is utterly tedious for newcomers.. But the fact that what it does, it does better than anyone else and that it is a PC game, it's pretty great. But not more than a 9/10 though, that's just the hype speaking.
  24. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is truly a great game, it has something for almost any age group. With the addition of creative mode, MineCraft has opened up to all those players who just want to build (like Garry's Mod). MineCraft can be modified and is a large COMMUNITY game which I think give it a huge thumbs up.
  25. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a far too addictive game especially online.

    You can build everything and everything from Hogwarts School to whole Kingdoms if you wished and the best part is that its available for download meaning you HAVE TO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
  26. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Personally, it really annoys me that people rate and hate games due to their graphics, even if a main feature of the game is the aesthetics which are only made possibly by the graphics. One such game is Minecraft, and I'll tell you it's had me addicted from the beginning. The creativity it inspires in me genuinely shocks me sometimes, and I've been known to spend hours at a time making aPersonally, it really annoys me that people rate and hate games due to their graphics, even if a main feature of the game is the aesthetics which are only made possibly by the graphics. One such game is Minecraft, and I'll tell you it's had me addicted from the beginning. The creativity it inspires in me genuinely shocks me sometimes, and I've been known to spend hours at a time making a roller coaster, or a palace, or a city! The game has (as far as I'm concerned) infinite replay-ability, due to the very nature of the game. And I've seen people complaining that 'it has no story'. That's the whole point, everything is left for the player to imagine, including the origins of the world you just created if you so wish. This is not COD, this is not an action filled, heavily scripted, game where you can almost guess that somethings about to explode in your face. This is, along with a few other games, nearly completely unscripted. As for the ending, it is there not to explain the world you made and how it came to be, but to thank the modding community for all the support they have shown for the game. However, i have to say that the final release was almost rushed out, simply because people were growing impatient and wanted it right here, right now. The fact that some people would complain that Notch is ignoring the bugs is ridiculous, he originally wanted to completely iron out all the bugs, but the fanbase said he could do that over the next few updates. And Minecraft is still updating, it can only get, while there are a few things left to be desired, better. Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive.
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive. one you start playing, you will not stop, either by creating new stuff or by perfecting existing creations
    Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    "Minecraft" lacks the graphics, but is abundant with creativity. Expect enormous fun...with CRAFTING!!!
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Simply, in my opinion, the best PC game ever. Endless possibilities and all it asks for is your creativity! (And time, lots and ltos of time!) Everytime there is a new patch there is loads lore featues and things to discover! Just an excellent gaming experience!
  30. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    This game is more than a game, it will suck in your life and force you to become one of the square people, you will start to relate everything in real life to stuff in minecraft, some people are saying this game is bad because "its a game where you move around blocks, its digital legos" Well guess what folks, you can choose between creative mode or survival mode! so its more aboutThis game is more than a game, it will suck in your life and force you to become one of the square people, you will start to relate everything in real life to stuff in minecraft, some people are saying this game is bad because "its a game where you move around blocks, its digital legos" Well guess what folks, you can choose between creative mode or survival mode! so its more about surviving than building, not to mention the huge amount of servers that all have their own cool game modes, another complaint is : "there is no goal!" Yes there is, you can build a portal to the final boss called "the ender dragon" so THERE is a goal, I could also say that guess what : ITS A SANDBOX GAME, IF YOU DONT LIKE SANDBOX GAMES, then dont play minecraft, yes, after you have done everything it CAN get boring and you wish you could get that feeling of discovery whenever you craft a new thing out of blocks, but its a rather cheap game in comparison to other titles, also, one may say that terraria is better than minecraft, I would debate that they are incomparable because terraria has ALOT of unbalanced garbage in it, but everything in minecraft has a purpose and is balanced to a very good extent. Such as melons being easier to farm but wheat can be used to get your more animals (etc) or stone pick axes are better at mining huge areas than iron pick axes but iron picks pick faster, etc. The people who are voting this game down dont like sandbox games and cant see beyond their own gameplay perspectives, Geoffory2 says "this game is repetitive and boring" well its an opinion. You cant state opinion without evidence. Dont forget that this game is very unique in comparison to other titles, seriously, give this game a shot because its a master piece. (but only if you like sandbox games) if you dont like sandbox games then dont buy it, its as simple as that. Some people are marking this game down for the modding community working faster than Notch (the game creator) WHATS THE PROBLEM WITH MODS? MORE CONTENT FOR YOU.Some say "OMG THE GRAPHICS SUCK, THIS GAME IS SO GAY" well guess what, those people are COD aid infected idiots, because minecraft was not meant to be a very graphical game, graphics are extra credit really, nothing more. Also, it does NOT perform terribly if you simply dont set everything on highest settings, yes folks the rules still apply because JAVA is a REALLY REALLY BAD ENGINE.
    If there are any problems with this game, its that notch worked so slowly to get everything right before it was released, but that does not matter now!
    Expand
  31. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever made. The only reason it is really getting hated upon is because of its art style and updates. Both of which are nothing to complain about even if you don't like the game.
  32. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I wandered through the woods, killed skeletons, spiders, zombies. I discovered deep canyons and high mountains. I dug deep into the soil to find ores of iron, gold and diamonds. I built a palace made of glass surrounded by waterfalls that keep the creepers away. I built a rollercoaster, a chicken farm, a musical gangway. On our server I can travel by cart to a Cathedral built a friend orI wandered through the woods, killed skeletons, spiders, zombies. I discovered deep canyons and high mountains. I dug deep into the soil to find ores of iron, gold and diamonds. I built a palace made of glass surrounded by waterfalls that keep the creepers away. I built a rollercoaster, a chicken farm, a musical gangway. On our server I can travel by cart to a Cathedral built a friend or to the depths of Moria built by another...

    There are so many adventures, crafting recipies... possibilities!
    The music is so awesome and inspiring, I bought and d/l'd some C418 CDs so I can hear the music while I'm working. Minecraft is a phenomenon that I'm happy to be part of.
    Expand
  33. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    The game that basically has redefined the sandbox genre. You can almost do anything you want. I could rant and rave on what is good, but my favorable score show show that. I'm going to write the short-comings because people need to understand what they are gonna either miss or want.

    Firstly, when you get in the game, you can do whatever you want, but that is a downside. For the not very
    The game that basically has redefined the sandbox genre. You can almost do anything you want. I could rant and rave on what is good, but my favorable score show show that. I'm going to write the short-comings because people need to understand what they are gonna either miss or want.

    Firstly, when you get in the game, you can do whatever you want, but that is a downside. For the not very creative people (like me), it is hard to keep playing the game when I don't have an end-goal to achieve. You can explore FOREVER and will get lost and if you die and are lost? Say good bye to whatever you were carrying.

    Secondly, from the beta days to now the weekly snapshots, it has gone from a creative little world to an adventure mode that has again no goal. You can explore and find a village, but it doesn't necessarily help you. You can enchant weapons/items to help you, but it isn't necessary. It gives you freedom to do what you want, but with no guidance, what's the point?

    Thirdly, Mods and add-ons. The game does a great job with allowing the player to do what they want, but it gets outrageous. They allow people to add their own texture packs, but not the mods to allow users to accomplish their personal goals quicker. For example, what if I am building a tower? I need a "flying" mod so I don't need to worry about falling and dying. Every update/release you would have to re-install the mods. I know Mojang does not specifically support the mods system, but since EVERYONE is using them, why not just add that in?

    The multiplayer in the game is great, and can be amazing when you have a server filled with people who help each other, but you always get griefers who want to watch the world burn.
    Expand
  34. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Since people like lists ill list just some of the features in this game.
    - crafting
    - mining - fighting - exploring - gathering - breeding - farming - jumping - swimming - running - building - killing - eating - wood chopping - smelting - raining - lightning - planting - nethering - sleeping - customizing - sailing - enchanting - digging - shaving - slaughtering - socializing ....the
    Since people like lists ill list just some of the features in this game.
    - crafting
    - mining - fighting
    - exploring
    - gathering - breeding - farming
    - jumping
    - swimming
    - running
    - building
    - killing
    - eating
    - wood chopping
    - smelting
    - raining
    - lightning
    - planting
    - nethering
    - sleeping
    - customizing
    - sailing
    - enchanting
    - digging
    - shaving - slaughtering - socializing
    ....the list could go on but i ran out of words with" ing "
    Expand
  35. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best PC game I've played in years. There's so much content here, and that content keeps getting expanded on month after month after month. It started out as a small sort of Lego game, then mining got expanded, then building got expanded, we got minecarts, redstone circuitry to make complex machines, we got more mobs to go out and fight, biomes to explore. Snowlands, hugeThis is easily the best PC game I've played in years. There's so much content here, and that content keeps getting expanded on month after month after month. It started out as a small sort of Lego game, then mining got expanded, then building got expanded, we got minecarts, redstone circuitry to make complex machines, we got more mobs to go out and fight, biomes to explore. Snowlands, huge mountains, vast deserts. RPG mechanics, villagers, -pistons-... and there's more on the way. On top of that the game is highly moddable, the likes of which I, as a big time modder, haven't experienced much of since Morrowind, Half-Life 2, and Civ4. Expand
  36. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is just amazing, there is so many things you can do, but few updates then this will be completed. Minecraft maybe need story or something but community will help you mods, servers, texture packs, those is why this is so damn good and without those, this is still very good game.
  37. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I hate Minecraft. There are more bugs than any other game I have ever played, and I can safely predict that almost all of them will remain un-fixed throughout the entirety of the game. Why did I give it a 10, you ask? Because even in spite of all of these bugs and lack of features, some of which can be game-breaking at times, it's still a *million* times more fun than any game I haveI hate Minecraft. There are more bugs than any other game I have ever played, and I can safely predict that almost all of them will remain un-fixed throughout the entirety of the game. Why did I give it a 10, you ask? Because even in spite of all of these bugs and lack of features, some of which can be game-breaking at times, it's still a *million* times more fun than any game I have played recently. Even Skyrim hasn't been able to keep me coming back as much as Minecraft has.

    And if there's really some feature that I feel it should have, I can always mod it. God I love modding. If modern game creators should learn anything from Minecraft, it should be to make their make their game moddable. If there's anything I don't like about the game, I can change it, so any problems I have with the game would ultimately be a result of my lack of coding ability. :-)

    Also, Notch! Release a proper modding toolkit or I'll do something naughty to your servers!
    Expand
  38. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    An amazing game. I haven't seen another game do anything like it (before this was released). There is an infinite amount of things you can do. A randomly generated world, with caverns, mines, towns, mountain ranges, swamps, you name it. It has many different modes but my favorite is survival. Cook food, hunt, build shelter, etc. My friend and I built a giant tower, a stone keep, a trainAn amazing game. I haven't seen another game do anything like it (before this was released). There is an infinite amount of things you can do. A randomly generated world, with caverns, mines, towns, mountain ranges, swamps, you name it. It has many different modes but my favorite is survival. Cook food, hunt, build shelter, etc. My friend and I built a giant tower, a stone keep, a train station, and much more. Build whatever you want, go cave exploring to find materials. Whatever you want to do, you can do. You'll never be bored. Expand
  39. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. In fact the first one I bought since the 80:s, and the only one I still play after about a year buying it. The possibilites in the game makes every new world unique, and the Hardcore-mode makes dying very less desirable.
  40. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This game is very cool. Some people say the graphics sucks, but I think that's one of the special things, which makes minecraft so interesting. Only thing I hate is the missing mod-support.
  41. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is an amazing game which has become huge over the last 2 years. It's massive user base and support from it's community. The only thing I will say is that the game is not made for single player and without plugins it is very standard to be called anything more than a 'lego-ripoff' As a game it is a very original idea, as a concept it's essentially lego put from real life into theMinecraft is an amazing game which has become huge over the last 2 years. It's massive user base and support from it's community. The only thing I will say is that the game is not made for single player and without plugins it is very standard to be called anything more than a 'lego-ripoff' As a game it is a very original idea, as a concept it's essentially lego put from real life into the computer. It's worth the money though and I recommend it to ANYONE and EVERYONE. My kid sister is 6 and loves the game, I'm almost 19 and love it, and my father is almost 60 and loved it. Expand
  42. Nov 26, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is one of those revolutionary titles. Starting with a blank page to build your world is great. Graphics are not the best. there texture packs to help ease the eyesight. Multiplayer is sorta unfinished and i could use some work. The Game kinda changed from survival to RPG with element such as enchanting and leveling up. All in all this is one of the best indie games of all time.Minecraft is one of those revolutionary titles. Starting with a blank page to build your world is great. Graphics are not the best. there texture packs to help ease the eyesight. Multiplayer is sorta unfinished and i could use some work. The Game kinda changed from survival to RPG with element such as enchanting and leveling up. All in all this is one of the best indie games of all time. Well it was an in game. Expand
  43. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    I got minecraft in the early beta days, and up to now it remains to me addictive and entertaining. The pric e of the game is excellent for the amount of hours of gameplay you get from it. Even if you get bored of the vanilla game, there is a enormous modding community that will satisfy all your wants.

    Survival and creation are the two main aspects of minecraft. In survival mode you gather
    I got minecraft in the early beta days, and up to now it remains to me addictive and entertaining. The pric e of the game is excellent for the amount of hours of gameplay you get from it. Even if you get bored of the vanilla game, there is a enormous modding community that will satisfy all your wants.

    Survival and creation are the two main aspects of minecraft. In survival mode you gather resources and shelter your self from the evil of the night, monsters such as creepers, skeletons and zombies will ambush you throughout the game and you will need weaponry, defence and protection to fight back the threat. With enough resources, you can make anything you can imagine, following a isometric system that doesn't fail to dissapoint.

    Creative mode is more of an extra feature, allowing you to build whatever you can think of. it doesn't give the ammount of satisfaction that survival gives, but is a great passtime and great for displaying creations to your friends and the community.

    Dimensions in both modes add more depth to the game. The nether is a hellish hostile world with special resources necessary for projects such as glowstone, blaze rods and netherrack. The end ( also known as the Ender) is... well let me not ruin that for you ;)

    Multiplayer is even better. it takes a while to get it running, and with bad connection servers can be quite laggy but playing with a friend is a new experience on itself.

    The only issue i really have with minecraft is that i feel as if notch is making it feel a bit too constrained. In alpha and early beta, nothing really mattered and you just were there, but now it makes me feel as if i'm forced to follow a set amount of goals every time i start up a new world.

    Still, minecraft doesn't fail to dissapoint me and millions of others. Minecraft is more than just a game. Its an experience and nothing is more satisfying than setting yourself a goal and achieving it.

    I give minecraft a 9 for

    +1 style
    +1 great concept
    +1 endless
    +1 SMP
    +1 unlimited creativity
    +1 Great community
    +1 a lot of items and collectivity
    +1 ton's of replayability
    +1 Great bang for your buck
    +1 Redstone
    - 1 for feeling a bit forced to do things now.
    Expand
  44. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This game is a great example of how a game does not have to be complicated and with fancy graphics to be good. The game is very fun in creative, survival and in multiplayer. The only down side about this game would be that, on vanilla, this game can become rather boring. But Minecraft created a great community that started to create wonderful mods, texture packs, custom maps, adventureThis game is a great example of how a game does not have to be complicated and with fancy graphics to be good. The game is very fun in creative, survival and in multiplayer. The only down side about this game would be that, on vanilla, this game can become rather boring. But Minecraft created a great community that started to create wonderful mods, texture packs, custom maps, adventure maps and more. Making Minecraft a game you can play for years. Expand
  45. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    **** Awesome game and a success for Indie game developers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  46. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is an amazing game playing solo and is very enjoyable as of the full release. It even has a sort of way to "beat" the game in a way by collecting items and defeating a ender-dragon. But where Minecraft really shines is in it's multiplayer. Despite its graphics, and code work, and indie roots. It's multiplayer is something I could keep coming back to. The community is what reallyMinecraft is an amazing game playing solo and is very enjoyable as of the full release. It even has a sort of way to "beat" the game in a way by collecting items and defeating a ender-dragon. But where Minecraft really shines is in it's multiplayer. Despite its graphics, and code work, and indie roots. It's multiplayer is something I could keep coming back to. The community is what really makes this game more than a score of 6. Find a great server to play on and start enjoying the endless possibilities. Be the Founder of a city, become mayor, organize hunting parties, dungeon clearings; your imagination and the social structure of your server is the limit. If you have not jumped on this bandwagon you need to get on it now while its still fresh and new Expand
  47. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This game has provided me with hours of fun with my friends and by my self. Its normal game play is fun, and with the use of red stone, one can achieve awesome computers and calculator.
  48. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    17OCT2012 - At first I thought to myself "Why am I playing this crappy looking game?" Then about nine hours later I was addicted and asked myself "Why am I still playing this crappy looking game?" If your criteria for judging a video game is based on graphics then this game would receive a low score. However for fun and re-playability this game receives a perfect score. The world in17OCT2012 - At first I thought to myself "Why am I playing this crappy looking game?" Then about nine hours later I was addicted and asked myself "Why am I still playing this crappy looking game?" If your criteria for judging a video game is based on graphics then this game would receive a low score. However for fun and re-playability this game receives a perfect score. The world in Minecraft is massive. So massive that if you started running in one direction 24/7, you would reach the end of the world in a little over three months real time. With each patch the game gets better. Multiplayer is where the real fun is at. Cooperative gameplay or player vs player makes for a great LAN party game. Highly recommended. Expand
  49. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is, put simply, one of the greatest gaming experiences of its generation. For gaming enthusiasts everywhere, this is a must to have in your collection. You may be a Call of Duty guy, running FPS games all day, or you may be a Starcraft 2 kind of strategy guy. Or maybe an MMORPG WoW type of person, organising raids with fellow nerds - but Minecraft is the kind of game which bringsMinecraft is, put simply, one of the greatest gaming experiences of its generation. For gaming enthusiasts everywhere, this is a must to have in your collection. You may be a Call of Duty guy, running FPS games all day, or you may be a Starcraft 2 kind of strategy guy. Or maybe an MMORPG WoW type of person, organising raids with fellow nerds - but Minecraft is the kind of game which brings lovers of all genres together in one experience. In fact, that's the best way to describe it. It's more of an experience than a game, and an experience which is different to each unique user.

    As an aside, the User Score for this game genuinely brings shame on the Metacritic system and undermines the point of a user based aggregate score. Trolls, go back under your respective rocks.

    9/10 - A gaming experience not to be missed.
    Expand
  50. Aug 29, 2012
    9
    This game shows what can happen when creativity and popularity happen. It has all the makings of a good simulator, with the developer support every good game needs. With beta tests you can download weekly that shows off new items and mobs, you can see Mojang has no plans on slowing down.

    The basis of the game is simple. Create. With three difficulty level, a Hardcore mode, and a
    This game shows what can happen when creativity and popularity happen. It has all the makings of a good simulator, with the developer support every good game needs. With beta tests you can download weekly that shows off new items and mobs, you can see Mojang has no plans on slowing down.

    The basis of the game is simple. Create. With three difficulty level, a Hardcore mode, and a creative building mode, it is easy to jump in and play however you want, and with new console commands, be able between modes easily.

    There is a little story to minecraft, albeit hard to find. A single boss awaits at the endgame level, but getting to him is hard and only found by those who search for him. New patches add more reasons to go and find him, and more bosses are planned, but with no tutorial, a new player is easily lost.

    However, the best thing about minecraft is not the game, but the content. It may have been released a while back, but the new content continues to fly out Mojangs door. Many complain of the bugs in the game, but that is to be expected with new content. There never seems to be an end to the content, although the wait time between patches is long.

    In the end, Minecraft will get you addicted for a week, until you finish that huge project. Then a new patch will come out, and you'll be playing again.
    Expand
  51. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    Minecraft, is probably one of the greatest games ever created, if you enjoyed lego's as a kid you will probably at least get a decent amount of enjoyment from it. The gameplay is a little confusing at first because the game has very little to almost no instruction besides that it tells you how to open your inventory and i can almost guarantee you that you can not play this game withoutMinecraft, is probably one of the greatest games ever created, if you enjoyed lego's as a kid you will probably at least get a decent amount of enjoyment from it. The gameplay is a little confusing at first because the game has very little to almost no instruction besides that it tells you how to open your inventory and i can almost guarantee you that you can not play this game without some kind of reference but once you get around it it's not that big of a problem. The game experience mostly relies on what you make of it, there are plenty of mods for the game that will greatly enhance the game even if you don't enjoy the vanilla experience, how ever alone the game "Depending on how you play" will eventually get old at some point but eventually you might find yourself enjoying the same experience, exploring the land and finding it's rewards that lie beneath the surface which is one of my personal favorite things to do because the world is randomly generated. the art style is simplistic and quirky, but even if you dont like the art style you can find plenty of custom textures made by the community. however the game does require a sturdy set up for as of recent update the game runs on an internal server. its a fun game as is but some people tend to find that the original alpha and beta gameplay is more fun than it's full release but there are mods that revert it. i must admit the game is extremely over rated so if it were not for that then this would have gotten a 9. and as for the music which plays randomly is relaxing but can be a bit repetitive. minecraft is a fun experience that plenty of people will enjoy with no true objectives and yet almost a completely customizable challenge that you will likely enjoy. Expand
  52. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    should I write a review on a game that I mainly watch LPs of on YouTube? All I'll say is that this game is diverse and creative and there's almost limitless possibilities if you add mods. The mods really seal the deal here adding machines, modern weapons, new Monsters and Items.... the list goes on. Wanna enjoy Minecraft on the long run? get mods!
  53. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Graphics 9/10
    Blocky but that's what makes it great
    Replay ability 10/10
    Infinite world, infinite hours of gameplay
    Gameplay 9/10
    You do whatever you want within the games limits
    It's a sandbox game
  54. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    I love Minecraft, I love it for how open it is and how much you can actually do. I'm more of a fan of the creative and the building side of things. This game is great for that! With free upcoming updates every few months increasing the features, items and blocks. People who tend not to like minecraft usually do not play for long enough. You have to build to a certain level until you cannotI love Minecraft, I love it for how open it is and how much you can actually do. I'm more of a fan of the creative and the building side of things. This game is great for that! With free upcoming updates every few months increasing the features, items and blocks. People who tend not to like minecraft usually do not play for long enough. You have to build to a certain level until you cannot stop and admire your creation. Minecraft also carry's what other of its followers do not. The ability to create various contraptions using a redstone system (A wiring type of system) alongside rails and other tools to help you implement uses into things you make. I already give this a 10 just for that. That isn't all, it includes survival and multiplayer in which is huge with it's own game modes, RPGs and survivals. I'm sure I haven't covered everything but from my experience it is one of my favorite games. Expand
  55. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, period. It is true that plain vanilla may get boring after a while, but this is where the amazing community, mods, and servers come in! There is truly infinite possibility in this game, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone willing to give it a go.
  56. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a flawless game, though I do have a few suggestions for future updates.

    1: Like most people on the MC forum, WE WANT FLOATING ISLANDS! 2:In a past update, "The Biome Update" many new "biomes" are added to the massive sandbox. Some examples are, Savanah, Canyon and a Roofed Forest. I believe, there should be certain "mobs" (Creatures existing in the world) for each biome.
    Minecraft is a flawless game, though I do have a few suggestions for future updates.

    1: Like most people on the MC forum, WE WANT FLOATING ISLANDS!
    2:In a past update, "The Biome Update" many new "biomes" are added to the massive sandbox. Some examples are, Savanah, Canyon and a Roofed Forest. I believe, there should be certain "mobs" (Creatures existing in the world) for each biome. Some examples are, Lions, Elephants,Heiynas etc. for the Savanah. I also have some suggestions for the Jungle biome, some being, Jaguars,Tigers,Monkeys,Snakes etc. Thank you for reading!

    Herbertlives
    Expand
  57. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    Was my favorite game for a long time when I was younger. I played 500+ hours.
    Its so much better with mod pack. if you have played it a fair bit get a mod pack. The best ones are from Technic or FTB.
  58. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is probably the most innovative game since Doom. It is not a normal game, it created a whole new genre. It really deserves the perfect score.
  59. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This game isn't finished yet, but is already a masterpiece! When you start playing Minecraft, it's impossible to stop! If you like any sort of videogame, you must play this!
  60. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Very fun game, start in a world with nothing and build it into your own.
    Fight, play or build. Learn new skills and improve your red stone circuits to make some awesome things.

    A****
  61. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    no game has unleashed the creativity of it's players like Minecraft has, the amount of things you could build is endless and when you add multiplayer into the mix building with friends has never been so fun. Top Notch game.
  62. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This game is vastly entertaining with nearly endless possible activities and modding ability. Setting up a modded server with friends will no doubt be endlessly fun if you make full use of the mods. This is a HUGE step in the right direction for games. To hell with graphics, give me content!
  63. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Highly original, massive fun with high replayability and an amazing modding community. Whilst the game may lack visuals, a storyline and contains numerous bugs, it is still massively addictive and fun. The fact that it makes up for these shortcomings (that would be big negatives in any other game) proves that the degree of enjoyment is truly extraordinary.
  64. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    How could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and serverHow could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and server plugins. They make Mine craft just very addicting, like a chewy cookie. This game is underrated by so many people, don't listen to them: they don't know what a good game is like. Expand
  65. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn brahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn minecraft
  66. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    Great game very unique lots of creative thing's to do.
    This game is worth playing its very independent very fun.... I bought it when it was 13$ and only like 200 people a day bought it. It has a whole bunch of new thing's and it was worth 13 easy and is worth 30$ easy.
  67. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Great game, the bad graphics may be a minus, but compared to the stunning gameplay and the huge amount of things you can do for fun. I would say you'll love it!
  68. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is my favourite PC game of all time. It out plays elder-scrolls, diablo, fallout and all others. you can play Minecraft forever and never get bored. MineCraft will be one of those games that people will play in the decades to come.
  69. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    OK. I'm going to give this wonderful game a 10 which it truly deserves. The critic reviews are all great, but as usual the user reviews don't exactly know what they are reviewing, so let me get this straight, Minecraft is supposed to have simple graphics and if you don't like them, get a texture pack! Great glad i got that over with. Minecraft is a simple, yet exciting game. You can buildOK. I'm going to give this wonderful game a 10 which it truly deserves. The critic reviews are all great, but as usual the user reviews don't exactly know what they are reviewing, so let me get this straight, Minecraft is supposed to have simple graphics and if you don't like them, get a texture pack! Great glad i got that over with. Minecraft is a simple, yet exciting game. You can build in a unlimited world, you just need your imagination. One thing people forget is that this game is not over with, they will keep updating it every week and add mod support which will be great, so to those people out there giving this game a terrible review just because "game play is repetitive" there are updates so don't give this wonderful unique game a 0 because of that. I respect mojang and people really seem to forget they are indie developers, I'm grateful notch keeps up with the community which most developers don't do. And one of the greatest things about this game is that there really is no goal, yeah now there is the end, but still use your imagination. I love the graphics of this game, funny how people call it 70s like graphics i wouldn't like the game if it had a more real approach to it. This is the most unique game i have ever played, hope you love it like mostly every one does! P.S. this is from someone who actually PLAYED the game. ;D Expand
  70. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game is the best game for computer it is awesome !!!!!! I play it all the time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it is totallty worth playing!!!!!!
  71. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is way way overrated. I tried to play it, and honestly I don't understand what's so great about this. Notch was very lucky on all the free marketing around it, but even with that, I still don't understand what people see in this.
    My 10 year old kid, he does like to wander around and build houses, but he's 10 year old...
  72. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    I can't believe all the jerks writing reviews here. Notch and the rest of Mojang have said plenty of times that they have one of the best communities for a game ever, and you give Minecraft a 6.9 user score? That's just rude in my opinion. I understand the amount of bugs, but there are no game-breaking bugs, and it is probably the most ambitious game out there. I mean, Notch wanted to makeI can't believe all the jerks writing reviews here. Notch and the rest of Mojang have said plenty of times that they have one of the best communities for a game ever, and you give Minecraft a 6.9 user score? That's just rude in my opinion. I understand the amount of bugs, but there are no game-breaking bugs, and it is probably the most ambitious game out there. I mean, Notch wanted to make a never-ending world made ENTIRELY OUT OF BLOCKS that you could break and place in any form or fashion. And he pulled it off! There is obviously no game in the world that you can literally do ANYTHING, but with just the stuff you start out with (not counting mods), you can do so much and build anything. Even contraptions! Now, to all the people that say that the graphics are bad, first of all its an indie game and its supposed to look like that. If you don't like it, get a texture pack! Its as easy as that! Also, to the people who say some things (like the NPCs) don't have much of a use, do you really think they are going to just leave them like that? If anything, you yelling at them probably makes them want to fix things LESS. Minecraft is my favorite game, and no matter how much it changes, they so far have only added and fixed more and more things, so, it just gets better. Expand
  73. Mar 27, 2014
    9
    After a while it grows on you a bit, plus everyone was telling me how great the building aspect of it is when I'm more into the adventure and mining of it. Although it still seems like the fans are the ones that carried this game...
  74. May 17, 2012
    10
    After playing this game for two years now, there is still so much to be done. If ever you had a moment in your childhood (or adult life) when all you wanted to do was build some cool stuff with Lego - now you can do it forever on your laptop/PC, phone, or xbox360. This game presents endless hours of fun, and possibilities - and is easy and open enough for even the youngest of players -After playing this game for two years now, there is still so much to be done. If ever you had a moment in your childhood (or adult life) when all you wanted to do was build some cool stuff with Lego - now you can do it forever on your laptop/PC, phone, or xbox360. This game presents endless hours of fun, and possibilities - and is easy and open enough for even the youngest of players - with no blood/graphic scenes to worry about. Truly a AAA game by an awesome team. For the price you pay - the value is out of the park (I'd put it above the Orange Box when they first came out). Expand
  75. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    I love this game, however it has a lot of potential to become much better. At first it's a lot of fun just digging and building houses, but that gets quite boring after a while. Luckily there are a lot of talented adventure map makers out there to bring minecraft to another level, not to mention the mod makers, which makes this game incredibly versatile. It's basically up to yourself wantI love this game, however it has a lot of potential to become much better. At first it's a lot of fun just digging and building houses, but that gets quite boring after a while. Luckily there are a lot of talented adventure map makers out there to bring minecraft to another level, not to mention the mod makers, which makes this game incredibly versatile. It's basically up to yourself want you this game to be. Expand
  76. Jan 17, 2013
    9
    I really don't understand all the hate in this review thread. The game is amazing. With mods, you can really make it look modern, and quite nice. Actually, with mods, you can do just about anything in this game. That is a huge part of what makes it so great. The unique design, addictive gameplay, and the endless amount of creative possibility also add to the greatness. I haven't had thisI really don't understand all the hate in this review thread. The game is amazing. With mods, you can really make it look modern, and quite nice. Actually, with mods, you can do just about anything in this game. That is a huge part of what makes it so great. The unique design, addictive gameplay, and the endless amount of creative possibility also add to the greatness. I haven't had this much fun with a game in a long time, and the fact that it is indie is somewhat astronishing. There really is sooo much to do, and it's a fun, calming experience. I love survival mode, which I don't believe they had during the release. Multiplayer with friends is also a lot of fun. Highly recommend this game, Expand
  77. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This game is great, if you don't have it, why not? It's legos for adults. Not only is it fun to build and create, they constantly add more content to the game. Minecraft has been a game that I constantly go back to and find myself engrossed in days and weeks of crafting and building.
  78. Aug 10, 2012
    8
    MInecraft is fun. It's a fact. Many people complain about it's fun/price rate, but honestly I find the price correct. People tend to spend way more money on far less interactive games. (by the time I write this, I could pre-order black ops II for more than double the price of MC, and it will be probably about 5 hrs of the well known linear gameplay and of course many hours of unimaginativeMInecraft is fun. It's a fact. Many people complain about it's fun/price rate, but honestly I find the price correct. People tend to spend way more money on far less interactive games. (by the time I write this, I could pre-order black ops II for more than double the price of MC, and it will be probably about 5 hrs of the well known linear gameplay and of course many hours of unimaginative pew-pew multiplayer) So the price is fine. If you feel cheated after buying MC just because you've "heard good things about it" it is probably not your type of game. It isn't a fast paced action game, it is rather about exploring, planning, building. It requires ideas first, and patience to make those plans come to life. Combat is quite a minor aspect of the game, therefore you can simply play in creative mode or simply turn off mobs in survival as well. Yes it has bugs. But at least you get those fixes AND improvements fro free. Still better than paying for new and new DLCs imho. You get bored after some time? So what? I get bored of any game if playing it for weeks constantly. But in minecraft there is still the possibility to dust it off even after a year and spend another month playing it. I call this acceptable. I tend to spend money only on those games that contain at least 5 days of gameplay, this is why I only buy RPGs AND minecraft. So stop complaining and don't expect this game to be something else that it was supposed to be.
    About flaws: AI needs much improvement. In 1.2.5 developers spent many time improving the ocelot's (?!!?) AI, but still villagers tend to jump off cliffs, killing themselves. And some improved interaction with NPCs would be nice. Maybe more and bigger pre-generated towns. (maybe it's just me, but I love to defend and improve these premade settlements) I'd also love to choose starting biomes. I mean when I start a new survival map I hate to spawn in a desert or on a tiny island in the middle of nowhere, mainly because I don't want to wander too far from my spawn location.
    All in all, Minecraft is a very unique game, no1 in it's genre. If you enjoy building, fooling around without any consequences, you should absolutely buy it, look at it as a long time investment, since you'll be able to play and enjoy it even after months of a break.
    Expand
  79. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Simply put a lot of fun. I never gave this game a try until a year after it was first announced. The idea never seemed to intrigue me. A friend than asked me to play with him. Next hing i know, i had no job and my social life had deteriorated. I built an entire city with a friend, with sky bridges and castles, and a mining underground reaching the lowest depths of the game. I builtSimply put a lot of fun. I never gave this game a try until a year after it was first announced. The idea never seemed to intrigue me. A friend than asked me to play with him. Next hing i know, i had no job and my social life had deteriorated. I built an entire city with a friend, with sky bridges and castles, and a mining underground reaching the lowest depths of the game. I built armor, i had a water elevator and everything. This is the ultimate co op game and if you have a party it is even better. Expand
  80. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I just don't know what to write. It's so obvious! One of the best games I played in the last 20 years. Game, where only your imaginations limits you and your imagination is your modus operandi...

    P.S. And the graphics are just... beautiful and moody ;)
  81. May 17, 2012
    8
    If you play game just because of how pretty it is then you probably won't like this one. At first I was turned off by the blocky 80's look of the game. However, my son wanted it on the 360 so I got it for him. I sat down and played it for a while and realized it was a lot of fun. I then went out and bought the PC version. Yes, there are bugs. However, I haven't seen any lag yet orIf you play game just because of how pretty it is then you probably won't like this one. At first I was turned off by the blocky 80's look of the game. However, my son wanted it on the 360 so I got it for him. I sat down and played it for a while and realized it was a lot of fun. I then went out and bought the PC version. Yes, there are bugs. However, I haven't seen any lag yet or any FPS issues. As a sandbox game, it is a blast. Expand
  82. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. I must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage
  83. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is YOUR story in the the telling. The game is as good as your imagination. Multiplayer with family and friends is amazing. You will revisit old worlds with a deep sense of nostalgia. Those that give MInecraft a low score are, sadly, really only rating themselves.
  84. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Minecraft: It's your game. Want to build? Go ahead. Want to kill stuff? Go ahead. Want to build with friends while killing stuff? Go ahead. The great thing about Minecraft is it's like playing Lego with friends with monsters in real time. You do what you want and that's it. It's a open world sand box of a game that lets you do whatever you want especially with the huge modding communityMinecraft: It's your game. Want to build? Go ahead. Want to kill stuff? Go ahead. Want to build with friends while killing stuff? Go ahead. The great thing about Minecraft is it's like playing Lego with friends with monsters in real time. You do what you want and that's it. It's a open world sand box of a game that lets you do whatever you want especially with the huge modding community that exist. Expand
  85. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game is huge. Worth the money for both singleplayer and multiplayer. People who download it and don't wanna buy it lose alot of epic fun. If you have friends who love games like this, then convince them to buy this game with you. To be honest, this is the most creative-block game ever (I still haven't seen Terraria...), Oh and uh, by the way, this game has "lame" graphics because it'sThis game is huge. Worth the money for both singleplayer and multiplayer. People who download it and don't wanna buy it lose alot of epic fun. If you have friends who love games like this, then convince them to buy this game with you. To be honest, this is the most creative-block game ever (I still haven't seen Terraria...), Oh and uh, by the way, this game has "lame" graphics because it's so huge that if it had good graphics, ever a computer worth 1,000,000 bucks would have exploded epicly, so you might as well download a texture pack... Expand
  86. May 7, 2012
    10
    kiddies need to flame this game because it has bad graphics.

    u never played diablo 2, nes, snes, c64 and this old things did you? u cant imagine how awesome minecraft is because u guys think its overrated without playing it for even one hour. just shut up kids and nonames born after 1980 and play your boring games that require zero skill and brain. minecraft is for the creative ones in
    kiddies need to flame this game because it has bad graphics.

    u never played diablo 2, nes, snes, c64 and this old things did you? u cant imagine how awesome minecraft is because u guys think its overrated without playing it for even one hour. just shut up kids and nonames born after 1980 and play your boring games that require zero skill and brain. minecraft is for the creative ones in our society, like me. but there are like 10% of humans only that can even imagine what to build in this game. dont be disappointed guys, you are just dumb people that cant imagine the great things you can do with this game. play your **** and shut the **** up if real gamers are playing.
    Expand
  87. May 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. The only things that annoys me are the various bugs and the fact that it is written in Java making it unplayable on older computers. Especially the restone circuitry is buggy as hell. The same circuit has a different behavior if you flip it horizontally (face it to another direction) like the EW and NS axis matters in how redstone works. Also variousOne of the best games I've ever played. The only things that annoys me are the various bugs and the fact that it is written in Java making it unplayable on older computers. Especially the restone circuitry is buggy as hell. The same circuit has a different behavior if you flip it horizontally (face it to another direction) like the EW and NS axis matters in how redstone works. Also various other very old bugs still exist for some reason. To be honest I'd prefer someone fixing those to adding cats to the game (which were so lovable of course). Would be 10/10 if it didn't have those bugs. Expand
  88. Jan 13, 2012
    8
    Great game at making a soapbox type world builder. Needs more things to do other than just mining and building. Something for a more challenge to do alongside the building.
  89. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll haveThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. Expand
  90. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Le jeu est vraiment bien programmer, c'est pas une tuerie en design mais il à son charme. Et niveau programmation ça déchire ! Merci Notch

    Notch expensive, I buy your game Minecraft via the website Paypal, but requires your system to register a credit card that I do not Posed. I have a Paypal account but no credit card. Is it possible to pay with
    Le jeu est vraiment bien programmer, c'est pas une tuerie en design mais il à son charme. Et niveau programmation ça déchire ! Merci Notch

    Notch expensive, I buy your game Minecraft via the website Paypal, but requires your system to register a credit card that I do not Posed. I have a Paypal account but no credit card. Is it possible to pay with Paypal Minecraft?
    Paypal email?
    Thank you kindly answer me because I'm looking forward to playing Minecraft.

    Sincerely,
    Thank you for your Mojang
    Expand
  91. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Minecraft rocks. it has bad graphics but is still a good , it gives lots of fun and entertains me for a long time. it actually has a point, unlike most games. hopefully the paid version will be even better
  92. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    the best game ever! thats it. i have been playing this for around a year or two, and it is my favorite (currently) game! notch is my awesome idol, i got to meet him at minecon, thus game is amazing. everyone should have this game
  93. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    This game is what you make of it, creativity is fully utilized. I personally love this game and had since the alpha. While others may get bored of just building- it's not just building, it's so much more! Endless fun and creation. It may get boring if you don't have the right imagination or maybe it just isn't 'action packed' enough for you, and if that's the case, go on survival mode, pitThis game is what you make of it, creativity is fully utilized. I personally love this game and had since the alpha. While others may get bored of just building- it's not just building, it's so much more! Endless fun and creation. It may get boring if you don't have the right imagination or maybe it just isn't 'action packed' enough for you, and if that's the case, go on survival mode, pit it up to the highest difficulty, and enjoy surviving the hordes of enemies! I would of given it a solid 10/10 of it wasn't for the bugs and glitches that come up every so often, but it is definitely worth playing! I have had hours of fun already on minecraft and plan to have may more. That is my review for minecraft, and I'm going to go play it again now. Expand
  94. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is literally the epitome of video games. This game is in my top 3 favorite games of all time. So simple and yet so elegant in its gameplay that it keeps you hooked for hours on end. With the massive community development of mods for this game, it looks like we will be playing Minecraft for a long time to come.
  95. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    At first, while looking at the screenshots, you may think : "What is this pixelated and blocky piece of crap! How can people POSSIBLY like this game!?". That was my first reaction to this game. But once you do decide to give it a go, you'll find it's much more than a pixelated game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox game. There are no scripted objectives, no "go there and get me this and that".
    At first, while looking at the screenshots, you may think : "What is this pixelated and blocky piece of crap! How can people POSSIBLY like this game!?". That was my first reaction to this game. But once you do decide to give it a go, you'll find it's much more than a pixelated game.

    Minecraft is a sandbox game. There are no scripted objectives, no "go there and get me this and that". There are many RPG elements such as armour, enchanting, and potions, as well as the old hotbar. There's also the survival element (if you choose to play survival mode). But minecraft is more about doing it your way. You can choose any playstyle, not constrained by pesky quests or classes or objectives. There are no restrictions. You can feel free to do whatever you want. Want to make a giant LolCat picture? Sure, go ahead. Even open world games like Skyrim can't give you this amount of freedom. It's even better when playing with friends, building giant structures together. If building isn't your thing, you can go exploring for dungeons or monster hunting.

    And of course, the modding and mapping community is basically what makes Minecraft one of the greatest games of all time. There are countless mods for almost anything you can think of. From advanced machines to cool magic and wizadry mods, mods make Minecraft have a limitless amount of replayability. Not the mention the plethora of custom maps and adventures that are like playing an RPG.
    Expand
  96. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This game is very refreshing. You won't like it if you're just a run and gun, action gamer. You'll probably still like it, hours of gameplay in it. endless possibilities
  97. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games made in the history of mankind. You wont see a game with this feeling in atleast ten years. The ability of being able to rule your own way of doing things is magical. Sure the latest updates are pretty bad, but the game for itself is amazing. He did a great job with the game. For a one-man project its really something. The new Mojang team have been helpingThis is one of the greatest games made in the history of mankind. You wont see a game with this feeling in atleast ten years. The ability of being able to rule your own way of doing things is magical. Sure the latest updates are pretty bad, but the game for itself is amazing. He did a great job with the game. For a one-man project its really something. The new Mojang team have been helping Notch with the game yes, but Notch managed the game all for himself for a whole year. I give this game a 10/10. Expand
  98. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    The game does crafting great. Combat is very lack luster. It's the ultimate sandbox style game. If you want 30 meter tall statues littering the landscape, you can make them. Wants rivers mixing with lava runs, you can make that happen. Child safe game, especially if you set it to "peaceful."
  99. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is a very original game, which is very easy to learn but still has alot of depth when it comes to building. After playing it for a few hours however, you start to wonder why you should build anything. There is no real goal, and in singleplayer is gets boring very quickly. Instead of building useless world in minecraft you could just aswell build a real map for some game (TF2 forMinecraft is a very original game, which is very easy to learn but still has alot of depth when it comes to building. After playing it for a few hours however, you start to wonder why you should build anything. There is no real goal, and in singleplayer is gets boring very quickly. Instead of building useless world in minecraft you could just aswell build a real map for some game (TF2 for example) and upload it. When it comes to multiplayer minecraft becomes much better since you constantly show your progress to others, but it still feels as a major waste of time. Expand
  100. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I made a few hundred dollars with a friend of mine by setting up a server, soliciting donations, and shutting it down a few months later. Minecraft is an A++ title for Ponzi schemes, as thousands of children will whip out their parent's credit cards on PayPal to get Admin privileges on your server, allowing you to rinse and repeat. Now my friend's FTP server has 8 terabytes of hard driveI made a few hundred dollars with a friend of mine by setting up a server, soliciting donations, and shutting it down a few months later. Minecraft is an A++ title for Ponzi schemes, as thousands of children will whip out their parent's credit cards on PayPal to get Admin privileges on your server, allowing you to rinse and repeat. Now my friend's FTP server has 8 terabytes of hard drive space. Thank you, Minecraft users! Expand
  101. Apr 3, 2012
    0
    This game is not the best game ever created (obviously), but I think this indie blockbuster deserves most of the hype it is getting right now. Lackluster graphics, truckloads of bugs (even though the game is after full release, but still getting updated about every month), and virtually no storyline lowers my rating of this game, but once you hear the possibilities with this game, youThis game is not the best game ever created (obviously), but I think this indie blockbuster deserves most of the hype it is getting right now. Lackluster graphics, truckloads of bugs (even though the game is after full release, but still getting updated about every month), and virtually no storyline lowers my rating of this game, but once you hear the possibilities with this game, you will like this game very much. Guaranteed. Plus, the new updates usually have a lot of new features and bugfixes. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]