User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3512 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll haveThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    I must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage. mojang have sold thousands of copies already and you can see the game showing up on all the big gamer sites. This game combines sandbox with survival and it have already given me more playtime than in any other game. The multiplayer is still buggy but Notch (the developer and founder of mojang) is working his guts of onI must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage. mojang have sold thousands of copies already and you can see the game showing up on all the big gamer sites. This game combines sandbox with survival and it have already given me more playtime than in any other game. The multiplayer is still buggy but Notch (the developer and founder of mojang) is working his guts of on updates etc. The whole community is friendly, big and will welcome you with open arms! Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Minecraft is like lego on acid...... acid made out of marsmen concentrate. It is the first game ever made for people who have OCD and it is very addictive. Highly recommended
  4. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers. This Games is awesome. I couldnt believe it when i first saw it. But men, it got me hooked like a Drug from the start. Starting out on a Island in a World thats 8 Time the Surface of the Earth. Crafting the first Wooden Pickaxle, building your House. And digging just so you find a Cave filled with Gold, iron etc. Gotta watch out for the Zombies though. Traveling to a far away Island for a new beginning. SO much fun Collapse
  5. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is not really a game. It's more like phenomenon. I can not really imagine person which has not heard of Minecraft. So far millions of people played it. I have watched it since January 2010 and first played it in November 2010. I have watched all the process of constructing and upgrading the game, and I guess I was one of the first thousand Poles who bought it. With thisMinecraft is not really a game. It's more like phenomenon. I can not really imagine person which has not heard of Minecraft. So far millions of people played it. I have watched it since January 2010 and first played it in November 2010. I have watched all the process of constructing and upgrading the game, and I guess I was one of the first thousand Poles who bought it. With this knowledge, i can really say it: alpha 1.2.6 was the best part of Minecraft, and it would deserve 10. But since then, adding incomplete stuff and ruining it's point have ruined it's final score, too. But, even therefore there's so many stupid and incomplete stuff (NPC's, villages, etc. etc.) I love it. I love it the damn outta it. It really is not a game; you can not say "Minecraft has bored me, I am leaving". You just open it sometimes and play. It's not like "I like it" or "I don't like it", since it's YOUR game. You decide what are you doing in your fantastic, randomly generated world and your own decision is, what you'll build, and what will you see. You can build, you can discover or you can kill everything in sight. Whatever you choose, it's your game and even if you don't like building, you can for example go and look for dungeons, and vice versa. It can never make you bored as if you'll get bored of something, you can always make something different. The point of my score (9 out of 10) is just because of Notch's decision to make it more RPG like than sandbox like. Yeah, you still can ignore villages and strongholds and keep building, but still it makes me feel like I'm playing incomplete Diablo clone than 100% complete, full and enjoyable sandbox game. I enjoyed 1.2.6 alpha more, but 1.0.0 release is still, by far, the most enjoyable game... ever made? Maybe. That's because the possibilities are endless. If I'll ever get bored of this game... I'll do something else in my beautiful world. Funny, how 9 out of 10 game is more enjoyable than games I've rated 10. And I feel really bad of having incomplete game as the release version. But now... back to my mine. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. TheThis game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. The multiplayer experience allows you to play online with your friends to go on more adventures in this blocky world, or just to create epic structures. The 3 modes that you can play on are survival, creative (unlimited resources, and items), and hardcore (basically survival, but if you die your world is deleted without any recovery). The amount of mods for this game and neat texture packs will have you scouring the internet for the ones you love, making the game even more personal to you without any extra charge. This is a game that does not disappoint. You won't regret your purchase. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Minecraft has risen to a great success because of it's loyal fan base. The game has good graphics (It's what the developer wanted to be) and might have infinite replay-ability thanks to the constant updates and the creativity of some of the fan base.
  8. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played and it's still just in alpha.
    While it might not look like much it's one of the most exciting games I've played, it features endless possibilities for exploration, adventuring, crafting, building and shaping the world around you.
    It can also be hysterically frightening in a panicky kind of way, when you've just mined a bunch of high value ores down
    One of the best games I've ever played and it's still just in alpha.
    While it might not look like much it's one of the most exciting games I've played, it features endless possibilities for exploration, adventuring, crafting, building and shaping the world around you.
    It can also be hysterically frightening in a panicky kind of way, when you've just mined a bunch of high value ores down in a deep and dark cave and suddenly run into a bunch of monsters.
    It's very hyped at the moment, but coming from someone who bought it earlier this year I think it deserves all the attention it's currently getting.
    Expand
  9. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The environment is creative and the building and mining is interactive and addictive.
  10. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created... bad graphics? WHO CARES? the gameplay possibilities are almost infinites! Awesome.... thanks notch ... keep up the good work :)
  11. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is a block-based sandbox game where you can either gather resources, explore randomly-generated terrains and structures, and fight dangerous monsters in survival, or build something amazing in creative. You can also play and view other users creations with adventure mode. Minecraft has limitless potential, with so many features in counting. You can also utilise a small section ofMinecraft is a block-based sandbox game where you can either gather resources, explore randomly-generated terrains and structures, and fight dangerous monsters in survival, or build something amazing in creative. You can also play and view other users creations with adventure mode. Minecraft has limitless potential, with so many features in counting. You can also utilise a small section of features into something extraordinary. To see what has come with 3 years of development, I can't wait to see the future of Minecraft! The game can be a big glitch with certain features and graphical content, and for that reason, I score it a 9. Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    The best way to describe Minecraft is a piece of paper. You may look at it and say there's nothing to do here but you can also say there's everything to do here. There are little if any limits of what Minecraft can achieve. A sandbox experience like no other.
  13. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    The game is quite good. Vanilla gets boring in about a month. But all the mods, maps, texture packs etc etc is what makes the game have a huge re-playability. But vanilla could get boring fastly, so try some mods and maps. Could be really fun. Oh and multiplayer with a few friends always makes more fun.
  14. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    It's really hard to review a game like Minecraft because Minecraft is a game of what you make of it. The only limits in this game are the limits of your own imagination. Graphically, in Vanillia, it's hard to rate. The simple blocky graphics are charming and endearing to some (myself included) whereas super ugly to others. But if you find the vanillia graphics ugly, download andIt's really hard to review a game like Minecraft because Minecraft is a game of what you make of it. The only limits in this game are the limits of your own imagination. Graphically, in Vanillia, it's hard to rate. The simple blocky graphics are charming and endearing to some (myself included) whereas super ugly to others. But if you find the vanillia graphics ugly, download and install one of the plethora of user made texture packs. I guess it is easy to criticize the simple combat mechanices, but again, this game is what you make of it. Most Minecraft hardcores don't play the game to have a fight, we play the game to build and socialize (if playing on a server). Any review is going to be 100% biased based on the users personal experience with the game. What I'm trying to get across is don't listen to any of these reviews. If you're interested, buy the game and play it for yourself, and create your own experience. This game is a breath of fresh air in today's gaming industry, and I can wholeheartedly recommend that you at least give it a try. Expand
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a revolutionary game, sure it dosent have the best graphics and some of it feels unpolished but that dosent hurt the whole package there are thousands of mods and texturepacks theyre super eazy to install, the game is updated frequently in wich updates add new mobs items dungeons fixes or things to do i dont care what anyone says Notch hasent gone money hungry when he gotMinecraft is a revolutionary game, sure it dosent have the best graphics and some of it feels unpolished but that dosent hurt the whole package there are thousands of mods and texturepacks theyre super eazy to install, the game is updated frequently in wich updates add new mobs items dungeons fixes or things to do i dont care what anyone says Notch hasent gone money hungry when he got married if you bought minecraft you got another 1 for a freind Expand
  16. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    This game expands the creativity of the gamer to a whole new, breathtaking level. It has great music, controls, and a simple design. You can build anything you want and it makes you feel all the better because you made it, you earned it, you work for it.
  17. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. If you don't like this game, you're probably extremely impatient. Even if you get bored of the game, there are countless mods to spice it up. A work of art and a must-have for any gamer.
  18. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Proud to be playing since Alpha builds! A true inspiration to any indie developers. This has truly embraced open sandbox, you can literally do whatever you want, I've spent days on this just building with the blocks they give you, using survival techniques to build your house, or using the brilliant redstone mechanics to create new contraptions, worth your money, I'd buy it again if onlyProud to be playing since Alpha builds! A true inspiration to any indie developers. This has truly embraced open sandbox, you can literally do whatever you want, I've spent days on this just building with the blocks they give you, using survival techniques to build your house, or using the brilliant redstone mechanics to create new contraptions, worth your money, I'd buy it again if only to support Mojang. Only a lost point on unnecessary recent updates, and leaving the game un-optimized in Java (They didn't lose a point for that as it would be an unfair judgement). Expand
  19. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The positives: You need a LOT of split second timing to successfully play this. It's a bit like having two seconds being with a cobra in a cage before he bites you. It also frustrates you, which I let out into anger, like what most people should do. Don't hold things in for too long, or it will have a significant impact n how you review this awesome, block-building voxel masterpiece of aThe positives: You need a LOT of split second timing to successfully play this. It's a bit like having two seconds being with a cobra in a cage before he bites you. It also frustrates you, which I let out into anger, like what most people should do. Don't hold things in for too long, or it will have a significant impact n how you review this awesome, block-building voxel masterpiece of a video game. Mixed: *blank* The negatives:
    The developers of Minecraft, Mojang AB/Studios release a new update every
    Expand
  20. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    10/10 Cannot be a game based off of creativity. This game has great concepts and great gameplay. Multiplayer becomes endless. Building can go on for centuries. You never truely run out of things to do. You may run out of creative things to create in the time you play. But all and all i think this game deserves what it has. Its a very nice game.
  21. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a fun indie sandbox game that started out as a no-physic limited map generation game and video quality and throughout it's history this game has become increasingly better. Fun for all ages, this game is both a realistic and creativity-challenging game with good fictional content and also good graphics. I enjoy this game and have finished it too.
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Minecraft is what you make it and much more. An incredible idea that was executed flawlessly, Minecraft is the best of its genre and can easily rival major titles. Minecraft proves that while simplicity might be requisite in an indie game, it can be used to make something much greater. It takes a massive world, a player, and produces an infinite number of solutions. Exploration is[9.1] Minecraft is what you make it and much more. An incredible idea that was executed flawlessly, Minecraft is the best of its genre and can easily rival major titles. Minecraft proves that while simplicity might be requisite in an indie game, it can be used to make something much greater. It takes a massive world, a player, and produces an infinite number of solutions. Exploration is always overlooked in video games. Developers focus on things like mechanics, challenge, variety, interactivity, and visuals, but don't realize that if given an environment that allows players to freely conquer each of those aspects, their work is done. All a player needs is tools and the internet, because someone will gain enough interest in a game to learn everything about it, and the resulting cascade is a devoted fan base. Expand
  23. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    best game ever.It was able to become my favorite game and ive never even actually played it that makes that kind of feat impressive its not only fun to play but also to watch
  24. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is one of the best game i have ever played. It's fun to create EVERYTHING beyond your imagination. If other game was developed by hundreds of people, this one, has been developed by a single person, Notch. His game is completely awesome. There are some bugs/glitches, though, but it will be fixed soon. It's really worth buying it.
  25. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This game has made one of the biggest impacts on the gaming world as we know it. its a simple game full of family fun and boxes it doesn't really have much of a story line but i haven't herd any complaints about that. This game is truly consuming... just one more block just one more block!
  26. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    I've always like free-form "games", and minecraft is exactly that.

    It is deceptively simple in its complexity. Or perhaps its simplicity is truly complex.
  27. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    Almost perfect game, gives you the option of fully what you want, from amazing buildings to calculators, through games, but it has a very grave problem, the huge amount of bugs it has.
  28. May 24, 2013
    9
    Quackit MineCraft Review 5-25-2013

    Introduction: This is my very first structured review where my review will not be in paragraph form, so this may be slightly lacking in quality of writing, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to read this review. Gameplay: Gameplay is the essence of MineCraft, without MineCraft’s signature gameplay, it would be
    Quackit MineCraft Review 5-25-2013

    Introduction:
    This is my very first structured review where my review will not be in paragraph form, so this may be slightly lacking in quality of writing, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to read this review.

    Gameplay:
    Gameplay is the essence of MineCraft, without MineCraft’s signature gameplay, it would be nothing. MineCraft’s gameplay is original and interesting in almost every way. The point of MineCraft is to survive in an infinite world that is peaceful and serene by day, and hostile and evil by night. A player starts by beating down trees with their bare hands in order to start their way towards building their first shelter to survive their first Zombie, Skeleton, and Creeper filled night. From this point on there is almost no structure to MineCraft, you can do what YOU want, set YOUR own goals, do you want to upgrade your tools to the next tier, add that nice new expansion to your house that you wanted, or start brewing potions to take on one of the game’s two bosses. But once you have built the ultimate house, filled your inventory with diamond tools and armor, defeated every boss and pillaged every dungeon, the game is not over. Once you feel as though the standard MineCraft formula is getting a little slow, you can go online to get mods that continue to change and revolutionize the game. From simple additions that add more enemies to the game, or a mod that changes the game almost completely. MineCraft’s gameplay is truly never ending so long as it’s community continues to support it.

    Music/Sounds:
    MineCraft’s music and sound are so in line, so perfectly fitting to the situation that they appear in, C418 has set the mood to MineCraft perfectly. With Subwoofer Lullaby playing in the background as you peruse the landscapes, or hearing Dry Hands as you carefully lurk throughout a cave, the song capitalizing on your fear that something might be following you. The soundtrack truly makes itself at home in this game, and I couldn’t imagine any music fitting better.

    Graphics:
    These don’t really matter, but they are something to talk about. The graphics in this game are not meant to look modern or beautiful. Whether it was for style or for the ease of making a building system, the fact that everything is made of cubes or rectangular prisms really gives the game feeling. You wouldn’t think so, but sometimes you can see some pretty beautiful vistas as you explore throughout this game. The retro feeling low resolution textures really give the game a retro type feeling, while the game still uses modern day gaming conventions.

    Technological:
    Technologically, MineCraft is not too advanced, but it is nothing to be trifled. MineCraft is well optimized so it can be run on non high-end computers to keep the audience wider. Although MineCraft is nothing special from a technological standpoint, it still makes up for this in the same way retro games did, by having great music and gameplay.

    Verdict:

    MineCraft is a very good game, placing as the sixth most sold PC game of all time, with good reason. The way it has the retro feeling graphics, the modern day gaming conventions, the pure creativity that allows for seemingly anything to be created, the modern soundtrack that fits in with the game like two parts of a jigsaw puzzle, and the fact that the game’s fanbase has been able to watch the game blossom and grow since the alpha. MineCraft truly is a one of a kind game, except for the 4 or 6 games that seem all too inspired by it.

    Overall, 9/10
    Expand
  29. May 25, 2013
    9
    Minecraft has a very large community, and the creation limits are very vast and presents a good outlet for creativity. With heavy fantasy elements and, despite the blocky nature, an extremely immersive game that does stand out in the crowd. Music is light and chip-tune, but once you've been listening to the same music for hours it starts to not only put you to sleep, but gets annoying.Minecraft has a very large community, and the creation limits are very vast and presents a good outlet for creativity. With heavy fantasy elements and, despite the blocky nature, an extremely immersive game that does stand out in the crowd. Music is light and chip-tune, but once you've been listening to the same music for hours it starts to not only put you to sleep, but gets annoying. Music discs offer good alternatives and all of the songs appealed to me. But you can mute the music, problem solved. Combat, although just a small part of the game, is just click the right mouse button until the thing dies. However combat isn't a focus, whereas exploration, creation, and imagination are rewarded and focused on. Solo, Minecraft gets stale after a considerably long while, but with friends your enjoyment extends nearly limitless. Expand
  30. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    Probably one of the best sandbox games, ever. When you first start out, it's just a simple building game. In your survival world you build incredibly boring houses and finding a diamond makes you feel accomplished. But once you find out about the community of this game you realize what it truly has to offer. From adventure maps to bukkit servers, you can pretty much do anything in thisProbably one of the best sandbox games, ever. When you first start out, it's just a simple building game. In your survival world you build incredibly boring houses and finding a diamond makes you feel accomplished. But once you find out about the community of this game you realize what it truly has to offer. From adventure maps to bukkit servers, you can pretty much do anything in this game. The customization is incredible. This game pretty much offers INFINITE gameplay, and every time is unique. Frequent updates make it easier to make maps for, consequently making maps better. You can attempt to create an incredibly sophisticate redstone computer, or just download someone else's. The possibilities are endless. Mojang may not be able to create another gem like this, but they already have. Expand
  31. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a great sandbox game. The game can stay on your favorites list for much more time then other popular games with all of the possibilities it offers. I have to give this game a nine however due to my belief that the game is being adapted to the younger audience and is being made easier to adapt to that age range. I still love the game and I understand that it is more popularMinecraft is a great sandbox game. The game can stay on your favorites list for much more time then other popular games with all of the possibilities it offers. I have to give this game a nine however due to my belief that the game is being adapted to the younger audience and is being made easier to adapt to that age range. I still love the game and I understand that it is more popular with younger consumers, but as an older gamer, this hurts the quality of the game for me. Even so, I recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  32. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Next to DTR, Minecraft is simply the greatest game of it's time. Forget COD or any of those childish shootups, THIS is a real game. With the best community i've seen in a long time, amazing gameplay, endless possibilites and the funky graphics, this game really is revolutionary.
  33. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a really good game, not only is it the ultimate lego set and a great survival game, but there are so many mini games and mods. you can play cops and robbers, super craft bros, and the hunger games. also there is adventure maps like epic jump map and so many more maps.
  34. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    There is no story line to fallow. the only thing you do is create or survive. And they bought are prety. The reason I didn't gave this game 10/10 is that the game may not be enjoyable for a graphic fan. The game couldn't have more interactive. The only thing is the pirate version has almost everything the origina has 25 euros for changing your skin for multiplayer and premium onlyThere is no story line to fallow. the only thing you do is create or survive. And they bought are prety. The reason I didn't gave this game 10/10 is that the game may not be enjoyable for a graphic fan. The game couldn't have more interactive. The only thing is the pirate version has almost everything the origina has 25 euros for changing your skin for multiplayer and premium only servers. How ever I suggest you to buy the origina version to support the developers. Expand
  35. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is not a game for everyone and all the hasty negative user reviews reflect that. To play this game you need to be a creative person or you will quickly become bored as it feels like there is nothing to do. If you are a creative person who does not follow the directions that came with Lego sets, you will spend countless hours perfecting your builds. The successful MinecraftMinecraft is not a game for everyone and all the hasty negative user reviews reflect that. To play this game you need to be a creative person or you will quickly become bored as it feels like there is nothing to do. If you are a creative person who does not follow the directions that came with Lego sets, you will spend countless hours perfecting your builds. The successful Minecraft players are the ones that can think for themselves, which is in short supply these days. Even if you are not a very creative person you might find the social aspect of servers, which open up the possibility to explore and help other people with their builds rewarding. The default graphics are nothing special, but the game does have built-in option to change textures. Expand
  36. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    First of all, I think people who game this game a bad review on how Mojang is being lazy. They do their job. They release mini releases call SnapShots to give players an insight on the new update, these are released EVERY WEEK!!! Also, the graphics are not the best, This game was not intended to have the best graphics, Alot of bugs have been fixed. In 1.7 they are adding alot of newFirst of all, I think people who game this game a bad review on how Mojang is being lazy. They do their job. They release mini releases call SnapShots to give players an insight on the new update, these are released EVERY WEEK!!! Also, the graphics are not the best, This game was not intended to have the best graphics, Alot of bugs have been fixed. In 1.7 they are adding alot of new graphic modifing tools, If you dont like how it looks, Get a resource pack or make one. Expand
  37. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Best game I've played in a long time. You really cant get more sandbox than this and its addictiveness is rivaled only by FTL. Anyone who though a game needs a story to be good just got proven wrong. Great soundtrack smooth graphics, great A.I and one of the best multiplayer experiences ever. Buy this game.
  38. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    A fantastic idea. The game is well put together. There are lots of things to do, whether you're playing survival mode or creative mode. For me, the best thing about Minecraft is creating my own community, my house and farms. Definitely worth a 9/10.
  39. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is simply amazing, create anything you want from blocks, or fight zombies, or gather resources, whatever you want to do you can!

    I didn't want to buy this game, I got talked into it and I must say its some of the best money I have spent in gaming recently.

    Updates are frequent, but what really makes this game amazing is the modding community.
  40. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    Minecraft it's a great game. There are lots of stuff to do: Mining, fighting, going other dimensions... In my opinion it's one of the best games I ever played.
  41. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is not a game its a building block its something that leads to something that leads to something. Theres hundreds of things to do in Mincraft build a house, kill zombies and other monsters roaming around the world or go exploring in giant caves or go into creative mode and let your imagination run free theres so much to do and thats just the single player. multi players is theMinecraft is not a game its a building block its something that leads to something that leads to something. Theres hundreds of things to do in Mincraft build a house, kill zombies and other monsters roaming around the world or go exploring in giant caves or go into creative mode and let your imagination run free theres so much to do and thats just the single player. multi players is the best part of Mincraft in my opinion and theres so many servers and so many games in those servers. spleef, hunger games, TNT run just to name a few to sum up this game i say its its computer legos, it gives you the power to do anything you want that barley any games are doing now in days. get this game if you have a pc its worth the 20 bucks Expand
  42. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the game its multi player is endless and the creations never stop it just keeps going I see so much more of this game in the Future and the mods just make so sophisticated and in single player you can experiment and find new strategy's to do some specific thing and conquer the game in a year its awesome and I love it Expand
  43. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is truly a revolutionary game, its simple, yet you can do anything in it, people have taken it so far. The way they add new things all the time, for free of charge. Is so generous of the Swedish company. Its a very creative game. Anyone who would play Minecraft would know that its a game of a 1000 games. Anyone can play it young or old. There are plenty of servers. ManyMinecraft is truly a revolutionary game, its simple, yet you can do anything in it, people have taken it so far. The way they add new things all the time, for free of charge. Is so generous of the Swedish company. Its a very creative game. Anyone who would play Minecraft would know that its a game of a 1000 games. Anyone can play it young or old. There are plenty of servers. Many blocks and mods to keep you building. Also Minecraft has survival to survive the night and defeat the wither and the EnderDragon. It has to be the indie game that changed the gaming industry for a long time. The mechanics arent much, but its easy to learn. If you don't like the small blocky graphics there are resource packs that change the sounds and textures. It can go from around 3x3 per block/item, to 5012x5012! Its a great game to keep your kids away from shooting and violent games. Its very cheap and you dont need much to play the game. It runs on Mac, Windows, Linux. You need at least 2gbs of RAM and around a few MegaBytes of space. I highly recomend the game, its fun to bring friends and family closer. :) Expand
  44. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    If I could only play 3 games for the rest of my life. Minecraft would be 1st. It is without a doubt a top of the world game! You have endless possibilities. Endless. I've been playing Minecraft for 2 years, And I'm still not done. When I showed my brother Minecraft he was convinced he would hate it. Now he plays 24/7 (Just like me.) My 3 sisters, 1 brother, Uncle, And ALL my friends haveIf I could only play 3 games for the rest of my life. Minecraft would be 1st. It is without a doubt a top of the world game! You have endless possibilities. Endless. I've been playing Minecraft for 2 years, And I'm still not done. When I showed my brother Minecraft he was convinced he would hate it. Now he plays 24/7 (Just like me.) My 3 sisters, 1 brother, Uncle, And ALL my friends have been introduced to Minecraft by me. And LOVED it. This is THE game. Expand
  45. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Innovative, educattional and original, Minecraft is seen by many as one of the best PC games in existence. As I am relatively new to Minecraft, - having joined the community just after the 1.3 update - I have noticed how it has grown and, because it is constantly in development, how it has improved since my starting moments. Being a nerdy type of person, I enjoy playing with the game'sInnovative, educattional and original, Minecraft is seen by many as one of the best PC games in existence. As I am relatively new to Minecraft, - having joined the community just after the 1.3 update - I have noticed how it has grown and, because it is constantly in development, how it has improved since my starting moments. Being a nerdy type of person, I enjoy playing with the game's coding, as it is extremely educational. However, for the less computer knowledgeable people it is very user-friendly and easy to use but hard to master. In conclusion, Minecraft is a great game and I strongly recommend that you buy it. Expand
  46. May 2, 2015
    10
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  47. May 22, 2015
    10
    I just want to say that i have put many, many hours into this game, and there is a reason for that. Because although it is just a simple build, craft, survive game like many others, there is a charm to it. There are so many clones out there trying to copy this game (which I'm perfectly okay with) but none of them hit the mark that this game is so widely known for. Gameplay wise it playsI just want to say that i have put many, many hours into this game, and there is a reason for that. Because although it is just a simple build, craft, survive game like many others, there is a charm to it. There are so many clones out there trying to copy this game (which I'm perfectly okay with) but none of them hit the mark that this game is so widely known for. Gameplay wise it plays extremely well.... simple controls and easy game to learn, and it plays surprisingly smoothly, which makes the game a pure gem and is a wonder to play. But the building is the part of the game that I get so excited with. You can literally build anything and if you really wanted to cover the world in building after building after building, and when your finally done go down into a cave and explore, crafting and building while you do it. This is a game of unending possibility, and through the support of modding, that part of the game is taken so much further. This is a masterpiece, and although the mechanics are so simple, it will always be a game i will remember and cherish for a very, very long time. This is one of those games that you say "just 5 more minutes", and an hour later you have built some sort of castle that will about 100 blocks long, and that is the pure value that this game is remembered for. There are loads of items to craft, places to explore, stuff to mine, things to build, kill.... This game has a perfect mix of exploration, building, and pure fun, and if you don't have this game right now, go for it.... you will be in for a very pleasant surprise. Expand
  48. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is as simple or as complex as you want to make it. There is really no "end" to the game, the possibilities are endless. You can gather, build and see different areas of the game to collect all the achievements if you wish or you can build, mod, explore and multiplayer is a whole other realm by itself.

    I'm not sure why people are complaining about features and how the
    Minecraft is as simple or as complex as you want to make it. There is really no "end" to the game, the possibilities are endless. You can gather, build and see different areas of the game to collect all the achievements if you wish or you can build, mod, explore and multiplayer is a whole other realm by itself.

    I'm not sure why people are complaining about features and how the developers are "full of themselves" they release an update weekly called "weekly snapshots". They contain bugs and are works in progress but that is the whole idea behind Minecraft it is a work in progress. It always will be. Unlike other open world games like GTA, there is always more coming. The only limitation to this game is yourself and if the game doesn't have a feature, there is most likely a mod that does.
    Expand
  49. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game. I bought it at the Alpha stage and was pretty amazed. No such game has so much freedom. Yeah, Notch became money hungry, but he does not work on it anymore. Instead Dinnerbone is a really awesome guy and you notice that he loves to develop it. All updates were and are awesome. The updates only added things you don't NEED to use. You don't like enchanting?I love everything about this game. I bought it at the Alpha stage and was pretty amazed. No such game has so much freedom. Yeah, Notch became money hungry, but he does not work on it anymore. Instead Dinnerbone is a really awesome guy and you notice that he loves to develop it. All updates were and are awesome. The updates only added things you don't NEED to use. You don't like enchanting? Don't use it. You don't like the bosses? Don't kill them. Easy as that. I still love the RPG-like elements. They add progression to the game. At the Alpha versions you got diamonds... that's it.

    I love everything about it. Just be aware of that not everybody can enjoy it. Some people can't play games without a main quest or something. :D 10/10
    Expand
  50. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I have been with Minecraft for most of development, and I must say it has gone a long way. Minecraft is a game like no other, the creative potential is unlimited. You can play the survival mode, witch is harder now on Hard mode, or you can get into creative and build anything you can imagine! Multiplayer works smoothly now, and the community online gets better by the day. The game hasI have been with Minecraft for most of development, and I must say it has gone a long way. Minecraft is a game like no other, the creative potential is unlimited. You can play the survival mode, witch is harder now on Hard mode, or you can get into creative and build anything you can imagine! Multiplayer works smoothly now, and the community online gets better by the day. The game has changed drastically, and I believe for the better. Minecraft is the single best game I have ever played, and I have played a lot. In my opinion, this game; no, this masterpiece, will live forever. Expand
  51. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game i've ever played. its so good... I love the music and the multiplayer is amazing, however making a server takes a sh*tload of time. overall a fantastic game.
  52. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft Is the best game ever. In all seriousness it is addictive and i have been playing it for 4 years now, you can never run out of things to create and one of my best memories in gaming is the first time i ever played it you have no idea what anything does and the first night is terrifying. Pitch black with odd noises. Also it is a huge part of the gaming community, Without MinecraftMinecraft Is the best game ever. In all seriousness it is addictive and i have been playing it for 4 years now, you can never run out of things to create and one of my best memories in gaming is the first time i ever played it you have no idea what anything does and the first night is terrifying. Pitch black with odd noises. Also it is a huge part of the gaming community, Without Minecraft there would be no Yogscast, no Sips and Sjin no Nerdcubed no totalbiscuit, pretty much all gaming channels started big by playing Minecraft!!!!! Expand
  53. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Flawless. I can't even describe how much fun Minecraft is, and with the impending Adventure Update and Official Release I think it can only get better. It's truely the ultimate sandbox. Some people complain about the graphics, but that's nothing I found annoying. You have blocky pixels for a blocky game, if you wanted groundbreaking graphics then you should try Crysis 2. And if you aren'tFlawless. I can't even describe how much fun Minecraft is, and with the impending Adventure Update and Official Release I think it can only get better. It's truely the ultimate sandbox. Some people complain about the graphics, but that's nothing I found annoying. You have blocky pixels for a blocky game, if you wanted groundbreaking graphics then you should try Crysis 2. And if you aren't quite satisfied there are thousands of texture packs available for download. Expand
  54. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I bought Minecraft when it was still in Alpha stage. Before even the smooth lightning feature! I have seen Minecraft grow from a simple alpha version to an incredible, immersive game. I don't care if the graphics look outdated because I can just install a texture pack. I built so much in my world and I literally CANNOT wait for the full release!
  55. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game that is updated frequently. Its definitely worth playing. The game play style is extremely addictive. I would recommend this game to anyone out there. The graphics arent a problem, in fact the graphics define minecraft and makes it unique. The graphics remind me of good games I used to play. The game is also very expansive and complex. The terrain is infiniteMinecraft is an amazing game that is updated frequently. Its definitely worth playing. The game play style is extremely addictive. I would recommend this game to anyone out there. The graphics arent a problem, in fact the graphics define minecraft and makes it unique. The graphics remind me of good games I used to play. The game is also very expansive and complex. The terrain is infinite and once an update has been patched, nearly every bug is purged from the game. It is easy to play and content is added frequently. Expand
  56. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the most addicting games I have ever played. The graphics are very simple, and the game won't be loved by everyone, but if you want an extremely open experience with an incredible depth of game play, then Minecraft is a great choice. There is no story or plot, which leaves the entire purpose of the game up to the player, and with the massive number of obtainable items and buildingOne of the most addicting games I have ever played. The graphics are very simple, and the game won't be loved by everyone, but if you want an extremely open experience with an incredible depth of game play, then Minecraft is a great choice. There is no story or plot, which leaves the entire purpose of the game up to the player, and with the massive number of obtainable items and building materials in a practically infinite world, Minecraft is truly a unique game that places virtually limits on creativity. Expand
  57. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is brilliant at what it does. If you expect current gen graphics or are overly concerned with how the game looks, this is not for you. If you didn't play with legos or like you games with set goals that tell you what you need to do, this game is not for you. However, if you have a love of creating things and play game that is what you make of it, then minecraft is for you. ThisThis game is brilliant at what it does. If you expect current gen graphics or are overly concerned with how the game looks, this is not for you. If you didn't play with legos or like you games with set goals that tell you what you need to do, this game is not for you. However, if you have a love of creating things and play game that is what you make of it, then minecraft is for you. This is not a traditional game, it is a simplified 3d rendering program done in a game theme. While some may argue your time is better spent actually learning how to use the real programs, minecraft is simpler and cheaper. You literally have the freedom to create whatever your imagination can come up with using 1 meter cubed blocks. The game is simple in appearence, and wonderfully complex at the same time, its simply a matter of how play it. I myself have recreated the Temple of Artemis, a football stadium, an ancient city, Wayne manor....... I've seen people do Enterprises, AT-AT walkers, hell go to youtube and search minecraft, you'll see a near endless list of things people have done. And then there is the modding community that creates some wonderful modes that enhance the gameplay, like the planes mod for example. And while the game is really fun solo, it is even more amazing when playing with a group of friends, the stuff my friends and I have created is amazing and alot of fun to do. Remember the game is what you make of it, so have fun. Expand
  58. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Minecraft from about the 1.5 Beta stage. At first it was quite boring, but as the game progresses, you uncover a world full of wonderful things. From the first time you find diamonds to finally creating a house made up of all the stuff you can successfully scrape together off the ground, it is an unusually addictive game. But what makes this complete is the community.I have been playing Minecraft from about the 1.5 Beta stage. At first it was quite boring, but as the game progresses, you uncover a world full of wonderful things. From the first time you find diamonds to finally creating a house made up of all the stuff you can successfully scrape together off the ground, it is an unusually addictive game. But what makes this complete is the community. From the amazing mods that improve the game so much, to the fan made maps and community on YouTube, this is one of the greatest games of all time, and with it expanding to the 360 early in the new year, I cannot wait to play it on both my PC and 360 with all of my friends and family, because of course, it is a family game. Expand
  59. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Probably the best game ever made. There is a goal to the game, although it isn't obvious at first. Minecraft's weakest point would have to be the fact that it can get boring after a while. However, starting afresh usually helps.
  60. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    At its core Minecraft is the ultimate game, simple yet elegant, and infinitely re-playable. From when i started playing while it was in alpha to now the best part is the multi-player being able to create literally whatever you want from things you find while exploring. Its infinite plain and simple like Lego when i was growing up this recreates a part of my life i desperately needed again
  61. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of emergent gameplay. The graphics don't matter, not in this case. The game is as good as you want it to be, nobody with a creative bone can find it boring. It's not "addictive" in the sense an MMO or a Facebook game can be addicting, it pushes the inventive buttons in the player's head and makes him want to outdo him/herself all the time, to improve his/her creations, toThe pinnacle of emergent gameplay. The graphics don't matter, not in this case. The game is as good as you want it to be, nobody with a creative bone can find it boring. It's not "addictive" in the sense an MMO or a Facebook game can be addicting, it pushes the inventive buttons in the player's head and makes him want to outdo him/herself all the time, to improve his/her creations, to make new landmarks or embark on new expeditions. In addition to that, the game is continuously evolving, adding more objects and items to change the game world with. There's a reason why many call it "revolutionary". Expand
  62. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game on the PC. Building for free is great and Survival is excellent. I thought because it was pixelated it was bad but when i played it it was satisfying and really excellent fun
  63. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    My new favorite game. Once you get over the fact that it isn't a fast paced game and that yes, everything is made of blocks, will you understand the true splendor of Minecraft. My recommendation is find a good server that you enjoy playing on and make some friends on their - it will be worth it. You can find servers on the minecraft forums.
  64. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Great game overall. Frequently updated and improved and many new blocks added regularily adding up to the amount of clever contraptions and machines you can build. Great pastime and quite addicting.
  65. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This is a must-have game in my opinion because its a nice wind-down with peaceful music after playing a bit of battlefield 3. the multiplayer is so much fun with friends and the overall look and peaceful feel of the game is wonderful. who needs graphics?
  66. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minecraft is a game you can play for hours and hours, each advancement better than the next. It can be repetitive, but it's usually thrilling to avoid lava, to build huge sky-scrappers, and light the sky up at night. I love this game, I need to play it more. Expand
  67. May 31, 2011
    9
    Graphics complaints are missing the point of this game. There is plenty to do and much to explore, dont bother with the free version, the only version worth beans is survivor. And find a guide to help you get started.
  68. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that's just .. i don't think that there's a word for it. It is just such a wonderful game. With the addictive content i think that this is a game that just needs to be played, even for once, just for trying. The game is really a first for the indie game collection. Totally different from the other FPS or any other popular mainstream game. I just LOVE it, highly recommended !
  69. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Wow! This is cyberspace...and its square. Minecraft is the most truly ground-breaking game of it's time. It offers emergent game-play, a consistent challenge, huge variety and it rewards creativity. It is the only game in existence in which each of the players is able to modify the very terrain and fabric of the world. Minecraft is the first game that functions as an in-game world-editorWow! This is cyberspace...and its square. Minecraft is the most truly ground-breaking game of it's time. It offers emergent game-play, a consistent challenge, huge variety and it rewards creativity. It is the only game in existence in which each of the players is able to modify the very terrain and fabric of the world. Minecraft is the first game that functions as an in-game world-editor that lets the players co-create both architecture and adventures. Constantly expanding and versatile enough to create 3-D sculptures that are also working digital-logic circuits. If you don't like Minecraft you must be boring or unimaginative. ; ] Also...try to get over the whole 'cube' thing as there would be no other way to achieve such an ambitious game-style. Truly revolutionary. Expand
  70. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    A brilliant game, whoever complains about graphics is just dumb because Minecraft is about simply about creativity and the ease of building and the feeling of accomplishment whenever you do.
    Minecraft has kept me entertained for 10 months now. 10000% worth it
  71. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    The game is amazing, the world is like 10x bigger than earth itself, the blocky graphics make it a good thing, as if the graphics were Crysis-Like, the game would lag to hell, and it already does at times. It has a large variety of mods and you can build HUGE ass places, you will never be in the same place again after you generate a new world, every world is unique and different, thereThe game is amazing, the world is like 10x bigger than earth itself, the blocky graphics make it a good thing, as if the graphics were Crysis-Like, the game would lag to hell, and it already does at times. It has a large variety of mods and you can build HUGE ass places, you will never be in the same place again after you generate a new world, every world is unique and different, there will be not one thing identical about sepearte worlds. All-in-all, the retards that claimed the graphics were bad are graphics-whores and don't know a good game when they see one.

    [REUPLOADED DUE TO INVALID RATING]
    Expand
  72. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Ignoring the graphics, Minecraft isn't really a game, it's a drug, an amazing drug. I understand the reasoning of the low graphics as most computers won't be able to run the game at all if the graphics level were higher like higher resolution blocks, but most imperfections can be fixed with mods found in the forums, adding in more depth to the game like a high resolution mod or guns orIgnoring the graphics, Minecraft isn't really a game, it's a drug, an amazing drug. I understand the reasoning of the low graphics as most computers won't be able to run the game at all if the graphics level were higher like higher resolution blocks, but most imperfections can be fixed with mods found in the forums, adding in more depth to the game like a high resolution mod or guns or even a pink creeper.

    The game is simple, build, mine, fight, yet the creator, Notch, keeps expanding on this Idea and keeps this game fresh with every update, considering that it's still in beta. Definitely worth the buy.

    And a quote to the harsh reviewers (Most are giving low scores due to graphics)
    "If a pirated download is a loss sale, should negative reviews be illegal?"
    Markus Perrson, Mojang AB, Minecraft Developer
    Expand
  73. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    It's a good, awesome, perfect and interesting game. i am recommended this for all my friends.
    in this game am possible build and dig and fight with a pig and simply to live.
  74. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Explore - Adventure - Build - Destroy. This game is everything to everyone, minecraft is the most creative thing to come along in years and years, let's hope it stays awesome.
  75. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is brilliant, a truly masterful piece of work. It is simple, yet addictive, and the pure creationism of it allows you to build to your heart's content. There are those who complain about the graphics, but if those people can't get over the graphics and see this brilliant game is then I pity them. And the graphics aren't actually bad at all, they suit the game and are quite charming. Just the thrill of exploring a randomly generated world and finding all kinds of wonderful and peculiar things. And exploring the bowels of the earth, hunting for those elusive diamonds and always looking over your should lest a monster creep up on you. Multiplayer, though still in development, allows players to connect with their friends and build their dream house, castle, fort ,cave, or whatever they may wish. There are also those who would criticise the game's single developer, and we do need to remember that this game is made by one man, Notch works hard to produce this brilliant game, but if he decides that he doesn't want to patch the game, then the game is not patched, god forbid he should ever go on holiday. He may have established an office for Mojang, but it is simply so that he can surround himself with the greatest programming talent in Sweden. If you are even considering buying this game, then you definitely should. I held out for a while but when I finally played this game, I was hooked from the very beginning. For the price it's at it is great value. This is definitely the best indie game that I have played in a long, long time, and at a price that wont break the bank. Expand
  76. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favourite games. This game is really fun and will give you hours of entertainment. it is constantly updated as it is still in development. the only bad thing about the game is that it is very addictive and you can waste a lot of time playing.
  77. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    This game is the definition of the word time-waster, but it is so damned addicting that it makes you forget all about that. at first glance of the game it looks like a crappy Lego, game but actually playing it blows your mind. it's so unique and intriguing that it deserves a class of its own. I say if you have 20 dollars and 6 hours to kill give it a look.
  78. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    This game is not simple. Lots of things to craft, multiple mobs, a huge variety of blocks, and redstone enable you to accomplish incredible things. Its mod-friendly environment allow you to improve the graphics, add new items, mobs, and blocks. This game is well worth the price.
  79. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    Great game. I have played it a lot. When I first saw people playing it I though "this is dumb but I know I will enjoy it immensely." This game is like virtual 3d Legos it is the best.
  80. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    This game is very fun, addicting, and innovative. I have played since Alpha. I will continue to play even after it is released, because even then updates will still be available. My friends love it, though others might say it has "stupid blocky graphics." But they need to learn that graphics don't make the game, it's how fun it is. You should get this game if you haven't!
  81. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is an amazing game. It is a game where you can literally build anything. Mountain in your way? Remove it. Want one somewhere else? Build it. Want a small cottage or a giant mountain? Your choice. Want to replicate the White House or an entire city? If you have the time, it can be done. Hell, want to build a computer inside Minecraft to do basic math? Dedicate A LOT of time toMinecraft is an amazing game. It is a game where you can literally build anything. Mountain in your way? Remove it. Want one somewhere else? Build it. Want a small cottage or a giant mountain? Your choice. Want to replicate the White House or an entire city? If you have the time, it can be done. Hell, want to build a computer inside Minecraft to do basic math? Dedicate A LOT of time to redstone. It's been done, and you can do it too. Enchanting, potions, secret doors, farming, smelting, mining, pet wolves, this game has everything. Not only this, with multiplayer, you can do this all with friends. Go off and do your own thing, build cities together, trade with gold and diamonds, discover strongholds and villages together...it's fantastic. And I'm not done yet. Don't like the graphics? Apply an HD texture pack with everything from custom items and grass textures to different clouds. You can make this game look however you want. Although the game needs more bugfixes and is far from perfect, it's overall the first game where you can just about do anything. Get it. Now. Expand
  82. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    i utterly love this game you explore build fight (play on hard if you want the most fun) the game its self is lacking but its still rather enjoyable needs a little polishing but its still the best game i have ever played a year after buying it i still play it just about every day for a good few hours. I know this might not be everys ones cup of tea you need to be some what creative to likei utterly love this game you explore build fight (play on hard if you want the most fun) the game its self is lacking but its still rather enjoyable needs a little polishing but its still the best game i have ever played a year after buying it i still play it just about every day for a good few hours. I know this might not be everys ones cup of tea you need to be some what creative to like it but after you play this for a good amount of time you will be changed for life i recommend it to every one to at least try using a freinds account, ect) if you like it you will totaly agree it will be worth the $30 and it will be the best dam $30 you ever spent. Expand
  83. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Minecraft have it's flaws.The total lack of a tutorial and a better guidance for the player certainly can put some gamers lost in the vast world before them. However, what we have here is the birth of a new game genre which inspired other game developers to create similar games (the most famous is Terraria). Despite the blocky and pixelated graphics (or better saying: Voxels) Minecraft isMinecraft have it's flaws.The total lack of a tutorial and a better guidance for the player certainly can put some gamers lost in the vast world before them. However, what we have here is the birth of a new game genre which inspired other game developers to create similar games (the most famous is Terraria). Despite the blocky and pixelated graphics (or better saying: Voxels) Minecraft is another proof you don't need a PS3 or DX11 graphics to make a game good and entertaining. Sure, sometimes you get lost and bored when you don't know what to do, but as long you have a goal to do in this game it'll never get boring. Be building (or reforming) a home, crafting new items, spelunking the caves searching for rare minerals, wandering in the vast world or just creating or recreating a mansion or whatever you want to do in the Creative Mode.

    Also despite the blocky graphics, Minecraft CAN scare you. Specially when you're venturing in the mines. Nothing more scaring than digging for minerals in a mine when suddenly you hear a "sssss" right behind you before you're victim of a explosion (and dies) or when you turn around a dark corner just to see a big and furry spider lunging at your face.

    In the end, Minecraft is a game for creative and intelligent gamers who can see what lies behind a world made of blocked and "ugly" grafics. In my most honest opinion, if this game don't deserves a 10. Then no other game deserves it.
    Expand
  84. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is an amazing game. Infinite, procedurally-generated terrain, that makes the game never ending and forever entertaining. It gives you the opportunity to build anything and everything, except circles. It has redstone that allows for circuitry to make amazing machines, survival version to make it challenging, and an almost infinite modding capability for those who figure it out.
  85. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    Minecraft-PC review

    Minecraft is a game that challenges your creativity! Minecraft has been around for a year and has developed so much since its release to the world, back when it was in
  86. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    There is a zen tranquility to Minecraft that might not appeal to everyone, but this game offers a unique and engaging outlet for creative expression. If you still haven't tried Minecraft and you are actually reading through user reviews in order to make your final decision, just go for itâ
  87. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    I have never had so much freedom in a game and Minecraft deserves its high praise because it is near limitless. The simple controls yet addicting gameplay makes Minecraft one of the best indie games out there. Want to build a house? Minecraft can do it. Want to build a castle? Why not? Minecraft can do it. This game is fun as hell and you will never get tired of it as long as Mojang bringsI have never had so much freedom in a game and Minecraft deserves its high praise because it is near limitless. The simple controls yet addicting gameplay makes Minecraft one of the best indie games out there. Want to build a house? Minecraft can do it. Want to build a castle? Why not? Minecraft can do it. This game is fun as hell and you will never get tired of it as long as Mojang brings out newly updates for more enjoyment. Buy it now. Expand
  88. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best game ever made. I have played it for more than 3000 hours and i haven't even begun to get bored of it. You can do whatever you want! Who the hell doesn't like that?
  89. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Bad Graphics, Lame and Not worth my time when I have better games to be going on with are some of the comments I am usually associated with regarding this game. But Nieve people who believe this are sincerely misled, the graphics are what give this game it's unique retro feel and those of you out there who do not believe this do not give the game a chance which it very much deserves! TheBad Graphics, Lame and Not worth my time when I have better games to be going on with are some of the comments I am usually associated with regarding this game. But Nieve people who believe this are sincerely misled, the graphics are what give this game it's unique retro feel and those of you out there who do not believe this do not give the game a chance which it very much deserves! The general jist (if that's how you spell it) is to both Mine and Craft..Duh! You must mine the raw elements needed to advance in the game IE; Diamond, Iron and Coal. And then Craft tools out of these elements to use against fighting zombies, building houses and generally advancing through the game! Firstly you a spawned at a random spot in an infinitely random world which is always one of a kind. Your primary objective on the first day is to build a shelter and make pretty basic tools to copinside with the onslaught of various amazing mobs that are coming your way at dusk. The mobs consist of Creepers- Exploding Green Penis looking things. Skeletons- which shoot a lot of arrows at you from the darkness Zombies- Which are err...Zombies and Spiders- Which are spiders. Most of these can be seen while you are adventuring the countless caverns that are laid randomly underneath your world! So Overall An amazing game which offers countless hours of enjoyment without you even thinking about It.. A must buy! Expand
  90. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    Pretty damn hard to say anything bad at all about this game. I love building things even on the classic servers where there's no survival. I find the regular survival Minecraft enticing as well. I enjoy building shelters and waiting out the night. Maybe I just like sandbox games in general.
  91. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Pure, unadulterated fun. If you have a creative mind for Minecraft, be prepared to spend a portion of your life on this game. And considering this game is still in the beta stage, I'm having a hard time trying to hold my breath for when this actually gets released.
  92. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever created in the history of man..........................................................................................................
  93. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Simply the best virtual Lego simulator out there complete with monster pieces and crafting recipes! The best deal/hours played ratio that I could ever imagine...
  94. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Very, very addictive game and this is one of the best game of 2011 and one of my favorite. You can create your ideal world oneself or with friends. This game is for everyone. I started play Minecraft 1 year ago and play now. New version is really great. I advice this game all creative people...... or everyone ;) Rate 10/10.
  95. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    There are never too many great building games. Minecraft is one of the best. If you played with legos in your childhood you've got to love this. The idea is simple, put blocks and remove blocks. This easy mechanism allows you to create whatever you want. And it's cheap too.
  96. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have played Minecraft since Alpha and a lot of changes had occurred in the game over time, Notch dose frequent updates and adds new content to the game and said he will continue to do so in till the game has stooped being sold and im going to venture its not going to stop selling for along time. i will say this is the best indie game of all time and matches up agents the big companysI have played Minecraft since Alpha and a lot of changes had occurred in the game over time, Notch dose frequent updates and adds new content to the game and said he will continue to do so in till the game has stooped being sold and im going to venture its not going to stop selling for along time. i will say this is the best indie game of all time and matches up agents the big companys like Bethesda, valve, bioware, all of them. Great job Mojang love the game and glad to see that Minecraft is now released :) Expand
  97. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Finally, a fun game for kids-to-adults which harnesses one's imagination. Once you get past the blocky visuals, you get drawn in by the freedom and possibilities of a virtual open world unlike any other game I've yet seen. In fact, the simplicity of the fundamentals of this game -- everything is made of equally-sized cubes -- is one of its greatest strengths. Compared to some other muchFinally, a fun game for kids-to-adults which harnesses one's imagination. Once you get past the blocky visuals, you get drawn in by the freedom and possibilities of a virtual open world unlike any other game I've yet seen. In fact, the simplicity of the fundamentals of this game -- everything is made of equally-sized cubes -- is one of its greatest strengths. Compared to some other much fancier games offering user-generated content (e.g. Virtual Life, Little Big World, Lego Universe), there is no barriers of entry in Minecraft -- anyone can do it, regardless of one's technical or artistic aptitude. Once inside, the possibilities are endless. You can immerse yourself alone or bring your friends and collaborate together via a server. Don't like the default 8-bit look? There are mods aplenty. Prefer just building over adventuring? Go Creative Mode. If you are going to spend a ton of time gaming on your PC, you can't do much better than this. Expand
  98. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    To be honest, this game is basically better than most games that you can buy for the Xbox 360/PS3 Ect.

    I own a copy myself and I have been hooked. The sandbox nature of peoples minds is in this game. There is no structure to the game itself, no story, but it doesn't need that. It is a masterpiece. It is the best game that I have ever owned.
  99. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME IN HISTORY. A very creative game that takes long to get bored. It is huge open map where you can do anything, whenever i want for e.g i can even save in the middle of the map and then chose to join that map again. It's just amazing too amazing took me a long time to get bored of it and in the 1.0 full release everything i want is there
  100. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers. This Games is awesome. I couldnt believe it when i first saw it. But men, it got me hooked like a Drug from the start. Starting out on a Island in a World thats 8 Time the Surface of the Earth. Crafting the first Wooden Pickaxle, building your House. And digging just so you find a Cave filled with Gold, iron etc. Gotta watch out for the Zombies though. Traveling to a far away Island for a new beginning. SO much fun Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]