User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2935 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Minecraft is like lego on acid...... acid made out of marsmen concentrate. It is the first game ever made for people who have OCD and it is very addictive. Highly recommended
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    I must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage. mojang have sold thousands of copies already and you can see the game showing up on all the big gamer sites. This game combines sandbox with survival and it have already given me more playtime than in any other game. The multiplayer is still buggy but Notch (the developer and founder of mojang) is working his guts of on updates etc. The whole community is friendly, big and will welcome you with open arms! Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The environment is creative and the building and mining is interactive and addictive.
  5. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Games is awesome. I couldnt believe it when i first saw it. But men, it got me hooked like a Drug from the start. Starting out on a Island in a World thats 8 Time the Surface of the Earth. Crafting the first Wooden Pickaxle, building your House. And digging just so you find a Cave filled with Gold, iron etc. Gotta watch out for the Zombies though. Traveling to a far away Island for a new beginning. SO much fun Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Minecraft has risen to a great success because of it's loyal fan base. The game has good graphics (It's what the developer wanted to be) and might have infinite replay-ability thanks to the constant updates and the creativity of some of the fan base.
  7. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played and it's still just in alpha.
    While it might not look like much it's one of the most exciting games I've played, it features endless possibilities for exploration, adventuring, crafting, building and shaping the world around you.
    It can also be hysterically frightening in a panicky kind of way, when you've just mined a bunch of high value ores down
    in a deep and dark cave and suddenly run into a bunch of monsters.
    It's very hyped at the moment, but coming from someone who bought it earlier this year I think it deserves all the attention it's currently getting.
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is not really a game. It's more like phenomenon. I can not really imagine person which has not heard of Minecraft. So far millions of people played it. I have watched it since January 2010 and first played it in November 2010. I have watched all the process of constructing and upgrading the game, and I guess I was one of the first thousand Poles who bought it. With this knowledge, i can really say it: alpha 1.2.6 was the best part of Minecraft, and it would deserve 10. But since then, adding incomplete stuff and ruining it's point have ruined it's final score, too. But, even therefore there's so many stupid and incomplete stuff (NPC's, villages, etc. etc.) I love it. I love it the damn outta it. It really is not a game; you can not say "Minecraft has bored me, I am leaving". You just open it sometimes and play. It's not like "I like it" or "I don't like it", since it's YOUR game. You decide what are you doing in your fantastic, randomly generated world and your own decision is, what you'll build, and what will you see. You can build, you can discover or you can kill everything in sight. Whatever you choose, it's your game and even if you don't like building, you can for example go and look for dungeons, and vice versa. It can never make you bored as if you'll get bored of something, you can always make something different. The point of my score (9 out of 10) is just because of Notch's decision to make it more RPG like than sandbox like. Yeah, you still can ignore villages and strongholds and keep building, but still it makes me feel like I'm playing incomplete Diablo clone than 100% complete, full and enjoyable sandbox game. I enjoyed 1.2.6 alpha more, but 1.0.0 release is still, by far, the most enjoyable game... ever made? Maybe. That's because the possibilities are endless. If I'll ever get bored of this game... I'll do something else in my beautiful world. Funny, how 9 out of 10 game is more enjoyable than games I've rated 10. And I feel really bad of having incomplete game as the release version. But now... back to my mine. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created... bad graphics? WHO CARES? the gameplay possibilities are almost infinites! Awesome.... thanks notch ... keep up the good work :)
  10. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. The multiplayer experience allows you to play online with your friends to go on more adventures in this blocky world, or just to create epic structures. The 3 modes that you can play on are survival, creative (unlimited resources, and items), and hardcore (basically survival, but if you die your world is deleted without any recovery). The amount of mods for this game and neat texture packs will have you scouring the internet for the ones you love, making the game even more personal to you without any extra charge. This is a game that does not disappoint. You won't regret your purchase. Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I dont know whats up with the people that is scoring this game 0 because of the graphics. AS far as i know the "my score" slider is to rate the game NOT THE GRAPHICS. Now, people writting about repetitive gameplay... how a sandbox game can be repetitive? only will be repetitive if you want! Why dont you go fishing? hunting? farming? this game isnt about breaking and putting blocks! I like this game, i play alot and sure, has lots of bugs, but they're working on it. 10/10 hatters gonna hate. Expand
  12. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive.
    one you start playing, you will not stop, either by creating new stuff or by perfecting existing creations Expand
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Yes, there are still bugs. Yes, the coding is messed up. But I give Minecraft a 10 out of 10 for it's replay value. I first played this game before the Halloween Update came out and I got hooked. I still play it every day. The reason people love this game is because they aren't rating the graphics, they are rating the fun, and that's how a game should be. Thank you Notch and the rest of the Mojang team for this masterpiece! Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an incredible game. I love the survival aspects of it, how you can make your own stories and do whatever you want! The mods are great, multiplayer fun and there are very few bugs now. The out of memory bug can be solved simply by downloading java x64 (rather than the x32 that is installed.) great fun game.
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    Addictive game and will keep you entertained for a long time but you will eventually get bored but that will be a long time coming, i have had it since a week after the launch of the beta and have seen every new addition and it has evolved enormously since the beta launched. The graphics are certainly unique and it surprisingly has excellent lighting effects, its a huge game and has limitless things to do, great value well worth the price. Expand
  16. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! I really can't wait for this game to be fully released. At it's $14.98 US price tag, this game should not be missed. I am very surprised there are not hundreds or thousands of reviews for this game as popular as it has been recently. The creator has sold over 1 million copies of the game and it is still in beta! That is how great this game is. This game is by far the best indie game I have even played! A must Buy! Expand
  17. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    0.o Minecraft is insanely addictive yet so very simple. It has soul, it has character, it has creepers. This is gaming at it's finest - back to basics indie development at it's best.
  18. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The difference between this game and other sandbox games is that you have to work hard to find what your looking for. Sure, you could coat yourself in golden armor and wield a sword of diamond, but you will need to turn an area of land the size of Hawaii to find it all. Which sets it apart from other similar games, with the fact that, while your free to set your own goals in this game, like in all sandbox games, it isn't all given to you. You feel a great sense of accomplishment when you finish one of the goals you set for yourself. The system of achievements giving you a general idea of what you can do in this game. Let your imagination roam free, just make sure it's back by dark, always be back home by nightfall in Minecraft.

    The largest complaint I hear about this game is that the graphic are poor, I could not disagree more. Only the cobblestone texture is poor. Nonetheless, a remedy exists for all graphic centric people, this is called "installing a texture pack". Texture packs are commonly found on the popular Minecraft forums, and there is one for all sorts of tastes, though a nice one to find out what you think looks good in Minecraft is the Painterly Pack (http://painterlypack.net/). The website allows you to customize the various textures in Minecraft, there are at least for different texture options for any given block or item in the game.

    I highly recommend you buy this game, though don't be surprised if you fall prey to the "Minecrack" and stay up until 1 A.M. on your search for diamonds.
    Expand
  19. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Even if the graphics aren't that good, this game will keep you on the computer for hours! The environment is very well done and the music very soothing and sometimes creepy. Minecraft might be a simple game, but it still can scare the living daylights out of you when you listen to the sounds emitted by the unfriendly monsters that roam the world when night comes.
  20. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    An addictive, simple, yet beautiful game. If you are someone who judges a game by it's graphics, then you will probably dislike this game. However every gamer knows not to judge a game by it's graphics, as a game can be rewarding in different ways, and indeed Minecraft is. A tiny sized game, that has huge potential, and is going to take the world by storm.
  21. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    A great game to build, get together, and survive.

    It has two game types so far; Survival (with multiplayer) and Classic. Classic is a building game-mod and is free to play. Survival is not free but has way more options than classic.

    You have limitless possibility's to what you want to build or do on minecraft.

    I recommend this game to almost everyone.
  22. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    If you need linear gameplay, avoid this game. If you need pseudo-realistic graphics, avoid this. If you need a plot driven game, avoid this. If you hate being told what to do, this is the game to end all. Don't like the world? make a new, completely random one. Don't like the textures? change them. Bored with mining? take all those blocks and build a ten story tall castle shaped like longcat. Bored with the gameplay? install one of the -thousands- of user created mods and play an entirely new game. Expand
  23. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the best game I have played in years! Having just taken out a 6 month sub playing Rift (which Iâ
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the only game since perhaps Morrowind that has left me feeling amazed, terrified and peaceful all at the same time. As a person who has continually grown jaded towards the design of new games, Minecraft has been exactly what I need.
  25. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    Very nice game. The never-ending open-world concept is refreshing and quite welcome. I get so sick and tired of devs that think a game HAS to have an ending like a book or a movie. Mojang have their heads on straight though and realize that a game can be fun and extremely addicting and open-ended to the point of lasting virtually forever (or as long as the gamer can play physically play it). I've built entire cities in Minecraft. Some underground, some on the ground, some in the sky, and even one in the Nether using materials I had to bring in from the normal world. I hope Mojang don't get lazy or distracted with other silly projects now that they are loaded with cash. I want them to keep focusing on this game to completion and beyond. My only complaint would be that the game is possibly TOO modable and almost every multiplayer server I've tried has been moded to the point of idiocy. Expand
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that's just .. i don't think that there's a word for it. It is just such a wonderful game. With the addictive content i think that this is a game that just needs to be played, even for once, just for trying. The game is really a first for the indie game collection. Totally different from the other FPS or any other popular mainstream game. I just LOVE it, highly recommended !
  27. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Why does this game get 10 points from me? It's obviously neither graphically nor technologically advanced, nor even up to current standards. That said, it is one of very few recent games that were not a re-hash of something that was already popular, with slightly new story and slightly better visual effects. While most of the industry is stagnating and even top titles rarely bring something new to the table, Minecraft is (reasonably - it's also not an entirely origianl idea) new experience at a much lower price tag than the industry standard re-hashes. Even in the same genre, where other survival games mostly focus on surviving against hordes of enemies, Minecraft's approach is refreshingly different. Where else can you build elaborate machinery to do the slaughtering for you and automated forts that offer safe harbor? Even if you only play it in the recently released creative mode, it's the digital box of legos that you always wanted but that, somehow, Lego themselves never really got around to making. Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I found this game a year ago and I'm still playing it. I have my own server with 900 registered players. Playing this game is like playing with LEGO as a child and it's still great game. I hate idiots, who will never play it because it has 8-bit graphics.... MINECRAFT IS BEST GAME EVER!
  29. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is just amazing. It has already been played for a long time and is still fresh due to updates and the limitless creativity it offers. It's something that creative people should not pass! The game also has a great and large community. And, really, it doesn't matter how many times a creeper killed me or ruined my structures. I keep addicted to it. If I had something like a top 100 of games, Minecraft would be surely in the top 5, maybe after the epic Nintendo titles like Ocarina of Time and Super Mario Galaxy 1 & 2. Expand
  30. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Great game overall! Even though metacritic got the release date wrong(supposed to be dated to 11/18 for release date). But great game, with all the monster killing, building, sandbox design, can't wait for more updates to the game itself in the future!
  31. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games out there.You have a giant world in which you can do what ever you wish.You can either explore caves and strongholds,build giant sky scrapers,create big farms of sugar cane,or simply wander.
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game was practically a dream for me. As a kid I loved building with Legos, made towns and loved using my imagination to add in stories for things. This is precisely what Minecraft lets you do better than any Lego game out there right now. When you start it can be a little overwhelming, and can seem a bit complicated, but you learn, you master your environment, and you build. In single player it can get a bit lonesome, but if you find a great group of people to play with online there will always be new things to explore, and occasionally surprises (good and bad) left for you to find at your houses. The charming looks, rather amazing landscapes you can find, and the expandability provided by a supportive fan-base will keep you entertained for a while assuming you don't need to see blood and gore every few minutes to keep your attention.

    I would like to address some of the ridiculous low scores some users gave the game. Reading through some there appear to be 2 major complaints, one being entirely illegitimate to me. Graphics. This really boils down to an argument the art community had some time ago, something that impressionism annihilated. In order to look good things do not need to strive for photo-realism. If you keep your aesthetic consistent which Minecraft does very well, things will look great even when full of blocks. It all just adds to the core mechanic of the game, you are in a world of building blocks, go build!
    There is also the trend of those siting graphics for not liking the game actually admit to not trying it purely because of the looks.

    The second major complaint is that after a while it gets boring. This can be true but is this not true of all games? For me I keep coming back and making new worlds. I do believe you will get your money's worth of playtime out of the game before becoming bored.

    All in all I will say this is a game for those with imagination, those who want to see themselves as the last knights of a kingdom long since overrun by undead and explosive creeper hoards, and gathering the last of their resolve strive to survive and rebuild the kingdom that was lost. Or may be you just wanna run a weird hotel in the middle of the ocean with pig riding out back, whatever floats your boat :-p
    Expand
  33. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most addicting games EVER. I have not stopped playing this game since it came out in beta. with the new 1.0.0 update this game is better than ever with potion brewing and a new realm with a final dragon boss to fight. I have also bought this game for the Ipod, which works like creative mode. This game is one of the best I have ever played. 10/10 Expand
  34. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Only word that can describe this game to its fullest. Do you want free world and do-what-you-want style of gameplay? Do you want endless fun? Do you want quality spent time? This game is just what you might be searching for! When I first played it, I was not very impressed in any part. But after youtube-ing some videos and playing it for few hours, I got mildly addicted. Now, 1 year later, I have spent more than 750 hours playing the game, and hell, it was well worth it. Buy it. Only thing that really needs to be said. Magnificent! Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I love Minecraft. It's a great game, and it's ensnared me for almost as much as some of The Elder Scrolls games. It's gotten me through boring calculus lectures and has inspired my Halloween costume. With Minecraft finally being "released", it's interesting when you look back at what it was like when you started. I am going to review this in three different sections: Single Player, Creative Mode, and Multiplayer.

    Single Player:

    I started in the early-middle Beta (around Beta 1.3). It was a fun game, building a house to protect yourself from the horrors at night, mining deep down in to the earth to find iron, gold, or, if I was lucky, diamond. I died quite a bit from experimentation (Hint: Don't dig straight down. That lava is nasty stuff.) but I always kept playing. It's addicting. Even now, it's still great. Since I started, they've added new mobs (for those that don't know, mob is short for mobile), new enemies, new blocks, and new concepts. Instead of only caves to explore, there are now strongholds, abandoned mine shafts and more. It's a blast to play, trying to discover that next cave to explore and mine. The experience system is rather shallow and pointless (enchanting weapons is the only current purpose for those damn green orbs) and I prefer the days of no food bar, where you could simply eat food and your health healed depending on what you ate.

    I have a few minor gripes with the single player, but they are easily overlooked. SP is, in my opinion, the best part of Minecraft.

    Creative Mode:

    Think of this as your canvas to build whatever you want. You have unlimited access to all the blocks and you can build to your heart's content. A castle, a giant Mario, an underground dungeon...it's all up to you. This is a fun, albeit rather boring at times, mode. It is good to experiment with, however. Creative mode helped me finally refine all the redstone circuits (complicated electrical stuff) and has helped me tap in to my inner Minecraft engineer. It's a good mode, but not something that can be played constantly. Multiplayer:

    Everyone's experiences with multiplayer depends on what server you play on. I ultimately found it to be kind of boring, no matter if I was on a strict survival server, an RPG server, or just with some of my friends. There is only so much to do in multiplayer and, if you are on a server that is inhabited by many different players, it is likely someone else has already mined that cave you found, or has griefed (destroyed) your house while you were offline. This is the only reason I really gave Minecraft a 9.


    Overall, Minecraft is a great game that will take your life away. You'll be obsessed with finding diamonds, caves, or beating that dragon. You'll find yourself crossing oceans just to find a wolf to follow you around. It's a great game that everyone should play.
    Expand
  36. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the most addicting game I've ever tried. I have been playing it since alpha, and i will continue to play for the next many years to come.
  37. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing Sandbox-Game. You need to play it and get into it, in order to understand it. If you think this Game is silly, ugly, or old, you probably haven't tried it yet.
  38. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This is a must-have game in my opinion because its a nice wind-down with peaceful music after playing a bit of battlefield 3. the multiplayer is so much fun with friends and the overall look and peaceful feel of the game is wonderful. who needs graphics?
  39. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game. I bought it at the Alpha stage and was pretty amazed. No such game has so much freedom. Yeah, Notch became money hungry, but he does not work on it anymore. Instead Dinnerbone is a really awesome guy and you notice that he loves to develop it. All updates were and are awesome. The updates only added things you don't NEED to use. You don't like enchanting? Don't use it. You don't like the bosses? Don't kill them. Easy as that. I still love the RPG-like elements. They add progression to the game. At the Alpha versions you got diamonds... that's it.

    I love everything about it. Just be aware of that not everybody can enjoy it. Some people can't play games without a main quest or something. :D 10/10
    Expand
  40. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    Well...some people pay millions of dollars for fancy graphics, motion-capture and even 3D. Others pay writers to write out a well fleshed-out storyline with many choices. A few claim to offer "sandbox" style of gameplay...but nothing every comes CLOSE to amount of sandbox play style in this game. There is literally limitless potential, and because the world is constantly being generated, there is always somewhere new to go. Not to mention, this is only one mode! There are so many possibilities with modes, some that the single developer is working on, and some being suggested by the community. It's hard to believe a game like this 10 years ago would have been shot down for poor graphics, but now is probably Game of the Year material. Match it with a $20 price tag, I don't think any game will be able to match the addictiveness. Expand
  41. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Probably the most popular Alpha ever. By its fans, it is revered for being the "perfect" game. By their wives, it's farmville for men. In reality this game is a huge timesink, it'll last you as long as your imagination fuels you, but as the game has no real purpose, there's nothing to hold you after exhausting your imagination, then you're left waiting on updates to allow you to do more. This game is incredibly enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone looking to waste some time for cheap, but until the game gets a purpose, some sort of story, it will never be "perfect". Expand
  42. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    Enjoy it while you can. This game was and still is incredible, but I get the feeling that it's slipping. The creator, Notch, is a failure of a programmer who should win the prize for the most inefficient coding that has graced this Earth. The core of this game is poorly coded, but Notch chose to ignore it and continue coding to the point where it's too late to do anything about it.

    Other
    than that, it's an excellent game with a wonderful concept, but it's only set to get worse as far too many features will be added and will mar the initial charm of the game. (Dragons!? Wtf!? You trying to ruin this game!?) It's a shame the 'engine' for this game is far too poorly coded to be released with an SDK. It would have made this game incredible. My solution? Recode the whole damn thing now, before it get's any worse! Expand
  43. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a far too addictive game especially online.

    You can build everything and everything from Hogwarts School to whole Kingdoms if you wished and the best part is that its available for download meaning you HAVE TO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
  44. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    One of the things often overlooked in game reviews is value. How much for a game and how many hours can you expect out of a game? Minecraft is arguably the best value you can get from a game this generation. Minecraft somehow combines the addictive gameplay of Simcity and Resident Evil, not two games that normally go together. You start the game with no weapons or shelter, just a vast landscape consisting of different 'blocks' of materials that you can cut and shape into tools and building supplies. The only other creatures you see on your horizon (the gameworld is reported to be about eight times the size of the earth) are assorted animals such as pigs and cows. In the first few minutes of gameplay, you start to notice the sun moving across the sky, and it occurs to you that it will soon be getting dark. And this is where Minecraft can turn from a simple looking Lego game with cute quacking ducks into something that is about to scare the hell out of you.

    As darkness settles, you can see 'things' shuffle along the beach towards you, making growling noises. Arrows start flying at you from skeleton archers. It occurs to you that spending the afternoon and early evening exploring your world was possibly not the most productive use of your time. Building a shelter close to where you initially spawned is the first order of business. And this is where the 'mine' and 'craft' come in.

    By chopping down a tree with your hands, you can get wood. With wood you can create a workbench to make tools such as an pick, axe or sword. Once you have a pickaxe, you can tackle harder materials like stone or iron by digging into the earth or chipping away at cavern walls. And with these better materials, you can use your workbench to make stronger tools, weapons and armor. By the time the moon comes up on your first night, you won't have time to make an impregnable castle fortress, but at least you should be able to put up four walls and make a door, windows and roof. In the morning, the monsters that kept you a prisoner in your home at night burn up from the morning's sun, making it safe once again to explore.

    This when when you'll start to figure out that better materials are buried at deeper levels. And shortly after that, you'll realize that deep in your mine (or anywhere that lacks a light source) the monsters are waiting for you. There is genuine fear of being killed, because if you are it means you drop all of items you were holding, carrying or wearing at that spot, and you re-start at your initial spawn point that could be miles away, assuming you can even remember where that was.

    Minecraft offers addictive gameplay mixed with creativity. Later, as you progress through the game (there aren't any 'levels', you just craft better weapons and items) you can aid your exploring by making boats, a compass that always points toy your spawn area, a watch (so you know if it's dark when you emerge from your mine), even to a minecart rail system! With a strong sword and good armor, you're now able to defend yourself from *most* monsters (called MOBS), allowing you to focus on building whatever you want. I recommend you check out a few Youtube videos of what people with time and imagination can come up with. For really large projects, such as a life-size USS Enterprise... this is where the multiplayer aspect of the game really shines.

    Together, a group on a server can build entire cities. Players can download or create their own player skins to maintain a bit of style while swinging that diamond pick-axe to bore through tunnels that run under the ocean. Servers can chose to offer players any materials they need to aid in the construction. Again, check online to see just what is possible! Online games also allow you to build without fear of Mobs, which at that point really turns the game into a sim builder.

    The game also features different climates, so you might spend one day on a sunny beach, and the next hiking across a mountain through the snow. You can explore (and create) lava pools, waterfalls, and occasionally you'll stumble across dungeons. These have chests with loot in them, and a spawn cage that creates the Mobs (there's seven different ones, but I've chosen not to mention one in particular that will eventually give you nightmares). Using torches that you create from wood sticks and coal (of course) keep you from being in the dark underground, and if you surround a Mob spawn cage with torchlight, it will remain safely dormant.

    Expect to lose yourself in this game for many, many hours. Minecraft (still in beta) is currently about $15, so get in while it's still half price. Beta simply means it's still under development, so items are constantly being added. Great value indeed!
    Expand
  45. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is so interesting and original that it makes me piss blood. It is the definition of a game which is not overrated at all. I have aspersers and am a fat autistic neck beard.
    Luckily the game is filled with novelty. While most games these days have sickeningly horrid graphics filled with realism. I have NEVER loved a game for it's graphics before, but this... this is just perfect.
    I mean for starters you can give this game a perfect score, it has 70's graphics yet it came out last year and thatâ Expand
  46. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    There is a zen tranquility to Minecraft that might not appeal to everyone, but this game offers a unique and engaging outlet for creative expression. If you still haven't tried Minecraft and you are actually reading through user reviews in order to make your final decision, just go for itâ
  47. May 31, 2011
    9
    Graphics complaints are missing the point of this game. There is plenty to do and much to explore, dont bother with the free version, the only version worth beans is survivor. And find a guide to help you get started.
  48. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a ten - not because it is perfect - but because it is perfectly addictive and the best example of substance over style when creating a fun and emnminently replayable game. I too have been playing since the alpha and have only scratched the surface of all that there is to do and that I want to do in the game! This game also is super friendly to modders who will continue to transform this game into new and amazing things long after Notch and his team has put his final touch on it. If I was not at work right now - I would not be writiing this review - I would be at home playing this game. Expand
  49. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This game is epic!!!You will have tons of fun mining and or just building what you want,plus it has tons of mods that will add to the awesomeness, I highly Recommend this game for the price
  50. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I'm surprised that roughly 1 in 7 people scored this game negatively (325 positive vs 47 negative at the time of this review), but then I realized that this game's detractors mostly attack the graphics and "slow" development, and the game's "boring" nature. As for the graphics, believe it or not, there is appeal in styling it with a retro-pixelated feel. Certainly some people wish every game had a team of 3,000 people working on it and a budget close to a Pirates of the Caribbean movie, like Grand Theft Auto and Call of Duty titles. And I enjoy my fair share of big budget titles, but I'm not dependent on graphics to allow me to enjoy a game, and anyone who is dependent on graphics over gameplay is set up for disappointment not only in this game, but in gaming in general. In this same reasoning, they are a company who has made 1 game, they are still a small developer, AND everyone who is complaining about features bought into the game while in development. I wonder if they'd complain so much if they were trusted to play a beta version of Madden that it wasn't still fresh after a full year of development.
    As for complaints about the game being boring, it's due to the (strangely) realistic nature of the game, in as such that you are alone in the middle of nowhere, and starting with no tools other than your hands. It does take time to assemble a comfortable zone for your player in game, and you are constantly learning through trial-and-error of ways to do things faster and better. The game isn't boring as much as it's lonely. And that's the intention of the developers, and it's certainly not a flaw or drawback to this game. And for those who need company in their games, the multiplayer option exists. I've actually been fortunate enough to have a desktop at home and my own laptop, and my girlfriend used her laptop along with mine to connect to our own server on my desktop, which allowed for a great 2-player game. All in all, the game is great, and the critical reviews explain why. I just wanted to counter the negative user reviews, because sadly, sometimes in every 7 people there is 1 person who can't be satisfied.
    Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Having been rather against Minecraft at the time of it's transfer into beta, I thought it would be a sensible idea to play the game and get some evidence on what it was really like. I was really expecting something bad. I was wrong. The game itself is brilliant - simple, yet complex. Endless hours have been spent mining, crafting, and mining more. Every world morphed into a brilliant landscape by hand (or pickaxe). But what really makes me come back to this is that there is no set limit as to what you can do. Even when you defeat the Enderdragon on Release 1.0, you can still continue on and do yet more stuff. Even the ending titles are attractive. Sure, the graphics aren't as good as other games (unless you run a HD texture pack), and there are a few bugs here and there, but, for a game that's been having so much hype from the online community... it certainly provides... Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Very Fun, yet simple game. Getting friends together, Getting some microphones, and collecting those precious resources to survive in your new habitat. mining for new materials, such as Gold, or Diamond, for making of the better tools, until you get the best of the best. then, it doesn't even end there! , until you finally have a tower 100 blocks high, and as far as the eye can see, you dont end your journey! this game had me pre-occupied for hours upon hours This is truly and amazing adventure. BUT, it could be better. until it gets some sort of goal that needs achieving, such as a campaign, then that one point shall rest with me. I have faith, however, that soon enough there will a story line waiting for us. Expand
  53. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is as simple or as complex as you want to make it. There is really no "end" to the game, the possibilities are endless. You can gather, build and see different areas of the game to collect all the achievements if you wish or you can build, mod, explore and multiplayer is a whole other realm by itself.

    I'm not sure why people are complaining about features and how the
    developers are "full of themselves" they release an update weekly called "weekly snapshots". They contain bugs and are works in progress but that is the whole idea behind Minecraft it is a work in progress. It always will be. Unlike other open world games like GTA, there is always more coming. The only limitation to this game is yourself and if the game doesn't have a feature, there is most likely a mod that does. Expand
  54. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    This game is really awesome, you can do so much with it and you can be really creative and build lots of things. However, the game doesn't last forever, there is only so much you can do, about after 2 weeks gameplay It will not be as fun and you will probably stop playing because at that time you already have a giant house, mines everywhere, lots of ore and many items, farm and such and then you can't really do more, you've reached your peak, and once you can't really accomplish anything else you stop playing, but still really good for that two weeks. Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Mojang's "Minecraft" is the Electronic Age's LEGOs, there is simply no other way to state it. It heavily (yet subtly) encourages the less objectively-good things in humanity, such as beauty, creativity, and teamwork, all while maintaining the guise as a "survival adventure" game. In reality, Minecraft is less about crafting and more about creating; a simple 1x2 mud hut can keep you alive through the night, but no one builds that (except out of desperation!)...the players of this game build towering monstrosities of castles, Nordic keeps, 1-to-1 scale replicas of Star Trek ships and Hogwarts castle. Not because they MUST, but simply because they CAN. This is the game of our generation. Expand
  56. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    I have never had so much freedom in a game and Minecraft deserves its high praise because it is near limitless. The simple controls yet addicting gameplay makes Minecraft one of the best indie games out there. Want to build a house? Minecraft can do it. Want to build a castle? Why not? Minecraft can do it. This game is fun as hell and you will never get tired of it as long as Mojang brings out newly updates for more enjoyment. Buy it now. Expand
  57. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    just to start you off, this game is AMAZING!!!! the concept is quite simple, yet even more effective than quite a few games, even games you have to pay $60 or so for. Though the single player is absolutely great for the first little while, it does eventually get boring, however, as most games do, the multi player makes it worth the $15 or $20 bucks you pay to own it for life. The best part of this game is how excellently it executes the creative side of your brain, you must think of how you make items using different items and in what pattern they must be in, or how exactly you can make a pyramid almost a third of a mile wide. Overall this game deliver something like no other ( except for dwarf fortress and infiniminer.) some may use an argument such as " oh, it is really pixely!!!" this is a comment which should be thought about, for each map is 8 times the surface of the earth which is 51,200,000,000 cubic meters... that would take low resolution in order to handle that much. Expand
  58. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Still I don't see how this game gets "perfect" scores, because hosting multiplayer is a sincere pain and crafting is utterly tedious for newcomers.. But the fact that what it does, it does better than anyone else and that it is a PC game, it's pretty great. But not more than a 9/10 though, that's just the hype speaking.
  59. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Simply, in my opinion, the best PC game ever. Endless possibilities and all it asks for is your creativity! (And time, lots and ltos of time!) Everytime there is a new patch there is loads lore featues and things to discover! Just an excellent gaming experience!
  60. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    MineCraft is truly a great game, it has something for almost any age group. With the addition of creative mode, MineCraft has opened up to all those players who just want to build (like Garry's Mod). MineCraft can be modified and is a large COMMUNITY game which I think give it a huge thumbs up.
  61. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I have been with Minecraft for most of development, and I must say it has gone a long way. Minecraft is a game like no other, the creative potential is unlimited. You can play the survival mode, witch is harder now on Hard mode, or you can get into creative and build anything you can imagine! Multiplayer works smoothly now, and the community online gets better by the day. The game has changed drastically, and I believe for the better. Minecraft is the single best game I have ever played, and I have played a lot. In my opinion, this game; no, this masterpiece, will live forever. Expand
  62. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Originally, Minecraft didn't deserve the criticisms thrown at it. 'Lame graphics'-nah. There delightfully retro, and look great in this decidedly modern world. But, after the game FINALLY got out of beta, it's now been criticised of not fulfilling it's enourmous potential. I'd argue it's done a lot-massive, devoted community, multiple biomes, tons of blocks. This isn't the end of Minecraft though. It will continue to be updated. Improved. Refined. It rocks all kinds of awesome now, but in the future, it will be unstopable. Er, just don't hold your breath. Expand
  63. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought. Building an awesome house. Go out and fight the mosters. Tame a Wolf to be you pet. I'm always finding these underground waterfalls and lavafalls. You get the sense that you're going where no-one else has gone before. Bugs and Glitches: This is an indie game that is massive. Ok. Some bugs are major and they suck. Moving on! This game is overwhelming if you don't know what to do. Use the Minecraft Wiki to help. Build a house and go out mining and exploring. Build a massive minecart track. Sometimes, a nice little tune would play to ease you up a bit in tough situations. Bottom line: It's a triumph of Indie gaming. It's up there with the games that started out small and turned huge like the classic Donkey Kong, World of Goo, Braid and many others. A modern classic, hands down. I'd like to give it a 9.5, but I can't... Expand
  64. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a simple game with simple mechanics and simple graphics but its very fun and addictive. The game is not a complete game is being updated once in a while. I can't really say anything negative because its all good but what this game lacks is a tutorial for beginners. Its an easy game but not for beginners. Minecraft is AWESOME and ADDICTING.
  65. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Wow! This is cyberspace...and its square. Minecraft is the most truly ground-breaking game of it's time. It offers emergent game-play, a consistent challenge, huge variety and it rewards creativity. It is the only game in existence in which each of the players is able to modify the very terrain and fabric of the world. Minecraft is the first game that functions as an in-game world-editor that lets the players co-create both architecture and adventures. Constantly expanding and versatile enough to create 3-D sculptures that are also working digital-logic circuits. If you don't like Minecraft you must be boring or unimaginative. ; ] Also...try to get over the whole 'cube' thing as there would be no other way to achieve such an ambitious game-style. Truly revolutionary. Expand
  66. Feb 24, 2011
    9
    The first time I heard about Minecraft, I had no idea that a game with such wide open freeform game play could be so appealing. As a nameless protagonist without any story or purpose, youâ
  67. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    This is the most creative and time killer game ever. I never played AOE or HOMM like this. It's not perfect at all this time but will. I think they must recode entire game because of lack fps and huge resource usage. Although i gave it 10. Because I am a fanatic :)
  68. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    No game that has ever existed has created an immersion as large as minecraft has done.

    Using as simple as a program as java, 1 man (yes, 1 man) named notch, with a brilliant idea, has made millions. Companies such as Mojang should set a large example for huge companies with massive developers overlooking them. Gaming today is turning from a passion to a "get rich quick scheme", where
    people create games not out of loving to make them, but out of the lust for money.*COUGH* Treyarch, EA, IW, Bungie*COUGH*.

    When you see a company, the underdog, shoving a fist up the asses of the EA'S of the owrld (rhetorically of course), you seem to want to root them on by buying there games....

    what the hell am I talking aout... I forgot where I was going with this.

    Good game, immersive, and fun.
    Expand
  69. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is just one of those games that has limitless possibilities. The basic concept can be described as a massive world of legos. From spawn, you can build whatever you want with the resources you find. Of course, there are many mods that allow people that arent so crazy about the scavenging for resources to simply build without obstruction. You can share your masterpieces with your friends, or download user-created mini-games and puzzles within the minecraft universe. MInecraft is perfect for any one who is creative and enjoys building to expressive themselves. Unlike Lego's, we can play this without feeling (and looking) stupid. Expand
  70. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Here's a few things I love about Minecraft, in no particular order:

    - The open-ended gameplay. With a little thought, you can accomplish almost anything you want. The artistically inclined will certainly find a niche to fill somewhere in here.
    - The graphics. Testament to the fact that photo-realism need not be a requirement in today's game market. Those who prefer prettied-up games may
    avoid Minecraft for this reason.
    - Exploration. The game world is generated by complex algorithms which create stunning, completely unique formations on a whim. There's a sense of discovery here akin to that which was felt by European explorers when they first set sail to distant Atlantic islands all those years ago.
    - The monsters. The skeletons wielding bows, the zombies that inexplicably drop feathers, and the horrendous ghasts of the Nether are quirky, but fearsome. They're simple, effective antagonists. How many other games are best-known by an image of their villain? (Don't answer that, there's probably a lot!)
    - The mechanics. They're simple, and (for the most part) make sense. Building, crafting, and mining are handled in a way that makes even the most laborious of tasks seem interesting. Never before have I kept playing a game after digging into a dark, clammy cave, getting knocked off of a ledge by a green ball of slime, falling into lava, and losing everything in my inventory.
    - The music. C418's small, simple melodies fit perfectly into the world of Minecraft- doing well to characterize the game's attitude with itself and to create dissonance and assonance with in-game events. The melody of a piano can be calming or frightening depending on what you're doing as you listen. Overall, Minecraft is a good fit for me. It's the sort of game I wish was made more often. It isn't harsh or in-your-face, trading the attitudes associated with most video games for those of board games or building blocks. It's a toy, meant to be enjoyed, not mastered. It's the best game I've played in a long while.
    Expand
  71. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Minecraft is a game you can play for hours and hours, each advancement better than the next. It can be repetitive, but it's usually thrilling to avoid lava, to build huge sky-scrappers, and light the sky up at night. I love this game, I need to play it more. Expand
  72. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    In a time when the gaming industry is becoming more and more dominated by developers unwilling to take risks, this is an independent gem, clever and inspired. The best way to describe it is "lego world," but that does it a disservice. It is simply hard to put a label on the game.

    You start off in a randomly generated world, no weapons, no items. Your first action will be to punch a tree.
    From there you have ten minutes of in game daytime before night falls. By that time you should have built a shelter and have torches for light. If you survive your first night, the rest is up to you. You can dig a mile below the earth or build skyscrapers up to the clouds. Tools can be shaped to build better tools. You can build waterfalls, glass windows, chests, farm wheat, sugar, cactus, boats, docks, music blocks, switch operated doors and traps, elaborate transportation systems, underwater glass bases, lava pits, gates to hell, skywalks across forests or deserts or snow-covered hills or plains.

    The world is yours to shape. Just watch out for creepers.
    Expand
  73. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is simple as can be yet vast and intricate. Many negative reviews of minecraft say that the problem is 'there is only so much you can do'. But the creation is limited by your imagination, and in my opinion its not fair to say that you're being limited by anything other than your imagination. furthermore, even if you have an incredibly limited imagination, the game has an infrastructure and basic goals that still allow you to have fun. Expand
  74. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    Minecraft can get bored very soon, it is also difficult to learn. But, when you learn how and what to craft, you probably can see all the possibilities. Also if are kind of explorer or creative person, you will find whole new world from it.

    Me and kids (from 3 to 7 yrs) have many, many hours with Minecraft. Because it is work in progress, I'm sure we will spend many more hours yet.

    Note!
    There can be zombies, skeletons, giant spiders, etc. in game. Adult should be present, and least for starters ;) Expand
  75. May 4, 2011
    10
    This game, even if he isn't not finished yet, is already a classic that can only be bettered, By its excellent gameplay, it's originalities, and its strong community, must be put as a dictionary definition of awesomeness.
  76. May 10, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a game in which you build stuff, not only to destroy. I mean, it's simple and the graphics are bad, but feels so creative and its... addicting. You can explore and create almost anything you want. The sky and bedrocks the limit. Play the game! If you want to try it out for free, like this page and then click on this site to play Beta for free. This is what my friends play on, and I will share this with you: http://minecraftforfree.com/play.php
    Copy and paste this onto URL.
    Expand
  77. May 16, 2011
    10
    Sandbox is a word that gets thrown around too much with games, however, Minecraft is truly a video game version of a sandbox. The limits to this game are only your imagination and time, as you can literally build anything and everything you can think of in this game. Now, I know that being in Beta, we are only touching the tip of the iceberg, but I would truly recommend this game to anyone with an imagination and a whole bunch of free time. Expand
  78. May 25, 2011
    10
    If you haven't bough this, buy it now! This game has 3D pixels for graphics, and the maps are made of FREAKING BLOCKS! Multiplayer is a hit because you can build with your friends or with a 16-year old Scottish dude. Simple but marvelous gameplay makes this one of the best PC games in my opinion.
  79. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Don't you dare listen to those that criticize it for it's "gay graphics" and "pointlessness". Minecraft's graphics are purposely pixelated, and that in no way automatically makes it horrible. It adds a very touching charm to the game. People these days don't seem to have any fondness of charming things and would rather up their K/D ratio. Minecraft is anything but pointless. You have to create your OWN fun. "What's that? The developers were too lazy to make the fun for you? DRAMATIC GASP!" Wrong, they have supplied you with an extremely hearty amount of extremely hearty things that you can have an extremely hearty amount of fun with. If you wanted to, you could: Build, anything from an underground troll hole to the most freakin' awe-inspiring cathedral to ever grace the virtual (ore real) world; Mine, in a randomly-generated world where you can destroy, pickup and change EVERYTHING, the world is your's to sculpt; Create, fantastic contraptions using a special electricity-conducting ore called Redstone to power block-moving pistons, music-making note blocks, noob-pwning traps (one guy even made a functioning computer the size of a continent!); Craft; using an intuitive crafting system, craft things by forming the general shape of the tool with the items you have; Explore, there's fantastic cloud-raping mountains and dark scary caves with monsters waiting for you to find them, there's even an alternate hell dimension for you to conquer! Expand
  80. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    A great creative game that I spent a lot of hours on, the fact that you can almost do anything is the thing that usually sucks me in, plus, the graphics although not super good, are great at making the feel of minecraft.
  81. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a game that grabs you or revolts you. Of course, I can see how many people dislike how simple and dull the game may look. But too all of you who complain about the game's look, I say: Go back to playing Crysis. If you like hyper realistic but bland and repetitive games, fine. But don't dare to touch this gem of a game with your greasy, filthy hands, you spoiled, snotty kid!
    Minecraft is simply the sandbox genre in it's purest form (yet). There is simply no limit to this game, literally and figuratively; the world you walk around in is endless, as is the creativity of both the player and the community (in the form of mods and custom maps).
    I have been playing this game endlessly, alone, with friends or on a big server with dozens of co-builders. There are no clans, no pvp maps, no strategic games... unless you want it to be.
    Whether you like to fight, build or socialize, it's all possible, because everything is possible in Minecraft.
    Expand
  82. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game i've ever played. its so good... I love the music and the multiplayer is amazing, however making a server takes a sh*tload of time. overall a fantastic game.
  83. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft Is the best game ever. In all seriousness it is addictive and i have been playing it for 4 years now, you can never run out of things to create and one of my best memories in gaming is the first time i ever played it you have no idea what anything does and the first night is terrifying. Pitch black with odd noises. Also it is a huge part of the gaming community, Without Minecraft there would be no Yogscast, no Sips and Sjin no Nerdcubed no totalbiscuit, pretty much all gaming channels started big by playing Minecraft!!!!! Expand
  84. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    For creative types, one of the best video games to be released in many years. The ability to tear the world down and build it again as your own makes this game well above the typical creativity-based games out there today. I don't think a game has ever made me more excited to build since the first Sims game: highly recommended for anyone who enjoys gaming in general, well worth the purchase price (I also can't understand why there is so much user hate...the game is half the price of the usual crap that's sold today) Expand
  85. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Flawless. I can't even describe how much fun Minecraft is, and with the impending Adventure Update and Official Release I think it can only get better. It's truely the ultimate sandbox. Some people complain about the graphics, but that's nothing I found annoying. You have blocky pixels for a blocky game, if you wanted groundbreaking graphics then you should try Crysis 2. And if you aren't quite satisfied there are thousands of texture packs available for download. Expand
  86. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    WARNING: This game contains infinite amounts of pain, suffering, and most importantly unadulterated joy. You can do just about anything you set your mind to, and if you can't do it mod it and you then can do whatever your heart tells you to. Then if you can't do something else you can create a computer within Minecraft and make it do what you want it to do.

    Final thought, if you can't
    find something to do in this game then you might as well go dig a hole and sit in it. Expand
  87. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best game ever made. I have played it for more than 3000 hours and i haven't even begun to get bored of it. You can do whatever you want! Who the hell doesn't like that?
  88. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Extremely fun with endless possibilites. Nice soundtrack and great fun! Minecraft is different to other games and is full of things to do. The game centers on crafting, collecting, exploing, building and all sorts of things.Build houses, construct huge endless tunnels, explore an amazing endless world made up of blocks of sand, dirt, diamond, coal, iron, gold, water - the list goes on. Hirely reccomend it. Its brilliant. Expand
  89. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a simple game, not to be taken for it's face value. It's a game that is only limited by your imagination. The graphics seem poor, but add to the charm.

    You start off in an empty world, inhabited only by animals. As you explore this vast world, you collect the resources needed to build your first shelter, perhaps a bed as well. As the night falls upon your world, the creatures
    of the night come out with only the intent of killing you. Past this first night, you return outside to collect more resources. This day, you decide, will be the day that you craft your first set of armor. Or maybe it's the day you first begin your expedition into the depths of the world to uncover more valuable ores. Whichever you choose, the ambient of the world gives you a sense of loneliness, but then the wonderful and peaceful music comes in and you realize that you are not alone, no, instead you are at peace with your surroundings. As you delve into the depths, you encounter dungeons and lava. The darkness surrounds you making torches a necessity. You keep traveling through the natural cave systems, breaking down walls with your pick until you find what you've been looking for. This simple gem represents the entirety of your struggles through your world. These diamonds will allow you to craft the most powerful tools possible. With these diamond tools, you begin to harvest obsidian. You craft some flint and steel and get to work building a portal. As you light that portal for the first time, excitement runs through you. You step into the portal and are transported to a new world, a world full of flame and lava. Where the creatures are deadlier. You have arrived in the nether. This place can be used as a way to quickly travel around the surface world, or can be used to gather strange new blocks. But soon even this place grows boring.

    Once you arrive at stability, with a constant source of resources that you can gather with ease, the game becomes less of an adventure. Now that you have all that you could want, all that is left is to build. You can build anything. Your mind's eye sees this world as a canvas, your blocks as the paint. You build structure upon structure, bringing your world to life. You have farms full of wheat, a dense forest with mushrooms covering the ground, a small village, perhaps a castle with a moat, your mine shafts.

    And now, you step back and look at your expansive creation. You marvel at your handiwork, despite a few flaws that you see. And then you realize how much time you have spent in this world. Hours upon hours, seemingly wasted. But you must remember; Time you enjoy wasting, isn't time wasted.

    Minecraft is a simple game, a game that is only as incredible as you can make it. The game is constantly being expanded with content updates, the Multiplayer allows you to experience this vast world with your friends. If there is one thing that Minecraft is not, that is that this is not the game for those who lack imagination. You must have a drive to create, and only then will you truly see Minecraft for the masterpiece that it is.
    Expand
  90. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    There is something very, very, special about this game. It's ingenious, and boldly defiant of all modern gaming conventions. It's vague, intimidating, and beautiful. You make your own stories, your own objectives, your own game. The feeling you get from putting a door on your first dirt slab house is immensely satisfying, but that feeling only increases until you reach a point where you feel like god standing on your castle with your enchanted diamond sword and network of minecarts and storage of precious materials. I can already predict, that this game will be looked back on as one of the most important games of a generation, as it's randomly generated worlds and subtle complexity will be the future of all games. This is the start of true open world, a true role playing experience. Collapse
  91. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    Extremely open premise, and a fun world, make Minecraft a light hearted, good time.

    The only reasons you really shouldn't try this game are if you don't want to use your imagination, or if graphics are an imperative for you to have a good time. The game is still in "beta," but the game is purchasable. While the developers are constantly making changes, most of them are good, and the open
    ended world can be fun if you put the time into it! Expand
  92. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is cheap. Minecraft is fun. Everything a game should be. Overlook the not-so-brilliant graphics and it's almost perfect. Most PC's should be able to run it, turning down the view distance dramatically increases performance if you do encounter difficulties. Now go and get Minecraft, what have you got to lose? 9/10 gameandmoviereviews.com
  93. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is a sandbox game in it's purest form: You have no conditions to meet, story to follow or enemies to defeat, all you have to do is amuse yourself. The game gives you no hints or advice, so it is up to you to find out how to play the game and even there is no right of wrong answer. Personally I decided to build a big city just for myself and to finish it I called it: "Casperville" and crown myself king/dictator. I had a lot of fun for a while and unless you use a wikia site it will take roughly two months before you discovered all the different blocks and craftable items.

    Minecraft mostly involves building and if you want you can do that all day long, but once the sun goes down... all hell breaks loose. At night a whole army of monsters spawn and since you are rather tasty it won't take long until you are protagonist pie. You have the option to fight back, but if you choose to do so the terrible fighting engine will easily ead to your death. The only thing you can do is hold the attack-button and hope that the enemy will die before you do or one of his friends join in on the fun. The only weapon worth using is the bow because that is a ranged weapon and you will need it when facing off against the exploding creepers.

    Anyway, at dawn the zombies and skeletons burn to their death and the spiders become friendly again. After the Creepers finally left (and this will take quite a while) you can get back to whatever you were doing in the first place. The single player will keep you busy for quite a long time, but once that runs out of appeal you still have the multi player. If you erect a server with some of your pals or join a quality server the game will stay fun for years to come. Servers like Honor Craft have a great community and manage to keep the grievers out.

    Lastly I want to mention the amazing presentation. Love or hate the 16-bit graphics (personally I liked them due to nostalgia), but you got to love the world. Minecraft's world is gigantic and to my understanding it keeps creating more world if you come close to the end of it. The world has; vast seas, looming mountains and beautiful valleys. If you love untainted nature then Minecraft will feel like a paradise and if you don't you can always just burn it down and build factories on top of it. It also helps that Minecraft is still in production, so the game receives constant updates. The recent update for example added weather to the game.

    I can talk for hours about how beautiful Minecraft is, but I am sure you get it by now. The game looks amazing and offers a lot of content, but it does have some annoying flaws. The combat could be better and not having torches around when it's night is a **** but I am willing to look past that. This game was worth my fourteen euros and I advice you to try it out as well. You can play Minecraft for free on www.minecraft,net, but the premium version is much better.
    Expand
  94. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This game isn't finished yet, but is already a masterpiece! When you start playing Minecraft, it's impossible to stop! If you like any sort of videogame, you must play this!
  95. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I bought Minecraft when it was still in Alpha stage. Before even the smooth lightning feature! I have seen Minecraft grow from a simple alpha version to an incredible, immersive game. I don't care if the graphics look outdated because I can just install a texture pack. I built so much in my world and I literally CANNOT wait for the full release!
  96. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I change my opinion about Minecraft. Back when it was 1.6 or 1.7 it was hard to find lots of cool things to do when you built a awesome house, had diamond weapons and armor, etc. Now, at the full release, we have leveling up, hunger, creative mode, hardcore mode, and so many other new features to keep you glued in your seat.
  97. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The game offers original concept and total freedom, while access to the code itself allows modders to do literally anything. This game is an ultimate sandbox and while it may not be equally fun to everyone (certain I got bored pretty fast), it is hands down brilliant.
  98. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Bad Graphics, Lame and Not worth my time when I have better games to be going on with are some of the comments I am usually associated with regarding this game. But Nieve people who believe this are sincerely misled, the graphics are what give this game it's unique retro feel and those of you out there who do not believe this do not give the game a chance which it very much deserves! The general jist (if that's how you spell it) is to both Mine and Craft..Duh! You must mine the raw elements needed to advance in the game IE; Diamond, Iron and Coal. And then Craft tools out of these elements to use against fighting zombies, building houses and generally advancing through the game! Firstly you a spawned at a random spot in an infinitely random world which is always one of a kind. Your primary objective on the first day is to build a shelter and make pretty basic tools to copinside with the onslaught of various amazing mobs that are coming your way at dusk. The mobs consist of Creepers- Exploding Green Penis looking things. Skeletons- which shoot a lot of arrows at you from the darkness Zombies- Which are err...Zombies and Spiders- Which are spiders. Most of these can be seen while you are adventuring the countless caverns that are laid randomly underneath your world! So Overall An amazing game which offers countless hours of enjoyment without you even thinking about It.. A must buy! Expand
  99. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    This game is the best game i've ever played. I've been hooked on it for 2 years, starting from early alpha.
    Even better in multiplayer! I've had so much fun with this game. This review doesn't explain how the game is good, im just saying... YOU MUST GET THIS GAME!
  100. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    Pretty damn hard to say anything bad at all about this game. I love building things even on the classic servers where there's no survival. I find the regular survival Minecraft enticing as well. I enjoy building shelters and waiting out the night. Maybe I just like sandbox games in general.
  101. Nov 23, 2011
    0
    There is something very, very, special about this game. It's ingenious, and boldly defiant of all modern gaming conventions. It's vague, intimidating, and beautiful. You make your own stories, your own objectives, your own game. The feeling you get from putting a door on your first dirt slab house is immensely satisfying, but that feeling only increases until you reach a point where you feel like god standing on your castle with your enchanted diamond sword and network of minecarts and storage of precious materials. I can already predict, that this game will be looked back on as one of the most important games of a generation, as it's randomly generated worlds and subtle complexity will be the future of all games. This is the start of true open world, a true role playing experience. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]