User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3505 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2015
    10
    I just want to say that i have put many, many hours into this game, and there is a reason for that. Because although it is just a simple build, craft, survive game like many others, there is a charm to it. There are so many clones out there trying to copy this game (which I'm perfectly okay with) but none of them hit the mark that this game is so widely known for. Gameplay wise it playsI just want to say that i have put many, many hours into this game, and there is a reason for that. Because although it is just a simple build, craft, survive game like many others, there is a charm to it. There are so many clones out there trying to copy this game (which I'm perfectly okay with) but none of them hit the mark that this game is so widely known for. Gameplay wise it plays extremely well.... simple controls and easy game to learn, and it plays surprisingly smoothly, which makes the game a pure gem and is a wonder to play. But the building is the part of the game that I get so excited with. You can literally build anything and if you really wanted to cover the world in building after building after building, and when your finally done go down into a cave and explore, crafting and building while you do it. This is a game of unending possibility, and through the support of modding, that part of the game is taken so much further. This is a masterpiece, and although the mechanics are so simple, it will always be a game i will remember and cherish for a very, very long time. This is one of those games that you say "just 5 more minutes", and an hour later you have built some sort of castle that will about 100 blocks long, and that is the pure value that this game is remembered for. There are loads of items to craft, places to explore, stuff to mine, things to build, kill.... This game has a perfect mix of exploration, building, and pure fun, and if you don't have this game right now, go for it.... you will be in for a very pleasant surprise. Expand
  2. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  3. May 16, 2015
    8
    Minecraft is a sandbox game all about the (almost) endless worlds you can explore and change depending from person to person. Personally ive never found something completely wrong with the game, but it seems that many encounter hackers and trolls who just ruin the fun for everyone. Honestly the game is good, but the community is starting to get filled with a lot of younger players. PleaseMinecraft is a sandbox game all about the (almost) endless worlds you can explore and change depending from person to person. Personally ive never found something completely wrong with the game, but it seems that many encounter hackers and trolls who just ruin the fun for everyone. Honestly the game is good, but the community is starting to get filled with a lot of younger players. Please parents of children, wait until your kids are at least 12 before giving them the game. As younger players can often get bullied by older players. Even tough they might find a server without trolls or hackers you must always remember.
    You are in the Internet.
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2015
    9
    The core of Minecraft is not my cop of tea, but all of the different mods you can get, makes this game amazing in so many way. I just love the fact, that it's a pixel game. I've played Minecraft for about 4 years now and for 20$, I've gotten one hell of a deal.

    If I should base the rating on the core game (without mods) it would be 6/10 but with mods: 9/10
  5. May 9, 2015
    0
    This game was good before 1.8 beta, with people making amazing pixel art and there were amazing vanilla servers.
    Now it's just a couple of 12 year old kids trying to be funny on the internet by playing on extremely modded servers that make completely no sense, griefing and hacking.
    If you dislike this review than you're a 12 year old kid yourself.
  6. May 7, 2015
    10
    People Should be wise when rating a game! not rate 0 because of bad graphics, horrible players, and stuffs
    if you rate 0 it means all part of the game is horrible, it did not
    I Rate 10 because its fun, entertaining, love trolling my friends. Seriously you better buy This than GTA 5 (Not Really actually) Me, my brother, and friends total 11 of us journey into the open world of minecraft
    People Should be wise when rating a game! not rate 0 because of bad graphics, horrible players, and stuffs
    if you rate 0 it means all part of the game is horrible, it did not
    I Rate 10 because its fun, entertaining, love trolling my friends.
    Seriously you better buy This than GTA 5 (Not Really actually)
    Me, my brother, and friends total 11 of us journey into the open world of minecraft in a multiplayer server, the Players are Friendly, Nice, Cooperative, Helpful. I Know the people on Cracked Server is bad, trolls, Hackers, Griefers, but if you play on official server with paid players, it doesn't, and the MUSIC IS AWESOME FOR A LOW QUALITY SOUND :D
    Expand
  7. May 6, 2015
    6
    + great sandbox game with unlimited creativity
    + simple and fun, lots of mods
    +great soundtrack, bought it on iTunes
    -most of the players play p2w minigame servers that destroy the point of the game (creativity! Not paying $70 for "UBER" armor)
    -trollz
    -playing in public attracts millions of 2-10 year olds
    -was more fun back in 1.9 beta when it was still not ultra popular.
  8. May 2, 2015
    10
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  9. May 1, 2015
    0
    game **** and so for those stupid kids who want to be youtubers so to this crap worst game so stupid and dumb planet for child not recommend anyone playing this game that should not even existed
  10. Apr 26, 2015
    0
    Most of people likes the game, and its ok, but the game is not very good in my opinion, WHY??

    THE COMMUNITY: A lot of bad players and people that wants an original account of the game (they play it pirate) to play in servers "premium" and play with their "GODS" (more sarcasm, but in some chases true) GRAPHICS: graphics of 1993!! CONCLUTION: I PLAYED THIS GAME SINCE 2012, BUT THE
    Most of people likes the game, and its ok, but the game is not very good in my opinion, WHY??

    THE COMMUNITY: A lot of bad players and people that wants an original account of the game (they play it pirate) to play in servers "premium" and play with their "GODS" (more sarcasm, but in some chases true)

    GRAPHICS: graphics of 1993!!

    CONCLUTION: I PLAYED THIS GAME SINCE 2012, BUT THE GAME LOSED CUALITY AND ITS NOT THE SAME, SINGLEPLAYER IS VERY GOOD!!
    Expand
  11. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why mojang made this game? I don't know. Why I think they made this game?
    Here:
    Be careful what you wish for, Because you might get it.Luv luv luv luv luv!
    Expand
  12. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    Where can I begin with Minecraft. Minecraft is definitely one of the best games of all time. You can do almost anything you want to do with what the world has supplied for you. You are going to have a wild adventure playing singleplayer or multiplayer. This game is seriously addictive. If you haven't heard of this game, you must be living under a rock, like seriously. This game isWhere can I begin with Minecraft. Minecraft is definitely one of the best games of all time. You can do almost anything you want to do with what the world has supplied for you. You are going to have a wild adventure playing singleplayer or multiplayer. This game is seriously addictive. If you haven't heard of this game, you must be living under a rock, like seriously. This game is essential to buy. Expand
  13. Apr 19, 2015
    5
    Objectively the game has always been bad. But it was still lots fun! Nowadays however, the game has gotten a lot worse and ISN'T EVEN FUN. The hunger system makes Survival Mode a chore to play. Your character starves before you even find a place to build. Want to build? Nope, gotta find food first. Want to explore? Nope, gotta find food first. Want to go spelunking? Nope, gotta find foodObjectively the game has always been bad. But it was still lots fun! Nowadays however, the game has gotten a lot worse and ISN'T EVEN FUN. The hunger system makes Survival Mode a chore to play. Your character starves before you even find a place to build. Want to build? Nope, gotta find food first. Want to explore? Nope, gotta find food first. Want to go spelunking? Nope, gotta find food first.
    The world generation is terrible. Back in Alpha & Beta, each world had it's own twists that made them all unique and interesting. But now, all worlds are almost exactly the same. I'm not even exaggerating. Also the color schemes in some biomes are terrible. WHY IS THE GRASS BLUEISH IN THE MOUNTAIN BIOME?!
    The sound design has gotten cringe worthy. It used to be nice to listen to, and cheesy in a good way. But now the sounds are unfittingly realistic(?) or cheesy in a bad way. NO ONE ASKED FOR REALISTIC SOUND DESIGN FOR MINECRAAFT. IT IS COMPLETELY UNFITTING TO THE GAMES STYLE. As for the sounds that are cheesy in a bad way: Who's idea was it to make the villagers sound like depressed chickens that have a cold?
    The game goes in too many different directions. It has sandbox themes, it has cartoony themes, it has adventure themes, it has survival themes, it has mythical themes. None of these coincide with eachother. It feels like a bunch of community mods were thrown together in one big package. Actually a bunch of the stuff they've added are in fact rip-offs of community mods.
    I haven't even mentioned all the bugs yet. The Alpha & Beta versions of the game were more playable than the current version.
    The game isn't optimized. Like at all. Despite the fact that it looks like it's from 1990, despite the fact that there is nothing that should be remotely hardware intensive in the game, it still runs horribly. Even if you have a perfectly up to date PC, you will still experience random FPS drops.
    Expand
  14. jse
    Apr 18, 2015
    10
    MineCraft is so fun i'm getting it for my brithday i have it for the xbox 360 so thats how i know how fun it is. mooncreeft is what me and my friend call it jffjwaejfjwgwjebguwehbuiewb
  15. Apr 18, 2015
    5
    It took me many attempts to actually somewhat enjoy this game in the end. It has a new type of gameplay (especially for the time when it was first released and before many of its clones came out). It's mostly about digging ores and then crafting items. Also some players (especially small kids) will be interested to build toy houses from blocks. Aside from the primitive survival andIt took me many attempts to actually somewhat enjoy this game in the end. It has a new type of gameplay (especially for the time when it was first released and before many of its clones came out). It's mostly about digging ores and then crafting items. Also some players (especially small kids) will be interested to build toy houses from blocks. Aside from the primitive survival and fighting mechanic, it's mostly just a Lego constructor. Terraria and Don't Starve are much better games because they add a purpose to the whole thing. Minecraft is very unfriendly to new players: for the recipes you have to go to online wikis, management of the inventory is tedious, and the graphics are ugly, especially those of the mobs. Still, even if it's a somewhat enjoyable game, it doesn't deserve the hype around it at all. Expand
  16. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    Minecraft is a game were you mine and craft. You can do anything you want in this game. Wanna make giant tower? Do it. Want to play mini-games on servers with friends? Play it. WANNA FIGHT A GIANT DRAGON?!?! YOU CAN DO THAT!!! The only problem is the early learn curve when it comes to crafting.
  17. Apr 9, 2015
    3
    minecraft is the most overrated thing ever. the game is so boring I fell asleep went I played it it's that boring I know a lot of people like this game but I fought it was boring.
  18. Apr 8, 2015
    9
    O jogo proporciona um mundo quase completo para o jogador, que ainda pode ser incrementado com Mods, um mundo onde não se tem um verdadeiro limite, um jogo muito manipulável, onde o objetivo principal que talvez possa ser matar um "dragão", não seja realmente um objetivo para o jogador, pois o mesmo determina o que irá fazer em um mundo onde as características são extremamente divertidas!
  19. Apr 2, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really love Minecraft, and think it's really cool the way servers and mods are all fan- made, so you could have a parody of any other game in a server or an endless open world because of the world generating feature, but there's one problem: very often when I try to join a server, the game freezes and goes "Not Responding." Please fix this in your next update. Expand
  20. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    A perfect game, you can build your own world with an almost absolute freedom. You can play the game with mods to make it more fitting to your tastes. One of the few interesting games I advise to play
  21. Mar 25, 2015
    3
    the game keeps getting worse and worse they are trying to make it a rpg simlator witch i dont like and the controls feel like a bad inde game the game used to at least functional without mods
  22. Mar 20, 2015
    0
    Minecraft is the dumbest game in the universe and is full of angry kids too. The price is expensive. 30 dollars for a stupid game. Mojang is trying to make money by selling a stupid game. Terraria is way better.
  23. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    This is the perfect mix of more is less and endless possibilities. The graphics are obviously not very good, but that's on purpose, you only have so much stuff, but you can still build whatever you want, keep playing and gaining, experiment with red stone (most fun), etc. This was a fresh, new, innovative idea which has hooked millions for a reason.
  24. Mar 18, 2015
    4
    Decent for 8years olds i dont like minecraft cant believe somebody watching minecraft omgomg look its SSundee but anywaylets get back to game
    Bad Stuff:
    -No Story
    -Whats The point building? There is no point building.
    -Looks very old.

    -Good things:
    -Mods make the game a bit better
    -1.7.2 Version improoved the game.
  25. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time. The open-world means that you can do whatever you want, you can find Diamonds in survival, or build a castle in creative, or play hunger games on multiplayer. The graphics look good, and there is always something new to discover.
  26. Mar 15, 2015
    4
    Microsoft need to add a warning label which warns players that the game may become boring after months because the players would soon start to want to have more variety for the game until they release an update which adds a load of potentiality. It would have made sense to price the game for $9.99 instead of the overpriced $26.95.
  27. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I dont why the people hate the graphics or the no-logic in the game. Im not a fanboy or a rat-kid.

    If Minecraft was realistic the game such whorse. Some games dont have too logics and still being a goodness game's .
    Expand
  28. Mar 2, 2015
    9
    I would have given it 10/10 but Microsoft bought it end of. The reason why is the game-play of it is good and nothing is wrong (Except for it being a bit easier) and Microsoft buys all the good games and turn them bad. I would give it a 9.5/10. The it doesn't get the extra .5 is because of the lag and dread of getting banned for no reason from servers. Survival mode is limited and it isI would have given it 10/10 but Microsoft bought it end of. The reason why is the game-play of it is good and nothing is wrong (Except for it being a bit easier) and Microsoft buys all the good games and turn them bad. I would give it a 9.5/10. The it doesn't get the extra .5 is because of the lag and dread of getting banned for no reason from servers. Survival mode is limited and it is great to play modded servers with friends. Expand
  29. Mar 1, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most overrated game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2015
    1
    Well, Minecraft was great game until little kids found it and ruined it... So It's I would not say it is worth the 20€... And I know this is suppossed to be 16bit, but looks terrible... And "da physics... It's not too detailed and the gameplay sucks...
    + Point of the game
    - Graphics
    - Physics
    - I thought that chicken is duck
  31. Feb 23, 2015
    0
    ****
    no storyline
    **** like graphics
    servers full of morons
    have no good sides
    realism is ****
    only good side is creative
    worthless piece crap
    game boring out a hell
    ..
  32. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly.
  33. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    Minecraft is a game for all ages. This game is a game of creativity, the only limit is your imagination. Besides the sky. The game can represent multiple thing such as creativity and twisted physics, If nobody has told you to buy it, do it. This game is fun online or offline, online you can play with people from around the world. This game could simply be mind bending puzzles to someMinecraft is a game for all ages. This game is a game of creativity, the only limit is your imagination. Besides the sky. The game can represent multiple thing such as creativity and twisted physics, If nobody has told you to buy it, do it. This game is fun online or offline, online you can play with people from around the world. This game could simply be mind bending puzzles to some extremely complex dirt houses. This game has bosses and some concept of reality and not so much money unless it comes to trading with villagers. Minecraft can teach a concept of money and dynamics. Its a basic game to teach 3D concept. Expand
  34. Feb 9, 2015
    5
    In my honest opinion this game IS overrated , and i'm saying this after i had been playing it for the last year . When i started it was very fun , that's because you had absolutely no idea of what was going on , you didn't know how to craft things and what to look for when you start on a new world . At this point the game is a blast to play , many biomes waiting for you to discover them ,In my honest opinion this game IS overrated , and i'm saying this after i had been playing it for the last year . When i started it was very fun , that's because you had absolutely no idea of what was going on , you didn't know how to craft things and what to look for when you start on a new world . At this point the game is a blast to play , many biomes waiting for you to discover them , tons of mobs and generally you get the feeling of being defenceless while you have a constant urge to keep going and going until you discover something new . Until there really isn't anything you haven't discovered . Techically you can build anything you can imagine but after a while most people just don't get the same amount of satisfaction from it . To be fair this game is the king of this sandbox-type games genre but after a while you realise that it doesn't really offer you anything anymore . To this day , i still visit minecraft once in a while in hopes of falling in love with it again but i always end up leaving the game after 5 minutes . Nevertheless , Minecraft will have a soft spot on my heart as it was one of these games that i really enjoyed but in the day . Expand
  35. Feb 6, 2015
    2
    this game is SO REPETITIVE IS KILLS MY BRAIN. you start a survival game get wood build a house, get stone, get iron and get diamonds. then it just gets really boring. also its for 9 year olds
  36. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Easily the best open world game ever made with its massive world sizes (60,000,000 meters wide and long!) and its variety of bosses and mobs. The lack of story only adds to the immersion because you can role play very easily as the entire world is your oyster. Every map is generated randomly, so no map will be the same and is open to your imagination. You could build a mansion, a city, orEasily the best open world game ever made with its massive world sizes (60,000,000 meters wide and long!) and its variety of bosses and mobs. The lack of story only adds to the immersion because you can role play very easily as the entire world is your oyster. Every map is generated randomly, so no map will be the same and is open to your imagination. You could build a mansion, a city, or even a crude phallic object! Minecraft literally has no limits. The only limit is your imagination. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  37. Jan 23, 2015
    6
    *Graphics* No wonder so many Resource Packs have been created, being the graphics so bad. Whether such bad quality was for laziness or choice, the community had to supply what the developers didn't. Some people might like the retro atmosphere.
    *Sound* The soundtrack is just ambient music, which is seldom played, by the way. The noises monsters do are somewhat nice, and useful to recognize
    *Graphics* No wonder so many Resource Packs have been created, being the graphics so bad. Whether such bad quality was for laziness or choice, the community had to supply what the developers didn't. Some people might like the retro atmosphere.
    *Sound* The soundtrack is just ambient music, which is seldom played, by the way. The noises monsters do are somewhat nice, and useful to recognize dangers. Sounds of crafting, mining etc. are appropriate
    *Game* Despite the continual updating and feedback, it's the community for the most part who creates what the game lacks. The absence of a tutorial of any kind forces to check the Wiki countless times; when not constantly checking the Wiki, I completely forgot that certain recipes even existed. The nice part is that one can modify the world as desired: (almost) every block is breakable, and reusable for whatever building you have in mind. Complex and bizarre mechanisms are possible thanks to the redstone components, and that's great.
    The success it had created a fervent community, but lazy developers. Overall, I would recommend the game if played on multiplayer and with the appropriate mods added.
    Expand
  38. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    One of the most legendary games that will hold for many years to come !! it's simple yet elegant! creativity at maximum level ! infinite landscape to walk on !! not the best but a decent fair multiplayer gameplay !! it's a game that will never be forgotten by its simplicity and huge fandome backing it up.
  39. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    better than the xbox version has more stuff doesnt lag during multi player alot of stuff that is better than this and everyone kows it i am sure of it
  40. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Brilliant! The best open world game ever! Minecraft is a unique game. On Creative mode Minecraft is virtual space for building what you want with the big amount of blocks. You can do that and in Survival, but you gonna need to get the needed materials. On Survival mode the game turns horror game, non unless you play on Peaceful. Minecraft proves that and the indie games are games whichBrilliant! The best open world game ever! Minecraft is a unique game. On Creative mode Minecraft is virtual space for building what you want with the big amount of blocks. You can do that and in Survival, but you gonna need to get the needed materials. On Survival mode the game turns horror game, non unless you play on Peaceful. Minecraft proves that and the indie games are games which deserve to be played and it is also big improvement for the PC gaming. With also periodical updates I give Minecraft A+ or 6+ with the Bulgarian school marks system where 6 is the best mark and 2 is the worst. Expand
  41. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    I can't understand why people do not like this game. Minecraft is a forum of creativity that anyone can join in on even if you're not creative. If you are creative, then you can build and have fun in normal Minecraft. If you aren't, there are thousands of custom maps, mini-game servers, and mods as a result of Minecraft's popularity. This game is more than just "digital legos". In regularI can't understand why people do not like this game. Minecraft is a forum of creativity that anyone can join in on even if you're not creative. If you are creative, then you can build and have fun in normal Minecraft. If you aren't, there are thousands of custom maps, mini-game servers, and mods as a result of Minecraft's popularity. This game is more than just "digital legos". In regular survival you have to work towards building up resources for each build that you do and sometimes you need to make sacrifices on design for protection against mobs or because you don't have access to that material yet. Expand
  42. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    An awesome game even in the demo version, this game is highly recommended for everyone of all ages. This game is probably one of the best games I have played.
  43. Dec 27, 2014
    8
    This game has unique graphic cube, that make this game different from others game. Modern game often try to prevent the rectangle graphic. This game is much fun.
  44. Dec 26, 2014
    0
    This game is so much better than terraria lol lol lol it copied them and notch is god and so is shrek and I think that every game with blocks is a copy of minecraft. LOLOLOLOLOL now don't disagree with me or I will hack you.

    From:Every minecraft fan ever (Not me)
  45. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The Reason Why I give Minecraft a solid 10 is because i love creating or making houses and other stuff.Minecraft gets better whenever you go to multiplayer mode playing with you friends making dumb stuff and playing other Mod.Minecraft is certainly great for those people who love making or creating stuff.This shows of how creative you are! But In night time go to sleep don't go out causeThe Reason Why I give Minecraft a solid 10 is because i love creating or making houses and other stuff.Minecraft gets better whenever you go to multiplayer mode playing with you friends making dumb stuff and playing other Mod.Minecraft is certainly great for those people who love making or creating stuff.This shows of how creative you are! But In night time go to sleep don't go out cause you surely need some armor and a sword or any weapons cause night time brings out unrealistic versions of different monsters!! Expand
  46. Dec 19, 2014
    6
    By the end of 2012, I heard for the first time about Minecraft; People only had bad things to say about how blocky it is, as well as how it lacks graphical content. But what those people dont understand, is what the games they usually play are lacking which Minecraft has - Creativity and Fun.
    I'm a solo player, not by choice, but by extremely slow internet, and i tend to really enjoy a
    By the end of 2012, I heard for the first time about Minecraft; People only had bad things to say about how blocky it is, as well as how it lacks graphical content. But what those people dont understand, is what the games they usually play are lacking which Minecraft has - Creativity and Fun.
    I'm a solo player, not by choice, but by extremely slow internet, and i tend to really enjoy a few hours of Minecraft every once in a while.
    Command blocks are something i havent touched yet, but i'm enjoying the creation of different factories and mechanisms with redstone.
    Exploration is also quite nice once you overcome the "i wont to break everything" phase.
    The main and only quest of the game, is to kill the Ender Dragon, which does not make any difference, if you do or dont.
    Minecraft is a great and fun game to play, but it's lacking a story line, quests, and role-playing.
    This is perhaps something that will be implemented in the near future, and it will bring in a much broader audience.
    Another huge issue i seem to have and cannot seem to get use to is the really, really bad animations that the mobs seem to have; They either walk straight, no bobbing, no attack animations, and make me wonder why im playing the game every time.
    Monster animations should be the main focus for a few months at Mojang, and Shaders are also another great concern. So based on visuals, animations and story-line, i wont be giving a great review for Minecraft. It's really good and has a massive community, but it needs a lot of work still, and fast.
    Expand
  47. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Amazing ! This game has everything. I know what you must be thinking ..... There is no story mode and it's just breaking and building blocks. Well no, it's more than that, mojang (the company who made this game) has made sure that this game helps other people modify it by modding or just playing with the in game added features to make something awesome. With the ability to do whatever youAmazing ! This game has everything. I know what you must be thinking ..... There is no story mode and it's just breaking and building blocks. Well no, it's more than that, mojang (the company who made this game) has made sure that this game helps other people modify it by modding or just playing with the in game added features to make something awesome. With the ability to do whatever you want the only limit is you imagination . This game adds a lot to the gaming community and has shaped youtube a lot . I personally feel this game requires a lot of attention and I do accept, the graphics are crap but you can't expect awesome graphics on a game that started out as indie right ? Expand
  48. Dec 16, 2014
    2
    Overrated game, I actually don't get why those "critics" have acclaimed this game, it's monotonous, boring as hell, graphics suck, time consuming, not rewarding as you get little input after lots of effort and time for building something, it has no gameplay whatsoever and you're just there in the middle of nowhere and have to waste time building something that will look terrible anyway.Overrated game, I actually don't get why those "critics" have acclaimed this game, it's monotonous, boring as hell, graphics suck, time consuming, not rewarding as you get little input after lots of effort and time for building something, it has no gameplay whatsoever and you're just there in the middle of nowhere and have to waste time building something that will look terrible anyway. The graphics are so horrible that give me headache, I'd rather play the originals Doom or Hexen instead of this sh*t with crappy design. Overrated at all. Expand
  49. Dec 11, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I personally think this game could have been way better.

    First I will talk about the pros of the game.
    Yes, Minecraft encourages creativity and gets us to use our imagination, and this is appreciated. However, if you do singleplayer creative, it gets boring after a while, and if you do creative on a server, you will run into endless encounters of being griefed, trolled, etc. However with thg future updates being released, Creativity is probably Minecrafts true aspect to play this Game. Creative mode is greatly appreciated.

    Well, to be honest, that's all I can really think of when talking about the pros of Minecraft. I don't believe Minecraft is good enough to be a Survival, or PVP game. What am I talking about? Well if you play survival, you build a house and survive the night. Maybe do some other things. It just feels like the updated don't really do anything to benefit Survial mode, the updates are just added for the sake of being added. It's like you play for a while, get bored, then play when new update comes out, get bored play when new update comes out etc. I really find it a pain in the @ss when playing Survial mode (and no I am not a noob at Survival).

    I also believe that PVP is by far the WORST aspect of Minecraft. Firstly Diamond Armour (Enchanted and Non enchanted) really ruins the whole purpose of PVP as it is FAR better than the other armors. Minecraft PVP is not dynamic at all. It's literally people whacking each other repeatedly non stop. I dare to say that Call of Duty has a better PVP experience than Minecraft. (And Call of Duty is a piece of **** There is absolutely no dynamics to Minecraft PVP is literally people whacking each other repeatedly.

    Enderpearls really ruin the aspect of PVP as well. Why? Well you can fight someone and almost kill them, then they just teleport away and you can't do anything. Enderpearls really defeat the **** purpose of Skywars (A game type on multiplayer).Enchantments add to the unbalance of PVP because they are way too overpowered, and give the user a massive advantage.The last reason why PVP sucks in Minecraft is well....LAG

    Lag is one of Minecrafts biggest issues, and it's unfortunate that Mojang made Minecraft in Java. Java is probably the worst thing to code a game in, because it causes Lag as explained, and it's also easy for hackers to edit the coding to their liking and cheat. So when you get killed by a hacker in Minecraft PVP, remember that hacker probably wouldn't be a hacker if Minecraft hadn't written the game in Java.

    The Next issue I want to point out is the Graphics of Minecraft. Many people say, "Oh the graphics of a game don't really matter". REALLY??? would you Play games like Skyrim if they had the same graphics as Daggerfall? Would you play GTA V if it had the same graphics as GTA San Andreas? I don't think so...

    Another big factor deteriorating the game is the Community. Hackers, Greifers, Trolls, 12 year old homophobics, 6 year olds who whine and complain, people who think that they're all that, and Stupid and Biased server owners and admins really makes up Minecraft servers and the Minecraft community in a nutshell. In other words, 95% of the people who play minecrap are pieces of ****!!!

    Ok so maybe you stopped reading my review after I said that, but YOU KNOW it's the ugly truth. Minecraft could have been such a better game if Mojang actually knew what the **** they were doing. But it's ok, I forgive them for being Nooby developers.

    ***

    Well on A positive note, Minecraft is unique from any other game that's out there (both in good and bad ways), and If you are Lucky, can find a server where these issues are at a minimal. Speaking of servers, there is pretty much a server for just about every feature of Minecraft which is greatly appreciated.
    Expand
  50. Req
    Dec 8, 2014
    9
    A look at Minecraft in 2014. Still an immense achievement/innovation in video-games. Some pros and cons:

    Pros: >addictive >the minimalistic graphics/design compliments the mechanics of the game >soundtrack also goes well with game >memorable >large, dedicated fan-base >great potential >multiplayer is fun Cons: >can be buggy/glitchy >Not for everyone >can get boring and
    A look at Minecraft in 2014. Still an immense achievement/innovation in video-games. Some pros and cons:

    Pros:
    >addictive
    >the minimalistic graphics/design compliments the mechanics of the game
    >soundtrack also goes well with game
    >memorable
    >large, dedicated fan-base
    >great potential
    >multiplayer is fun

    Cons:

    >can be buggy/glitchy
    >Not for everyone
    >can get boring and repetitive
    >community on Multiplayer servers can be toxic

    Overall, I think it's a game that's worth a play
    Expand
  51. Dec 8, 2014
    9
    This is the game that defines sandbox. In games like GTA or Saints Row you are limited by the core gameplay that is shooting. In Minecraft the only thing limiting you is your creativity. You want to build? You can do it. You want to fight? You can do it. You want to have fun with friends? You can do it. Minecraft is that game which is not going to get forgoten like the classics, becauseThis is the game that defines sandbox. In games like GTA or Saints Row you are limited by the core gameplay that is shooting. In Minecraft the only thing limiting you is your creativity. You want to build? You can do it. You want to fight? You can do it. You want to have fun with friends? You can do it. Minecraft is that game which is not going to get forgoten like the classics, because creativity is always actual. Expand
  52. Dec 7, 2014
    8
    Mojang develop a very cool game about placing blocks.

    - Leon Lozahic -

    Pros :
    + Old School Graphics,very cool ! :D
    + Ton of blocks (and can add mods)
    + Very Realistic Biomes !
    + Sound effects is cool and realistic

    Cons :
    - Bugs (logical)
    - Encoded with Java
    - Multiplayer is not easy to configure
  53. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    I don't get why so many people hate this game. They say that it gets boring, but there truly are infinite things to do, especially when it comes to multiplayer. There are so many servers that create game modes that are basically their owns games. Building and redstone are perfect when you are bored. If you want, there are hundreds of mods to use. I've seen people say they hate it for notI don't get why so many people hate this game. They say that it gets boring, but there truly are infinite things to do, especially when it comes to multiplayer. There are so many servers that create game modes that are basically their owns games. Building and redstone are perfect when you are bored. If you want, there are hundreds of mods to use. I've seen people say they hate it for not explaining itself, but when I started, I never even thought about searching the internet for help, at least until I got into redstone. The developers do add things at random it seems, but that just makes it better. You can choose what parts you want to use. This was one of the first computer games I played, and I haven't found a game yet that matches this one. It haven't lost its touch, and there is something for everyone, no matter what your age. Expand
  54. Dec 4, 2014
    6
    Minecraft is a pretty good game. I purchased it around alpha-ish time.

    It can be really fun, and building, while not particularly fun is satisfying. The main problem I have with it is that, after you've put maybe 10-15 hours, maybe 20, the game will get really stale unless you're really slow at the game or want to take it slowly. After that, the only thing you can really do to
    Minecraft is a pretty good game. I purchased it around alpha-ish time.

    It can be really fun, and building, while not particularly fun is satisfying.

    The main problem I have with it is that, after you've put maybe 10-15 hours, maybe 20, the game will get really stale unless you're really slow at the game or want to take it slowly.

    After that, the only thing you can really do to refresh it is either play with friends which is fun for a while or install mods.

    Personally, apart from a few games, I feel mods can ruin a game. This is one of those games I feel is ruined by mods. It is just my opinion tho, so if you love mods whatever the game, go ahead.
    Expand
  55. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    MInecraft is a sandbox game created as a hobby by a man named Markus “Notch” Person, although recently sold to Microsoft for $2.5 billion. After developing it for many months, Markus decided he couldn’t handle the game on his own, and founded the company Mojang which still works on the game today.

    The main goal of Minecraft is to do what you want. There is no set goal, no save the
    MInecraft is a sandbox game created as a hobby by a man named Markus “Notch” Person, although recently sold to Microsoft for $2.5 billion. After developing it for many months, Markus decided he couldn’t handle the game on his own, and founded the company Mojang which still works on the game today.

    The main goal of Minecraft is to do what you want. There is no set goal, no save the princess, no destroy the bad guys plot. There are two game types. Laid back, relaxed creative mode, where you can get anything out of your inventory, and the challenging survival mode, with monsters, starvation, damage, and resources must be gathered.

    Creative mode, the most popular among the two with the younger gamers, or just people with low-end pc’s that can’t handle the game too well, is very good for testing things so that you don’t build something in your survival world, only to find out it doesn’t work. Most people have a “test world” a world in which they put all of their builds, mainly using redstone, in to make sure they were reliable and worked for survival mode.

    Survival mode, the more fun game mode (in my opinion) is very challenging, as you start with nothing and have to work your way up. Some times living off of rotten flesh as a food source, you must find a way to survive once night hits, allowing the monsters to spawn.

    One of the best parts of the game however, is that it’s open-sourced. You can go into the game code and change whatever you like, which allows for any type of mod you’re looking for, whether it makes the game easier, or makes it much more hostile, or just increases performance of the game on your computer.
    Expand
  56. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    Eye looove ettttt69, i love to ride pigs and eat pufferfish whilst exploring minecraft wiki. fam you will loooove et too if you get it, make everything even P3N1Ses
  57. Nov 29, 2014
    7
    Actually, I had a lot of fun with Minecraft, and lost several hours of my life...

    The sandbox experience is really great, and the blocky world has a charm to it, and is really nicely done. Yes, I am applauding the graphics. People think every **** game should have Crysis-like graphics, gee... But, moving on... The problem with Minecraft, despite all that you can do with it, is
    Actually, I had a lot of fun with Minecraft, and lost several hours of my life...

    The sandbox experience is really great, and the blocky world has a charm to it, and is really nicely done. Yes, I am applauding the graphics. People think every **** game should have Crysis-like graphics, gee... But, moving on...

    The problem with Minecraft, despite all that you can do with it, is that... Well, it gets boring kinda fast. I mean, 1 week after you start a game and you play it like crazy, but then you're just bored, and you don't really wanna start a new game.

    The mods are awesome and the multiplayer is really nice, but it's not MY kind of multiplayer, so I give it a miss.

    But what annoys me is that all the internet is FULL of Minecraft, everywhere. And this turns me off. There's a gazillion videos on Youtube of Minecraft, with kids screaming everywhere... and yes, this lowered the score for me. I know, if it is so popular, it means it's a sucessful game. And I'm not trying to be a hipster. But the community of the game ruined some of its charm for me.

    But, still, it's a very nice game, and I'm glad I played something like 20 hours of it.
    Expand
  58. Nov 24, 2014
    8
    This is the best out of all of the minecraft games. It is the original and it is always to usually the first one to get all the new updates. I say it only gets an 8 because I like games with stories and objectives and this is kind of like and endless sandbox game with difficulties and you are able to die. That's why I give it an 8 but don't get me wrong I still like this game but... IThis is the best out of all of the minecraft games. It is the original and it is always to usually the first one to get all the new updates. I say it only gets an 8 because I like games with stories and objectives and this is kind of like and endless sandbox game with difficulties and you are able to die. That's why I give it an 8 but don't get me wrong I still like this game but... I already explained it. Expand
  59. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is the most creative game I ever played. In the game you can build anything anywhere and can chose creative or survive mode, and the game my look a little block but it makes it a charm. I hope Microsoft takes good care of our beloved game. It's my favourite game of all time.
  60. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    This game is brilliant. There is something for everyone, from peaceful building servers to hardcore PvP, which makes your heart race. It's an amazing game.

    If you ever get bored, you can add a mod to your game that changes everything.
  61. Nov 22, 2014
    2
    If you happen to have a time machine handy, go back to 2010. Minecraft was at its best then. Now, in 2014, the game is flooded with content. So much so, that it's as thinly spread out as a jar of peanut butter over the Atlantic Ocean. It has too much going for it, which kills the game as a whole. It only stands up for the complete stupidity of the "vanilla" or original mode with itsIf you happen to have a time machine handy, go back to 2010. Minecraft was at its best then. Now, in 2014, the game is flooded with content. So much so, that it's as thinly spread out as a jar of peanut butter over the Atlantic Ocean. It has too much going for it, which kills the game as a whole. It only stands up for the complete stupidity of the "vanilla" or original mode with its absolutely MASSIVE modding community. But, if your game relies on mods to attract a crowd, you might as well head on over and sign up for Roblox, you illiterate ****
    TL;DR: A depressingly **** game that killed itself over time by saturating its content to the point of complete boredom. I can't go longer than 10 minutes playing this before I realize just how interesting my ceiling looks, a sign of true boredom. Consider this a platform to hold up mods, rather than a game and you can give it a solid 6/10. But, since this is a game, 2/10, you **** RIP Minecraft, an excellent game killed by oversaturation of content and a community that somehow beats out Call of Duty in the category of ****ty **** for ****s.
    Good if you need your spoiled ****face 10 year olds to shut up, otherwise, don't recommend. Want a real sandbox? Go play DayZ or something.
    Expand
  62. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    It's very difficult to actually call a game. I think of it as more of a time-fill. Nonetheless, the simplicity yet grandness of it all is simply in a league of its own. I compare it to the Grand Canyon. Simple but vast and majestic. There is a difficult learning curve, no story obviously and a decent soundtrack. I'm glad to sit down and play something that doesn't take itself tooIt's very difficult to actually call a game. I think of it as more of a time-fill. Nonetheless, the simplicity yet grandness of it all is simply in a league of its own. I compare it to the Grand Canyon. Simple but vast and majestic. There is a difficult learning curve, no story obviously and a decent soundtrack. I'm glad to sit down and play something that doesn't take itself too seriously. Just viewing what some people have made over the years has boosted this game from a 6 to an 8 for me. Enjoyable, vast, epic yet lonely. Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2014
    8
    The reason Minecraft is simply flawless is because it is a canvas for anything really. Survival Mode is constantly fun and Creative Mode is fun for building.

    However, when I first began playing it, I was clueless to mods and texture packs and custom maps and the game got very boring. I eventually learned about installing them and that got me back into the game but that's just a warning
    The reason Minecraft is simply flawless is because it is a canvas for anything really. Survival Mode is constantly fun and Creative Mode is fun for building.

    However, when I first began playing it, I was clueless to mods and texture packs and custom maps and the game got very boring. I eventually learned about installing them and that got me back into the game but that's just a warning for anyone buying the game. Also, if you find yourself bored...Technic Launcher!
    Expand
  64. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    The good:
    + The game is VERY moddable. You want to make a factory? An army of minions? Be a force others would fear? Make a nuclear missile? Do advanced alchemy? How about a forcefield? Want to level up progressively and improve your skills? Tame animals? How about a fusion reactor? Or maybe you like shapeshifting. Like PvP? Find a server with rules and gamemodes of your liking. Choose
    The good:
    + The game is VERY moddable. You want to make a factory? An army of minions? Be a force others would fear? Make a nuclear missile? Do advanced alchemy? How about a forcefield? Want to level up progressively and improve your skills? Tame animals? How about a fusion reactor? Or maybe you like shapeshifting. Like PvP? Find a server with rules and gamemodes of your liking. Choose the modpack that doesn't have the things you hate and have your perfect version of Minecraft. :P

    The bad:
    - The game is written in Java - you can't have performance and a great texture pack or host a server on a low-end PC. If you want smooth gameplay on a low-end PC, you'll have to Google it and learn how to make it possible.
    Expand
  65. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    The game is just a masterpiece, creating your own building or structur, explore every dimension, battle zombies, skeleton, enderman, and many more! the thing i like the most about minecraft is the community is just creative! they build something amazing, even one of them build a full scale of denmark, A FULL SCALE!!! THE ENTIRE PLACE HAS BEEN REBUILD ON MINECRAFT!!! The only thing i hopeThe game is just a masterpiece, creating your own building or structur, explore every dimension, battle zombies, skeleton, enderman, and many more! the thing i like the most about minecraft is the community is just creative! they build something amazing, even one of them build a full scale of denmark, A FULL SCALE!!! THE ENTIRE PLACE HAS BEEN REBUILD ON MINECRAFT!!! The only thing i hope on this game is that i wish microsoft dont destroy minecraft, i give it 10 out of 10. (have played this game for 3 years and still now) Expand
  66. Nov 5, 2014
    2
    this gaem iz praty fin. it maiks me madd slumteims becuase piople break my hosues. its fun too kuill animals tho. i like makyng houses 4 powple cuaz i maek them owt uv drit
  67. TSW
    Oct 27, 2014
    0
    I've finally fond a website where my school friends won't kill me because this game is the worst me I've ever played! Horrible game design with the lack of any tutorial, no graphics worth a damn and no character what so ever! I feel robbed of the £15 I spent on this turd!
  68. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    I can't understand all these Minecraft haters... Hey asswads! No game is perfect! Get that through your thick skulls already! Anyway, Minecraft is one of the best, if not THE best, 3D sandbox game ever made. And before you call me a mindless fanboy, i'm not. I just like the game. If you don't like it, fine. Just don't keep pushing more and more crap talk out of your ass if you don't likeI can't understand all these Minecraft haters... Hey asswads! No game is perfect! Get that through your thick skulls already! Anyway, Minecraft is one of the best, if not THE best, 3D sandbox game ever made. And before you call me a mindless fanboy, i'm not. I just like the game. If you don't like it, fine. Just don't keep pushing more and more crap talk out of your ass if you don't like the game. Sheesh. Expand
  69. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    A truly wonderful game where you are the creator and you can build anything you want this game has been around for 5 years and its till only getting bigger. People are making YouTube Channels about his Twitch accounts. People are making mods, toys, phone cases, clothing, and its only getting bigger. They even have they're own convention. Over all this game is going down in video game history.
  70. Oct 23, 2014
    7
    Good fun. One gets immersed for a while then it loses it's appeal. Overall it's a very intuitive idea, but if I have to mine another piece of rock I'll kill myself.
  71. Oct 20, 2014
    10
    This game is simply awesome and the most unique. I've been playing minecraft pc for 3 years and i bought the ps3 edition last year. This game requires a good brain. You have to dig your way to diamonds, fight the ender dragon...enchant ur diamond stuff then fight the wither. Even multiplayer server are awesome. I donated to 2 of them. It's simply awesome. All i want is to makeThis game is simply awesome and the most unique. I've been playing minecraft pc for 3 years and i bought the ps3 edition last year. This game requires a good brain. You have to dig your way to diamonds, fight the ender dragon...enchant ur diamond stuff then fight the wither. Even multiplayer server are awesome. I donated to 2 of them. It's simply awesome. All i want is to make minecraft reals for free. Enjoy the unique Minecraft Expand
  72. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    This is definitely high on my favorites list, this game is great not only because of the game itself, which is an 8 out of 10 on its own, but the mods for this game. This game has so many mods, it's only beaten by Garry's mod itself.

    The main game works like this, You have three game modes: Survival, Creative and Hardcore. The ones you need to know are Survival and Creative. In
    This is definitely high on my favorites list, this game is great not only because of the game itself, which is an 8 out of 10 on its own, but the mods for this game. This game has so many mods, it's only beaten by Garry's mod itself.

    The main game works like this, You have three game modes: Survival, Creative and Hardcore. The ones you need to know are Survival and Creative.
    In Survival mode, the main goal is to collect resources during the day to be able to defend yourself at night against the enemies or "Mobs" that spawn in the middle of the night, whether that involves building a shelter, creating weapons, or just running away from them through the forest as I did my first time playing. After awhile, you can collect enough resources to learn the more advanced mechanics of the game. Like farming, potions, alternate dimension travel, and more advanced mobs.
    In Creative mode, you have every available block or item available in survival mode plus more. With the ability to create anything you want.
    In Hardcore mode, the mechanics are the exact same as in survival mode, but with exceptions. The difficulty of the game is raised to even harder than hard. If you die once, be prepared to say bye to your world, because that's all you get, one life.

    the game has glitches, which everyone forgets that every game has. but I have never had anything that I couldn't fix by reloading the world.

    The overall game itself is 8 out of 10, but with the mods that come out,varying to adding a new item to the game to complete overhaul of the game mechanics themselves, I'll give it a 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  73. Oct 19, 2014
    2
    Si su estética y su desarrollo fuera dirigido hacia un público mas adulto sería de agradecer. Con una cierta edad, a uno le da vergüenza jugar a esto. Los objetivos son repetitivos y aburridos, para crear algo decente hay que dedicarle demasiado tiempo.
    ¿Muchas posibilidades? Puede ser. Pero si el juego se hace aburrido pronto de que sirve.
    Un juego así pero con un enfoque adulto y real
    Si su estética y su desarrollo fuera dirigido hacia un público mas adulto sería de agradecer. Con una cierta edad, a uno le da vergüenza jugar a esto. Los objetivos son repetitivos y aburridos, para crear algo decente hay que dedicarle demasiado tiempo.
    ¿Muchas posibilidades? Puede ser. Pero si el juego se hace aburrido pronto de que sirve.
    Un juego así pero con un enfoque adulto y real podría estar bien, pero no, Minecraft es un mundo de cubos aburrido e infantil. Una pérdida de tiempo, algo así como LBP pero peor.
    Expand
  74. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Very simple. One of the greatest games ever made. Simple, unique and one of the few games out there where anyone can find something to love about it. No matter what else comes out that may have had higher production value or better graphics, minecraft is a constant that will someday. if not already, be known as the single greatest open world and survival game to ever be made.
  75. Oct 13, 2014
    5
    This game used to be good back when Notch was in charge, but now it has gone over the cliff. A fun game single-player, but often repetitive and boring as all hell.
    5/10 - Ben Hazelden
  76. Oct 8, 2014
    0
    Not worth the purchase at all! The game is full of bugs and glitches! It wouldn't download on my PC either. The controls were easy. I don't recommend Minecraft to anybody!
  77. Oct 1, 2014
    10
    This game has so-called terrible, blocky graphics that creates its unique atmosphere and feeling, no clear instructions of what to do because there's only your way to play it. You say it's just all about placing and breaking blocks and after few hours of play, there's nothing more. But that's not true. Minecraft is like mathematics. You dig more about it, and you'll discover more about it.This game has so-called terrible, blocky graphics that creates its unique atmosphere and feeling, no clear instructions of what to do because there's only your way to play it. You say it's just all about placing and breaking blocks and after few hours of play, there's nothing more. But that's not true. Minecraft is like mathematics. You dig more about it, and you'll discover more about it. There's endless beautiful possibilities. Even if you don't like survival, you can go creative. Redstone, complex buildings, and clever contraptions or trickeries... Literally endless. Expand
  78. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    Welcome to the wonderland of blocks! Gather some wood, build you a house, and watch out for that creeper! This is the ultimate survival game where you build! Don't like to survive? Switch to creative mode, and build yourself some pixel art! Feeling lonely on your island? Set up a server or join somebody's server! Welcome to Minecraft!
  79. Sep 28, 2014
    7
    If your into gaming, there's probably nothing you already don't know about Minecraft. Chances are you have it, played it and love it. However Minecraft is only fun if you have a vivid and strong imagination for things to create. If not then perhaps you waste your savings on the new Call of Duty. Even with 1.8 Minecraft still has a lot to do and improve. I would not say this is forIf your into gaming, there's probably nothing you already don't know about Minecraft. Chances are you have it, played it and love it. However Minecraft is only fun if you have a vivid and strong imagination for things to create. If not then perhaps you waste your savings on the new Call of Duty. Even with 1.8 Minecraft still has a lot to do and improve. I would not say this is for everyone, there are frustrations if you don't know how to start things off. If you have the console version this won't be a problem since there is a tutorial and basically tells you the crafting recipes and points out every block you see. Don't be fooled into thinking this game is only playable on "The master race" that is PC because it isn't. But while it is undoubtedly dumbed down for players in the console version and doesn't have as many updates it is still fun and you do still get a sense of accomplishment on either really. Minecraft should at least be tried by everyone just too see what all the fuss is about then you might find yourself remembering every rule and crafting recipe in the game at three in the morning. Expand
  80. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Best Sand Box Game ever :) you can create your own world, your own imagination, nothing stops you, no quest to take. no one can tell you what you cannot cannot do. beat the ender dragon, make shelters, Breed cows,chickens,pigs.. , survive the night. and don't go near the creepers .
  81. Sep 25, 2014
    8
    A well crafted indie game. It's really addicting and fun and even if you get bored of survival mode there are like a billion servers out there with different game modes and stuff. Its a lot of fun and if you don't have it already get it, its worth it.
  82. Sep 24, 2014
    2
    Fun at first, fun for youtubers, overrated as hell, eventually only mods and plugins will make it fun. Servers if you're lucky. But guess who DOESN'T get paid? Mod, plugin and server devs. Actual game devs are lazy idiots who ride off of the success of the community and sell it to microsoft, before walking out claiming they can't handle it.
  83. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this game.................................................................................................................................alot.. Expand
  84. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    First Things First, I have been playing Minecraft since version 1.0.0 the full release of the game, So I have seen the game grow and the additions. In this review I will be as non-biased as possible.

    Graphics Minecraft's graphics are charming it doesn't go back to the Pac-man age nor does it go to the graphics of Call of Duty, It just looks Charming. The mobs range from looking cute
    First Things First, I have been playing Minecraft since version 1.0.0 the full release of the game, So I have seen the game grow and the additions. In this review I will be as non-biased as possible.

    Graphics

    Minecraft's graphics are charming it doesn't go back to the Pac-man age nor does it go to the graphics of Call of Duty, It just looks Charming. The mobs range from looking cute to looking menacing, from explosive to simple. The Blocks look anywhere from "Ooh this looks interesting" to "This makes my eyes hurt so much". The lighting in the game is pretty balanced because when it's day, it's not blinding light, and when it's night, its not dark where you can't see anything.
    Graphics 7.75/10

    GamePlay

    Minecraft has two main modes of play. Survival, and Creative. I won't be going into creative but to sum it up, You have Unlimited Resources and you can build anything you want in Creative.

    In Survival, you can break blocks, craft tools, go mining, and fend off the mobs at night time.

    But in Survival you NEED to set a goal for yourself to not get bored. You can't just say "i'm going to just do whatever" halfway though your diamond hunt en devour, you need to say " I want to build a mountain into a death cave" of course that doesn't mean that you HAVE to do that before you start up your first world but you do need to get inspired to play Minecraft. Also you will need a guide of some sort, here is a link to help you survive your first night http://minecraft.gamepedia.com/Tutorials/Beginner%27s_guide you may to read the entire thing as minecraft doesn't hold your hand.

    Gameplay 8/10

    Multiplayer

    Minecraft in multiplayer is basically single player with friends in SMP (Survival Multi-player)
    However setting up a server can be difficult without knowing what you are doing but if everyone is on your network, you can just set your game to LAN Mode and it'll be hosted just fine.

    Multiplayer 6.5/10

    Community
    Ok so many avid Minecraft players may be wondering why i have not mentioned the Community in the Universe of Minecraft. Well it deserved its own segment in its reviews, basically the community is huge, with more than 16,668,090 people with the full game you bet your @$$ there is a giant community. Because Minecraft is coded in java, the game can easily be modded and even in game you can do a lot with the in game redstone. The community knows this all to well, there are Millions of servers many have custom minigames, there is SO MUCH to do in the Community. But as always there are real sticks in the mud so thats the only bad thing about the community that.

    Community 9.25/10

    Personal Story

    When i heard about Minecraft i was very interested, i got the game for Christmas and played it so much every day. lately Mojang has had a rough time and i wanted to write this before Minecraft is just a game i own and rarely come back to. as I see the game grow and the Community, It looks like seeing your friends kid grow up, you were with them and you felt good for your friend. I remember when the premium account number was jut below 12 Million, how I felt i was part of something very giant. It pains me that something that I loved so dearly is now a mere memory for me, but, someday maybe i'll come back and see how much of a game Minecraft was to me. and how i should give it another shot.
    Expand
  85. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    As much as I hate what Minecraft has done for the gaming industry,there is no reason why you shouldn't play it.Ive spent more hours then I can count on this game,and every time I think I'm free of its clutches,I feel the need to mine one more block
  86. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    It has infinite options for gameplay, expansion with mods for every more variety, and a social aspect via server play. What more can you want from a game? This game will define a generation.
  87. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    [RUS]Игра нормальная, графика пиксельная, если шейдеры установить , то будет нормально. Поддержка 3D-анаглифа это заставляет почуять другую реальность. Игра была бы отличной в России, но школота захватила и её. Особенно это Mr.Lololoshka и Frost окончательно сделали её мусором. И моды на неё тоже сделали эффект мусора( по крайней мере в России).
    [ENG]The normal game, the graphics pixel,
    [RUS]Игра нормальная, графика пиксельная, если шейдеры установить , то будет нормально. Поддержка 3D-анаглифа это заставляет почуять другую реальность. Игра была бы отличной в России, но школота захватила и её. Особенно это Mr.Lololoshka и Frost окончательно сделали её мусором. И моды на неё тоже сделали эффект мусора( по крайней мере в России).
    [ENG]The normal game, the graphics pixel, if the shaders are set , you will be fine. Supports 3D anaglyph it makes you smell different reality. The game would be great in Russia, but almost captured it. This is especially Mr.Lololoshka and Frost finally made it garbage. And fashion, it also made the effect of garbage( at least in Russia).
    Expand
  88. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spawning in a world, punching wood, surviving the night... too destroying the ender dragon! This game is arguably the best game ever (so far) the fact that you don't just explore a world, you explore... And edit the world amazes me, and many others, that is why I give this a ten! Expand
  89. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    Minecraft seems hard to get used to in the first place since there's no tutorial, but when you know what to do to survive in the wild, the game becomes an unforgettable experience which encourage you to do whatever you like, especially when your imagination's big!
  90. Sep 1, 2014
    9
    according to me is minecraft the most fun and best game ever made! it's no means perfect but i have played it for more than 2000 hours and for more than 99% of the time i have had a fun time. this may not be a "game" to some regards but i have been playing this with most of my friends. the best part of the game according to me is the creative mode and me and a couple of my friends had aaccording to me is minecraft the most fun and best game ever made! it's no means perfect but i have played it for more than 2000 hours and for more than 99% of the time i have had a fun time. this may not be a "game" to some regards but i have been playing this with most of my friends. the best part of the game according to me is the creative mode and me and a couple of my friends had a server dedicated to just building.

    this is a good game if you like to be creative but it's not good for someone that want the game to tell you what to do.
    Expand
  91. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Does a game have to be perfect, to be rated '10'?
    Because as innovative, creative and original Minecraft is, it's certainly not without it's flaws. A lot of flaws. I will not go over them all, because most reviews allready do this quite openly.
    But does the game really deserves to be critiziced because of it? I honestly don't think so... Minecraft is whatever you want it to be. It
    Does a game have to be perfect, to be rated '10'?
    Because as innovative, creative and original Minecraft is, it's certainly not without it's flaws. A lot of flaws. I will not go over them all, because most reviews allready do this quite openly.
    But does the game really deserves to be critiziced because of it? I honestly don't think so...
    Minecraft is whatever you want it to be. It provides you with a feeling of freedom that a lot of other games want to make you believe you have. It's not as simple as 'just a building game', it encourages you to reflect upon yourself and see how far you can take it.
    And that's where I believe the true magic of Minecraft shines. It's not about the game anymore, it's about showing yourself and the community how creative, artistic and smart you are just by using the same blocks everyone has and placing them in a way no one has thought of yet.
    It's a social platform.
    So yes, the game has it's flaws. It can feel 'choppy', chunks can ben slow when loaded and pigs seem to be spinning all over the place and climbing trees. Also, the developers make promises that sometimes can take a long time to actually fulfill. But none of this is actually 'gamebreaking'. Simply put, none of this matters..
    It doesn't matter, because what the game does is providing you with a sense of accomplishment, all on your own. Not your ordinary 'If you complete this challenge, you will be rewarded with this' accomplishment, but the same proud you felt when you we're a kid, playing with lego's and wanting to share your creation with your parents.
    If it's a full sized replica of the Enterprise. If it's a functional working HDD. If it's an underground city where the entire community is being provided with food, shelter, safety and entertainment. You created this, you are a part of this.
    People who don't play this game will think you're wasting your time. People who do play this game will understand.
    Expand
  92. Aug 19, 2014
    3
    The game was fun at first.Now it turned into a map making tool.They dont even listen to their fans.Almost all servers are p2w.On pvp servers if you kill someone you get called out hacks and the person starts raging.There havent been any "fun" uptades for a while just snapshots.
  93. Aug 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I say this is the best game ever.

    The Aim Of The Game is to survive or to create masterpieces with infinite blocks and flying.
    The Survival Is Amazing. No Comment.
    The Creative Mode Is Amazing.
    I haven't tried the HARDCORE mode but I watched videos of HARDCORE mode Survival.

    I say MOJANG has made the Best Game Ever, No 1 in my BEST game list.
    Expand
  94. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Es muy bueno ya que puedes hacer casi todo!, es malo jugar solo... pero si juegas con amigos es lo mejor muy entretenido y divertido 100% recomendado :D xD :,3
  95. Aug 13, 2014
    3
    This "game" is way too overrated for what it really is. First of all, the price for the PC version is ridiculous - for the same amount of money, you can get a big hit game with a lot more content, better quality and better support.

    Even though the price seemed too much, I wanted to give it a try. After all, I've played for quite some time the mobile versions of the game (Android and
    This "game" is way too overrated for what it really is. First of all, the price for the PC version is ridiculous - for the same amount of money, you can get a big hit game with a lot more content, better quality and better support.

    Even though the price seemed too much, I wanted to give it a try. After all, I've played for quite some time the mobile versions of the game (Android and iOS), which were enjoyable - but priced more accordingly. I've bought the game from their online store, paid using PayPal but never got the game.

    It turns out, their customer service is terrible. It took them more than a week to reply to my support request - and when they did, I got a blunt reply back. This is not the way to treat a customer.

    Yes, Minecraft is a unique game - and it has a lot of potential, but unfortunately the people behind it seem to be more focused on the profits right now than on the quality.

    I've only managed to play the demo version on PC which seems quite average. The graphics are nice at first, but they become annoying after a while - luckily there are plenty of mods to fix this. The performance is average - games with better graphics run a lot better on the same machine.

    Despite having a very large modding community, it does not have an open API. Considering the plans for expanding into a MMO style setup (Minecraft Realms), I'm wondering what's the future of modding in a setup like this.

    Conclusion: Until they decide to improve the quality of the game, to implement a better customer support system (and fix their payment service), I really cannot recommend this game, unless you're looking for trouble.
    Expand
  96. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    First of all it's very lonely game. I am talking about single-player, of course. You can't get this sense of loneliness in any other game. And for me it's very enjoyable.
    Secondly, it's beautiful game. Not talking about graphics, but style. Rain, snow, night - everything is really well-made.
    And thirdly, feel of discovery is awesome.
    Its a great game and you should at least try it.
  97. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is the only game that truly has created an immersive atmosphere, and really can familiarize the character with true freedom. Minecraft is a playground, a very large playground that is waiting for you, arms wide open. And, trust me, you will NOT want to leave this playground for a long time.

    Blocky, though memorable graphics will make it hard for the user to not be able to spot
    Minecraft is the only game that truly has created an immersive atmosphere, and really can familiarize the character with true freedom. Minecraft is a playground, a very large playground that is waiting for you, arms wide open. And, trust me, you will NOT want to leave this playground for a long time.

    Blocky, though memorable graphics will make it hard for the user to not be able to spot the sight of a dirt block or a diamond sword. And the sounds of breaking blocks, and the beautifully nostalgic, yet for some reason melancholy soundtrack will be stuck in your head for hours.

    Minecraft is that game that comes out once in a decade. That game that truly separates itself from all others, despite how many clones may attempt to mimic it. It is a game that isn't going anywhere anytime soon, and that just makes it that much better.

    10/10
    Expand
  98. Aug 7, 2014
    2
    Personally I tend to the negative side of the game. Not because of the game itself, the gameplay is fine, but the childish community of the game can be very annoying. Since the game is made by straight out java (as I know), it does not allow advanced managing method of the game though Minecraft allows some simple mods. Players can destroy other's creations easily and thus you can see howPersonally I tend to the negative side of the game. Not because of the game itself, the gameplay is fine, but the childish community of the game can be very annoying. Since the game is made by straight out java (as I know), it does not allow advanced managing method of the game though Minecraft allows some simple mods. Players can destroy other's creations easily and thus you can see how grieving is so common in this game. I understand that freedom is the main aspect of sandbox games but I think the situation may become a bit too far for multiplayer in Minecraft. Expand
  99. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Why? Why would you play a game with so little effort? No replay value? No "Gameplay"? A game that rips off so many great games. don't buy this game! this is nothing more than a novelty item that became over hyped. if you want a game where you can unleash your creativity try the sims or simcity or an city building game for that matter. I know that all you fanboys out there are going toWhy? Why would you play a game with so little effort? No replay value? No "Gameplay"? A game that rips off so many great games. don't buy this game! this is nothing more than a novelty item that became over hyped. if you want a game where you can unleash your creativity try the sims or simcity or an city building game for that matter. I know that all you fanboys out there are going to shred this review to pieces but I don't care. get a life. Expand
  100. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    When I first heard about minecraft I was then playing Total Miner: Forge and thought to myself- This is the coolest creation game I have ever seen. After browsing for a while trying to determine whether or not I wanted another Total Miner lookalike I bought the beta copy of Minecraft and started playing. Within the first ten or fifteen minutes I was blown away by the size and capacity thatWhen I first heard about minecraft I was then playing Total Miner: Forge and thought to myself- This is the coolest creation game I have ever seen. After browsing for a while trying to determine whether or not I wanted another Total Miner lookalike I bought the beta copy of Minecraft and started playing. Within the first ten or fifteen minutes I was blown away by the size and capacity that Minecraft delivers, and awe-struck when presented with all of the builds and creatures that killed me the first night. It was amazing. Now that the complete version has been around for some time, and after quite a few add-ons and updates, its no problem for me to say that as an arcade game Minecraft will stay number one for as long as it pleases, and as for a PC game, well, it sets the bar for all open world creator genres, and has easily distinguished itself to me as being one of the top ten best video games of all time. Expand
  101. Aug 17, 2012
    0
    This is my favorite game of all time. If you ever enjoyed playing with legos, this game is the only one to adequately capture that feeling. Combine that with regular free updates and a huge modding community and there is absolutely no reason why anyone should rate this game poorly. The terrain generator alone can keep you busy exploring your unique world for hours. Multiplayer is evenThis is my favorite game of all time. If you ever enjoyed playing with legos, this game is the only one to adequately capture that feeling. Combine that with regular free updates and a huge modding community and there is absolutely no reason why anyone should rate this game poorly. The terrain generator alone can keep you busy exploring your unique world for hours. Multiplayer is even more fun, because you can build things cooperatively and show them off. As I read some of these negative reviews, I can't help but feel like these people are used to much more linear games and expect minecraft to demand their attention until a set end point like most games do. It does not. Minecraft is less of a "game" to beat and more of a toy, one that you'll keep coming back to again and again if you have any spark of creative spirit. Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]