User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4042 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    "Minecraft" lacks the graphics, but is abundant with creativity. Expect enormous fun...with CRAFTING!!!
  2. Nov 21, 2015
    8
    This game is addictive! I don't tend to follow trends, and never understood what the game was about. It looked childish and boring. Then I picked up a copy on a whim and threw it in when my buddy was over. We played all night, continuously asking ourselves "why is this so fun?
  3. May 21, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    The PC version of "Minecraft" is fantastic. It's a brilliantly designed 3-D game. You can play by yourself and construct houses, explore caves and fight mobs. You can also play online and build together with your friends, PVP with other online players, or just explore the beauty of Minecraft together with friends. Definitely a recommended game for young and old.
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game on the PC. Building for free is great and Survival is excellent. I thought because it was pixelated it was bad but when i played it it was satisfying and really excellent fun
  6. Oct 18, 2015
    9
    Minecraft is a simple, yet undeniably wonderful and creative. It does not have good graphics or melodic sounds, but its gameplay is one hell of an unforgettable thing.
  7. Oct 10, 2015
    8
    I think this game is great but very overrated. I thought the concept that you can build anything you like is superb and very original, and applaud Notch for that. But there are a few problems I have to point out. The Graphics are appalling for our day and age, The gameplay feels a bit cheap especially the combat. The soundtrack is OK but repetitive. And there isn't a whole bunch of thingsI think this game is great but very overrated. I thought the concept that you can build anything you like is superb and very original, and applaud Notch for that. But there are a few problems I have to point out. The Graphics are appalling for our day and age, The gameplay feels a bit cheap especially the combat. The soundtrack is OK but repetitive. And there isn't a whole bunch of things to do except for building really. Sure you can do team deathmatches online and hungergames but even that isn't really that fun because of the bad combat as I've commented about. Expand
  8. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    The simplest of ideas are often the best. A great idea and value for money. Players can look forward to many improvements and possibilities in the future of Minecraft. Highly recommended.
  9. Aug 11, 2016
    10
    The game is amazing, the world is like 10x bigger than earth itself, the blocky graphics make it a good thing, as if the graphics were Crysis-Like, the game would lag to hell, and it already does at times. It has a large variety of mods and you can build HUGE ass places, you will never be in the same place again after you generate a new world, every world is unique and different, thereThe game is amazing, the world is like 10x bigger than earth itself, the blocky graphics make it a good thing, as if the graphics were Crysis-Like, the game would lag to hell, and it already does at times. It has a large variety of mods and you can build HUGE ass places, you will never be in the same place again after you generate a new world, every world is unique and different, there will be not one thing identical about sepearte worlds. All-in-all, the retards that claimed the graphics were bad are graphics-whores and don't know a good game when they see one. Expand
  10. May 25, 2011
    10
    If you haven't bough this, buy it now! This game has 3D pixels for graphics, and the maps are made of FREAKING BLOCKS! Multiplayer is a hit because you can build with your friends or with a 16-year old Scottish dude. Simple but marvelous gameplay makes this one of the best PC games in my opinion.
  11. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    Easily the best open world game ever made with its massive world sizes (60,000,000 meters wide and long!) and its variety of bosses and mobs. The lack of story only adds to the immersion because you can role play very easily as the entire world is your oyster. Every map is generated randomly, so no map will be the same and is open to your imagination. You could build a mansion, a city, orEasily the best open world game ever made with its massive world sizes (60,000,000 meters wide and long!) and its variety of bosses and mobs. The lack of story only adds to the immersion because you can role play very easily as the entire world is your oyster. Every map is generated randomly, so no map will be the same and is open to your imagination. You could build a mansion, a city, or even a crude phallic object! Minecraft literally has no limits. The only limit is your imagination. 10/10 (Masterpiece) Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Minecraft is, put simply, one of the greatest gaming experiences of its generation. For gaming enthusiasts everywhere, this is a must to have in your collection. You may be a Call of Duty guy, running FPS games all day, or you may be a Starcraft 2 kind of strategy guy. Or maybe an MMORPG WoW type of person, organising raids with fellow nerds - but Minecraft is the kind of game which bringsMinecraft is, put simply, one of the greatest gaming experiences of its generation. For gaming enthusiasts everywhere, this is a must to have in your collection. You may be a Call of Duty guy, running FPS games all day, or you may be a Starcraft 2 kind of strategy guy. Or maybe an MMORPG WoW type of person, organising raids with fellow nerds - but Minecraft is the kind of game which brings lovers of all genres together in one experience. In fact, that's the best way to describe it. It's more of an experience than a game, and an experience which is different to each unique user.

    As an aside, the User Score for this game genuinely brings shame on the Metacritic system and undermines the point of a user based aggregate score. Trolls, go back under your respective rocks.

    9/10 - A gaming experience not to be missed.
    Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    I have never had so much freedom in a game and Minecraft deserves its high praise because it is near limitless. The simple controls yet addicting gameplay makes Minecraft one of the best indie games out there. Want to build a house? Minecraft can do it. Want to build a castle? Why not? Minecraft can do it. This game is fun as hell and you will never get tired of it as long as Mojang bringsI have never had so much freedom in a game and Minecraft deserves its high praise because it is near limitless. The simple controls yet addicting gameplay makes Minecraft one of the best indie games out there. Want to build a house? Minecraft can do it. Want to build a castle? Why not? Minecraft can do it. This game is fun as hell and you will never get tired of it as long as Mojang brings out newly updates for more enjoyment. Buy it now. Expand
  14. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.1] Minecraft is what you make it and much more. An incredible idea that was executed flawlessly, Minecraft is the best of its genre and can easily rival major titles. Minecraft proves that while simplicity might be requisite in an indie game, it can be used to make something much greater. It takes a massive world, a player, and produces an infinite number of solutions. Exploration is[9.1] Minecraft is what you make it and much more. An incredible idea that was executed flawlessly, Minecraft is the best of its genre and can easily rival major titles. Minecraft proves that while simplicity might be requisite in an indie game, it can be used to make something much greater. It takes a massive world, a player, and produces an infinite number of solutions. Exploration is always overlooked in video games. Developers focus on things like mechanics, challenge, variety, interactivity, and visuals, but don't realize that if given an environment that allows players to freely conquer each of those aspects, their work is done. All a player needs is tools and the internet, because someone will gain enough interest in a game to learn everything about it, and the resulting cascade is a devoted fan base. Expand
  15. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The Reason Why I give Minecraft a solid 10 is because i love creating or making houses and other stuff.Minecraft gets better whenever you go to multiplayer mode playing with you friends making dumb stuff and playing other Mod.Minecraft is certainly great for those people who love making or creating stuff.This shows of how creative you are! But In night time go to sleep don't go out causeThe Reason Why I give Minecraft a solid 10 is because i love creating or making houses and other stuff.Minecraft gets better whenever you go to multiplayer mode playing with you friends making dumb stuff and playing other Mod.Minecraft is certainly great for those people who love making or creating stuff.This shows of how creative you are! But In night time go to sleep don't go out cause you surely need some armor and a sword or any weapons cause night time brings out unrealistic versions of different monsters!! Expand
  16. Apr 18, 2016
    10
    This game is a massive amount of fun and it never gets stale.
    In survival mode, you must take on the world, building up structures, combat tactics, portals to new realms and much more armed with only your wits (and your fist).
    In creative mode, you can unleash your creativity creating any structure you can imagine out of the various blocks and creatures. And finally, in multiplayer you
    This game is a massive amount of fun and it never gets stale.
    In survival mode, you must take on the world, building up structures, combat tactics, portals to new realms and much more armed with only your wits (and your fist).
    In creative mode, you can unleash your creativity creating any structure you can imagine out of the various blocks and creatures.
    And finally, in multiplayer you can log into any number of servers to do whatever you want. This mode is where the real fun comes in, from mini-games to parkour to PVP to building with your friends, there's always something to do in a server.
    Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game. I remember hearing about it online and looking at what you can do in this game and when I finally got the game I was not disappointed a bit! I love the gameplay in this game both in survival and creative mode. I love survival because it gives me that feeling of exploration of going to build and craft things, fight monsters, go mining and when you complete hardMinecraft is an amazing game. I remember hearing about it online and looking at what you can do in this game and when I finally got the game I was not disappointed a bit! I love the gameplay in this game both in survival and creative mode. I love survival because it gives me that feeling of exploration of going to build and craft things, fight monsters, go mining and when you complete hard tasks it can feel very rewarding. I also love creative mode because it's the opportunity to go around a create things that are huge and beautiful with almost no limitations; some things in creative do take a long time to make but when I am done they are very rewarding as well. I also love the music in this game and some of the atmospheres; however I will warn you that there are some really creepy things in this game. Overall, Minecraft is a masterpiece! I really wish people wouldn't bash this game just because they may call it too "mainstream" or something like that. The game is great, It also great to come back to this game after not playing it for a while. Trust me, I started playing this game back in 2012 and I am still playing it a lot today in 2014. Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    While it doesnt have the looks, the sheer creativity sandbox aspect is a very big selling point, if you ever liked lego bricks as a kid this game is for you, chuck in some mods that add new visuals and things to play with, play on a co-op multiplayer server with friends and you have best reserve a lot of your real life time for this. Simple and Fun, and runs even on the **** PC.
  19. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Minecraft is a great game and is a unique fun experience. for the price you get a massive amount of content (its basically endless) you have to try it out for yourself to really understand what the game is about. there are problems with the game for example, the ending is pretty bad, a game like Minecraft didn't need any type of ending and that one we got was bad. the boss fight was coolMinecraft is a great game and is a unique fun experience. for the price you get a massive amount of content (its basically endless) you have to try it out for yourself to really understand what the game is about. there are problems with the game for example, the ending is pretty bad, a game like Minecraft didn't need any type of ending and that one we got was bad. the boss fight was cool but you could only take on the ender dragon once, it would have been better if you could re fight the boss and maybe get some cool loot like new ender armour. The final problem with the game in my option is the multiplier, it is a pain in the arse to set up, Mojang should try to make the multiplier easy to set up and use. Expand
  20. Mar 11, 2013
    8
    Minecraft is one of those games where you decide what to do, but this time, you decide literally EVERYTHING. Want to make a farm? Go ahead, make one! Want to live in a cave? Go live in a cave! Want to make a big-ass castle? Why not! How about a spaceship? I mean, who doesn't like spaceships! The freedom in this game makes it the best experience you could have!
  21. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, with new updates every few months, that get rid of some old bugs. People complain about graphics, but there's more to enjoy, because you can do almost, or a lot of things that you normally wouldn't be able to do in any game you'd find.
  22. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    As much as I hate what Minecraft has done for the gaming industry,there is no reason why you shouldn't play it.Ive spent more hours then I can count on this game,and every time I think I'm free of its clutches,I feel the need to mine one more block
  23. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    One of the most brilliant game ideas ever. The world is infinitely sized, and every small change you make to any small block in this world persists. Every structure you build, everything that is made. Put that on multiplayer and you literally have cities of creation. The underground is huge to explore, digging tunnels and discovering things is sick. The crafting system and incentive toOne of the most brilliant game ideas ever. The world is infinitely sized, and every small change you make to any small block in this world persists. Every structure you build, everything that is made. Put that on multiplayer and you literally have cities of creation. The underground is huge to explore, digging tunnels and discovering things is sick. The crafting system and incentive to find minerals add tons of longevity to the game, and goals. You must have a creative mind to grasp this game, there are no "quests", you are simply but into an infinite world to interact with it as you wish. People not finding entertainment in this just goes to show they have no imagination or creativity whatsoever and they are themselves unable to forge an epic experience from the never seen before sandbox that has been given to them. This game has blown my mind. The point lost is due to the unfortunate lack of quality in character control and mechanics and lack of polish in many areas of the game, had it been taken more seriously or made by a more professional team. Thirdly, the game could have run much faster if better coded. Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Originally, Minecraft didn't deserve the criticisms thrown at it. 'Lame graphics'-nah. There delightfully retro, and look great in this decidedly modern world. But, after the game FINALLY got out of beta, it's now been criticised of not fulfilling it's enourmous potential. I'd argue it's done a lot-massive, devoted community, multiple biomes, tons of blocks. This isn't the end of MinecraftOriginally, Minecraft didn't deserve the criticisms thrown at it. 'Lame graphics'-nah. There delightfully retro, and look great in this decidedly modern world. But, after the game FINALLY got out of beta, it's now been criticised of not fulfilling it's enourmous potential. I'd argue it's done a lot-massive, devoted community, multiple biomes, tons of blocks. This isn't the end of Minecraft though. It will continue to be updated. Improved. Refined. It rocks all kinds of awesome now, but in the future, it will be unstopable. Er, just don't hold your breath. Expand
  25. May 2, 2015
    10
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  26. May 27, 2015
    9
    Who knew that building in the video game world could be so fun. This game is like a child friendly version of Skyrim, Grand Theft Auto, Assassin's Creed, and other open world sandbox games with building thrown in. Enter a world that is forged and shaped by your imagination, or someone else's. You can fight monsters, go exploring, build almost anything imaginable (including worlds from theWho knew that building in the video game world could be so fun. This game is like a child friendly version of Skyrim, Grand Theft Auto, Assassin's Creed, and other open world sandbox games with building thrown in. Enter a world that is forged and shaped by your imagination, or someone else's. You can fight monsters, go exploring, build almost anything imaginable (including worlds from the games I mentioned earlier), and like the title says mine and craft. A game for all ages to enjoy and have fun playing, except when your alone at times. This game is either a lot better with company or more frustrating, but still it brings up the fun. An icon game in history everyone should at least play it or heard of it. Expand
  27. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    Why does this only have a user score of 7.4??? This is a very fun game with loads of replay value. As for the graphics, they are unique and memorable (AND SUPPOSED TO RESEMBLE 16-BIT YOU IDIOTS THAT IS THE POINT). The combat is very basic but that is not what this game is about. It is about creativity. End of story.
  28. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This is the game that made indie gaming so popular it is really good while the graphics aren't realistic they are memorable and not dull but interesting the exploration is really encouraging and will keep you engaged the unlimited creativity is what makes this game excel. Then there are all the mods and texture packs.
    The Bad
    The multiplayer is hard to set up
    Java is slow
  29. Jun 22, 2014
    9
    A great survival game, although the graphics are not high quality, graphic is not everything in a game is an infinite game, you have to make some achievements, but you be creative, and you can even create a goal to win.
  30. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon.Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon. Obviously, the game is always better with friends, which gives you the option of making combat and adventure maps for you and your friends to enjoy. A lot of people say the game has gotten worse as updates have occurred, but I believe it has just increased the game's depth. Minecraft truly holds a place in my heart, simply for how undeniably spectacular it is. Expand
  31. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    A hugely entertaining game that is as addictive as an illegal substance. The sandbox feel is what I enjoy the most; just the idea of being able to go anywhere, anytime and do anything you want once you arrive is a sense of freedom that goes so far as to possibly give GTA a run for its money. My only complaints are that if your computer is slow, the game is VERY laggy when you try to playA hugely entertaining game that is as addictive as an illegal substance. The sandbox feel is what I enjoy the most; just the idea of being able to go anywhere, anytime and do anything you want once you arrive is a sense of freedom that goes so far as to possibly give GTA a run for its money. My only complaints are that if your computer is slow, the game is VERY laggy when you try to play on maximum settings. Also, there is not a wide variety of tools and weapons and once you play for a little while, you will notice that most tools are just upgraded rather than being different (eg. a wooden pick-axe will upgrade to a stone pick-axe etc.). But apart from that, this unique take on the free roam genre is destined to become a classic. Expand
  32. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    I fail to see what all the fuss is about, but I concede to the fact that Minecraft is very unique and enjoyable title that has made the market a more interesting place with its arrival. Should it be continued, expanded and promoted? Of course. Should it receive unworthy plaudits? No.
  33. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    Minecraft's unique idea, makes a wonderful gameplay. Exploration, mining and killing monsters It's fun, bt the creative idea for building is amazing. And the crafting is logically created. The infinite world of Minecraft, lets you explore the unknown. Not only that, but the great idea for mechanics makes you trap some monsters. But, unfortunately, Minecraft doesn't have a tutorial (theMinecraft's unique idea, makes a wonderful gameplay. Exploration, mining and killing monsters It's fun, bt the creative idea for building is amazing. And the crafting is logically created. The infinite world of Minecraft, lets you explore the unknown. Not only that, but the great idea for mechanics makes you trap some monsters. But, unfortunately, Minecraft doesn't have a tutorial (the game, for someone, is hard to learn). 89 out of 100 Expand
  34. May 2, 2013
    8
    I give it 8.
    Minecraft is a Sandbox game,whether you can play Survival mode,like the classic mode where beating mobs,make shelter,Mining Ore,or discover the unholy place of Mineshaft,Nether or even End World.Or you play Creative,where you are god,do everything,blow world to pieces,or build something cool to share your creativity :)
    Although i do not enjoy the Single-Player Mode,since it
    I give it 8.
    Minecraft is a Sandbox game,whether you can play Survival mode,like the classic mode where beating mobs,make shelter,Mining Ore,or discover the unholy place of Mineshaft,Nether or even End World.Or you play Creative,where you are god,do everything,blow world to pieces,or build something cool to share your creativity :)
    Although i do not enjoy the Single-Player Mode,since it kinda bored easily when you alone on the world,the multiplayer,shows how great this game was,it was like Life-Consumer xD
    The graphics through,its not really bad,but i think you can know the blocks easily,its charming textures that reminds how good the game graphic was.
    Thats all for my review,so my last verdict about the review is,Better play with friends and also,the game makes its better if the people show their creativity rather than none.
    Expand
  35. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is the best game I have played in years! Having just taken out a 6 month sub playing Rift (which Iâ
  36. May 31, 2014
    9
    Good things: insane modability provides a great amount of content, multiplayer on MMO-scale on some servers, total creative freedom, entire worlds to explore and conquer with friends/enemies
    Bad things: It does get stale after a long time of playing it, the combat system sucks
    If you buy it check out multiplayer, this is what pumps up the score, survival is only a small part of this
    Good things: insane modability provides a great amount of content, multiplayer on MMO-scale on some servers, total creative freedom, entire worlds to explore and conquer with friends/enemies
    Bad things: It does get stale after a long time of playing it, the combat system sucks

    If you buy it check out multiplayer, this is what pumps up the score, survival is only a small part of this delicious cake.
    Expand
  37. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    Minecraft is a very original game, which is very easy to learn but still has alot of depth when it comes to building. After playing it for a few hours however, you start to wonder why you should build anything. There is no real goal, and in singleplayer is gets boring very quickly. Instead of building useless world in minecraft you could just aswell build a real map for some game (TF2 forMinecraft is a very original game, which is very easy to learn but still has alot of depth when it comes to building. After playing it for a few hours however, you start to wonder why you should build anything. There is no real goal, and in singleplayer is gets boring very quickly. Instead of building useless world in minecraft you could just aswell build a real map for some game (TF2 for example) and upload it. When it comes to multiplayer minecraft becomes much better since you constantly show your progress to others, but it still feels as a major waste of time. Expand
  38. Dec 30, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is one of the best if not the best game I have ever played. It has a vast world to explore and plenty of weird and interesting mobs (animals). Although it did get a tiny bit repetitive, Minecraft has me so addicted that I can't stop playing.
  39. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    The 2nd Best Indie Game EVAR!!!!!
    Apart from the fact that sometimes it's hard to come up wih something to do, so a bit too free for all, this game is the best 3d indie game, like a 3d (WHYDOESHEKEEPSAYINGTHREEDEE???!!!) 8 bit game. At night monsters come out and try to KILL YOU OF DEATH and the whole game is an amazing experience. Because there is no point of the game (that sounded...
    The 2nd Best Indie Game EVAR!!!!!
    Apart from the fact that sometimes it's hard to come up wih something to do, so a bit too free for all, this game is the best 3d indie game, like a 3d (WHYDOESHEKEEPSAYINGTHREEDEE???!!!) 8 bit game. At night monsters come out and try to KILL YOU OF DEATH and the whole game is an amazing experience. Because there is no point of the game (that sounded... negative) there is no actual replay value, which means the game is infinite!!!! (Once I craft everything that's what I call completion...)
    Anyways:

    + Me likes graphics
    + It goes on forever
    +Mods, texture packs and more
    + Only in Beta: Imagine in November when the game is released... HEAVEN
    - Sometimes confusing...

    95%
    Expand
  40. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First,
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First, almost every computer in the world runs it, you don't need a megalodon with high-tech specs to run the game. Second, don't **** about graphics. Minecraft is a beautiful game. It's blocky art stile is charming, and seeing a sunset for the first time with the eclectic piano music behind is just mesmerizingly beautiful.
    The objective in Minecraft is to survive. Or at least it is in "Survival" mode. As you progress through the game, you will progress in things like building a house, hunting monsters or going to hell. Everything can be for nothing in a blink of an eye (When you are dead, YOU ARE dead). You must orientate yourself in the random generated world, find shelter and food, and protect yourself from the creatures of the night. At moments it is thrilling, at moments scary, at moments funny. You never know what is going to happen in a typical Minecraft day.
    Then you have "Creative" mode. In this mode, you can do whatever you want with the blocks you want. Build a giant diamond mansion, and why not shape it like a yatch? How about farming zombies? The limit is literally your imagination.
    Minecraft also offers a multiplayer service. You can either play with friends or join a server to play something with the community. Want to play Hunger Games, Block Hunt and many other games with people from all around the world? Then the multiplayer experience is perfect for you. The variety of things to do and see is amazing.
    Minecraft is easily one of the jewels of this generation and of gaming history. It isn't ambitious and still, it feels like the biggest-scaled game ever made. It is always updating, expanding to keep things fresh, and it truly is the Indie Game that revolutionized the industry.
    Expand
  41. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    An awesome game even in the demo version, this game is highly recommended for everyone of all ages. This game is probably one of the best games I have played.
  42. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    This game is a brilliant work made by Mojang which allows the players to let their Creativity flow and the possibilities are endless. Sure the graphics aren't the best but who gives a **** about graphics as long you have fun and have a good time. 10/10, would bang again.
  43. May 9, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there areI don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there are hundreds of Hunger Games servers, Search and Destroy servers, etc. If you like playing Call of Duty or Battlefield, there are servers for that as well. There are maps made for RPG play too. Anything you want to do in Minecraft, you can, so go buy this game as it is much less expensive than most other games. Expand
  44. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is a great sandbox survival game in single player mode and one of the best multiplayer experiences ever which can be modded to enhance its greatness enough said, buy it now
  45. Dec 27, 2014
    8
    This game has unique graphic cube, that make this game different from others game. Modern game often try to prevent the rectangle graphic. This game is much fun.
  46. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    I avoided this game for the longest time because it was not available on Steam. After some reviews and seeing others talk and play it, I had to try it out. I was not disappointed. The building, exploring, solving problems, and making neat/weird contraptions is a lot of fun. I spend countless hours running around, getting killed by mobs and frustratingly searching for resources to make coolI avoided this game for the longest time because it was not available on Steam. After some reviews and seeing others talk and play it, I had to try it out. I was not disappointed. The building, exploring, solving problems, and making neat/weird contraptions is a lot of fun. I spend countless hours running around, getting killed by mobs and frustratingly searching for resources to make cool stuff such as diamond and gold. The community is huge, and seems there is almost a cult of personality around the developer. I have not interacted much with this community, but may at some point. Putting all of that aside, one gets to the downsides. Graphics are not the best (perhaps that is intentional), the music is horrific, and I encounter bugs such as re-spawning in a weird place. If you are into explosive action, sex, neat cutscenes, and all the rest of it, do not bother with this game - it will bore you to tears. Otherwise, if you want something different, laid back and fun, give this a go. Expand
  47. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Minecraft is a far too addictive game especially online.

    You can build everything and everything from Hogwarts School to whole Kingdoms if you wished and the best part is that its available for download meaning you HAVE TO GET IT RIGHT NOW!
  48. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    It's very difficult to actually call a game. I think of it as more of a time-fill. Nonetheless, the simplicity yet grandness of it all is simply in a league of its own. I compare it to the Grand Canyon. Simple but vast and majestic. There is a difficult learning curve, no story obviously and a decent soundtrack. I'm glad to sit down and play something that doesn't take itself tooIt's very difficult to actually call a game. I think of it as more of a time-fill. Nonetheless, the simplicity yet grandness of it all is simply in a league of its own. I compare it to the Grand Canyon. Simple but vast and majestic. There is a difficult learning curve, no story obviously and a decent soundtrack. I'm glad to sit down and play something that doesn't take itself too seriously. Just viewing what some people have made over the years has boosted this game from a 6 to an 8 for me. Enjoyable, vast, epic yet lonely. Expand
  49. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Minecraft is THE open world game! It promotes your creative side. But it gets booring after awhile and the enemies are irritating (fortunately you can switch off all enemies, if you want). Dying is also annoying...
  50. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The environment is creative and the building and mining is interactive and addictive.
  51. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    amazing game, you should already know about it. not without its flaws, but probably the best building game i've played in YEARS. or maybe since legos.
  52. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game is the best game for computer it is awesome !!!!!! I play it all the time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it is totallty worth playing!!!!!!
  53. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    Positive - The grphics are the best of 2009-2011.
    The controls are fluent
    The monsters are cool. And building is fun. Gripes - Combat is too unforgigivng The camera is a little **** And Multiplayer is too glitchy. So it basically has the Silent Hill Problem. Terrible gameplay being made up for by Scary-ness and brilliant atmosphere. And hey! To get your account premium it's only $24. Go
    Positive - The grphics are the best of 2009-2011.
    The controls are fluent
    The monsters are cool.
    And building is fun.

    Gripes - Combat is too unforgigivng
    The camera is a little ****
    And Multiplayer is too glitchy.

    So it basically has the Silent Hill Problem. Terrible gameplay being made up for by Scary-ness and brilliant atmosphere.

    And hey! To get your account premium it's only $24. Go Go Go! (At least compared to other games at over $60)
    Expand
  54. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores.Honestly, the user reviewers can be some of the most annoying people I've ever seen. Half of them are members of a fanbase who are angry because of one trivial thing the developers did. The only reason why this game doesn't bear the 10.0 user score it so rightfully deserves is because a bunch of fans got upset with some decision Notch made or something and so they spammed negative scores. It's bad enough that Spore, a great game, has a 4.6 user rating because people were upset that they didn't get the 2005 Spore. That being said, Minecraft is probably one of the most intuitive ideas for a game that I've seen in a long while. It's a good example of how a huge idea can derive from a simple concept. This is true art at its very finest. Expand
  55. Apr 2, 2016
    10
    Aside from the cancerous community, vanilla Minecraft is a great innovative experience, but even better with friends. Then there's creative mode. Many people rant on hating Minecraft and Minecraft: Story Mode but that's pathetic because the only big flaw is the community.
  56. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Technically reviewing a game that is still in its beta stages. Although the graphics aren't amazing, it doesn't really matter, you could just get a texture mod. Everything about this game simply promotes creativity, that's basically what minecraft is about, creating things. Now it's not like it's easy to do so, you have to mine and gather materials all the while there are zombies and otherTechnically reviewing a game that is still in its beta stages. Although the graphics aren't amazing, it doesn't really matter, you could just get a texture mod. Everything about this game simply promotes creativity, that's basically what minecraft is about, creating things. Now it's not like it's easy to do so, you have to mine and gather materials all the while there are zombies and other things trying to kill you during the night, one of the best features of this game are the redstone circuits. Basically it's an ore you can mine that can be used to make electronic circuits in minecraft, with a ridiculous amount of possibility. Why is this game worth buying? Custom skins, and not only that, but the patches just keep on coming, the game is ALREADY fantastic, and they're only going to add more to it. To be honest, the reason I didn't try this game at first was the graphics, but seriously if you like creating things, you will eventually love this game, ancient graphics or not. Expand
  57. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    This game is a fun experience. The single player is pretty fun, with a immense world to explore and millions of blocks to build to your hearts extent. The final boss, the Ender Dragon, is very easy, though Minecraft is mostly for the creative aspect. This game really hits its mark when it comes to the online community. Thousands of servers are populated to play hundreds of mini-gamesThis game is a fun experience. The single player is pretty fun, with a immense world to explore and millions of blocks to build to your hearts extent. The final boss, the Ender Dragon, is very easy, though Minecraft is mostly for the creative aspect. This game really hits its mark when it comes to the online community. Thousands of servers are populated to play hundreds of mini-games in Minecraft, with more games being created all the time. The mods expand the single player and multiplayer survival to unthinkable lengths. Mods add so many things to the game, such as blocks, enemies, and even quests. The possibilities with this game are great, and is really a game for everyone. Expand
  58. Sep 25, 2014
    8
    A well crafted indie game. It's really addicting and fun and even if you get bored of survival mode there are like a billion servers out there with different game modes and stuff. Its a lot of fun and if you don't have it already get it, its worth it.
  59. Jul 14, 2016
    10
    Playing Minecraft for the first time was one of my top 10 gaming experiences. Figuring out how to "punch wood" and craft some of the simplest weapons possible. Finding my first cavern and starting to explore deeper... and deeper.. until it was making me nervous. Find lava for the first time and treading aroudn it carefully, Funny how a seemingly simple retro 3D game can give you thatPlaying Minecraft for the first time was one of my top 10 gaming experiences. Figuring out how to "punch wood" and craft some of the simplest weapons possible. Finding my first cavern and starting to explore deeper... and deeper.. until it was making me nervous. Find lava for the first time and treading aroudn it carefully, Funny how a seemingly simple retro 3D game can give you that kind of angst. That's due to the fact that if you die, you will lose all of your loot and have to trek back to that location (and quickly) to retrieve it. This had me develop my own strategies to figure out how to explore this massive endless world. Some cave systems were so huge I would literally get lost and turned out. I used special blocks or torch patterns on tunnel forks to remind me which way to get home. I'd have to build little temporary platforms or carve stair cases into walls to ascend or descend deep ravines to get to the good ore. I love that Minecraft forced me to be creative in my thinking to achieve my goals. And when you are tired or exhausted of exploring, for the moment, then take some time to build on to your sprawling home complex. Bored after that? Try messing with redstone to build yourself a transportation system or a pair of automatic gates for your home. Still bored after that? Delve even deeper into crafting with enchantments and potions. Build a farm and raise livestock and grow food. There are sandbox games and then there is Minecraft. You are only limited by your imagination. Expand
  60. May 21, 2016
    10
    One of the most awesome games ever made! It it is addicting, fun and creative! Even the developers really care about their game, updating it frequently! In the end, I definitely you check out this game.
  61. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created... bad graphics? WHO CARES? the gameplay possibilities are almost infinites! Awesome.... thanks notch ... keep up the good work :)
  62. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    Very hard to talk about as a game, which may be the 9/10. But I have put tons of hours into this and watched it evolve from alpha, to beta, to release and get better and better. A lot of fun if you like building stuff, if you are a MW3 fan, then you might want to stay away.
  63. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought.To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought. Building an awesome house. Go out and fight the mosters. Tame a Wolf to be you pet. I'm always finding these underground waterfalls and lavafalls. You get the sense that you're going where no-one else has gone before. Bugs and Glitches: This is an indie game that is massive. Ok. Some bugs are major and they suck. Moving on! This game is overwhelming if you don't know what to do. Use the Minecraft Wiki to help. Build a house and go out mining and exploring. Build a massive minecart track. Sometimes, a nice little tune would play to ease you up a bit in tough situations. Bottom line: It's a triumph of Indie gaming. It's up there with the games that started out small and turned huge like the classic Donkey Kong, World of Goo, Braid and many others. A modern classic, hands down. I'd like to give it a 9.5, but I can't... Collapse
  64. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    This is the perfect mix of more is less and endless possibilities. The graphics are obviously not very good, but that's on purpose, you only have so much stuff, but you can still build whatever you want, keep playing and gaining, experiment with red stone (most fun), etc. This was a fresh, new, innovative idea which has hooked millions for a reason.
  65. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    This game is more than a game, it will suck in your life and force you to become one of the square people, you will start to relate everything in real life to stuff in minecraft, some people are saying this game is bad because "its a game where you move around blocks, its digital legos" Well guess what folks, you can choose between creative mode or survival mode! so its more aboutThis game is more than a game, it will suck in your life and force you to become one of the square people, you will start to relate everything in real life to stuff in minecraft, some people are saying this game is bad because "its a game where you move around blocks, its digital legos" Well guess what folks, you can choose between creative mode or survival mode! so its more about surviving than building, not to mention the huge amount of servers that all have their own cool game modes, another complaint is : "there is no goal!" Yes there is, you can build a portal to the final boss called "the ender dragon" so THERE is a goal, I could also say that guess what : ITS A SANDBOX GAME, IF YOU DONT LIKE SANDBOX GAMES, then dont play minecraft, yes, after you have done everything it CAN get boring and you wish you could get that feeling of discovery whenever you craft a new thing out of blocks, but its a rather cheap game in comparison to other titles, also, one may say that terraria is better than minecraft, I would debate that they are incomparable because terraria has ALOT of unbalanced garbage in it, but everything in minecraft has a purpose and is balanced to a very good extent. Such as melons being easier to farm but wheat can be used to get your more animals (etc) or stone pick axes are better at mining huge areas than iron pick axes but iron picks pick faster, etc. The people who are voting this game down dont like sandbox games and cant see beyond their own gameplay perspectives, Geoffory2 says "this game is repetitive and boring" well its an opinion. You cant state opinion without evidence. Dont forget that this game is very unique in comparison to other titles, seriously, give this game a shot because its a master piece. (but only if you like sandbox games) if you dont like sandbox games then dont buy it, its as simple as that. Some people are marking this game down for the modding community working faster than Notch (the game creator) WHATS THE PROBLEM WITH MODS? MORE CONTENT FOR YOU.Some say "OMG THE GRAPHICS SUCK, THIS GAME IS SO GAY" well guess what, those people are COD aid infected idiots, because minecraft was not meant to be a very graphical game, graphics are extra credit really, nothing more. Also, it does NOT perform terribly if you simply dont set everything on highest settings, yes folks the rules still apply because JAVA is a REALLY REALLY BAD ENGINE.
    If there are any problems with this game, its that notch worked so slowly to get everything right before it was released, but that does not matter now!
    Expand
  66. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    Simply put a lot of fun. I never gave this game a try until a year after it was first announced. The idea never seemed to intrigue me. A friend than asked me to play with him. Next hing i know, i had no job and my social life had deteriorated. I built an entire city with a friend, with sky bridges and castles, and a mining underground reaching the lowest depths of the game. I builtSimply put a lot of fun. I never gave this game a try until a year after it was first announced. The idea never seemed to intrigue me. A friend than asked me to play with him. Next hing i know, i had no job and my social life had deteriorated. I built an entire city with a friend, with sky bridges and castles, and a mining underground reaching the lowest depths of the game. I built armor, i had a water elevator and everything. This is the ultimate co op game and if you have a party it is even better. Expand
  67. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This game is vastly entertaining with nearly endless possible activities and modding ability. Setting up a modded server with friends will no doubt be endlessly fun if you make full use of the mods. This is a HUGE step in the right direction for games. To hell with graphics, give me content!
  68. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Simply the best virtual Lego simulator out there complete with monster pieces and crafting recipes! The best deal/hours played ratio that I could ever imagine...
  69. May 10, 2012
    8
    I purchased Minecraft when it was in Alpha for about 5-8$. It was an excellent game and is an example of how independent developers, through innovation can make excellent games but I was disappointed with the games actual release. Bugs, Issues, lack of content, Price..etc

    Despite this, this game is revolutionary, showing us that graphics are not that important(imagination ftw) and that
    I purchased Minecraft when it was in Alpha for about 5-8$. It was an excellent game and is an example of how independent developers, through innovation can make excellent games but I was disappointed with the games actual release. Bugs, Issues, lack of content, Price..etc

    Despite this, this game is revolutionary, showing us that graphics are not that important(imagination ftw) and that it's GAMEPLAY that matters. *Play with Friends for best experience
    Expand
  70. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive.
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive. one you start playing, you will not stop, either by creating new stuff or by perfecting existing creations
    Expand
  71. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    I was introduced to this game back in December '10, and it was explained to me as a "never ending world made of cubic meter cubes where you can build to survive attacks from creatures and excavate to upgrade tools." I nearly s*** my pants when I heard this because I've been looking for a game that had vast terraforming capabilities ever since I played Red Faction (the first one) where youI was introduced to this game back in December '10, and it was explained to me as a "never ending world made of cubic meter cubes where you can build to survive attacks from creatures and excavate to upgrade tools." I nearly s*** my pants when I heard this because I've been looking for a game that had vast terraforming capabilities ever since I played Red Faction (the first one) where you could make your own tunnel with rocket launchers. I bought the game, started it up, looked at the graphics and was disappointed, but my friend told me "just give it a try, it'll grow on you." I've been playing 11 months since then (off and on). The saving grace to this game is the modding community, without it I would be bored to death, but since the developers programmed in functionality to be modded (with a simple programming language, mind you) I am including the online community while rating this game. I host my own server, my friends join with me, and we have an RP world made with mods, and a Survival world made legit. That's the fascinating thing about this game, is that it is made to be a single player survival game, but unintentionally has practically turned into an MMO with all of the online modding capabilities. Idk if it's fair or not, but i docked a point for the speed of Majang's work, I've been in beta for 11 months and haven't seen much added. Sure there's a big list of core changes to the game in the last year, but month-to-month it's actually not that much. Keep in mind that I am rating this as an indie game, as if this were a fully financed corporate project then I would rate this a 6, due to lack of content, but for a small team of developers, the fair price (comparative to a typical game), and the online community, this is definitely deserving of at least a 9. Expand
  72. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    I love Minecraft, but the fact that Mojang released the game unfinished it's not acceptable. The NPCs do nothing, the Adventure Mode is unfinished, and there's a list of bugs that haven't been corrected. This game is awesome, but is uncompleted yet. Come on Mojang, you can correct all the bugs and make this game one of the best games of History!
  73. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is one of the most revolutionary games out there. The open worlds are AMAZING. There is so much to do now with 1.7 just came out. It is so worth the cash. Go get it now.
  74. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    For creative types, one of the best video games to be released in many years. The ability to tear the world down and build it again as your own makes this game well above the typical creativity-based games out there today. I don't think a game has ever made me more excited to build since the first Sims game: highly recommended for anyone who enjoys gaming in general, well worth theFor creative types, one of the best video games to be released in many years. The ability to tear the world down and build it again as your own makes this game well above the typical creativity-based games out there today. I don't think a game has ever made me more excited to build since the first Sims game: highly recommended for anyone who enjoys gaming in general, well worth the purchase price (I also can't understand why there is so much user hate...the game is half the price of the usual crap that's sold today) Expand
  75. May 9, 2013
    8
    The game is fun but the textures are simplistic and blocky but its infinite replayability might get tiresome if you play it for hours and hours, And there are still bugs here and there.
  76. Mar 16, 2015
    10
    This is my favourite game of all time. The open-world means that you can do whatever you want, you can find Diamonds in survival, or build a castle in creative, or play hunger games on multiplayer. The graphics look good, and there is always something new to discover.
  77. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    A fun adventure/build/survival game. I played since fairly early Alpha stages before the game even had health, and on until mid beta stages. The openness - the level of customization in your creations only limited by the square shape of the game's blocks gives you an intriguing way to approach a landscape you can completely remove and mold to your liking. Want to build a town? Turn theA fun adventure/build/survival game. I played since fairly early Alpha stages before the game even had health, and on until mid beta stages. The openness - the level of customization in your creations only limited by the square shape of the game's blocks gives you an intriguing way to approach a landscape you can completely remove and mold to your liking. Want to build a town? Turn the world into a crater? A gauntlet of monsters? Farm chickens? Explore caves? All open options. I dumped many hours into this game. The only thing that keeps me from playing it now is the lack of stability in terms of servers being wiped, or updates requiring server wipes, corruption, etc. I wish I could still have all of my original creations and to have just continued to build on top of them. It's really disheartening losing out on old creations, but playing on the same server without ever needing a wipe/rebuild, the server going defunct because the person no longer wants to host it, massive game changes making it a near requirement to restart your server to be able to take advantage of the new content, and not being griefed in some capacity is pretty unlikely. It's a fun game, regardless. I just can't find myself playing it any more because I need 2 things - the ability to play with friends, and the ability to not have my creations thrown to the wind. But it seems you have to pick one or the other. If Notch can find a solution to this, I'll stick around. Perhaps a powerful map cut-and-paste type utility for you to transfer things from one server to another? A small file that can simply be opened and loaded into another server's map file, for example. That would be wonderful. Expand
  78. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strange houses! You'll love it, if you loved Lego years ago. It's an enormous and very fun sandbox game, that represents the top of Indie Games. VIRTUALINN.IT
  79. Feb 21, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly.
  80. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    It's really hard to review a game like Minecraft because Minecraft is a game of what you make of it. The only limits in this game are the limits of your own imagination. Graphically, in Vanillia, it's hard to rate. The simple blocky graphics are charming and endearing to some (myself included) whereas super ugly to others. But if you find the vanillia graphics ugly, download andIt's really hard to review a game like Minecraft because Minecraft is a game of what you make of it. The only limits in this game are the limits of your own imagination. Graphically, in Vanillia, it's hard to rate. The simple blocky graphics are charming and endearing to some (myself included) whereas super ugly to others. But if you find the vanillia graphics ugly, download and install one of the plethora of user made texture packs. I guess it is easy to criticize the simple combat mechanices, but again, this game is what you make of it. Most Minecraft hardcores don't play the game to have a fight, we play the game to build and socialize (if playing on a server). Any review is going to be 100% biased based on the users personal experience with the game. What I'm trying to get across is don't listen to any of these reviews. If you're interested, buy the game and play it for yourself, and create your own experience. This game is a breath of fresh air in today's gaming industry, and I can wholeheartedly recommend that you at least give it a try. Expand
  81. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    A truly wonderful game where you are the creator and you can build anything you want this game has been around for 5 years and its till only getting bigger. People are making YouTube Channels about his Twitch accounts. People are making mods, toys, phone cases, clothing, and its only getting bigger. They even have they're own convention. Over all this game is going down in video game history.
  82. Oct 9, 2015
    8
    Fully immersive sandbox game! Its simplicity and lack of story may not please everyone, but is what makes Minecraft ultimately so compelling and entertaining play after play.
  83. May 23, 2016
    10
    At first, it may seem it is just about placing blocks, there is much more you can do such as going on adventures, exploring the world you are in, and creating breathtaking creations. Don't judge this game by it's title and play it for yourself.
  84. Aug 15, 2015
    10
    Great game. The possibilities are endless. It is very simple and easy to learn how to build things, and the amount of things you can build is incredible. I also think that the creepers and zombies are good entertainment to kill in survival.
  85. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I change my opinion about Minecraft. Back when it was 1.6 or 1.7 it was hard to find lots of cool things to do when you built a awesome house, had diamond weapons and armor, etc. Now, at the full release, we have leveling up, hunger, creative mode, hardcore mode, and so many other new features to keep you glued in your seat.
  86. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The game offers original concept and total freedom, while access to the code itself allows modders to do literally anything. This game is an ultimate sandbox and while it may not be equally fun to everyone (certain I got bored pretty fast), it is hands down brilliant.
  87. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This game is great, if you don't have it, why not? It's legos for adults. Not only is it fun to build and create, they constantly add more content to the game. Minecraft has been a game that I constantly go back to and find myself engrossed in days and weeks of crafting and building.
  88. May 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. The only things that annoys me are the various bugs and the fact that it is written in Java making it unplayable on older computers. Especially the restone circuitry is buggy as hell. The same circuit has a different behavior if you flip it horizontally (face it to another direction) like the EW and NS axis matters in how redstone works. Also variousOne of the best games I've ever played. The only things that annoys me are the various bugs and the fact that it is written in Java making it unplayable on older computers. Especially the restone circuitry is buggy as hell. The same circuit has a different behavior if you flip it horizontally (face it to another direction) like the EW and NS axis matters in how redstone works. Also various other very old bugs still exist for some reason. To be honest I'd prefer someone fixing those to adding cats to the game (which were so lovable of course). Would be 10/10 if it didn't have those bugs. Expand
  89. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is pure enjoyment packed in a pixelated world. The fact that you can explore an endless world, and build almost anything, out of anything, is a wonderful thing.
  90. Apr 14, 2015
    8
    Minecraft is a game were you mine and craft. You can do anything you want in this game. Wanna make giant tower? Do it. Want to play mini-games on servers with friends? Play it. WANNA FIGHT A GIANT DRAGON?!?! YOU CAN DO THAT!!! The only problem is the early learn curve when it comes to crafting.
  91. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    This game expands the creativity of the gamer to a whole new, breathtaking level. It has great music, controls, and a simple design. You can build anything you want and it makes you feel all the better because you made it, you earned it, you work for it.
  92. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the greatest things god has ever gave us on the PC period. It just blows my mind with all the blocks you can use to build amazing things! if your reading this I recommend this game hard core get this game right now. Trust me you will not be disappointed.
  93. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    How could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and serverHow could you call Mine craft not fun? When I first tried it out, I never knew that using your imagination and putting it into a game could be so much fun. From there, I wanted to learn more: how red stone works, how to build a TNT cannon, etc. Basically what I'm trying to say is if you know what you're doing, Mine craft is extremely addicting. Also to add on to the fun are mods and server plugins. They make Mine craft just very addicting, like a chewy cookie. This game is underrated by so many people, don't listen to them: they don't know what a good game is like. Expand
  94. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I dont know whats up with the people that is scoring this game 0 because of the graphics. AS far as i know the "my score" slider is to rate the game NOT THE GRAPHICS. Now, people writting about repetitive gameplay... how a sandbox game can be repetitive? only will be repetitive if you want! Why dont you go fishing? hunting? farming? this game isnt about breaking and putting blocks! I likeI dont know whats up with the people that is scoring this game 0 because of the graphics. AS far as i know the "my score" slider is to rate the game NOT THE GRAPHICS. Now, people writting about repetitive gameplay... how a sandbox game can be repetitive? only will be repetitive if you want! Why dont you go fishing? hunting? farming? this game isnt about breaking and putting blocks! I like this game, i play alot and sure, has lots of bugs, but they're working on it. 10/10 hatters gonna hate. Expand
  95. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Very fun, the things you can do in this game are practically endless. Well, almost. Cool game to play if you have nothing else to do, or if you just want to mess around in Multiplayer with your friends.
  96. May 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't see why this is so heavily criticized. The graphics aren't that good, but it doesn't matter, yet for the idiots who think it does you can use Texture Packs to make it look different, which is great. Minecraft, yes, takes time to learn and get used to, but afterwards its a fun and challenging game.

    With Achievements, you don't feel pressured to get them as they're optional and don't affect anything. There IS a way to finish the game, by locating a Stronghold with Ender Eyes and jumping through the portal to defeat the Dragon. It can be done whenever you want as Minecraft is a Sandbox game and if you do try then it will take a good while, but not too long.

    Gameplay is fun. There are three modes, Survival, Creative and Hardcore. Survival is a survival mode, hunt for food, fight monsters, etc. In Creative you have god power and can do whatever. In Hardcore, it is like Survival but locked on Hard and you can only die once.

    The game is cheap for what it is so go buy it. My only complaint is it may lag, but that's it.
    Expand
  97. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Very, very addictive game and this is one of the best game of 2011 and one of my favorite. You can create your ideal world oneself or with friends. This game is for everyone. I started play Minecraft 1 year ago and play now. New version is really great. I advice this game all creative people...... or everyone ;) Rate 10/10.
  98. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I have to give the user score a boost here, a lot of hateful trolls are trying to make it look bad.

    Minecraft is what you make of it, and if you suck at making good things, then the game is going to suck for you. But that doesnt make it a bad game. You just suck.
  99. May 28, 2013
    8
    It would be silly for me to say I don't love this game, given that i have a youtube channel centered around it. But the reason it isn't a 10 is because most of the stuff I love about this game is fan created content. The developers need to get of their asses and actually go somewhere with this game. This is a game that has so much potential, but the devs aren't doing anything with it. IIt would be silly for me to say I don't love this game, given that i have a youtube channel centered around it. But the reason it isn't a 10 is because most of the stuff I love about this game is fan created content. The developers need to get of their asses and actually go somewhere with this game. This is a game that has so much potential, but the devs aren't doing anything with it. I wouldn't be surprised if Mojang spend more time at the office playing games than actually making them. Expand
  100. Apr 29, 2011
    0
    To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought.To respond to all criticism: Graphics. They're that way to make the game cool and retro. If the graphics were better, the game would lag severely and Minecraft would be unplayable. Gameplay: You make your own fun. Pretend you're stuck underground and the rescue party won't come because everyone thinks you're dead. You have to force your way out and you try not to die. Just a thought. Building an awesome house. Go out and fight the mosters. Tame a Wolf to be you pet. I'm always finding these underground waterfalls and lavafalls. You get the sense that you're going where no-one else has gone before. Bugs and Glitches: This is an indie game that is massive. Ok. Some bugs are major and they suck. Moving on! This game is overwhelming if you don't know what to do. Use the Minecraft Wiki to help. Build a house and go out mining and exploring. Build a massive minecart track. Sometimes, a nice little tune would play to ease you up a bit in tough situations. Bottom line: It's a triumph of Indie gaming. It's up there with the games that started out small and turned huge like the classic Donkey Kong, World of Goo, Braid and many others. A modern classic, hands down. I'd like to give it a 9.5, but I can't... Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]