User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4248 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll haveThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    I must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage. mojang have sold thousands of copies already and you can see the game showing up on all the big gamer sites. This game combines sandbox with survival and it have already given me more playtime than in any other game. The multiplayer is still buggy but Notch (the developer and founder of mojang) is working his guts of onI must say this game is a masterpiece even in this late alpha stage. mojang have sold thousands of copies already and you can see the game showing up on all the big gamer sites. This game combines sandbox with survival and it have already given me more playtime than in any other game. The multiplayer is still buggy but Notch (the developer and founder of mojang) is working his guts of on updates etc. The whole community is friendly, big and will welcome you with open arms! Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Minecraft is like lego on acid...... acid made out of marsmen concentrate. It is the first game ever made for people who have OCD and it is very addictive. Highly recommended
  4. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Games is awesome. I couldnt believe it when i first saw it. But men, it got me hooked like a Drug from the start. Starting out on a Island in a World thats 8 Time the Surface of the Earth. Crafting the first Wooden Pickaxle, building your House. And digging just so you find a Cave filled with Gold, iron etc. Gotta watch out for the Zombies though. Traveling to a far away Island for a new beginning. SO much fun Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Minecraft is not really a game. It's more like phenomenon. I can not really imagine person which has not heard of Minecraft. So far millions of people played it. I have watched it since January 2010 and first played it in November 2010. I have watched all the process of constructing and upgrading the game, and I guess I was one of the first thousand Poles who bought it. With thisMinecraft is not really a game. It's more like phenomenon. I can not really imagine person which has not heard of Minecraft. So far millions of people played it. I have watched it since January 2010 and first played it in November 2010. I have watched all the process of constructing and upgrading the game, and I guess I was one of the first thousand Poles who bought it. With this knowledge, i can really say it: alpha 1.2.6 was the best part of Minecraft, and it would deserve 10. But since then, adding incomplete stuff and ruining it's point have ruined it's final score, too. But, even therefore there's so many stupid and incomplete stuff (NPC's, villages, etc. etc.) I love it. I love it the damn outta it. It really is not a game; you can not say "Minecraft has bored me, I am leaving". You just open it sometimes and play. It's not like "I like it" or "I don't like it", since it's YOUR game. You decide what are you doing in your fantastic, randomly generated world and your own decision is, what you'll build, and what will you see. You can build, you can discover or you can kill everything in sight. Whatever you choose, it's your game and even if you don't like building, you can for example go and look for dungeons, and vice versa. It can never make you bored as if you'll get bored of something, you can always make something different. The point of my score (9 out of 10) is just because of Notch's decision to make it more RPG like than sandbox like. Yeah, you still can ignore villages and strongholds and keep building, but still it makes me feel like I'm playing incomplete Diablo clone than 100% complete, full and enjoyable sandbox game. I enjoyed 1.2.6 alpha more, but 1.0.0 release is still, by far, the most enjoyable game... ever made? Maybe. That's because the possibilities are endless. If I'll ever get bored of this game... I'll do something else in my beautiful world. Funny, how 9 out of 10 game is more enjoyable than games I've rated 10. And I feel really bad of having incomplete game as the release version. But now... back to my mine. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. TheThis game is amazing. Being able to create your own experience and adventures make this games one of a kind. Your whole world is built out of blocks and without any storyline or plot. You have to survive in this harsh world by crafting items and building a home for yourself. I was not disappointed by this and likely neither will you as you can jump right in and do what ever. The multiplayer experience allows you to play online with your friends to go on more adventures in this blocky world, or just to create epic structures. The 3 modes that you can play on are survival, creative (unlimited resources, and items), and hardcore (basically survival, but if you die your world is deleted without any recovery). The amount of mods for this game and neat texture packs will have you scouring the internet for the ones you love, making the game even more personal to you without any extra charge. This is a game that does not disappoint. You won't regret your purchase. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Minecraft has risen to a great success because of it's loyal fan base. The game has good graphics (It's what the developer wanted to be) and might have infinite replay-ability thanks to the constant updates and the creativity of some of the fan base.
  8. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Bought the game during its development when the offer was play now and get the full game on release, at the time the building was quite amusing but that was as far as any fun went, the combat and actual gameplay elements other than the building were reminiscent of some very early 8-bit games and poorly implemented. I stuck with the game a while as these elements were said to be improvingBought the game during its development when the offer was play now and get the full game on release, at the time the building was quite amusing but that was as far as any fun went, the combat and actual gameplay elements other than the building were reminiscent of some very early 8-bit games and poorly implemented. I stuck with the game a while as these elements were said to be improving as the game neared release. Roll on to a few versions near before release and still the gameplay was primitive but some new features had crept in and the final version started to sound like it had promise from what was being told, I started to gain more interest in the game again which I had left alone for months. A few weeks back and the final 1.0 is announced so I try to log into minecraft (bear in mind the login name still persists in its entry box of both my windows PC and linux notebook so I know they are correct and I have the details written down and kept somewhere safe) and I get an error message - login failed. I have since tried to get the game to work again - lost password, lost account, hack request, etc have no effect on the main site and it looks like my account has vanished, my emails to mojang go unanswered for weeks, I even tried an attempt to tweet the developer but no answer. Sorry but I cannot rate a game higher than 0 that is not playable in any shape or form, and for them to lose/wipe my account details after having paid is shocking and it looks like it will go unresolved. If you pay for the game I hope you dont have this happen to you, but I know for one I wont being giving mojang any more of my cash. Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2010
    9
    One of the best games I've ever played and it's still just in alpha.
    While it might not look like much it's one of the most exciting games I've played, it features endless possibilities for exploration, adventuring, crafting, building and shaping the world around you.
    It can also be hysterically frightening in a panicky kind of way, when you've just mined a bunch of high value ores down
    One of the best games I've ever played and it's still just in alpha.
    While it might not look like much it's one of the most exciting games I've played, it features endless possibilities for exploration, adventuring, crafting, building and shaping the world around you.
    It can also be hysterically frightening in a panicky kind of way, when you've just mined a bunch of high value ores down in a deep and dark cave and suddenly run into a bunch of monsters.
    It's very hyped at the moment, but coming from someone who bought it earlier this year I think it deserves all the attention it's currently getting.
    Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Best game ever created... bad graphics? WHO CARES? the gameplay possibilities are almost infinites! Awesome.... thanks notch ... keep up the good work :)
  11. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    It's PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The environment is creative and the building and mining is interactive and addictive.
  12. May 2, 2015
    10
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  13. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    I don't get why so many people hate this game. They say that it gets boring, but there truly are infinite things to do, especially when it comes to multiplayer. There are so many servers that create game modes that are basically their owns games. Building and redstone are perfect when you are bored. If you want, there are hundreds of mods to use. I've seen people say they hate it for notI don't get why so many people hate this game. They say that it gets boring, but there truly are infinite things to do, especially when it comes to multiplayer. There are so many servers that create game modes that are basically their owns games. Building and redstone are perfect when you are bored. If you want, there are hundreds of mods to use. I've seen people say they hate it for not explaining itself, but when I started, I never even thought about searching the internet for help, at least until I got into redstone. The developers do add things at random it seems, but that just makes it better. You can choose what parts you want to use. This was one of the first computer games I played, and I haven't found a game yet that matches this one. It haven't lost its touch, and there is something for everyone, no matter what your age. Expand
  14. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Amazing ! This game has everything. I know what you must be thinking ..... There is no story mode and it's just breaking and building blocks. Well no, it's more than that, mojang (the company who made this game) has made sure that this game helps other people modify it by modding or just playing with the in game added features to make something awesome. With the ability to do whatever youAmazing ! This game has everything. I know what you must be thinking ..... There is no story mode and it's just breaking and building blocks. Well no, it's more than that, mojang (the company who made this game) has made sure that this game helps other people modify it by modding or just playing with the in game added features to make something awesome. With the ability to do whatever you want the only limit is you imagination . This game adds a lot to the gaming community and has shaped youtube a lot . I personally feel this game requires a lot of attention and I do accept, the graphics are crap but you can't expect awesome graphics on a game that started out as indie right ? Expand
  15. Nov 27, 2016
    8
    Классная игра, приятно играть, строить, выживать, выращивать овощи, бегать с друзьями. Приятные воспоминания, но в игре ужасное комьюнити. Круто изучать моды. Геймплей 8/10. Саундтрек 6/10. Ну, это крутая игра для побегушек с друзьями.Классная игра, приятно играть, строить, выживать, выращивать овощи, бегать с друзьями. Приятные воспоминания, но в игре ужасное комьюнити. Круто изучать моды. Геймплей 8/10. Саундтрек 6/10. Ну, это крутая игра для побегушек с друзьями.
  16. May 2, 2013
    8
    I give it 8.
    Minecraft is a Sandbox game,whether you can play Survival mode,like the classic mode where beating mobs,make shelter,Mining Ore,or discover the unholy place of Mineshaft,Nether or even End World.Or you play Creative,where you are god,do everything,blow world to pieces,or build something cool to share your creativity :)
    Although i do not enjoy the Single-Player Mode,since it
    I give it 8.
    Minecraft is a Sandbox game,whether you can play Survival mode,like the classic mode where beating mobs,make shelter,Mining Ore,or discover the unholy place of Mineshaft,Nether or even End World.Or you play Creative,where you are god,do everything,blow world to pieces,or build something cool to share your creativity :)
    Although i do not enjoy the Single-Player Mode,since it kinda bored easily when you alone on the world,the multiplayer,shows how great this game was,it was like Life-Consumer xD
    The graphics through,its not really bad,but i think you can know the blocks easily,its charming textures that reminds how good the game graphic was.
    Thats all for my review,so my last verdict about the review is,Better play with friends and also,the game makes its better if the people show their creativity rather than none.
    Expand
  17. May 9, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there areI don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there are hundreds of Hunger Games servers, Search and Destroy servers, etc. If you like playing Call of Duty or Battlefield, there are servers for that as well. There are maps made for RPG play too. Anything you want to do in Minecraft, you can, so go buy this game as it is much less expensive than most other games. Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Great game but gets boring. The thing that keeps me playing are the mods. Technic is one of them (mod pack) Adds so many new things to the game that makes it awesome. I don't know how people can give this below a 6. The graphics are supposed to be like that. Why do you think they allow texture packs? Anywhere from 1x1 to 512x512.
  19. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Very fun, the things you can do in this game are practically endless. Well, almost. Cool game to play if you have nothing else to do, or if you just want to mess around in Multiplayer with your friends.
  20. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is a block-based sandbox game where you can either gather resources, explore randomly-generated terrains and structures, and fight dangerous monsters in survival, or build something amazing in creative. You can also play and view other users creations with adventure mode. Minecraft has limitless potential, with so many features in counting. You can also utilise a small section ofMinecraft is a block-based sandbox game where you can either gather resources, explore randomly-generated terrains and structures, and fight dangerous monsters in survival, or build something amazing in creative. You can also play and view other users creations with adventure mode. Minecraft has limitless potential, with so many features in counting. You can also utilise a small section of features into something extraordinary. To see what has come with 3 years of development, I can't wait to see the future of Minecraft! The game can be a big glitch with certain features and graphical content, and for that reason, I score it a 9. Expand
  21. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    The best way to describe Minecraft is a piece of paper. You may look at it and say there's nothing to do here but you can also say there's everything to do here. There are little if any limits of what Minecraft can achieve. A sandbox experience like no other.
  22. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    The game is quite good. Vanilla gets boring in about a month. But all the mods, maps, texture packs etc etc is what makes the game have a huge re-playability. But vanilla could get boring fastly, so try some mods and maps. Could be really fun. Oh and multiplayer with a few friends always makes more fun.
  23. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    It's really hard to review a game like Minecraft because Minecraft is a game of what you make of it. The only limits in this game are the limits of your own imagination. Graphically, in Vanillia, it's hard to rate. The simple blocky graphics are charming and endearing to some (myself included) whereas super ugly to others. But if you find the vanillia graphics ugly, download andIt's really hard to review a game like Minecraft because Minecraft is a game of what you make of it. The only limits in this game are the limits of your own imagination. Graphically, in Vanillia, it's hard to rate. The simple blocky graphics are charming and endearing to some (myself included) whereas super ugly to others. But if you find the vanillia graphics ugly, download and install one of the plethora of user made texture packs. I guess it is easy to criticize the simple combat mechanices, but again, this game is what you make of it. Most Minecraft hardcores don't play the game to have a fight, we play the game to build and socialize (if playing on a server). Any review is going to be 100% biased based on the users personal experience with the game. What I'm trying to get across is don't listen to any of these reviews. If you're interested, buy the game and play it for yourself, and create your own experience. This game is a breath of fresh air in today's gaming industry, and I can wholeheartedly recommend that you at least give it a try. Expand
  24. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a revolutionary game, sure it dosent have the best graphics and some of it feels unpolished but that dosent hurt the whole package there are thousands of mods and texturepacks theyre super eazy to install, the game is updated frequently in wich updates add new mobs items dungeons fixes or things to do i dont care what anyone says Notch hasent gone money hungry when he gotMinecraft is a revolutionary game, sure it dosent have the best graphics and some of it feels unpolished but that dosent hurt the whole package there are thousands of mods and texturepacks theyre super eazy to install, the game is updated frequently in wich updates add new mobs items dungeons fixes or things to do i dont care what anyone says Notch hasent gone money hungry when he got married if you bought minecraft you got another 1 for a freind Expand
  25. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    This game expands the creativity of the gamer to a whole new, breathtaking level. It has great music, controls, and a simple design. You can build anything you want and it makes you feel all the better because you made it, you earned it, you work for it.
  26. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. If you don't like this game, you're probably extremely impatient. Even if you get bored of the game, there are countless mods to spice it up. A work of art and a must-have for any gamer.
  27. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    Proud to be playing since Alpha builds! A true inspiration to any indie developers. This has truly embraced open sandbox, you can literally do whatever you want, I've spent days on this just building with the blocks they give you, using survival techniques to build your house, or using the brilliant redstone mechanics to create new contraptions, worth your money, I'd buy it again if onlyProud to be playing since Alpha builds! A true inspiration to any indie developers. This has truly embraced open sandbox, you can literally do whatever you want, I've spent days on this just building with the blocks they give you, using survival techniques to build your house, or using the brilliant redstone mechanics to create new contraptions, worth your money, I'd buy it again if only to support Mojang. Only a lost point on unnecessary recent updates, and leaving the game un-optimized in Java (They didn't lose a point for that as it would be an unfair judgement). Expand
  28. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The positives: You need a LOT of split second timing to successfully play this. It's a bit like having two seconds being with a cobra in a cage before he bites you. It also frustrates you, which I let out into anger, like what most people should do. Don't hold things in for too long, or it will have a significant impact n how you review this awesome, block-building voxel masterpiece of aThe positives: You need a LOT of split second timing to successfully play this. It's a bit like having two seconds being with a cobra in a cage before he bites you. It also frustrates you, which I let out into anger, like what most people should do. Don't hold things in for too long, or it will have a significant impact n how you review this awesome, block-building voxel masterpiece of a video game. Mixed: *blank* The negatives:
    The developers of Minecraft, Mojang AB/Studios release a new update every
    Expand
  29. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    10/10 Cannot be a game based off of creativity. This game has great concepts and great gameplay. Multiplayer becomes endless. Building can go on for centuries. You never truely run out of things to do. You may run out of creative things to create in the time you play. But all and all i think this game deserves what it has. Its a very nice game.
  30. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a fun indie sandbox game that started out as a no-physic limited map generation game and video quality and throughout it's history this game has become increasingly better. Fun for all ages, this game is both a realistic and creativity-challenging game with good fictional content and also good graphics. I enjoy this game and have finished it too.
  31. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive.
    when people ask me what is minecraft, i reply "its a game where you mine and craft"
    well. all i can say is iff a game has sold over 600,000 units, and is currently in Alpha and is currently FREE then this proves that minecraft is one of the best, most creative games you will play in a long time. a downside, (which isnt really a downside) is that it is addictive. really really addictive. one you start playing, you will not stop, either by creating new stuff or by perfecting existing creations
    Collapse
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]