User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2931 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    The most amazingly addicting game I have ever played. The price may seem a bit high, but it is totally worth it. Your world is literally YOURS. Build it the way YOU want (or destroy it the way you want). Although the graphics are less than modern, the simple game mechanics easily compensate. And the texture pack option allows for different graphics for different consumers (with different interests). It is, above all, a great game to have Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Digital lego's. Combined with mods, it provides endless hours of gameplay. One thing you really need though is a project. Picture what you want to build and start gathering the materials and build away. If you have friends who play this game too you should look into setting up a server which can boost the fun factor by several times. Those who give this game negative reviews because of graphics need to seriously get their heads out of their arses and realize that gameplay is where it's at. Expand
  3. May 18, 2012
    10
    Epic. Best game ever so far. Beautiful graphics, terrain. And "turing complete" redstone logic. Yeah, the game isnt really finished yet, but it's nearly open source (thanks java) so everybody can extend and modify what he wants. I bought it for 10â
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is a great game. It's a game where people can pretty much do whatever you want. Not only is the original version fun and will keep you busy for days, if you ever somehow get bored there are hundreds of mods and texture packs you can use, to always keep you entertained.
    Also, the game is always being updated with new content and has a lot of potential.

    Minecraft receives a 10 out
    of 10 from me for all these reasons. Expand
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    This game is not the best game ever created (obviously), but I think this indie blockbuster deserves most of the hype it is getting right now. Lackluster graphics, truckloads of bugs (even though the game is after full release, but still getting updated about every month), and virtually no storyline lowers my rating of this game, but once you hear the possibilities with this game, you will like this game very much. Guaranteed. Plus, the new updates usually have a lot of new features and bugfixes. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is best game for creative people. You Have there Creative mod And Survival. I hope there will be Adventure too. In every update there are new things. Its something like Life Simulation Because you must survive, and you have Hunger, Breath under water, On servers you can build with your friends or Fight them in PVP. I thinks that 304 dislikes of this game are people who envious of the success of the game.
    And earnings of Mojang
    Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    People who are writing about the games "horrid" graphics are not very observant in the slightest. The POINT of the style of graphics is that it's supposed to be blocky. It gives the user the literal "building blocks" style for the game. And the reviewers who point to the games "repetitiousness" clearly haven't explored the entire world. It's a sandbox game...you do what you want in the game. That's like saying Gary's Mod is repetitious (you just fool around in the game). This game is very well done. For people who DON'T know *cough zero rating reviewers cough*, there is actually an avenue for those wishing to go beyond the sandbox aspect. You can level up and equip and enchant your equipment in preparation for taking on the Ender Dragon. It is a very difficult monster that you have to kill. However, if you didn't take the time to actually explore the game and simply paid the money to buy the single player because of the hype and then dropped the game, you wouldn't know that would you? I highly recommend this game. The sandbox aspect allows you to build amazing creations that you could only see in your imagination (and thanks to the somewhat quirky engineering physics, you can really do some amazing things). The survival aspect gives you something to do from the start and makes the game more interesting from the second you are dropped into the middle of your randomized world. The end game dragon gives you something to work towards (and if you die, you lose your equipment, making taking on the Ender Dragon something you really have to prepare for). All in all, a very well rounded and strong game. Expand
  8. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    I started to think that Minecraft was just a 7, but after joining a Multiplayer server and now running my own Minecraft server, I find the real draw to this game. Playing single player will only bring so much satisfaction. Building massive projects with gaming friends does. With the additional mods available for both single player and multiplayer, Minecraft gets a 10 in my book. Some of those who have given poor reviews here have not experienced the full game obviously. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is way way overrated. I tried to play it, and honestly I don't understand what's so great about this. Notch was very lucky on all the free marketing around it, but even with that, I still don't understand what people see in this.
    My 10 year old kid, he does like to wander around and build houses, but he's 10 year old...
  10. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. I never get bored of it. I started playing Minecraft in Beta 1.3, and i still play it now, when its 1.2.5.
    There is so much content in this game, you can literally use over 300 hours on this game, not only playing. Also other Minecraft things.
    It still get updated which is good. The thing I don't like is, that the game can end. I don't like that.
    By the way this is a
    sandbox game, as you might know. Its very blocky, 16X16 pixels, so you don't need a good graphic card, but you'll need a good RAM. Because Minecraft use alot of RAM, it have to load chunk all the time, so it will lag.
    he start of the game is the best, you don't know what to do and all that. But later when you have played the game alot, you now what to do. And you will never get that feeling you had, when you first played it, for the first time.
    I can recommend this game to everyone, young or elder. Maybe not a 90 year old man, but grown-ups can also play this.
    PLEASE don't hear what other people say about this game, even though they say this game is great. It is YOUR opinion, so if you like it, buy it.
    This is one of my favourite games.
    Expand
  11. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    I can't believe all the jerks writing reviews here. Notch and the rest of Mojang have said plenty of times that they have one of the best communities for a game ever, and you give Minecraft a 6.9 user score? That's just rude in my opinion. I understand the amount of bugs, but there are no game-breaking bugs, and it is probably the most ambitious game out there. I mean, Notch wanted to make a never-ending world made ENTIRELY OUT OF BLOCKS that you could break and place in any form or fashion. And he pulled it off! There is obviously no game in the world that you can literally do ANYTHING, but with just the stuff you start out with (not counting mods), you can do so much and build anything. Even contraptions! Now, to all the people that say that the graphics are bad, first of all its an indie game and its supposed to look like that. If you don't like it, get a texture pack! Its as easy as that! Also, to the people who say some things (like the NPCs) don't have much of a use, do you really think they are going to just leave them like that? If anything, you yelling at them probably makes them want to fix things LESS. Minecraft is my favorite game, and no matter how much it changes, they so far have only added and fixed more and more things, so, it just gets better. Expand
  12. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    I can get totally addicted to this game. The price for premium is too high, in my opinion. It really isn't worth $26... I should have stayed at $10. Anyway, I still love this game because I enjoy building things out of my imagination and role playing on certain servers with random miners and my friends. The battle system is kind of sad. Overall, I give this a 10 because I enjoy it all the way. It has bugs and questionable features, but It's still really really fun. Expand
  13. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is an unhealthy game to play, and it's sad to see people who are addicted to a game that has no point at all. The game steals all the creative ideas planned to do outside. Then it brings them to a neverending spiral of misery. Minecraft has bugs and mediocre graphics with a price tag of $30. The best way to save money is to not purchase Minecraft since there obviously wasn't enough effort developing the game. If you are planning to buy video games, don't buy Minecraft. There are so many other options to spend free time such as hiking, investing, learning something new, or socializing with friends. It's possible to be happy without Minecraft. Expand
  14. May 17, 2012
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous. This game is incredibly personal and acquires over time it's own sort of personality. It's brilliant, and in multiplayer, can be a beautiful escape. The graphics are, yes, squares, but that takes no beauty from the stunning imagery of Minecraftia. This is a brilliant thing, and though it runs horribly, it's something that almost makes Minecraft more what minecraft really is, a PC game. Incredible game, incredible soundtrack, incredible graphics, Notch really has created something evolutionary here. Expand
  15. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I am a Chinese player. But in China, it is not very popular.
    It's a creative game. But Chinese education kills students' creativity.
    So, many students think it's a puerile game.
    -----------------------------------------------------
    MCå
  16. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    I have to give the user score a boost here, a lot of hateful trolls are trying to make it look bad.

    Minecraft is what you make of it, and if you suck at making good things, then the game is going to suck for you. But that doesnt make it a bad game. You just suck.
  17. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is amazing! This is a great example to what games should be. Complete freedom and choice. Like you can do almost whatever you want. You can mine, build, farm, and do much, much more. The game may seem difficult and frustrating when first playing survival, but once you know all you need to know, it becomes quite fun and simple. Even though the graphics look like they're from the 90's, the game is still a true masterpiece. Expand
  18. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best indie games out there. This one can't be missed. You can make so much stuff, a lot of excitement, just one of the best out there. Don't listen to the bad reviews!
  19. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Minecraft proves that modern games don't need fancy graphics or in-depth story to be truly amazing. Highly recommended, and one of the most innovative games I have ever played.
  20. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    I liked this game, everything about your creativity. You can creat everything, and play custom maps which prepared from anyone. There are so many maps created by professionals and I really enjoy to see different things in game. This game is completely different. I'm playing this game since its beta release and I think I'm so lucky. Price is really good for an endless adventure.
  21. Jul 1, 2012
    10
    Minecraft? I call it Minecrack. I started playing in Beta 1.3, and was somewhat deterred by the 8-bit graphics, but after a while of playing and exploring, Minecraft turned out to be the thrill-ride of all games! Do what you want, when you want, how you want. Want to conquer dungeons? No problem! Want to build a castle? Be my guest! Want to open Hell's Kitchen, literally? Have a great dinner! The possibilities are endless with Minecraft! What's that? The possibilities have ended, you say? NO PROBLEM! Minecraft has a huge modding community, so why not turn Minecraft into an RPG? What about multiplayer, you ask? With a host of custom server software and a (mostly) friendly community, the sky is the limit! Or you know, you could build over the sky...WELCOME TO MINECRAFT! Believe me, however, Minecraft does has its flaws, mostly around the areas of lag, but other than that, there's nothing else to say! And for $26.00, this is a steal! Buy it now! Expand
  22. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    For the amount of games I own in my steam library, and on the xbox the game that I still have put more hours in, and continue to put many hours in is Minecraft. I don't know why this game is so incredibly addicting but it keeps me coming back day after day.
  23. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    1. This game is awesome.
    2. Bad graphics? Use a texture pack.
    3. Repetitive gameplay? Get a mod.
    4. The great thing about Minecraft- it can be bended and warped to your will.
    5. This game is awesome.
  24. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    There is not a easy way to describe this - which is much more than a game. Is a game build inside a community based on the internet and exchange of experiences about the game. It's truly approachable to the people who plays it, because it accounts their expectations. It's a sandbox, but is also a resources m anaging game,although it uses doesn't stop there. It's an indie game, and the fact that it doesn't have an tutorial - as some critic once pointed - make sense in a way that's all shared in the internet. It's a game to share with people the achievements, the way of play and, also, is a long experience if you dare to try get inside the multiplayer community and multiplayer servers on-line. With friends and anonymous minecrafters, there's always a new terrain to explore. Expand
  25. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    this game is soooo good. it involves creativity and requires memory. the difficulty is changeable and has good ideas. the crafting table is awesome. defiantly worth your time. NOTE: THIS GAME IS EXTREMELY ADDICTIVE. 10 points XD
  26. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best pc game I had ever played.I loved the way you have to create your own house and live there. You can do crafting which is great.
  27. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Notch is thick and it is from Sweden, if you bought Minecraft you are what destroys the games!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  28. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game in existence, besides from Doom I and Doom II. It is a 16-bit voxel based creative sandbox game in which you can do WHATEVER you want. The people saying it has very limited customization options obviously haven't played the game or searched around about it at all, you can change texture packs which provide different visual effects, you have mods which change the game a bunch, then you can change your player skin, to a robot or a man with a mustache. You can build whatever you desire, from a castle to an underground home, or you can use redstone to build an 8-bit computer, or a game of hangman. The worlds are basically infinite, larger than the Earth. This is a game for creative minds and creative people, this game may not look it for some people, but when you begin to play it, you are into it right away until you hit diamonds or any modded ores, items, blocks, etc. I have seen this game in schools to teach people certain things. This game is far more fun than Call of Duty, even though they are in different game genres. I highly recommend this game for everyone that brings gameplay over graphics. Expand
  29. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. I love how you just fall into an unknown world. And the best help is the surrounding community's help; It brings the community closer together. I love the feeling of creating your first house, the pride and feeling of accomplishment! The enemy AI is really cool, especially the creepers. Notch is a really cool guy, and the story of his time making this wonderful game is truly amazing. The graphics are so simple yet so astounding! I love this game and I can never get sick of it! Although the bugs are pretty annoying, I cannot think of anything else that makes me doubt this game! It's amazing! Expand
  30. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game i´ve ever played i think it is one of the best RPG games that where ever invented once you have mastered the real game you can get mods Best game i´ve ever played
  31. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    If you like creative gaming then you will love this game. Even if you don't there are still plenty of mods to play around with and things like hunger games servers if you don't want to build. This games is half the cost of a normal full retail game and it will last you forever, since its getting updates and an endless stream of mods, custom map, and texture packs. I've had it for 1.5 years and still play it a lot and it hasn't gotten tiring yet, simply because the is litterally infinite possiblities for mods and over a trillion different worlds that you can spawn in. You can't go wrong with this game. The only bad thing is that it is buggy but these will be fixed. Another good thing is that almost any computer can run it. And if your computer runs it slowly then the optifine mod can make it run faster. This is a game that everyone should have. Expand
  32. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. If you ever enjoyed playing with legos, this game is the only one to adequately capture that feeling. Combine that with regular free updates and a huge modding community and there is absolutely no reason why anyone should rate this game poorly. The terrain generator alone can keep you busy exploring your unique world for hours. Multiplayer is even more fun, because you can build things cooperatively and show them off. As I read some of these negative reviews, I can't help but feel like these people are used to much more linear games and expect minecraft to demand their attention until a set end point like most games do. It does not. Minecraft is less of a "game" to beat and more of a toy, one that you'll keep coming back to again and again if you have any spark of creative spirit. Expand
  33. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    Minecraft ITSELF, is a pretty bad game. Repetative combat, essentially no plot, a lot of stuff to do, but your working towards no goal. Now, why the 10 out of 10. Because although Minecraft itself is terrible, the thing that pulls me in is what is can become! Its as if Notch gave the world a toll to create a game that you wanted. It has about the largest modding community I've ever seen in a game, and what people have done has amazed me. There are servers where you can join factions, and there are servers where you can fight a zombie invasion. There are mods where you can destroy a world with technology, and there are mods where you can turn it into an RPG and be whoever you want to be. Never before have there been so many possibilities in one game. Yeah I'm still going to by RPGs becuase I love a good story, but if I just want to do whatever I please in a world where ANYTHING is possible, then I'm gonna sit down log in to Minecraft and play some YogBox. 10 out of 10. Expand
  34. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the most creative game you will probably ever play. You can basically do anything with and if that isn't enough there are plenty of mods out for it that will add just about anything to the game. With that the game is constantly updating, adding more and more features making it even more limitless. For the graphics, well lets just say that they are not modern but you really don't care when your playing because your having so much fun. Besides you can just get texture packs for it anyways. Chances are your friends are playing it already so you can just hop on a server and start playing together. There are so many servers that you'll find one quickly. Overall i think this game is a must buy with all it has to offer and all the mods have to offer. Expand
  35. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    If I could award a score of 11 I would. Minecraft is in a league of its own and that's because its designer is in a league of his own. Its pure class, coming from a background of games development I can see this for what it truly is and its a masterpiece of fantastic design from start to finish. Its not finished. Perhaps it will never be finished. Try modding skyrim to emulate minecraft, its not possible as from the beginning Notch had a vision that entailed a world that had depth but also included an amazingly random world. Its open and its above what every developer puts out today, buy it love it or your a slave to the corporations. SUPPORT FOR INDIE DEVS.! Expand
  36. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    This game, minecraft is a truly awesome, epic game. it is for anyone who is a fan of terraria and other sandbox/building game. Even though it costs a lot of money, it is well worth the cost. I bet you could play this game for 10 years and not get bored with it.
  37. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Minecraft deserves a 10 out of 10 because its essentially the first of its kind. No other game I have ever played is even remotely similar to Minecraft. The old style of graphics, huge worlds, infinite possibilities of creation, unique enemies that attack at night, farming, mining, swimming, exploring, setting up defenses, etc. This game is a big bundle of random fun. It's also an excellent babysitter. Seriously set a kid up in a Minecraft world they wont leave the computer. All jokes aside theres no other game that really intrudes on Minecraft's genre. If I were to define "Sandbox" I would say "Minecraft". On top of being fun in Vanilla this game is veryyyy easily modded. Technic pack is one of my favorites because I don't actually have to mess with Minecraft's files. It creates it's own directory. Although Technic does add a whole new meaning to the word "lost". Overall I've had a lot of fun with my blocky creations and because of an internet cap I can't play multiplayer. (I'm so jealous of unlimited internet... We can only get Verizon's 4g mifi where we live..) Anyways that's my review happy crafting :D! Expand
  38. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    It is truly the worlds only true "open-world" game, having unlimited possibilities, unlimited stories, and an unlimited world. Minecraft has plenty of flaws, but it adds to the game somehow, making it more interesting, and, occasionally, frustrating. The only limit Minecraft has is the limit of the players own mind, and that is what makes it special.
  39. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is one of my favourite games, but recently it started getting old. If you get bored, play tekkit or if you have friends who play miecraft too, make a modded server. It´s much more fun with mods.
  40. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    The pinnacle of emergent gameplay. The graphics don't matter, not in this case. The game is as good as you want it to be, nobody with a creative bone can find it boring. It's not "addictive" in the sense an MMO or a Facebook game can be addicting, it pushes the inventive buttons in the player's head and makes him want to outdo him/herself all the time, to improve his/her creations, to make new landmarks or embark on new expeditions. In addition to that, the game is continuously evolving, adding more objects and items to change the game world with. There's a reason why many call it "revolutionary". Expand
  41. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    The game is quite good. Vanilla gets boring in about a month. But all the mods, maps, texture packs etc etc is what makes the game have a huge re-playability. But vanilla could get boring fastly, so try some mods and maps. Could be really fun. Oh and multiplayer with a few friends always makes more fun.
  42. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game i've ever played. its so good... I love the music and the multiplayer is amazing, however making a server takes a sh*tload of time. overall a fantastic game.
  43. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game. I bought it at the Alpha stage and was pretty amazed. No such game has so much freedom. Yeah, Notch became money hungry, but he does not work on it anymore. Instead Dinnerbone is a really awesome guy and you notice that he loves to develop it. All updates were and are awesome. The updates only added things you don't NEED to use. You don't like enchanting? Don't use it. You don't like the bosses? Don't kill them. Easy as that. I still love the RPG-like elements. They add progression to the game. At the Alpha versions you got diamonds... that's it.

    I love everything about it. Just be aware of that not everybody can enjoy it. Some people can't play games without a main quest or something. :D 10/10
    Expand
  44. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game has kept me entertained for almost 2 years now, and was well worth the 7,50
  45. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a revolutionary game, sure it dosent have the best graphics and some of it feels unpolished but that dosent hurt the whole package there are thousands of mods and texturepacks theyre super eazy to install, the game is updated frequently in wich updates add new mobs items dungeons fixes or things to do i dont care what anyone says Notch hasent gone money hungry when he got married if you bought minecraft you got another 1 for a freind Expand
  46. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a 10 simply because if you want it to be simple, it's simple, but if you want it to be complex, it's complex. And the fact that you can literally make anything you want in the game, as long as you have the imagination. You even have electricity which is called Red Stone. With this you can make lamps with a switch (just to make an easy example). You could also do pixel art, which is art with the pixels (duh). A friend of mine had a friend that is a girl that created a picture of Albert Einstein. Yeah I'm serious.

    Make your own server, get mods, get it known all overthe world and have FUN! Worth every penny.
    Expand
  47. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. If you don't like this game, you're probably extremely impatient. Even if you get bored of the game, there are countless mods to spice it up. A work of art and a must-have for any gamer.
  48. pxl
    Dec 20, 2012
    10
    A game that has kept my entertained for around 2 years. I can always refer back to this game when the boredom sets in, if that refers to playing one of its many mods like Tekkit or The Aether, or just playing survival with Vanilla Minecraft. Then if I feel like mixing it up a bit, I'll refer to the forums and go play one of the thousands upon thousands of player created adventure/parkour maps. The interactivity Minecraft has was brilliantly devised and its nice to have tools at your disposal. Well done to the people that made Minecraft what it is today, which in my opinion, means the community. The mods and the maps make this game what it is, and Standard un-modded Minecraft is also a fun game. Thanks for the good game Notch, and thanks to the community, for keeping my entertained for hours on end. Expand
  49. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Minecraft is the best game on the PC. Building for free is great and Survival is excellent. I thought because it was pixelated it was bad but when i played it it was satisfying and really excellent fun
  50. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I know, I know, I am incredibly late on this one. I've played Minecraft for years now, and it is not only a game that revolutionized the Gaming Industry and especially the Indie industry. It is one of the most addictive, rewarding experiences you will ever play.
    If you haven't play Minecraft, what the hell are you waiting for? And trust me, the PC version is the one you want. First,
    almost every computer in the world runs it, you don't need a megalodon with high-tech specs to run the game. Second, don't **** about graphics. Minecraft is a beautiful game. It's blocky art stile is charming, and seeing a sunset for the first time with the eclectic piano music behind is just mesmerizingly beautiful.
    The objective in Minecraft is to survive. Or at least it is in "Survival" mode. As you progress through the game, you will progress in things like building a house, hunting monsters or going to hell. Everything can be for nothing in a blink of an eye (When you are dead, YOU ARE dead). You must orientate yourself in the random generated world, find shelter and food, and protect yourself from the creatures of the night. At moments it is thrilling, at moments scary, at moments funny. You never know what is going to happen in a typical Minecraft day.
    Then you have "Creative" mode. In this mode, you can do whatever you want with the blocks you want. Build a giant diamond mansion, and why not shape it like a yatch? How about farming zombies? The limit is literally your imagination.
    Minecraft also offers a multiplayer service. You can either play with friends or join a server to play something with the community. Want to play Hunger Games, Block Hunt and many other games with people from all around the world? Then the multiplayer experience is perfect for you. The variety of things to do and see is amazing.
    Minecraft is easily one of the jewels of this generation and of gaming history. It isn't ambitious and still, it feels like the biggest-scaled game ever made. It is always updating, expanding to keep things fresh, and it truly is the Indie Game that revolutionized the industry.
    Expand
  51. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The positives: You need a LOT of split second timing to successfully play this. It's a bit like having two seconds being with a cobra in a cage before he bites you. It also frustrates you, which I let out into anger, like what most people should do. Don't hold things in for too long, or it will have a significant impact n how you review this awesome, block-building voxel masterpiece of a video game. Mixed: *blank* The negatives:
    The developers of Minecraft, Mojang AB/Studios release a new update every
    Expand
  52. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    10/10 Cannot be a game based off of creativity. This game has great concepts and great gameplay. Multiplayer becomes endless. Building can go on for centuries. You never truely run out of things to do. You may run out of creative things to create in the time you play. But all and all i think this game deserves what it has. Its a very nice game.
  53. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    My new favorite game. Once you get over the fact that it isn't a fast paced game and that yes, everything is made of blocks, will you understand the true splendor of Minecraft. My recommendation is find a good server that you enjoy playing on and make some friends on their - it will be worth it. You can find servers on the minecraft forums.
  54. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a fun indie sandbox game that started out as a no-physic limited map generation game and video quality and throughout it's history this game has become increasingly better. Fun for all ages, this game is both a realistic and creativity-challenging game with good fictional content and also good graphics. I enjoy this game and have finished it too.
  55. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    best game ever.It was able to become my favorite game and ive never even actually played it that makes that kind of feat impressive its not only fun to play but also to watch
  56. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is one of the best game i have ever played. It's fun to create EVERYTHING beyond your imagination. If other game was developed by hundreds of people, this one, has been developed by a single person, Notch. His game is completely awesome. There are some bugs/glitches, though, but it will be fixed soon. It's really worth buying it.
  57. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    This game has made one of the biggest impacts on the gaming world as we know it. its a simple game full of family fun and boxes it doesn't really have much of a story line but i haven't herd any complaints about that. This game is truly consuming... just one more block just one more block!
  58. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Great game overall. Frequently updated and improved and many new blocks added regularily adding up to the amount of clever contraptions and machines you can build. Great pastime and quite addicting.
  59. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is as simple or as complex as you want to make it. There is really no "end" to the game, the possibilities are endless. You can gather, build and see different areas of the game to collect all the achievements if you wish or you can build, mod, explore and multiplayer is a whole other realm by itself.

    I'm not sure why people are complaining about features and how the
    developers are "full of themselves" they release an update weekly called "weekly snapshots". They contain bugs and are works in progress but that is the whole idea behind Minecraft it is a work in progress. It always will be. Unlike other open world games like GTA, there is always more coming. The only limitation to this game is yourself and if the game doesn't have a feature, there is most likely a mod that does. Expand
  60. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I don't understand that why people think Minecraft is a low-graphic game? Are you serious? This game does not about GRAPHIC. This is about your creativity. You can do whatever you want! Like castles,houses... Example, someone made a Battlefield 3 map in Minecraft (Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=be3CyvUptEc) This game will broad your mind. Just build something. Or play with your friends.
  61. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft Is the best game ever. In all seriousness it is addictive and i have been playing it for 4 years now, you can never run out of things to create and one of my best memories in gaming is the first time i ever played it you have no idea what anything does and the first night is terrifying. Pitch black with odd noises. Also it is a huge part of the gaming community, Without Minecraft there would be no Yogscast, no Sips and Sjin no Nerdcubed no totalbiscuit, pretty much all gaming channels started big by playing Minecraft!!!!! Expand
  62. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    I have been with Minecraft for most of development, and I must say it has gone a long way. Minecraft is a game like no other, the creative potential is unlimited. You can play the survival mode, witch is harder now on Hard mode, or you can get into creative and build anything you can imagine! Multiplayer works smoothly now, and the community online gets better by the day. The game has changed drastically, and I believe for the better. Minecraft is the single best game I have ever played, and I have played a lot. In my opinion, this game; no, this masterpiece, will live forever. Expand
  63. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This is the game that made indie gaming so popular it is really good while the graphics aren't realistic they are memorable and not dull but interesting the exploration is really encouraging and will keep you engaged the unlimited creativity is what makes this game excel. Then there are all the mods and texture packs.
    The Bad
    The multiplayer is hard to set up
    Java is slow
  64. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Opening the door for creativity and absolute sandbox give this game a perfect score in my book. Gamers understand that sometimes the modding community can make the game so much more than its original developers... for for that This game will be forever entered into the hall of firsts. some times good graphics do not matter, as long as mechanics and fun exist. HINT HINT AAA developers.
  65. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing its endless fun and hard to stop playing. If you don't like the main game that's fine just check out some mods. If you don't like the graphics get a texture pack. Over all this is an amazing game.
  66. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    I don't really know what to write in here. Minecraft is just awesome. If you are creative, you'll never get out of work and fun! To describe it very short: Minecraft is THE game, I would take to a lonely island!
  67. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Honestly, Minecraft is the best game I have ever played. There's something in it for everyone. Yeah, singleplayer vanilla may get boring after a while, but there's a practically endless assortment of awesome mods to choose from. And multiplayer, in my opinion, is really the great part of this game. For me, if I can find myself a relatively small server with a good community, I'm in heaven. Although many would disagree with me, I think the graphics work perfectly for the game, and even if you're unhappy with them there are plenty of great texture packs (one I would recommend is John Smith). The price point may look a little high, but when you compare it to a generic FPS that may be 20 dollars more with a 6 hour campaign and unimaginative gameplay, its a steal. Expand
  68. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    You Absolutely would not guess how many hour i have sunk into this game, and it is simply the most innovating game and one of the best games i have ever played, a well earned 10 is what this games gets. it has flaws of course, but every game does. for example, there should be more purpose to exploring places like the nether and the end( but it is also satisfyingly rewarding) like nether chest. i would complain that there should be level for mining but they have fixed that. a harder game mode would be nice, hardcore is scary but mobs can be killed very easily. and finally, just add herobrine. it would give a little bit of fear into the game. if they did this, i would try to convince metacritic to make and 11 out of 10 option Expand
  69. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    I've been with the game since a few days before the update to BETA 1.2, back when "Wow beds that set your spawn!" Was a huge game changer. The game has taken a big place in my heart, and even though I grew bored of single player after a few weeks and made myself create a new world which I got bored of a little quicker again I did drift from the game. As it's popularity increased though more servers became available and more people and friends got the game and a community was born, possibly the greatest game community of all if you pretend Little Big Planet doesn't exist (That's a compliment to both games)

    The multiplayer is a lot of fun and although building a village, town or city with friends eventually you run out of things to do, UNLESS you challenge yourselves, think of something and don't stop until you've achieved it. After that, install some mods, play some adventure maps and join some game servers like survival games and spleef arenas and parkour. The game has unlimited possibilities all thanks to it's players.

    The only thing I dislike about the game is with each coming update it looses some of the original charm that it had in the beginning. Even though it makes a better game with more things to do, I find myself upset to remember that the days of being impressed by beds is behind us. That may just be me however.

    Check this game out, play it at a friends house or try our the demo and watch a few videos. I promise you will want to be throwing your money right at it because I would have happily payed triple the price for this game that has given countless hours of entertainment to me, and counting.
    Expand
  70. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    I've bean around since alpha and have sill bean playing it so about 1 year of me Sitting at my computer playing, That's allot of game-play and its a very small file No pay DLC the updates are free! with new things and That's what i love about it
  71. May 7, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a GREAT game. I can't for the life of me figure out why some people give minecraft 1 or 0 or whatever. When i first saw it i thought what kind of graphics are these? Then i realized they were actually really good (on my opinion though,) and the game play never ever gets old. NEVER. There is always something to do like redstone contraptions,building humongous buildings and playing it with honest, fun people. It actually really lightens it up. I do have to say it needs some more updates. (lazy staff.) Expand
  72. May 15, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is brilliant! The game is about placing blocks and surviving. Although it might sound weird, it is really worth a try. I've put hundreds of hours in this game, and it never gets boring!

    The game is regularly updated and there's always new things to play around with. The only limit in Minecraft, is you. Just imagine how much you can achieve with an unlimited world and tons of
    blocks to build with. If that's not enough, there's a lot of mods and modpacks for the game. Many people are against the new updates that added features like enchanting or leveling but I personally don't have anything against these. These are survival elements that makes the game more fun. Minecraft will mainly always be about creativity and building so it doesn't really matter. Expand
  73. May 15, 2013
    10
    This game is a Masterpiece in all ways. You can play Singleplayer which is really enjoyable if you play it with mods, but without it still nice to play, and you can play Multiplayer which is really the most awesome thing ever. The graphics are good to a game that has infinite possibilities in an infinite world (anyways, you can install LOTS of texture and graphic mods). The sound is nice too. You can do everything in this game! it's probably one of the best RPGs ever, it's very simple to play but you can do in this game the most complicated things ever and you can develop and test your creativity. It's like a LEGO infinite world and infinite odds, hell I think this game is infinite in all ways. There are a lot of free updates and improvements every month, that make the game bigger and bigger.

    I have to say that the best way to play this game is installing mods or/and playing multiplayer with friends, if you play singleplayer without an idea you could get little bit disappointed, because it's simple to play, but difficult to learn (this game has a lot of things). But if you give to this game an opportunity, and you play with friends/mods, it's a Masterpiece.

    Sorry for my english. Download this game, and if you like it you can buy the game, but it's not 100% necessary (I bought it because I wanted to contribute the developers).
    Expand
  74. May 22, 2013
    10
    Mine craft is just the best experience you can get on pc at this moment, it is what ever you want it to be, the game offers a lot of mods with can be very easily installed via launcher, which adds a whole wide of possibilities it will always stay fresh and if the graphics get old to you, you can simply change them with a texture pack, this game is truly something special and anyone who has a creative mind with just indulge them self in this game Expand
  75. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    No matter what gaming mood I'm in, Minecraft is playable everyday. I love this game. It's so fun by myself and with friends. It takes a creative mind to build spectacular things. You literally can't go wrong with Minecraft people.
  76. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    An amazing game, but multiplayer sometimes fails. I've been trying to play multiplayer with my friend and its keeps shutting down when we attempt. I started to play back in Beta and have been havin fun collecting diamonds and killing squids and sheep n' stuff. This game is great way to express imagination through building.
  77. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a great sandbox game. The game can stay on your favorites list for much more time then other popular games with all of the possibilities it offers. I have to give this game a nine however due to my belief that the game is being adapted to the younger audience and is being made easier to adapt to that age range. I still love the game and I understand that it is more popular with younger consumers, but as an older gamer, this hurts the quality of the game for me. Even so, I recommend this game to anyone. Expand
  78. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a very special game like no other. It is revolutionary and inspired game developers to create more sandbox like games. Its very great to play the game while constantly being updated with new things.
  79. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Next to DTR, Minecraft is simply the greatest game of it's time. Forget COD or any of those childish shootups, THIS is a real game. With the best community i've seen in a long time, amazing gameplay, endless possibilites and the funky graphics, this game really is revolutionary.
  80. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    Honestly this is the game I've played and enjoyed more.
    It has a myriad of game options, not only to build, is to survive, have fun with friends, play the Hunger Games, counter strike, play adventure maps (my favorite part), in order to shorten it's great.
    The most people think they have bad graphics but is that the secret of this game, blocks make it unique and the first in a series of
    prints like minecraft cheap because no are two. Perfect. Expand
  81. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    I have played Minecraft for over 2 and a half years now, and I am still no were close to getting bored. Part of that is because of its awesome community and all the mods and adventure maps they have created over the year. You can literally play the whole portal 2 campaign with the right combination of mods and maps!
  82. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is an amazing game. And it is a game. Not a toy. Although the updates added in some annoying features(like maps automatically filling themselves up as soon as you craft them) the updates have improved upon the original game. Minecraft is still a wonderful game.
  83. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    One of the most open-ended & fun games I've ever played. I'm a very loyal fan to this constantly evolving and extremely addictive masterpiece. Minecraft is worth every minute of my time and has paid for itself 100 times over (and counting).

    The "big companies" need to pay attention to this game: I challenge any one of them to come up with a title this successful. Good luck!
  84. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a really good game, not only is it the ultimate lego set and a great survival game, but there are so many mini games and mods. you can play cops and robbers, super craft bros, and the hunger games. also there is adventure maps like epic jump map and so many more maps.
  85. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a unbelievable game with so much great game play. You can build whatever you want and battle monsters and go play with friends. Not to mention modding and the crazy server mini games like on the shotbow network. There's no end to what you can do! I find it hard to get bored of it!

    With it constantly being updated, also being one of the highest selling pc games of all
    time, Minecraft is one hell of a game, and is worth the money! Expand
  86. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    I'm telling you now, it doesn't get better than this. This will always be my favorite game for what the developers have given us. Any argument against this game is either "what's the goal" or "the graphics are terrible". The goal is to do whatever you want, because as soon as you generate a new world, that world belongs to YOU. No one can tell you what you are going to do in this fantastic game. I'm not the type of person that thinks that realistic graphics means good graphics. I love the way Minecraft looks and the blocky feel of it that makes it so easy to get into, yet also easy to be really advanced at. There is absolutely no logical reason to give this game anything less than an 8, because this really is quite possibly the best game to ever exist. Expand
  87. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the greatest things god has ever gave us on the PC period. It just blows my mind with all the blocks you can use to build amazing things! if your reading this I recommend this game hard core get this game right now. Trust me you will not be disappointed.
  88. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    this ma be one of the best games i ever-played mods creativity a key survival feature online mini games however i'm not ratting for this but their are allot of whana bees
  89. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a totally objective free game, do whatever you want, explore, invent. This is a game in development so you are never going to ran out of content. Build huge castles, underwater bases, sky fortresses, an underground mine, almost infinite possibilities. Despite the bug this is a perfect game, very enjoyable with friends. It has a huge mod community. Very recommended game.
  90. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    I have played this AFTER the iOS edition. Worth 20 bucks. The only annoying stuff is whenever I search "Portal", it'll show the portalgun mod for Minecraft. I have owned this game since 1.2.4, and 1.6.2 sucks. The new villager noises stink.

    Pros: Gameplay, sounds, mods, resource packs, and redstone.

    Cons: Villager sounds, ghast sounds, rain (rain is so laggy)
  91. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    When I first time saw game called Minecraft, I didn´t like it, NO, I hated it Blocks WTF But in 2012 I downloaded it, because my friends did not wanted to stfu about it. And it was amazing. It´s super fun, building anything you want, creative is super fun, same as survial mode.
    Only negative HUGE negative is price, 2011 game for 20 euro NO! 10-15 eur OK Not !
    Minecraft alone 7/10


    Good game ,but there is TEKKIT, best mode in history, adding more and more sh*t into the game, For this I woould pay 20 euro !!
    Minecraft Tekkit 10/10
    Expand
  92. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome.You can do anything you want build anything you want a big house or a huge castle is just awesome.I know the graphics are lame but just play it.
  93. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is one of the most revolutionary games out there. The open worlds are AMAZING. There is so much to do now with 1.7 just came out. It is so worth the cash. Go get it now.
  94. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is not a game for everyone and all the hasty negative user reviews reflect that. To play this game you need to be a creative person or you will quickly become bored as it feels like there is nothing to do. If you are a creative person who does not follow the directions that came with Lego sets, you will spend countless hours perfecting your builds. The successful Minecraft players are the ones that can think for themselves, which is in short supply these days. Even if you are not a very creative person you might find the social aspect of servers, which open up the possibility to explore and help other people with their builds rewarding. The default graphics are nothing special, but the game does have built-in option to change textures. Expand
  95. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    minecraft SUCKS! no just kidding its a really well made game with the need to make whatever you whant but this really good but i need to start on the battleblock review so 10-10
  96. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is a fun sandbox game. This game has no purpose except to build in creative and to survive in survival mode. There are 2 bosses one called the Enderdragon, the other called the Wither Boss. the only thing you have to get over is the bad graphics. this game is very fun and I recommend you get it every update is free after you have bought the game. the gameg current price is 27.95$
  97. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    First of all I am a very harsh critic on almost everything and personally I think that minecraft goes down as one of the best games of all time and it is a sandbox its just amazing that Mojang came out with a sandbox that most people like based on 60% of gamers playing games like call of duty or battlefield
  98. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Minecraft is my favorite game of all time. Haters gonna hate because they are too retarded to think that callofduty is the best game known to man. minecraft is awesome.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The 1.0 version of the indie phenomena is still obviously unfinished and flawed in many ways, but it's so easy to forget that when you're building your dream castle, exploring scary caves and vast mountain ranges and having a great time in its blocky world.
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    92
    While Minecraft may not be everybody's cup of tea, I doubt anyone can deny that it's an important step into new territory.
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]