Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time. It provides so much variety that constantly people are coming out with mods and texture packs to make this game great. And they update it occasionally too to keep the gamers playing the game and to have new people start playing. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have played Minecraft since Alpha and a lot of changes had occurred in the game over time, Notch dose frequent updates and adds new content to the game and said he will continue to do so in till the game has stooped being sold and im going to venture its not going to stop selling for along time. i will say this is the best indie game of all time and matches up agents the big companys like Bethesda, valve, bioware, all of them. Great job Mojang love the game and glad to see that Minecraft is now released :) Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    9
    Minecraft has a very large community, and the creation limits are very vast and presents a good outlet for creativity. With heavy fantasy elements and, despite the blocky nature, an extremely immersive game that does stand out in the crowd. Music is light and chip-tune, but once you've been listening to the same music for hours it starts to not only put you to sleep, but gets annoying. Music discs offer good alternatives and all of the songs appealed to me. But you can mute the music, problem solved. Combat, although just a small part of the game, is just click the right mouse button until the thing dies. However combat isn't a focus, whereas exploration, creation, and imagination are rewarded and focused on. Solo, Minecraft gets stale after a considerably long while, but with friends your enjoyment extends nearly limitless. Expand
  5. May 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What to say about Minecraft...its...interesting
    While certainly not a technical marvel, or a ground breaking, blockbuster, Minecraft is certainly omnipresent with modern gamers.
    Most like a "sandbox" mode from some games, Minecraft lets you break and place blocks, build a shelter, explore and mine. But not just that, you can build anything you want, nobody telling you what to do, or a block limit, just pure simple creativity.
    With Its 8-Bit graphics and music, Minecraft is like no other game ever created. However, it's whole idea gets boring after you defeat the final boss, the Ender Dragon. You've explore all the caves, mined all the ores, brewed all the potions, and now you just defeated a goddamn dragon. It gets old after that, unless you find a server you like, or install one of the vast majorities of mods.

    Its also overpriced for what it is, $30 dollars seems a litte steep for this, but its still a great buy.
    Be warned about Multiplayer though, greifers and spammers still exist on the plains of Minecraftia.

    Overall, I would buy It if you want a nice, little indie title to play for a while.
    Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    I am a serious gamer, i play games that fulfil all game mechanics - characters, storyline, gameplay etc. And when i sat down and played this game, i thought why am i playing this. It has no storyline, no campaign, no real characters. So how can a game that defies all of these aspects even sell 1 copy. I eventually found myself enjoying making something out of mined pieces, but only for about 17 minutes. For those with simply entertained minds i would reccommend this game, however for serious gamers, you may as well have a go at it, but i would not reccommend purchasing it. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2014
    0
    this fUKIN SUCKS NO SHREK WTF. WHY NO SHREK HE SHOULD BE IN IT PLS GIVE US SHREK. HE IS OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR PLS GIVE US SHREK IN THIS GAME WHY NO SHREK WTF WHY NO SHREK I LOVE SHREK Expand

See all 974 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.