Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Minecraft is one of my favorite games of all time and i can explain why, first the graphics. Though the graphics are blocky they have a certain charm to them that can not be explained. The gameplay is a lot of fun taking different twist to sandbox games unlike games like GTA and Saints Row instead of running around killing people you create buildings which can take up a lot of my time. The music is great especially the piano pieces. and the multiplayer is my favourite part of this game with the community creating several games modes which is fun for all. Overall, Minecraft is a wonderful game that every PC gamer should experience once in their lives 10.1/10 Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    as games go this is up there with the best. simple. addictive , fun, intuitive, clever. you can pl;ay the game in a variety of ways some focus on building, others mining, some exploring the infinite land which is generated. some people slate it and those are mostly the people who haven't played it. give it a go for an hour and you'll be hooked. watch out for the creepers though! Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    9
    Minecraft has a very large community, and the creation limits are very vast and presents a good outlet for creativity. With heavy fantasy elements and, despite the blocky nature, an extremely immersive game that does stand out in the crowd. Music is light and chip-tune, but once you've been listening to the same music for hours it starts to not only put you to sleep, but gets annoying. Music discs offer good alternatives and all of the songs appealed to me. But you can mute the music, problem solved. Combat, although just a small part of the game, is just click the right mouse button until the thing dies. However combat isn't a focus, whereas exploration, creation, and imagination are rewarded and focused on. Solo, Minecraft gets stale after a considerably long while, but with friends your enjoyment extends nearly limitless. Expand
  5. May 18, 2013
    8
    I have to say my experience was a bit bad at first, but once you learn the basics (from youtube, for example) it is a really good game. The content in the game may at first seem quite lacking, but there are many things to discover, with new things being added sort-of frequently. There is a great community for the game that have produces almost countless add-ons, mods and texture packs. Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    I must write this review to remind all of you of one fact that was brought up in the famous review by BestGamersOfUSA.....the game was not completed on release. It is a fine game as itself, definitely fun with friends, but there were many features promised that were not delivered (NPCs actually doing something, leveling system finished and actually doing something, etc). The main point of this game is to build stuff (being anything honestly), which is fine as itself, but there is a survival aspect that we cannot forget. As much as I would love to just keep writing on and on about the actual flaws, I just implore you guys to watch the review I was talking about earlier, it brings up every point I was going to bring up anyways. It's fun enough, but I'm being nice considering that if this game was not in beta the whole time and was released with no one having any idea what to expect, they would have found a really **** game. The long beta and popularity base saved this game, not the game itself. And even then, the beta didn't help fix that it was an incomplete game that was released anyways. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    Why? Why would you play a game with so little effort? No replay value? No "Gameplay"? A game that rips off so many great games. don't buy this game! this is nothing more than a novelty item that became over hyped. if you want a game where you can unleash your creativity try the sims or simcity or an city building game for that matter. I know that all you fanboys out there are going to shred this review to pieces but I don't care. get a life. Expand

See all 982 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.