Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time. It provides so much variety that constantly people are coming out with mods and texture packs to make this game great. And they update it occasionally too to keep the gamers playing the game and to have new people start playing. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have played Minecraft since Alpha and a lot of changes had occurred in the game over time, Notch dose frequent updates and adds new content to the game and said he will continue to do so in till the game has stooped being sold and im going to venture its not going to stop selling for along time. i will say this is the best indie game of all time and matches up agents the big companys like Bethesda, valve, bioware, all of them. Great job Mojang love the game and glad to see that Minecraft is now released :) Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. May 9, 2013
    9
    I don't understand the negativity towards this game. This may be the most inclusive game I have ever seen. There is something for everyone. If you like surviving in the wild, there is the survival game mode. If you like building, there is creative mode. If you like building complicated machines and working with wiring, there are modpacks such as Tekkit and Voltz. If you like PvP, there are hundreds of Hunger Games servers, Search and Destroy servers, etc. If you like playing Call of Duty or Battlefield, there are servers for that as well. There are maps made for RPG play too. Anything you want to do in Minecraft, you can, so go buy this game as it is much less expensive than most other games. Expand
  5. May 18, 2013
    8
    I have to say my experience was a bit bad at first, but once you learn the basics (from youtube, for example) it is a really good game. The content in the game may at first seem quite lacking, but there are many things to discover, with new things being added sort-of frequently. There is a great community for the game that have produces almost countless add-ons, mods and texture packs. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2011
    6
    Minecraft is an alright bit of harmless fun, but after you've built what you've wanted to build and explored a bit, I found it rather forgettable. The graphics are alright and there are very few enemies, zombies, skeletons, creepers, endermen, spider jockeys, spiders, cows, pigs, chickens, sheep and wolves compared to something like Terraria which has 45 and the cows, pigs, chickens and sheep aren't really even classified as enemies. Many people are HUGE fans of minecraft, but I didn't find the charm that Minecraft addicts find in the game. Although, if you are a sandbox fan boy, minecraft can't be recommended enough because it is the ultimate sandbox game.(And it's cheap!) Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2014
    0
    this fUKIN SUCKS NO SHREK WTF. WHY NO SHREK HE SHOULD BE IN IT PLS GIVE US SHREK. HE IS OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR PLS GIVE US SHREK IN THIS GAME WHY NO SHREK WTF WHY NO SHREK I LOVE SHREK Expand

See all 975 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.