Minecraft Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4201 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    Minecraft is a game for all ages. This game is a game of creativity, the only limit is your imagination. Besides the sky. The game canMinecraft is a game for all ages. This game is a game of creativity, the only limit is your imagination. Besides the sky. The game can represent multiple thing such as creativity and twisted physics, If nobody has told you to buy it, do it. This game is fun online or offline, online you can play with people from around the world. This game could simply be mind bending puzzles to some extremely complex dirt houses. This game has bosses and some concept of reality and not so much money unless it comes to trading with villagers. Minecraft can teach a concept of money and dynamics. Its a basic game to teach 3D concept. Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    better than the xbox version has more stuff doesnt lag during multi player alot of stuff that is better than this and everyone kows it i am sure of it
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    A fast and fluent endless world to build and create. Cheap price with no membership (as of this date), where you rightfully get what you paidA fast and fluent endless world to build and create. Cheap price with no membership (as of this date), where you rightfully get what you paid for. An aspect of the game that was difficult to grasp was the multiplayer, which I feel is a big essential for "not getting bored" during a never ending game play experience. Of course, servers and what not have been well understood by many long-term players, but newer players (i.e. Me, when I first played) don't understand the server concept well enough to actually know how to connect themselves in other worlds. Mojang is aware of this, and rumors of implementing a new, easier to understand multiplayer system is in play. I think people of all ages should give this game a go, as it might be worth your while. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    8
    A game that challenges you in one thing, and one thing only: creativity. With straight-forward combat, the only thing threatening is theA game that challenges you in one thing, and one thing only: creativity. With straight-forward combat, the only thing threatening is the environmental hazards (lava, long falls), surprise attacks from enemies (which can contribute to environmental hazards) and letting yourself being overwhelmed. The game can grow stale in many cases if you do not set yourself a goal, or if there is nothing to set a goal for you. This is where the community comes in.

    Vanilla Pros:
    -Gives you a starter point so you understand the game
    -Tests you to for creativity
    -Marvelous things can be constructed and adventure maps can be made interesting through the use of redstone
    -The lego-style and blocks make building fairly simplistic

    Vanilla cons:
    -No tutorials
    -Rather boring if you cannot set goals for yourself
    -Lonely on single player... and especially annoying with squidward villagers

    Multiplayer + Community pros
    -PvP adds a nice adrenaline rush with traps, stalking and shadowing your prey
    -Mini-game community servers (such as the core server or the hive server) add lots of fun and randomness
    -the modding community allows for interesting mods, whether you want a challenge, something interesting, a slightly easier kind of game play, or simply a different look to the game

    community cons:
    -like all games, idiots exist in the community and trolls are common. (known as griefers)
    -PvP can leave you depressed if you're not part of a community server and start out immediately, as people with plenty of diamonds and enchanted gear can kill you just as you try cooking iron
    -Server finding is rather irritating and LaN (local area network) server finding is unreliable

    General game pros:
    -Still getting updates
    -Creativity is constantly improving
    -allows for useful applications in real life (Minecraft Teacher is an outstanding example)

    General game cons:
    -Without creativity or ambition, the game makes you feel rather mindless and can turn stale
    -major updates (such as new biomes) can force you to abandon everything you've done on a different world to start from scratch on a new world for the content
    -resources can be tedious to obtain, especially diamonds (insanely rare sometimes) and obsidian (takes ages to mine)
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    For me, I dislike this game very much. I can see the audience was dedicated to people under 12 years old which is fine but for people olderFor me, I dislike this game very much. I can see the audience was dedicated to people under 12 years old which is fine but for people older than that it's going to be hard to like. Think LEGO but 3d world where everything consists of blocks - squares I mean. Even though it's not a final game and will probably never be it goes through continual updates, has a great and expansive community (with millions of vids on youtube) and a lot of mods! This is one of the few games that supports PC gaming and I like it for that. I might give it a low score but that's only from my perspective, my point of view based on my gameplay experience. It's in BETA still I think but for $20 and if you like creativity and building you'll be able to pick this up and enjoy it. However if your older and your only getting it 'cos your friends have it - DON'T, watch some gameplay or look at reviews and see if you'd like this game. It's very different I admit, simple albeit disappointing graphics but that's not what the game's all about and focused on, good games don't need good graphics but in 2012 there should be some improvement. On fast PC's it'll run average, the draw distance is not good and if you go somewhere too fast it'll slow down and load the rest of the area which is infinite really but it shouldn't need to, not on good PC's anyway. I think it was optimised poorly for modern day PC's and was taking old computers such as linux and XP so they'd both have a similar experience and not be disadvantaged when online - yes u can build together and destroy people's property but there's ton of hackers also which can be annoying. The fact is the game engine it runs on does not improve or run better on modern PC's it simply doesn't. Fan-made stuff is always, also good but all those new items and they can't make curved or round objects? I like squares but why not circles or spheres, also - that's the first thing that comes to mind and it needs, the game runs slow just on square objects loading, I thought that'd be added by now but all those updates and it hasn't come up - maybe they want it all square, fair enough. Right-angle camera at 90^o when turning can be annoying and some of the game loads slowly as mentioned prior to this sentence. Again textures sometimes look bad but with mods and seriously everything can be edited in this game it's just all possible but the game does hurt my eyes sometimes, I'll be honest. There are lots of things it can improve on and another would be a plot or setting or even storyline - not even, just a setting- not just a minecraft universe and something to add fan-made stuff in-game like Valve's (STEAM) own Garry's Mod - toybox mode where you can just instantly download objects and add them straight in or something. It is inventive, inituitive but does have some frustrating problems or things I see as detrimental to my playing experience or things I think shouldn't be needed to be mentioned to play. Still millions of people have claimed this game in alpha stage and once you pay your $20 at the Minecraft (MC) site you get the full game 'till it's fully finished and in it's final stage or release with all the bells and whistles - updates. To be honest this game is the best sandbox 'cos there's no boundaries, limits and you can build everything but you can't DO everything or anything for that matter. It does feel a bit akward to play sometimes and kind of a lost idea but it has been implemented brilliantly as a low-budget indie game and for what it's worth it can be fun for young gamers, it stays true to what PC games should do for fans and is a game I can't see (but is going to be) put on consoles as it's just too big and even on modern PC's has troubles because of the game engine - problem mentioned beforehand but maybe that'll be changed in the future. To make it short, this game is fun but can/can be and sometimes is over-rated. Again it's a good game and does deserve some credit for being an original game, allowing the user to create and explore and doing it in a fun and I guess some-what educational way. There's another game which has copied this design but with better graphics - sure it's good and I'd probably play it but I can't stand to see or support a game which has copied it's design completely, simply put. 'Nuff (enough) said. 7/10! Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2015
    0
    this game is bringing the gaming experience back to 1970 . dont even try to play beacouse then you will feel mad for wasting 10mb from yourthis game is bringing the gaming experience back to 1970 . dont even try to play beacouse then you will feel mad for wasting 10mb from your pcs harddrive Expand

See all 1160 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.