Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2935 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    if you know all the things you can do in this awesome game... its the most free world game in history and also includes the possibility of make your own mechanism whit redstone, in creative or in survival. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I bought Minecraft in alpha, and it has been one of the few games i have hatched on like a slug

    I started out in singleplayer, and as a lot
    of other people say, it gets boring after a while.

    THAT is where Multiplayer comes in. I joined Super-Earth, and ever since, the game has delivered more entertainment than you could get for a 1000$
    Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Minecraft, to me, is an amazing game. But I'm not going to make this statement without backing it up. I first started playing minecraft after a friend showed it to me. Back then, it's freedom, pixelated beauty, and atmosphere of mystery and exploration drew me like a magnet. It was a beacon a lighthouse illuminating the horrid state of the games I was playing. I bought the game almost immediately after and right away fell in love. As I was then a newcomer, the community welcomed me. More so than any mainstream multiplier-capable game I've ever played. Instead of rejecting me, treating me like something to be laughed at, I was assisted by other players. Minecraft drew my attention to other great indie games. Far better that the mainstream shooters could ever hope to be. I looked back on the games I had once played with scorn and (mainly) regret. I've found games in the Indie community that can out match any game run by a large company. Some of these games include Kerbal Space Program, Ace Of Spades Classic, Terraria, and much more. I see minecraft as not only a game, but the prominent and most well-known game among the indie game community. I'm sick and tired of on-rail games. They're a thing of the past. Steam has the greenlight service for a reason. I'm among the group of gamers who are tired of games in which the only people that have freedom are the creators, and in which the players are penalized for not adhering to the game's brutal story line of the game. And what if I don't want to fight in an endless and arbitrary war? On-rail games often depict an extraordinary world, yet confine the players to a battlefield often no bigger than that of an airport- and those are the biggest maps I've seen. They offer no degree of freedom, individuality, or creativeness. Minecraft and some other games I've seen in the indie community can often, in my opinion, be classified as art. That is much much more than could be said about some shooters. And when you hate and just can't stand minecraft's pixelated textures, get or make a texture pack. If you get bored of the game play, install a mod or make your own. Minecraft, after all, is only limited by your imagination. Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't see why this is so heavily criticized. The graphics aren't that good, but it doesn't matter, yet for the idiots who think it does you can use Texture Packs to make it look different, which is great. Minecraft, yes, takes time to learn and get used to, but afterwards its a fun and challenging game.

    With Achievements, you don't feel pressured to get them as they're optional and don't affect anything. There IS a way to finish the game, by locating a Stronghold with Ender Eyes and jumping through the portal to defeat the Dragon. It can be done whenever you want as Minecraft is a Sandbox game and if you do try then it will take a good while, but not too long.

    Gameplay is fun. There are three modes, Survival, Creative and Hardcore. Survival is a survival mode, hunt for food, fight monsters, etc. In Creative you have god power and can do whatever. In Hardcore, it is like Survival but locked on Hard and you can only die once.

    The game is cheap for what it is so go buy it. My only complaint is it may lag, but that's it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    If I were reviewing this game based purely on its potential then it would get 11 out of 10; however, given that it has now been officially released at full price, I have to say that this is one of the most incomplete, buggy, and patently rushed titles I've ever played. Yet despite this, the fact that I am still able to award it a score of 6/10 is testament to the fundamental fun factor of the voxel-based gameplay.

    Minecraft has predominantly two main gameplay styles: lego sandbox creativity and first person survival. Both of these elements complement each other nicely. Want to build a log cabin? Then first you must go out to gather wood, battling any monsters you might encounter along the way. Want to increase your chances of survival? Then you might want to dig out an underground fortress with easy access to ores and resources. Both aspects have an almost symbiotic relationship. This raw Minecraft gameplay is great, allowing you to build whatever your heart's desire, and thankfully hasn't really changed much since the game was in the alpha stage. However, there has been a gradual shoehorning in of a third gameplay style -- the RPG -- and with it has come a lot of the bugs and rushed features now plaguing the game.

    Firstly, let's get one of the main problems out of the way -- NPC villages. These are, to put it bluntly, terrible. The village buildings are passable, but the villagers themselves have absolutely awful character models, almost zero AI, they don't speak, they don't react in any way (even if you attack them), and don't seem to serve any purpose whatsoever.

    Secondly -- experience orbs. These are glowing orbs that drop after you kill a monster which can be used as a kind of enchantment currency. A very strange and seemingly rushed experience system. Rather than have a dedicated skill tree which might be spent on extra mining speed or other useful attributes, the points are used to apply a completely random enchantment on an item. Because of this randomness, the system adds a horrific level of slot-machine grinding as you waste a lot of time struggling to get a half decent enchantment. ** Spoilers in this paragraph ** Thirdly -- the End. This new other worldly dimension was added to give the game a final level and a proper ending. In theory it is not too bad an idea, but the implementation is poor. The End is really just a very dark and uninteresting boss arena populated by Endermen monsters, a few pillars, and a dragon boss. The dragon boss has minimal AI, no phases, doesn't breath fire, but does have a gargantuan energy bar which makes for a very tedious end boss fight. After successfully defeating the dragon you then get an incredibly long-winded pseudo-philosophical text narrative that seems to come out of nowhere, which is at its best hollow and at its worst cringe-worthy. You are also rewarded with a dragon egg that can't be picked up, but which teleports a few squares away from you when you hit it... ? **End of spoilers **

    I'll leave the criticisms of the new RPG mechanics there, but the overriding feeling you get is that it would have been better if instead of working on adding these rather slap-dash features, the developers should have been refining and polishing the existing gameplay. There are still a lot of things that could have been addressed before the final release. Stuff like: no water life, no wool regrowth, oppressive void fog, ugly swamp transitions, no mod API, no path-finding AI, game-breaking terrain generation bugs etc. To sum up, if the game was still in the alpha stage with the cheaper price tag, you could easily overlook the current bugs and missing features, but as a final release it is severely lacking the necessary polish required to give it a rating it could potentially deserve.
    Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2013
    0
    I was always hearing my friends say "oh minecraft is so awesome i love it" so I figured it couldn't be THAT bad if everyone said that BOY was I wrong, I started out trying survival mode I got bored of that in 5 minutes and the crafting system was so different that i had to look up how to craft things because there was no tutorial or anything to tell you ANYTHING about the game.then i decided i would try creative mode and make some stuff and it is not a bad game if you want to do that but i went back to terraria in 40 min because that actually has good combat also i couldn't play with my friend because it was so hard to figure out his REAL IP address and join it all in all i wish i could get my 20$ back Expand

See all 936 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.