Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 15, 2014
    10
    its 10/10 because of this:
    i know many games have the same, but if you think Minecraft tried to copy, NO!
    they copied minecraft.
    its 10/10 because of this:
    i know many games have the same, but if you think Minecraft tried to copy, NO!
    they copied minecraft.
    Imagination, a thing all human needs to learn.
    in here you can do MAAANY ****
    for example:
    so much **** i don't know how many
    but its amazing, you have to play a few weeks until finding something amazing, some reviews says: nothing useful for now.
    the game has a story, but its not the point, the "un-useful" is what you need to set your imagination free. more fun playing at Multiplayer, servers:
    Hide N Seek (Prop Hunt without Shooting)
    Hot Potato (RUN FROM THE GUY THAT HAS A EXPLODING POTATO!!! he will hit you, and it stays with you, you cannot drop it, if it explodes in someone, well **** if you exploded, YOU LOSE!)
    Parkour (THE MOST RAGING THING and one of the most fun ones of Minecraft.)
    and many others.
    Mods are made for....
    Additional Things, so you can set your imagination even more free.
    Garry's Mod will set your imagination free at maximum, but Minecraft is Imagination for Childs, and Garry's Mod for Adults. i recommend it, and hey "MINECRAFT HATERS HO ONLY PLAYED 10 **** MINUTES" well, play it more and you will enjoy it, i hope you will.
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn brahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhwinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn brahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn minecraft Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is not a game its a building block its something that leads to something that leads to something. Theres hundreds of things to do inMinecraft is not a game its a building block its something that leads to something that leads to something. Theres hundreds of things to do in Mincraft build a house, kill zombies and other monsters roaming around the world or go exploring in giant caves or go into creative mode and let your imagination run free theres so much to do and thats just the single player. multi players is the best part of Mincraft in my opinion and theres so many servers and so many games in those servers. spleef, hunger games, TNT run just to name a few to sum up this game i say its its computer legos, it gives you the power to do anything you want that barley any games are doing now in days. get this game if you have a pc its worth the 20 bucks Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    should I write a review on a game that I mainly watch LPs of on YouTube? All I'll say is that this game is diverse and creative and there'sshould I write a review on a game that I mainly watch LPs of on YouTube? All I'll say is that this game is diverse and creative and there's almost limitless possibilities if you add mods. The mods really seal the deal here adding machines, modern weapons, new Monsters and Items.... the list goes on. Wanna enjoy Minecraft on the long run? get mods! Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2011
    6
    Minecraft is an alright bit of harmless fun, but after you've built what you've wanted to build and explored a bit, I found it ratherMinecraft is an alright bit of harmless fun, but after you've built what you've wanted to build and explored a bit, I found it rather forgettable. The graphics are alright and there are very few enemies, zombies, skeletons, creepers, endermen, spider jockeys, spiders, cows, pigs, chickens, sheep and wolves compared to something like Terraria which has 45 and the cows, pigs, chickens and sheep aren't really even classified as enemies. Many people are HUGE fans of minecraft, but I didn't find the charm that Minecraft addicts find in the game. Although, if you are a sandbox fan boy, minecraft can't be recommended enough because it is the ultimate sandbox game.(And it's cheap!) Expand
  7. TSW
    Oct 27, 2014
    0
    I've finally fond a website where my school friends won't kill me because this game is the worst me I've ever played! Horrible game designI've finally fond a website where my school friends won't kill me because this game is the worst me I've ever played! Horrible game design with the lack of any tutorial, no graphics worth a damn and no character what so ever! I feel robbed of the £15 I spent on this turd! Expand

See all 1031 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.