Minecraft Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    I can't understand why people do not like this game. Minecraft is a forum of creativity that anyone can join in on even if you're notI can't understand why people do not like this game. Minecraft is a forum of creativity that anyone can join in on even if you're not creative. If you are creative, then you can build and have fun in normal Minecraft. If you aren't, there are thousands of custom maps, mini-game servers, and mods as a result of Minecraft's popularity. This game is more than just "digital legos". In regular survival you have to work towards building up resources for each build that you do and sometimes you need to make sacrifices on design for protection against mobs or because you don't have access to that material yet. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    MInecraft is a sandbox game created as a hobby by a man named Markus “Notch” Person, although recently sold to Microsoft for $2.5 billion.MInecraft is a sandbox game created as a hobby by a man named Markus “Notch” Person, although recently sold to Microsoft for $2.5 billion. After developing it for many months, Markus decided he couldn’t handle the game on his own, and founded the company Mojang which still works on the game today.

    The main goal of Minecraft is to do what you want. There is no set goal, no save the princess, no destroy the bad guys plot. There are two game types. Laid back, relaxed creative mode, where you can get anything out of your inventory, and the challenging survival mode, with monsters, starvation, damage, and resources must be gathered.

    Creative mode, the most popular among the two with the younger gamers, or just people with low-end pc’s that can’t handle the game too well, is very good for testing things so that you don’t build something in your survival world, only to find out it doesn’t work. Most people have a “test world” a world in which they put all of their builds, mainly using redstone, in to make sure they were reliable and worked for survival mode.

    Survival mode, the more fun game mode (in my opinion) is very challenging, as you start with nothing and have to work your way up. Some times living off of rotten flesh as a food source, you must find a way to survive once night hits, allowing the monsters to spawn.

    One of the best parts of the game however, is that it’s open-sourced. You can go into the game code and change whatever you like, which allows for any type of mod you’re looking for, whether it makes the game easier, or makes it much more hostile, or just increases performance of the game on your computer.
    Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    I've been playing the game for years, and to this day still find enjoyment in this game. While it has continued to grow over the years, so hasI've been playing the game for years, and to this day still find enjoyment in this game. While it has continued to grow over the years, so has Mojang's popularity. The company has continued to hire more people to help out on the game, and to help make it better. Despite there being some slight graphical glitches, the game continues to play very well on my rig. The game play is extremely immersive, and the script is highly malleable, as shown by the thousands of mods created by the fans of the game. I have been playing the game since the Halloween update way back in the late Alpha's, and the game continues to feel like a strong part of my life. It has inspired me to build things with my hands, and be more creative in general with my projects. Despite lacking any real graphics, the game itself is fantastic, as it isn't the graphics that make the game, but more so the game play. It has been the one game that has kept me coming back for more, keeping me saying "just one more block" every time. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    Minecraft is THE open world game! It promotes your creative side. But it gets booring after awhile and the enemies are irritating (fortunatelyMinecraft is THE open world game! It promotes your creative side. But it gets booring after awhile and the enemies are irritating (fortunately you can switch off all enemies, if you want). Dying is also annoying... Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    6
    For me, I dislike this game very much. I can see the audience was dedicated to people under 12 years old which is fine but for people olderFor me, I dislike this game very much. I can see the audience was dedicated to people under 12 years old which is fine but for people older than that it's going to be hard to like. Think LEGO but 3d world where everything consists of blocks - squares I mean. Even though it's not a final game and will probably never be it goes through continual updates, has a great and expansive community (with millions of vids on youtube) and a lot of mods! This is one of the few games that supports PC gaming and I like it for that. I might give it a low score but that's only from my perspective, my point of view based on my gameplay experience. It's in BETA still I think but for $20 and if you like creativity and building you'll be able to pick this up and enjoy it. However if your older and your only getting it 'cos your friends have it - DON'T, watch some gameplay or look at reviews and see if you'd like this game. It's very different I admit, simple albeit disappointing graphics but that's not what the game's all about and focused on, good games don't need good graphics but in 2012 there should be some improvement. On fast PC's it'll run average, the draw distance is not good and if you go somewhere too fast it'll slow down and load the rest of the area which is infinite really but it shouldn't need to, not on good PC's anyway. I think it was optimised poorly for modern day PC's and was taking old computers such as linux and XP so they'd both have a similar experience and not be disadvantaged when online - yes u can build together and destroy people's property but there's ton of hackers also which can be annoying. The fact is the game engine it runs on does not improve or run better on modern PC's it simply doesn't. Fan-made stuff is always, also good but all those new items and they can't make curved or round objects? I like squares but why not circles or spheres, also - that's the first thing that comes to mind and it needs, the game runs slow just on square objects loading, I thought that'd be added by now but all those updates and it hasn't come up - maybe they want it all square, fair enough. Right-angle camera at 90^o when turning can be annoying and some of the game loads slowly as mentioned prior to this sentence. Again textures sometimes look bad but with mods and seriously everything can be edited in this game it's just all possible but the game does hurt my eyes sometimes, I'll be honest. There are lots of things it can improve on and another would be a plot or setting or even storyline - not even, just a setting- not just a minecraft universe and something to add fan-made stuff in-game like Valve's (STEAM) own Garry's Mod - toybox mode where you can just instantly download objects and add them straight in or something. It is inventive, inituitive but does have some frustrating problems or things I see as detrimental to my playing experience or things I think shouldn't be needed to be mentioned to play. Still millions of people have claimed this game in alpha stage and once you pay your $20 at the Minecraft (MC) site you get the full game 'till it's fully finished and in it's final stage or release with all the bells and whistles - updates. To be honest this game is the best sandbox 'cos there's no boundaries, limits and you can build everything but you can't DO everything or anything for that matter. It does feel a bit akward to play sometimes and kind of a lost idea but it has been implemented brilliantly as a low-budget indie game and for what it's worth it can be fun for young gamers, it stays true to what PC games should do for fans and is a game I can't see (but is going to be) put on consoles as it's just too big and even on modern PC's has troubles because of the game engine - problem mentioned beforehand but maybe that'll be changed in the future. To make it short, this game is fun but can/can be and sometimes is over-rated. Again it's a good game and does deserve some credit for being an original game, allowing the user to create and explore and doing it in a fun and I guess some-what educational way. There's another game which has copied this design but with better graphics - sure it's good and I'd probably play it but I can't stand to see or support a game which has copied it's design completely, simply put. 'Nuff (enough) said. 7/10! Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2016
    0
    I have a GTX1080. A 4GHz quad core CPU. 16 GB RAM.

    This game runs worse than Witcher 3 on max graphics. The performance is a joke. It's
    I have a GTX1080. A 4GHz quad core CPU. 16 GB RAM.

    This game runs worse than Witcher 3 on max graphics. The performance is a joke. It's barely playable.
    Expand

See all 1153 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.