Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3487 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Arguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you canArguably, Minecraft is the best video game of all time. The idea is so simple yet so brilliant. A 3D block-based game. in which you can survive, and build anything you could possibly imagine. I find it brilliant because it gives you a sense of accomplishment when you perform the most mundane of tasks, like when you smelt your first iron bar, all the way to defeating the Ender Dragon. Obviously, the game is always better with friends, which gives you the option of making combat and adventure maps for you and your friends to enjoy. A lot of people say the game has gotten worse as updates have occurred, but I believe it has just increased the game's depth. Minecraft truly holds a place in my heart, simply for how undeniably spectacular it is. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing. i used to obsess about graphics but this game taught me you don't need graphics for a good game. I've been playing sincethis game is amazing. i used to obsess about graphics but this game taught me you don't need graphics for a good game. I've been playing since alpha and i will continue to play hopefully forever. i can't wait for the full release. and i wish mojang the best. the first time i found diamonds i was so excited i did a back flip and screamed OMG DIAMONDS :D Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    This game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strangeThis game gives to you total freedom: Play as you like, do the "job" finishing the game, or simply explore the world building big and strange houses! You'll love it, if you loved Lego years ago. It's an enormous and very fun sandbox game, that represents the top of Indie Games. VIRTUALINN.IT Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    Get your own server, your own mods, collaborate with the community and you get neverending fun. This game is easy to learn and could be hardGet your own server, your own mods, collaborate with the community and you get neverending fun. This game is easy to learn and could be hard to master with mods. Its attracting a huge audience and has for everbody the right solution. The graphics are ok but could bet better. So only 8 of 10 points. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    6
    An amazing gem inside a hard rock of game breaking bugs, lazy developers, masked by a disgusting coding language that fails to handle the gameAn amazing gem inside a hard rock of game breaking bugs, lazy developers, masked by a disgusting coding language that fails to handle the game for what it is. All the community needs to wait for is the promised modding support so we can fix this mess ourselves. 2 Years of development, 6 months worth of features. Expand
  7. May 1, 2015
    0
    game **** and so for those stupid kids who want to be youtubers so to this crap worst game so stupid and dumb planet for child not recommendgame **** and so for those stupid kids who want to be youtubers so to this crap worst game so stupid and dumb planet for child not recommend anyone playing this game that should not even existed Expand

See all 1066 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.