Minecraft Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
When is MINECON 2013?
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. games(TM)
    Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. jse
    Apr 18, 2015
    10
    MineCraft is so fun i'm getting it for my brithday i have it for the xbox 360 so thats how i know how fun it is. mooncreeft is what me and myMineCraft is so fun i'm getting it for my brithday i have it for the xbox 360 so thats how i know how fun it is. mooncreeft is what me and my friend call it jffjwaejfjwgwjebguwehbuiewb Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2017
    10
    Minecraft is one of my favorite games out in the world I recommend Minecraft to a lot of people.
    and its a available on almost everything PC,
    Minecraft is one of my favorite games out in the world I recommend Minecraft to a lot of people.
    and its a available on almost everything PC, IOS, PS4, XBOX WIIU and more.
    Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it featuresThe game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    This is one of, if not THE best game I've ever bought, i know single player gets really boring unless you have mods, but playing with yourThis is one of, if not THE best game I've ever bought, i know single player gets really boring unless you have mods, but playing with your friends is what keeps this game going, multiplayer is really good as well but there are some lag issues depending on your connection and this is one of those games where lag can get you to rage quit, a really good sandbox, you can make some great structures on there, i think the only reason why people don't like it is that they look to the negatives, they haven't tried the good servers
    over all, great game, i recommend you try it out, look for mods you may like and some good servers.
    Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2014
    8
    I think Minecraft suffers from a player's expectations. It's an open world sandbox game, which means that it has no well-defined objective.I think Minecraft suffers from a player's expectations. It's an open world sandbox game, which means that it has no well-defined objective. So many players will find it hard to consider it a "game" at all.

    The only obvious requirement is that you survive. And honestly, you hunt down a few pigs, dig a hole in a wall, and you have that covered. So it's critical to use your sense of adventure, and set out to see all that the game's world has to offer. And it has some incredibly beautiful, though blocky, scenery!
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    This is a very unique and fun game. I had quite a bit of fun with it. The only real issue I have with it is that it is JUST a sandbox game.This is a very unique and fun game. I had quite a bit of fun with it. The only real issue I have with it is that it is JUST a sandbox game. There's no true goal. There are no rewards or punishment for performance. I still like it, and I still log in and play for a while every update, but after a while there's just not much more to do. It looks like there are some planned updates that might change this in the future though. I say buy it and play it, just don't expect it to be a game you play forever (Unless you REALLY like building things.) Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2015
    0
    Before complaining i have to say, the original concept of this game is just phenomenal,
    it could have become one of the best games of all
    Before complaining i have to say, the original concept of this game is just phenomenal,
    it could have become one of the best games of all times but there are a few important
    problems, or should I say one big problem (because all the problems that are currently in this game come
    from this major issue), namely the develloper, Mojang, after having a great idea, and realizing it in a very good
    way with the possibilities that they had back then, has become very rich, and since then it seems that he didn't
    invest more in his game, just the strict minimum (if the minimum is at a very low level), it seems that he just
    counted on some free-to-employ modders to add some content and fix all the problems. Because there are plenty of problems. First the content. The only enjoyable gamemode is the survival (or the creative, it depends)
    , the singleplayer mode. But there after sometime it can become very boring because of the lack of content,
    besides the basic content ( that i don't have to explain to you, I guess), there have been a few contents that have been added to, in these years after the launch, but you have passed around them very quickly, I'll give you
    an example : one of the major additional contents that have been added are the villages, they've been made
    to bring a little bit life in the game, but they only consist of some sandstone blocks with glass windows and
    wooden doors, and the only life fulling it are the npc villagers whose only utillity is to exchange things with the player ( in a very simplistic way, I assure you), this and the other contentless content cannot keep on your
    interest for a very long time, and I want to add this, I find the world very small, not in it's lenght of course, but in
    it's maximum height (or in it 's depth if you see things from the sky) and in the structures generated.
    The other main problem is a technical one, a game with so basic programming and such a lack of content
    that is all generated randomly (procieding after one six numbered seed), and I have to add, VERY, VERY **** GRAPHICS, is destined to work perfectly, even on the **** computer or gameboy. But that's not
    the case (the opposite is the case), and if you want to have acceptable, basic graphics you need a very strong
    computer, for example, my computer can run any game with the highest settings perfectly (whitout minecraft).
    So I have to conclude, and say that I regrett that I bought this game rather than cracking it on the internet,
    because I find it very inacceptable that people won millions with a game, whith not so many work on it, and while earning more and more millions, spitting on people's face with successively adding some half-ready content to make a very poor beta version. I find this game should be given to proffesional developpers (people who know how to programm a game that runs properly) to make it a good game by making it bigger better and funnier (there are plenty of ways to do this). Then maybe I see some hope for this game, and it should be considered one of the (hundred) best games of all times.
    Expand

See all 1165 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.