Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3317 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game involves players creating and destroying various types of blocks in a three dimensional environment. The player takes an avatar that can destroy or create blocks, forming fantastic structures, creations and artwork across the various multiplayer servers in multiple game modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Jan 17, 2012
    100
    Games like Skyrim or GTA love talk about open worlds, but it seems, that so far only Minecraft has truly embraced this principle. (…) This here is your story, that you simultaneously write and experience. All at your own pace.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    100
    Meanwhile, Minecraft, with all its flaws and quirks, has already joined Super Mario Brothers, Wolfenstein 3D, and Tetris in the pantheon of games that prototyped an entire genre.
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    96
    Minecraft is a masterpiece, a seminal title which will be played and studied for years.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    91
    Minecraft is a masterpiece. A game that you must try.
  5. Dec 15, 2011
    90
    Now that it's finally "finished," Minecraft stands as a remarkable achievement - not only a well-rounded gaming experience, but a chance for players to experiment, explore freely and reshape their environment to an almost ludicrous level. If you own a computer and haven't given Minecraft a try, you're missing one of the most unique experiences of this generation.
  6. 90
    A sensation, and rightly so. This is a game that makes you both happy and creative.
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    80
    A must-play title - as much a part of videogaming as it is anything else. [Issue#118, p.102]

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am ANGRY at all you negative reviewers out there, you overlook the influence on culture these days of Minecraft, comparing it to other games (BTW I am looking for the perfect game which you will find my Qualifications in the Profile) This has by far been the Crown Jewel of My PC games, It is near my perfect game standard and it is the closest one there. Also about it's influence on culture, this game has truly defined the true basic principle of open-ended games, I believe it even has created it's own genre. And other than that I believe you negative reviewers never even tried to venture within the game itself, you didn't even bother to look at the wiki, it may be buggy however it 's Success overshadows it's flaws. And by the way did you even care to look at modding this game? This game for me, has an almost infinite number of mods out there, so the game is extremely flexible. And by the way have you seen Terraria? If you like the game and you review this negatively, then you know what? Terraria was inspired By MINECRAFT. So in my view this game belongs with the great historic games, which have forever changed the world, and if you ask me, Minecraft has begun it's own gaming generation CONVERSATION OVER, PERIOD. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is definetly worth a purchase, one of the best game I have played and I have played a fair bunch. Hard to get bored, I bought while it was still in Alpha mode and i still play it all the time. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    The game is truly a wonder of game-design. It features simple, intuitive, and interesting mechanics easily learned on the fly, yet it features an emergent depth of gameplay. The graphics are lo-res, yet charming, and reminiscent of old style 8-bit games, with a 3d touch. For the price, this is one of those games that you will not regret ever getting as before you realize it, you'll have spent hours and hours digging "just one more tunnel. " Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    Minecraft is not a game its a building block its something that leads to something that leads to something. Theres hundreds of things to do in Mincraft build a house, kill zombies and other monsters roaming around the world or go exploring in giant caves or go into creative mode and let your imagination run free theres so much to do and thats just the single player. multi players is the best part of Mincraft in my opinion and theres so many servers and so many games in those servers. spleef, hunger games, TNT run just to name a few to sum up this game i say its its computer legos, it gives you the power to do anything you want that barley any games are doing now in days. get this game if you have a pc its worth the 20 bucks Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Minecraft is utterly amazing, but can get repetitive and eventually boring, yes, but it is also amazingly expandable. you can join or create servers, mods, texture packs/resource packs, and even skins, and there is an endless list of each, if you cannot mod your minecraft there is an endless ammount of modpacks made by people who will happily do it for you if you want, like hexxit, or aether crusade. i would rate it higher but the main and best mechanic of minecraft that keeps it alive are servers and mods, and minecraft has made modding more restrictive and difficult with 1.6. i know notch said it was supposed to be simple, but Mojang really changed that. so 8/10 .add more things to do, dinnerbone, jeb, and notch! Seriously! Add steel! make the nether more inclusive! add more tools and weapons! make the armor look less boring! do something more! it is alive purely by modders! fix that! Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    A very fun game at Beta when Notch was developing it. Went downhill fast after 1.0 (full release version). Put it this way, the game was worth it in BETA, not so much in it's current state. The Full Retail seems rushed and not complete.

    BETA - The Beta was fun, building large complex structures is great, especially in Multiplayer. Singleplayer gets old real fast, unless you're into building stuff out of the world stuff like a 1 to 1 scale of Middle Earth and have no life.

    Full Retail - Like I mentioned, feels very rushed and incomplete. While the Beta was fun and full of anticipation, the Full Retail adds little while adding what seems to be 'a lot' on the surface. In other words, inconsistent.

    Here's hoping that Notch will continue supporting the game, because the Retail version isn't the minecraft I enjoyed in Beta.
    Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2014
    0
    Ehh i have to say this game was PERFECT until 1.8 patch. The added all RPG and **** stuff wich completly destroyed the feeling of minecraft. It was a great, simple and FUN game. Now? It's stupid, boring and completly not fun game.. Expand

See all 1018 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.