Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    72
    Fans of the old Descent games will go mental, no doubt about it. Miner Wars 2081 will also be a blast for gamers that want a sci-fi space shooter with an interesting story, charming setting and solid gameplay. [March 2013]
  2. 70
    Miner Wars 2081 is maybe a little bit disharmonic but it's still a pretty great space concert. [Christmas 2012]
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Miner Wars 2081 suffers the indie games syndrome: it longs for the million dollars mainstream look. If there were no megalomaniac visions resulting in flaws and faults, we could probably play the best space shooter of the recent years.
  4. Feb 20, 2013
    60
    Miner Wars is a game with great potential, perhaps wasted. Defects are many: poor IA, complex level design, technical sector not great increase the sense of frustration that might have been.
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    60
    Bugs and dodgy design decisions don't quite negate the novelty of spaceshipping in confined spaces.
  6. Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Developer Keen Software House has overextended its reach. [March 2013, p.90]
  7. Dec 14, 2012
    50
    Somewhere inside Miner Wars 2081 is an incredibly ambitious, frighteningly absorbing space game. As is, however, Keen Software's long-in-the-making opus feels like a half-complete realization of that vision.
  8. Jan 29, 2013
    40
    There is no way Miner Wars 2081 is a modern reincarnation of the Descent series. It is a flawed, incomplete product that somehow was approved in Steam Greenlight.
  9. Jan 8, 2013
    30
    The systems that should have been its biggest draws are relegated to one-trick sideshows, while the majority of the game is just one dreary combat engagement after another.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    I want to like this game, but I don't. I got both the pre-alpha, and this one. In essence, this is a space action game. What you see on the screen, like ship customization is fluff, you can put on some weapons, but it's not quite as good as games like Space Rangers, so don't be deceived. I found the 6 DOF combat to be lacking. Yes, the ship can rotate, but I have not seen the up/down button, the equivalent of jump and crouch in action games, that would make flying in this game much better. I'm not really enjoying the combat mechanics that much. There's no shield. Once the enemy hits your armor, you are SOL - there's no way to repair a ship, unless you find one of the repair boxes or buy a repair kit. There's no rechargeable shield, and I find myself replaying battles too many times, even on normal difficulty. I tried the mining part, and am not really impressed by it: the screen shakes and there's black dust covering half the screen. This gives me 5 credits, if sold, and my ship can hold about 16 units. A repair kit costs 6000 credits. I really don't see myself mining for hours in this game.

    I don't really understand why I have to run out of fuel so quickly.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    0
    I funded this game when it was waaay back in pre-alpha with promises of a persistent world, mining to develop your ship & character and now ages later, all they've managed to achieve is a deathmatch mode which no-one plays, a severely lacking and unbalanced storymode and the developers censoring people on Youtube who brings the game's DRM up. Yep, it's there. 100% online connection or GTFO. Avoid this game at all cost. Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have a something for you - this is the first real game of this studio, they made it on their own, without the support of huge developer investing billions to the development. And still it is so huge and awesome! Which indie studio can do this? I think comparing to the price and their possibilities they did a wonderful job and they delivered a nice packet of fun. Full Review »