Miner Wars 2081 PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 70
  2. Negative: 23 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    I love Descent and that's it - new 6DOF open space action shooter. Amazing story, nice environment, fun with multiplayer (which nobody's actually playing). Game should be more balanced (it's frustrating sometimes) and without DRM, but over and over, I'm still enjoying it. Before you will follow all that "game sucks" critics, just try to play it first to make own opinion. I give it 8/10 andI love Descent and that's it - new 6DOF open space action shooter. Amazing story, nice environment, fun with multiplayer (which nobody's actually playing). Game should be more balanced (it's frustrating sometimes) and without DRM, but over and over, I'm still enjoying it. Before you will follow all that "game sucks" critics, just try to play it first to make own opinion. I give it 8/10 and hope they will fix all bugs. Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    I don't get all the haters drowning this game down. It's pretty cool, fun and cheap. Of course it has some technical issues, but come on, which game doesn't? If everyone uses Steam and facebook, who really cares about DRM?
    Good job, keep going!
  3. 20k
    Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This game is excellent. I'm impressed that LD9000 couldn't find the up and down button, because they are F and C. Inertial dampeners can be turned off as well, which turns the game into a Newtonian physics model, albeit with limited ship max speeds

    The game has its bugs. If you want to set the resolution, you have to set it manually in the config options. The story is a little odd, but
    This game is excellent. I'm impressed that LD9000 couldn't find the up and down button, because they are F and C. Inertial dampeners can be turned off as well, which turns the game into a Newtonian physics model, albeit with limited ship max speeds

    The game has its bugs. If you want to set the resolution, you have to set it manually in the config options. The story is a little odd, but fun. The gameplay is pretty fun though - if you want something challenging and not in this era of regenerating health and easy, pathetic fights, you are looking at the right game. Its pretty difficult on normal

    This is an excellent game and i would definitely recommend it
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Really great game, one of the best I have played and the storyline is incredible.

    Only thing is you need to be patient to work out how to play and give it a chance, because the first hour I died a hell of a lot until I figured out what I was doing and really enjoy it :)

    Switch to easy if you are having trouble
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    I usually don't write reviews, but in this case I must. I've read about this game a lot, mostly negative, but despite, I bough it in sale, just to try. And from first second, I was amazed! Old-school space shooter is back, now in 3D. It's hard as hell sometimes, it crash to desktop once few hour, it's a little bit buggy, but still - must recommend this! Playing it second time right now andI usually don't write reviews, but in this case I must. I've read about this game a lot, mostly negative, but despite, I bough it in sale, just to try. And from first second, I was amazed! Old-school space shooter is back, now in 3D. It's hard as hell sometimes, it crash to desktop once few hour, it's a little bit buggy, but still - must recommend this! Playing it second time right now and don't understand why everybody on Steam hates it so much. Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    I bough it few days ago, so I missed all negative content of previous versions. Now it's just awesome! Only part I'm missing is more intuitive controlls and better xbox controller support. Graphic, gameplay and story? Amazing? (graphic mostly). Really good job! Now I hope more people will join deathmatch games - it looks like most promissing part of content. Space battles in new NYC are just epic!
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have aI want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have a something for you - this is the first real game of this studio, they made it on their own, without the support of huge developer investing billions to the development. And still it is so huge and awesome! Which indie studio can do this? I think comparing to the price and their possibilities they did a wonderful job and they delivered a nice packet of fun. Expand
  8. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I am really enjoying this game. Haven't played such title in a long time, perhaps never.
    6DOF in an open space? Great.
    Action and controls? Feels perfect, everyone will become natural-born-6dof-er Sounds & music? Great... actually the music is fantastic. Story is intriguing, I want to see how it all ends. The game is mostly about story/campaign and little on sandbox, but why would be
    I am really enjoying this game. Haven't played such title in a long time, perhaps never.
    6DOF in an open space? Great.
    Action and controls? Feels perfect, everyone will become natural-born-6dof-er
    Sounds & music? Great... actually the music is fantastic.
    Story is intriguing, I want to see how it all ends.
    The game is mostly about story/campaign and little on sandbox, but why would be that a bad thing? This way the developers resurrected 6DOF gaming, made it available for everyone, even those who would be lost in sandbox. I have heard they are not done with Miner Wars, so who knows what will come next?
    Everyone still hesitating -> just get this game!
    Expand
  9. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This (currently) 52 metascore is one of the greatest injustices I've ever witnessed. After a quarter century of solid gaming I've more or less seen it all, and consider my opinion as qualified as anyone's. Miner Wars 2081 is an entertaining game with a solid presentation. It plays very well, and is a worthy homage to the Descent series.

    I do have to apologize for my "10". The game
    This (currently) 52 metascore is one of the greatest injustices I've ever witnessed. After a quarter century of solid gaming I've more or less seen it all, and consider my opinion as qualified as anyone's. Miner Wars 2081 is an entertaining game with a solid presentation. It plays very well, and is a worthy homage to the Descent series.

    I do have to apologize for my "10". The game admittedly has a few rough edges, and I probably would have only given it an 8 or 9 at most. However, when unprofessional clowns feel the need to bury an otherwise solid game with Zeroes based only on "third party DRM" (which they've long since disabled), I just want to do my part in trying to bring the average back up into reality.
    Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    I bought game recently, so I missed that buggy season everyone is complaining about. I must tell that game is great! Despite of corridor setting of missions, it gives me feeling of freedom maybe it's the monumental architecture or amazing graphic environment or just that meaningless traveling to new sectors (and there is A LOT of them!). Only thing I'm missing a little is more preciseI bought game recently, so I missed that buggy season everyone is complaining about. I must tell that game is great! Despite of corridor setting of missions, it gives me feeling of freedom maybe it's the monumental architecture or amazing graphic environment or just that meaningless traveling to new sectors (and there is A LOT of them!). Only thing I'm missing a little is more precise vendor system now I'm not motivated to mine asteroids and sell ore to merchants, because it's easier to fly to some sector, wait for solar wind and then just loot corpses And also (what isn't usual in space shooters), there is an amazing story it's even funny and serious! Sometimes a little bit cliché, but still fun to discover what's going to happen next. Listening to dialogues makes me feel I'm part it. Simple enough: GREAT WORK, 9/10! Expand
  11. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    For a long time I wasn't sure what to think about this. I spent first few hours in pre-alpha version and that was hell... I thought I finished with this game forever but last week I tried again. And I enjoy it! It made huge step for a last six months it's a different game I must say. Excellent graphic, cool gameplay, funny multiplayer (if you meet someone out there), but first of all andFor a long time I wasn't sure what to think about this. I spent first few hours in pre-alpha version and that was hell... I thought I finished with this game forever but last week I tried again. And I enjoy it! It made huge step for a last six months it's a different game I must say. Excellent graphic, cool gameplay, funny multiplayer (if you meet someone out there), but first of all and I know it sounds weird editor )which I haven't touch in pre-aplha). I'm building my own space areas more often then I'm playing official ones. it's like Lego, but much more fun. If you have friends to play with, you can kick their asses in your own map which is the best part. I don't like coop part of the game for it's not much motivating (you lost all inventory when you log off), but it's also only part of game which I rate negative. Giving 7,5/10 (rounded for 8 Expand
  12. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    its a good game ......................................................................................................................................
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    72
    Fans of the old Descent games will go mental, no doubt about it. Miner Wars 2081 will also be a blast for gamers that want a sci-fi space shooter with an interesting story, charming setting and solid gameplay. [March 2013]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Developer Keen Software House has overextended its reach. [March 2013, p.90]
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    60
    Miner Wars is a game with great potential, perhaps wasted. Defects are many: poor IA, complex level design, technical sector not great increase the sense of frustration that might have been.