Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a player, you operate an advanced mining ship in an open world asteroid belt area. You dig kilometers of tunnels, harvest the ore, travel the solar system, fight your enemies and discover mysterious alien secrets. Game play is led by an epic story and is a combination of aAs a player, you operate an advanced mining ship in an open world asteroid belt area. You dig kilometers of tunnels, harvest the ore, travel the solar system, fight your enemies and discover mysterious alien secrets. Game play is led by an epic story and is a combination of a single/multi-player game, cooperative, or you against everyone. The story will introduce you to many types of missions: rescue, exploration, revenge, base defense, theft, transportation, stealth, search and destroy, pure harvesting, racing or just flying around and destroying everything you see. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    72
    Fans of the old Descent games will go mental, no doubt about it. Miner Wars 2081 will also be a blast for gamers that want a sci-fi space shooter with an interesting story, charming setting and solid gameplay. [March 2013]
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Miner Wars 2081 suffers the indie games syndrome: it longs for the million dollars mainstream look. If there were no megalomaniac visions resulting in flaws and faults, we could probably play the best space shooter of the recent years.
  3. 70
    Miner Wars 2081 is maybe a little bit disharmonic but it's still a pretty great space concert. [Christmas 2012]
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    60
    Bugs and dodgy design decisions don't quite negate the novelty of spaceshipping in confined spaces.
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Developer Keen Software House has overextended its reach. [March 2013, p.90]
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    50
    Somewhere inside Miner Wars 2081 is an incredibly ambitious, frighteningly absorbing space game. As is, however, Keen Software's long-in-the-making opus feels like a half-complete realization of that vision.
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    30
    The systems that should have been its biggest draws are relegated to one-trick sideshows, while the majority of the game is just one dreary combat engagement after another.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how theyI want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have a something for you - this is the first real game of this studio, they made it on their own, without the support of huge developer investing billions to the development. And still it is so huge and awesome! Which indie studio can do this? I think comparing to the price and their possibilities they did a wonderful job and they delivered a nice packet of fun. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I am really enjoying this game. Haven't played such title in a long time, perhaps never.
    6DOF in an open space? Great.
    Action and controls?
    I am really enjoying this game. Haven't played such title in a long time, perhaps never.
    6DOF in an open space? Great.
    Action and controls? Feels perfect, everyone will become natural-born-6dof-er
    Sounds & music? Great... actually the music is fantastic.
    Story is intriguing, I want to see how it all ends.
    The game is mostly about story/campaign and little on sandbox, but why would be that a bad thing? This way the developers resurrected 6DOF gaming, made it available for everyone, even those who would be lost in sandbox. I have heard they are not done with Miner Wars, so who knows what will come next?
    Everyone still hesitating -> just get this game!
    Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    I don't get all the haters drowning this game down. It's pretty cool, fun and cheap. Of course it has some technical issues, but come on,I don't get all the haters drowning this game down. It's pretty cool, fun and cheap. Of course it has some technical issues, but come on, which game doesn't? If everyone uses Steam and facebook, who really cares about DRM?
    Good job, keep going!
    Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    I want to like this game, but I don't. I got both the pre-alpha, and this one. In essence, this is a space action game. What you see on theI want to like this game, but I don't. I got both the pre-alpha, and this one. In essence, this is a space action game. What you see on the screen, like ship customization is fluff, you can put on some weapons, but it's not quite as good as games like Space Rangers, so don't be deceived. I found the 6 DOF combat to be lacking. Yes, the ship can rotate, but I have not seen the up/down button, the equivalent of jump and crouch in action games, that would make flying in this game much better. I'm not really enjoying the combat mechanics that much. There's no shield. Once the enemy hits your armor, you are SOL - there's no way to repair a ship, unless you find one of the repair boxes or buy a repair kit. There's no rechargeable shield, and I find myself replaying battles too many times, even on normal difficulty. I tried the mining part, and am not really impressed by it: the screen shakes and there's black dust covering half the screen. This gives me 5 credits, if sold, and my ship can hold about 16 units. A repair kit costs 6000 credits. I really don't see myself mining for hours in this game.

    I don't really understand why I have to run out of fuel so quickly.
    Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    Always online DRM for singleplayer. That is all what is there to say. I can't understand how an Indie Developer thinks he can win the piracyAlways online DRM for singleplayer. That is all what is there to say. I can't understand how an Indie Developer thinks he can win the piracy war with measurements like this. It is not like I am never online or have an unstable connection - it is a matter of principle. I enjoy singleplayer and play online only with friends avoiding the abusive masses. Why do I need to log into a server on the other end of the world for playing offline and have my gaming experience maybe tainted with lags and connection issues? I don't expect it, but I don't take chances either, because we deal with an Indie here. I doubt that this developer is capable of having a worldwide network to ensure the maximum gaming performance for everyone.

    I give 3 points because the game itself seems to work, but any more would be praising the devil.
    Ubisoft learned its lesson - hopefully Keen Software House will learn it before it is too late.
    Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    Another desperate attempt to squeeze some money from canonical title. Game is not "Descent", its not even close to Descent. Poor design, uglyAnother desperate attempt to squeeze some money from canonical title. Game is not "Descent", its not even close to Descent. Poor design, ugly battle mechanic, weird multi-functional repair boxes, paranoid storyline with China, Russia and so one. Graphics can be better and loading times are shorter. Sound and music... yes, there are sound and music in the game, not worth mentioning anyway. Overall - waste of money. Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    It very poor on content. And the sandbox doesn't looks like a sandbox at all. You are simply flying in narrow tunnels all of the time. PlusIt very poor on content. And the sandbox doesn't looks like a sandbox at all. You are simply flying in narrow tunnels all of the time. Plus you must be always online to play it. Why? I have no idea. Online doesn't give you anything. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews