Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a player, you operate an advanced mining ship in an open world asteroid belt area. You dig kilometers of tunnels, harvest the ore, travel the solar system, fight your enemies and discover mysterious alien secrets. Game play is led by an epic story and is a combination of a single/multi-player game, cooperative, or you against everyone. The story will introduce you to many types of missions: rescue, exploration, revenge, base defense, theft, transportation, stealth, search and destroy, pure harvesting, racing or just flying around and destroying everything you see. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 10, 2013
    72
    Fans of the old Descent games will go mental, no doubt about it. Miner Wars 2081 will also be a blast for gamers that want a sci-fi space shooter with an interesting story, charming setting and solid gameplay. [March 2013]
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    Miner Wars 2081 suffers the indie games syndrome: it longs for the million dollars mainstream look. If there were no megalomaniac visions resulting in flaws and faults, we could probably play the best space shooter of the recent years.
  3. 70
    Miner Wars 2081 is maybe a little bit disharmonic but it's still a pretty great space concert. [Christmas 2012]
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    60
    Bugs and dodgy design decisions don't quite negate the novelty of spaceshipping in confined spaces.
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    50
    Developer Keen Software House has overextended its reach. [March 2013, p.90]
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    50
    Somewhere inside Miner Wars 2081 is an incredibly ambitious, frighteningly absorbing space game. As is, however, Keen Software's long-in-the-making opus feels like a half-complete realization of that vision.
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    30
    The systems that should have been its biggest draws are relegated to one-trick sideshows, while the majority of the game is just one dreary combat engagement after another.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I want to like this game, and I do. I was following this studio for a two years, almost since they started and so I was able to watch how they grow and develop this game. And now, I am really happy it became true and released successfully. It is a great game with a lot of action, awesome story and well crafted graphics. And for those of you who are hating it for "not cool enough", I have a something for you - this is the first real game of this studio, they made it on their own, without the support of huge developer investing billions to the development. And still it is so huge and awesome! Which indie studio can do this? I think comparing to the price and their possibilities they did a wonderful job and they delivered a nice packet of fun. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I am really enjoying this game. Haven't played such title in a long time, perhaps never.
    6DOF in an open space? Great.
    Action and controls?
    Feels perfect, everyone will become natural-born-6dof-er
    Sounds & music? Great... actually the music is fantastic.
    Story is intriguing, I want to see how it all ends.
    The game is mostly about story/campaign and little on sandbox, but why would be that a bad thing? This way the developers resurrected 6DOF gaming, made it available for everyone, even those who would be lost in sandbox. I have heard they are not done with Miner Wars, so who knows what will come next?
    Everyone still hesitating -> just get this game!
    Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    I don't get all the haters drowning this game down. It's pretty cool, fun and cheap. Of course it has some technical issues, but come on, which game doesn't? If everyone uses Steam and facebook, who really cares about DRM?
    Good job, keep going!
    Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2012
    5
    Do not buy this game for multiplayer. As of the time of this post, multiplayer is only working for a minority of people. Do not buy this expecting a sandbox-ish open world game.

    This game is still in a very beta stage. Graphics are on par with the 10 year old Freelancer.

    Still giving a 5 as it's current single-player is fun despite the always-on DRM.
    Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    3
    I recently purchased this game on steam as I have gained a lot of interest in the space sim genre and didn't care about the multiplayer nor single player but only the interesting sandbox mode where i could mine asteroids. On the first day I couldn't even play the game as it has always on DRM and couldn't connect to the servers.

    On the second day:today: I was able to connect to the servers but only to be able to play single player if I wanted to play multiplayer I would have to contact the games customer support. First thing in game I was dropped into a lame mission with zero orientation as to the mechanics (though I was able to figure them out with a bit of effort on my part) other than this is the history. The mission glitchy forcing me to roam around before it recognized I was on the objective marker, mining is tedious and not made up for by the destruction physics which aren't even used but exist more as a novelty or for multiplayer. When I finally finished the mission the travel mechanic was entirely unituitive forcing you to have to zoom in on a tiny square of the world map to which I didn't care as I believe I had finally gotten to the open world part before the game crashed. I honestly suspect this game is still in beta as its mechanics don't seem to work very well.

    In conclusion the game doesn't work correctly, has always on DRM that is not advertised, and is missing core mechanics from the steam store advertisement. Avoid this game there are way better space sims coming down the road.
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    Descent was a truly amazing game, especially at LAN parties. I'd be over the moon if someone managed a decent remake of it. Miner Wars was clearly an attempt, but only in the sense that one could claim a two year old child was attempting to recreate the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel by throwing jelly around the kitchen whilst soiling themselves. Amateurish rubbish of the highest order. Avoid at all costs. Collapse
  7. Feb 12, 2014
    0
    I really wanted to like this game but there are many missing features that were supposed be in the game at release and issues that still haven't been fixed. That combined with the fact the developers censored people who tried to warn others that the game uses always online DRM (steam version no longer has the DRM however non-steam versions still use it) by deleting comments on their YouTube videos and banning people on the Steam forums who spoke up against the DRM/censorship means I strongly urge people not to buy this game or anything else these developers release in future. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews