Mirror's Edge PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
Buy On
  1. Mirror's Edge is a videogame that definitely deserves a try, also on Pc. Its short length is the only complain we can mention about the campaign, because it's an incredible innovative title with a very powerful graphical side and an addictive gameplay proposal. A nice launching for this new saga that replaces the word 'brief' with the word 'intensity'.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    91
    Mirror’s Edge works like a charm with keyboard and mouse, too. Parkour above a shining beautiful city is a nice change of pace after normal shooters. Hopefully we get to see more games like this in the future. [Jan 2009]
  3. There's depth here that you'll only discover hours into time trialling a single stage, and as we said, no other game in recent memory comes close to being as cool. We can't wait to see what Faith gets up to next.
  4. Console ports are usually a waste of time, but that's certainly not the case with Mirror's Edge. In fact, the PC version of the game offers even more than its console counterparts. Are you looking for something original and innovative to play on your PC and you aren't afraid of heights? Just try Mirror's Edge.
  5. After two months of waiting, Mirror's Edge has come to the PC. This version is identical to the consoles, but with a few changes to make it more astonishing. The use of the NVIDIA PhysX engine makes the game more realistic and the graphics are smoother thanks to the use of AA filter. One of the most innovative game of 2008 is now even better in 2009.
  6. Mirrors Edge is an intense and intensely enjoyable experience from top to bottom that manages to capture a very interesting gameplay element and perfect it.
  7. Mirror’s Edge is still a unique game in every way. The story is captivating, the action is exciting, and the graphics are even better on the PC than they were on the consoles. That’s not enough for a higher score, but every PC-owner who wasn’t been able to experience the challenging and thrilling experience Mirror’s Edge has to offer, should do it now.
  8. Play (Poland)
    90
    You either love this game or hate it - all depends on whether you manage to get a grip on the controls. Because deep down this is not a shooter or a platform game - it's a totally novel racer with an amazing atmosphere. You'll need all your confidence in the abilities of Faith to run some crazier routes. [Feb 2009]
  9. Mirror's Edge shines on the PC due to superior controls. At times it can be very harsh towards amateurs but rewards proper practice and skill to a great degree. Audiovisual masterpiece and a polished experience, yet doesn't quite match all the expectations and offers little content for the price.
  10. 86
    Even with its flaws in gameplay and its short durability, we have to reckon it as a different game, amazing in some aspects, very interesting in others, with a hypnotic design and, most of the time, a fascinating experience every gamer should try.
  11. 85
    While its elegant controls, visuals and audio weave a dreamlike tapestry that its animated cut-scenes do their best to eat away at, the whole is an experience you'd be remiss to let fly by if you missed it on consoles.
  12. Either way, this is a fine port from console to PC, one that brings everything from the original experience and fits it nicely into a PC gamer's hands. The actual game might be frustrating and tedious at times, but it's worth it if you've got the cash to pick it up.
  13. The concept, the presentation and the execution of Mirror’s Edge makes it worth the money on paper, but it all feels like a slice of delicious cake, layered cream on top and the obligatory cherry, which leaves you hanging when you realize there is no more cake beyond that.
  14. We've waited so long to have Mirror's Edge on the PC but all this time has been used by EA to deliver a better graphical experience and wonderful physics effects. Sadly several of the major problems are still in the game.
  15. Overall Mirror’s Edge is a game that should be experienced by anyone who enjoys adventure games.
  16. PC Format
    84
    A thrillingly kinetic scramble through gaming's prettiest Orwellian dystopia. It has the feeblest fight sequences, yet its greatness shines through. [Feb 2009, p.94]
  17. Despite being a fan of the concept since the very first trailer, I can’t help being a bit disappointed about how this games turned out after all. It’s, however, still a nice title and the pretty solid port to the PC including some nice new features makes this version the one to get!
  18. It's really, really good and you should play it, but damn, it could have been superb.
  19. Again, the PC version itself is entertaining. Still, it would've been even better if the developers put in additional content - a bonus chapter, anything really.
  20. A great, innovative experience delivered to gamers from a first-person view like never before. Highly recommended if you missed this one on the consoles.
  21. This is well-made, well-developed title. The end result isn't the new gold standard, but the idea and implementation sure are good.
  22. The beautiful visuals look even better on the PC and the controls are smart and responsive. There are some flaws, though, in particular the short play time, some stiff level design and the overall potential for frustration. But if you manage to go with the flow, you will find Mirror's Edge to be a thrilling and unique gaming experience.
  23. Mirror’s Edge delightfully tickled my auditory senses.
  24. Mastering the game's in-body platforming is an urgent thrill, beaten down less violently here under the auspices of our old friends keyboard and mouse, and stands out from the homogenised interfaces of modern first-person and platform games.
  25. Sure, there are a few quirks, but Mirror's Edge is a well designed and well presented elaborate game. And it's fun, too. It's plays a bit like Tomb Raider, just faster and without ruins. Not a perfect game, but perfectly designed and it stands out from the mass of uniform games like a white skyscraper.
  26. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Hopefully Mirror’s Edge will set the standard for the future like the first Tomb Raider game did years before and we can look forward to a whole bunch of next–gen (real) first person games. [Issue#174, Jan 2009]
  27. Mirror's Edge is a refreshingly different game on the PC platform, with a unique use of the first person perspective.
  28. If anything, the only problem with Mirror's Edge is its relatively short story, which is only increased by the lack of a multiplayer component that does its gameplay justice. Nevertheless, Mirror's Edge is a solid and innovative title that takes the FPS genre and reminds it that things don't always need to stay the same.
  29. It’s fast, original, and beautiful – everything you should expect from a holiday blockbuster. If you’re easily frustrated by difficult games it might be wise to rent it first, but be warned; the beauty and addictive race modes might pull you in for a purchase.
  30. A great game at its core, marred by a bevy of minor and major annoyances. A lot of potential, but to truly work this game has to be refocused and partially reworked from the ground up.
  31. Mirrors Edge is a remarkable game. Graphics and game experience satisfy the gamer of today in a very pleasant, sometimes exciting way. Only the “trial and error”-principle can sometimes frustrate.
  32. AceGamez
    80
    For all the things that go wrong towards the end of the game and despite a lacklustre plot and short length, Mirror's Edge is a game that I can't help but enjoy.
  33. If you like an environmental puzzle game with some combat mixed in and like a little of betrayal on top, Mirror's Edge is the game for you. If you are looking for a game that will keep you hooked for days on end, this game is definitely something you can skip over.
  34. Mirror’s Edge is a lot of good ideas mucked up by poor implementation and an apparent lack of play testing.
  35. You'll get a pretty solid singleplayer experience for your money, as well as the chance to experience that crazy "parkour" fad with the normal bone-breaking falls you would endure - but don't expect much beyond that.
  36. I did have to fiddle with patches, drivers, and tweaking the nVidia control panel. A lesser machine may also not give you visuals as good as out of the box 720p on the 360 or PS3.
  37. Mirror’s Edge feels like an 8-hour ad for another, much more thought-out product. It has many things that blockbusters are made of: stylish visuals, elegant stunts, and great music. All it needs is to firmly land on its feet.
  38. PC Zone UK
    71
    Much as I was thrilled by the action, I was equally nonplussed by the lack of emotional connection to the characters and the plot. [Mar 2009, p.64]
  39. Mirror's Edge is many things: invigorating, infuriating, fulfilling, and confusing. It isn't for everybody, and it stumbles often for a game that holds velocity in such high esteem. But even with all of its foibles and frustrations, it makes some impressive leaps; it just doesn't nail the landing.
  40. 70
    Mirror's Edge isn't a terrible PC port by any means, but has some unique technical issues that put it a step below the console versions.
  41. The reason the PC version works better is simply down to the keyboard and mouse controls, which allow for much faster and responsive movement.
  42. 69
    Mirror's Edge is an impressive feat as a realistic first-person simulation of parkour across the towering roof-tops of a dystopian future. Unfortunately it's also fairly dull and frequently doesn't do enough to motivate the player to continue, this is not a game I was thinking about when I wasn't playing it.
  43. The mirror's edge in this game straddles excitement and frustration.
  44. Total PC Gaming
    60
    A brave but ultimately flawed game that only delivers on all that was promised in very short bursts. [Issue#16, p.58]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1051 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 209
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not aThis is such a great game with superb production values! Got tons of action and excitement. keeps you wanting to push on until the end.. Not a very long game, which is how i like it...

    Music: great (trancey techno, ambient, space, etc).. loved it
    Controls: excellent... takes a short while to get used to it.. also got a good tutorial level
    world design: excellent .. looks like a pretty massive world..
    combat: excellent.. not too difficult, not too easy
    graphics: excellent.. however some sections had excessive colour saturation... story: pretty good, although I didn't follow the plot very well (probably me.. i confuse easily)

    definite must-buy...
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Mirrors Edge probably seemed like a good idea at the time (the concept sounds good to me) but somewhere between thought and execution the gameMirrors Edge probably seemed like a good idea at the time (the concept sounds good to me) but somewhere between thought and execution the game lost it's way - plummeting again, again to the hard streets below. Not to put too fine a point on it, this game is tedious - and very reminiscent of the old 8-bitters where the only way to progress was to learn from death after death.

    Watching your hands drift past what should have been an easy grab or battling to climb onto a low box when fences are easily hopped doesn't help. I'm sort of wondering if it was as an apology that the game sometimes moves you forward a check-point when you die. My cynical soul, though, assumes it's just a bug.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    8
    One of the best games I've played in the last decade. The visuals are absolutely stunning and the gameplay is incredibly fun. The escapingOne of the best games I've played in the last decade. The visuals are absolutely stunning and the gameplay is incredibly fun. The escaping scenes are well choreographed and combined with the bobbing as you run and the leaning as you turn corners, it makes you feel like you're actually in trouble. I found myself leaning in my chair while trying to go around corners.

    The game was so much fun that it actually made me pick up running again (something I haven't done in years). On the negative side, the campaign is a bit short, and they haven't released any level editors so using custom maps is not that easy. Also, the game isn't very tough (on the PC at least). Even hard mode without a reticle or runner vision is fairly easy to finish without firing a single shot (except for the one part where you're forced to in order to progress).
    Full Review »