Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Moebius: Empire Rising is a contemporary adventure that merges classic point-and-click puzzle solving with Jane Jensen’s sophisticated storytelling. Travel the world using Malachi’s unique deductive powers to analyze suspects, make historical connections, and uncover the truth behind aMoebius: Empire Rising is a contemporary adventure that merges classic point-and-click puzzle solving with Jane Jensen’s sophisticated storytelling. Travel the world using Malachi’s unique deductive powers to analyze suspects, make historical connections, and uncover the truth behind a theory of space and time the government will defend at any cost. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 40
  2. Negative: 13 out of 40
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    90
    Personally, after enjoying this installment immensely, I'm very much looking forward to seeing what's next, and sincerely hope that between this title and the impending Gabriel Knight remake that we can well and truly see Jensen getting back to doing what she does best on a more regular basis.
  2. May 3, 2014
    78
    Jane Jensen is back with a metaphysical thriller rich of good texts and locations. Malachi is a great character and its analysis of antiques and personalities are what makes Moebius: Empire Rising stand above many other adventures.
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    70
    Not without its flaws, but very few of those flaws matter too much: Moebius is, on the whole, a well-written and interesting investigation.
  4. Apr 18, 2014
    50
    While mildly entertaining at times, Moebius is disappointingly light on the charm, intrigue, and ingenuity that marked Jane Jensen’s earlier work.
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    Suffers from being too faithful to its old-school roots. [Issue#148, p.116]
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    40
    Moebius is one of the worst games written by Jane Jensen. Too many bugs and some major plot holes are there to destroy the few good aspects of this adventure.
  7. Jun 5, 2014
    20
    Fan support and unlimited creative freedom gave birth to a monster. If Moebius were a debut by some unknown studio, I would have simply sniffed at it in disdain. But the knowledge that this wretched thing was produced by a lauded veteran of the industry fills my heart with primordial horror.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 37
  2. Negative: 12 out of 37
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    Excellent story and loved the characters, especially David. Hoping for a sequel quickly. Very much feels like a new GK series for the 2010's.Excellent story and loved the characters, especially David. Hoping for a sequel quickly. Very much feels like a new GK series for the 2010's. Personally, I liked the art style and especially the cut scenes were very well done. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    I really don't get why there are so many negative reviews. Like it's the worst adventure game you've played. I think it's one of the bestI really don't get why there are so many negative reviews. Like it's the worst adventure game you've played. I think it's one of the best adventure games I've played. I mean not just some mediocre point 'n' click adventure games like Secret Files 2 (There was even joke about this game in Goodbye Deponia). Somebody says that it's not a Gabriel Knight, that the plot is bad and that characters are awful. But those reviewers are totally subjective. They need to resigh themselves that this game isn't Gabriel Knight, there's a different atmosphere, different setting, and a more complexed character. I really enjoyed the game, the voice of Malachi and himself reminds me Sherlock from Sherlock BBC (his thoughts and deductions also similar to the show). The whole theory of Moebius and the search for the people's biographies is really original as multiple plot twists. The cutscenes are unusual and made like comic stripes which amazes me. The puzzles are not hard,they are smooth and don't slow you from narration. Also there is some fun thing about picking objects - Malachi takes something only when he knows why he needs it. Sounds logical and when you will come across an object and you need to do something with it, you rather fast realise what you need and where to get it, but further in the game you need to fly to another state, and then you need to return because you couldn't pick up that object last time! Despite that I didn't noticed anything strange in setting. Basically the game pulls you in, I passed it in two days because I couldn't take my eyes out of it! Also it's obvious that it's the first game in this series and hopefully, net time Jane will have more budget to make the game even better. About the duo - it's the most EPIC BROMANCE since Sherlock (also another similarity). And of course they're shipped already :D
    In conclusion: this new game of Jane Jensen is different, not bad. If you compare this game to Gabriel Knight - don't. It's another project, deal with it. Better support Jane so she would be able to make you lovely GB. Also the remake Sins of the Fathers was announced recently, so don't be picky.
    Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. I had been waiting for a long time for a new Jane Jensen game. She is an amazing storyteller. Malachi and DavidI really enjoyed this game. I had been waiting for a long time for a new Jane Jensen game. She is an amazing storyteller. Malachi and David are great characters. The story was far reaching with its historical aspect tied with today's politics. It's a bit of a political thriller, a mystery with some paranormal aspects and a helluva good time.

    I didn't have any trouble with the interface or any glitches in the game. The art was beautiful, the cut-scenes were amazing. Malachi's walking animations were the only thing that I thought could have been better. However, at this budget level... it was better than I could've hoped for.

    Congratulations to Jane and to all at Pinkerton Road and Phoenix Online. Well done. 9.5/10
    Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    Pros :
    + Good story
    + Interesting deduction feature (I wish it could have more impact on the dialogues though) + Interesting set of
    Pros :
    + Good story
    + Interesting deduction feature (I wish it could have more impact on the dialogues though)
    + Interesting set of characters

    Cons :
    - The animations are a little bit outdated, but I didn't really expect more for a game with such a small budget.
    - The last chapter of the game kinda annoying, probably rushed because they run out of time/money
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    6
    It has charm, but really, that's all it has going for it. Like a lot of mediocre point & clicks, the plot is rather bland and doesn't reallyIt has charm, but really, that's all it has going for it. Like a lot of mediocre point & clicks, the plot is rather bland and doesn't really draw you in, you don't have much to entertain you while the plot unfolds and there is a typical lack of dialogue at some points, uncharacteristic for a game such as this. On the flip side, the settings are done well, the small characters are fleshed out well enough, although rather stereotypical. Mediocre graphics too. Overall, it's just mediocre but one of the better ones, the charm (partly from some good dialogue) seems to be the only thing making me like the game. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2014
    3
    As someone who has loved all GK games and even enjoyed Gray Matter quite a bit (my rating: 4/5), I figured Jane would be able to handleAs someone who has loved all GK games and even enjoyed Gray Matter quite a bit (my rating: 4/5), I figured Jane would be able to handle herself and so I supported this with way more than any other game. Man, was I wrong.
    The alpha was quite a disappointment but I figured they might still refine it a LOT and so I wrote an extensive report on it. Unfortunately, the quality of the final product is very similar. The animation is awful pretty much all around, characters don't even look into each other's eyes and the shoulders of the main character make him look bizarrely deformed.
    With a delivery like that, how can one even care about the story? It's like watching a great theater piece being performed by some hillbilly amateur group that has only started to learn about acting two weeks ago.
    It just seems unprofessional through and through. Well, aside from the music. There's that.
    Speaking about being unprofessional - there are even spelling mistakes in the historical data. And there are words missing sometimes. I really enjoyed reading about some guy who "was talented Italian artist". But why care about such details, as if reading about things would be important in this game...
    People keep talking about the niche appeal, the low budget, etc. to try to justify the low quality of Moebius. As if adventure games "naturally" have to look like crap. So, how do explain The Book of Unwritten Tales, Gray Matter, Deponia, Machinarium, etc.?
    In fact, aside from the Telltale games, I don't think I've ever seen an adventure game that looked as bad as Moebius. And even though I don't care for Telltale's art style, I still find it acceptable in comparison.
    And, frankly - Jane Jensen's writing isn't that great to begin with. For crying out loud, it's mundane, somewhat cheesy mystery stuff! There's nothing innovative or meaningful to be found in there. That was the case with Gabriel Knight already. But the overall atmosphere of the games was what caused it be a great ride. Unlike Moebius.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers. If we are to say that adventure games are separated from other genres because they are story-driven, then it's difficult to call "Moebius" an adventure game. What it is are a number of plot points without a strong connecting thread.

    The central theme concerns a secret organisation that uses the titular "moebius theory" to politically manipulate the government. This plot is compelling and promise but it is dropped after act two of the game and is never addressed again. The protagonist mentions how this shadowy organisation needs to be publicly outed. He says he wants to end their political machinations, yet he does absolutely nothing to bring this about.

    The game ends without a climax or denouement to tie together all of the plot threads. And a series of plot points without a resolution is not a story. It is, essentially 2/3rd of a story, seeking an ending that never comes. So I cannot give it a grade on story. Technically, "Moebius" has no story.

    They designers tried to bring something new to the puzzles and some of it works. Unfortunately, the remainder of the puzzles are really straightforward and the player is never challenged. You will find no complex, intriguing puzzles that allow the player to feel a sense of accomplishment. Even the maze is ridiculously easy. If the player misses the obvious markers, any wrong turn sends the player to a dead end, so backtracking is difficult and makes it impossible to get lost. But, for all this game's ease, there were no illogical puzzles either, and that is a plus. Puzzle Grade: C+

    Now, the graphics are not state of the art. The character models are clunky and move freakishly, but I didn't find this distracting. This is a kickstarter game, after all, and they didn't get enough funding to provide state of the art. I can forgive them this. Graphics Grade: C+

    I was mostly pleased with the voice acting. Some of the dialog is horribly trite but the actors do their best to make it sound natural. Actor's Grade A-

    The score is hit&miss. I enjoyed some of the themes but others created moods that felt unrelated to the scenes in which they played and became distracting. Music Grade B

    Ultimately, the game has some compelling moments but for a $30 price tag, I can't recommend it. If you feel pity for a struggling company, or are a die-hard Jane Jensen fan, then you may find some something salvageable here and fork over the cash. For the typical adventure aficionado, I'd wait until the game hits the bargain bin.
    Collapse

See all 37 User Reviews