Monaco: What's Yours Is Mine PC

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. May 5, 2013
    73
    Monaco: What's Yours is Mine is mostly fun when playing with a well put together team of criminals. It's weaker when playing with unknown accomplices or when stealing alone. The game is just a little bit too unclear and chaotic to be a great stealth game, but as a party game Monaco is an excellent choice. It's mostly the charming style that'll steal your heart, not the chaotic action.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    70
    Monaco fails at balancing fun and cold math; the first levels are so easy that you’ll run through them without even thinking, but by the end the awkward arcade shenanigans will become the downfall of your carefully laid plans.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    Despite the small budget, this is an interesting indie title with a few nice ideas.
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    The biggest weakness of Monaco is the simplicity of its gameplay – it’s a trivial, almost mobile game. I recommend playing it in a 4 players co-op mode, where the low difficulty level and simple rules are not so bothersome. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.78]
  5. May 5, 2013
    70
    Monaco is a good game but with too many repetitive mechanics and without a real differentiation between the characters. The coop mode starts with a bang but eventually becomes a little bit boring.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    64
    As good as the concept was three years ago and as entertaining a successful coop session may be, in the end this is little more than an interesting design study.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    60
    I just found Monaco hard to enjoy. I was either rushing to reach a checkpoint before guards killed me or I was roaming aimlessly, being booted back to the beginning of the level when I died too many times. Monaco very rarely hits that stealthy sweet spot - that sense of quietly and carefully infiltrating enemy territory, knowing that you're vastly outnumbered and you'll be killed if you screw up. Instead, it usually just tests your patience.
  8. May 1, 2013
    50
    Theoretically Monaco: What’s Yours is Mine is a great game. In actuality, your mileage may vary.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    For an old school gamer like me, this game is an amazing reminder of what game's were like at the dawn of video games, and how far they haveFor an old school gamer like me, this game is an amazing reminder of what game's were like at the dawn of video games, and how far they have come as well. The single-player game is good, but the game truly shines in coop play.

    Up to 4 friends running around laughing and shouting in vent (I'd love to play this like we used to play Goldeneye on the SNES, but alas, employment options have us all over now), running around in panic from a missed alarm or some angry guards while trying to grab all the cash you can is amazingly fun.

    I haven't gotten far in the campaign or tried all the classes yet, but even the early missions are hilarious and chaotic with friends, and buying it via Steam was a snap. The game screams for custom levels in the future, giving it even more appeal and longevity.

    A heartfelt thumbs up!
    Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2013
    6
    The early levels are great, especially with friends manic, tricky and fun to negotiate. Unfortunately, it's one of those games where theThe early levels are great, especially with friends manic, tricky and fun to negotiate. Unfortunately, it's one of those games where the developers didn't know how to ramp up the difficulty level without sapping the fun completely. In a multi-player, once one of you dies in the middle of one of the frequently occurring laser net death-traps, you essentially can't finish the level, since anyone attempting to restore the dead player is themselves killed. Absurdly, enemy guards can walk right through these laser fields without activating them, meaning that on occasions your entire team is forced to move excruciatingly slowly from safe square to safe square while enemies blithely converge on them from all sides.

    I know some people love challenges and rage against games being dumbed down, but for me, in the case of this game, the fun factor really comes down to dealing with the unexpected and surviving tremendous by the skin of your teeth. Once minor mistakes start getting your entire team wiped out, and once I'm having to repeat levels so often that I know every square inch off by heart, it loses much of its appeal. And that started happening for me and the people I play with at around the tenth mission.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    4
    Overrated silly game. I agree it has cool looks and remembers good games of old times but this one is not. The multiplayer is bad, usabilityOverrated silly game. I agree it has cool looks and remembers good games of old times but this one is not. The multiplayer is bad, usability is bad, I didn't like the classes either. Full Review »