Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: MONACO is a single player or co-op heist game, in which players assemble a crack team of thieves to infiltrate and loot the ridiculously wealthy denizens of Monaco.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. May 1, 2013
    100
    This is the second time in a month that I’ve been completely bowled over by an indie project that I’d never even heard of, created by people whose games I’ve never played. I can think of no better indicators that no matter how bad SimCity turned out, no matter how disappointing the gameplay in Bioshock Infinite, no matter how familiar any Call of Duty, no matter whether the next Xbox is always online, it’s a perfect time to be into videogames.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    90
    Monaco handily captures the Ocean's 11 flair for fun and action, but it runs deeper than its heist theme, presenting a challenge for hardcore fans of strategy and clever design.
  3. May 29, 2013
    90
    If you meet along some trustworthy cooperative kleptomaniacs, a virtual world of Monaco will become your next home. This stealth multiplayer game loves its dollar bags the same way you do.
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    84
    This arcade-style take on stealth takes a careful balance of planning and execution, and even if it’s not quite a perfect crime, it’s still a pretty darn good one.
  5. May 7, 2013
    80
    A simple yet addictive crime caper whose fun factor and hilarity both increase as players are added, Monaco: What's Yours is Mine is an easy recommendation.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    80
    To date, there aren’t a whole lot of games like Monaco. There’s action oriented isometrics like Trap Gunner and strategy heavy games like Frozen Synapse, but Monaco succeeds in blending the two playstyles together effortlessly. Even if you aren’t the type who plays nice with others, Monaco offers more than enough content to help you channel your inner thief.
  7. May 1, 2013
    50
    Theoretically Monaco: What’s Yours is Mine is a great game. In actuality, your mileage may vary.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Challenging, charming, and the most fun you will have playing a co-op game on the xbox. And by co-op I mean with your friends sitting on the couch next to you for once. I would even recommend plugging your laptop into the big screen or projector and grabbing some controllers rather than just networking 4 computers... it should be more social than that. In general I am not a fan of retro pixilated art styles... but man does it work here when combined with the beautiful lighting and blueprint style fog of war. Play a couple of hours of the campaign and then invite your friends over, make a beer run, order pizza... yah it's that kind of game, and it's glorious! Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Great game!, I've played this game for hours on end, incredible game if you're into multiplayer puzzle games. This game will keep you engaged, planning heists with your mates and executing plans. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    For an old school gamer like me, this game is an amazing reminder of what game's were like at the dawn of video games, and how far they have come as well. The single-player game is good, but the game truly shines in coop play.

    Up to 4 friends running around laughing and shouting in vent (I'd love to play this like we used to play Goldeneye on the SNES, but alas, employment options have us all over now), running around in panic from a missed alarm or some angry guards while trying to grab all the cash you can is amazingly fun.

    I haven't gotten far in the campaign or tried all the classes yet, but even the early missions are hilarious and chaotic with friends, and buying it via Steam was a snap. The game screams for custom levels in the future, giving it even more appeal and longevity.

    A heartfelt thumbs up!
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    First, the negatives. Setting up a friends-only game on Steam is a little harder than it needs to be, but once you're in, it's golden. And when running in windowed mode at work, it's slightly difficult to shift mouse focus outside of the game to hide it from your boss. Other than that, the game is awesome. It's both complex and simple at the same time. You only need to complete the base objectives, and you can do that pretty easily. But to clean out a level? That takes a lot more skill and craziness. And to do both in a speed run requires mastery. The aesthetic design is excellent, and the gameplay is sublime. I highly recommend it. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    8
    Monaco is an odd little gem of a game. Essentially, is a multiplayer, top down, class-based stealth game, in which you play as a group of ragtag thieves trying to hightail it out of Monaco while the gettings good.

    The part about Monaco that just gets me is the fact that the game seems designed around the fact that you're going to be seen. If a guard catches you, ragtime music plays as you are chased around the level Benny Hill style, which puts a smile on my face even a year after the game has been released.

    The unfortunate thing though, is that the game is nigh unplayable without friends. You CAN play the entire game single player, but the odds on you succeeding past the first act are slim to none. If you want a tough game that will challenge friendships, but always leave someone laughing, get some buddies together and pick this guy up off of Steam. If you like your games brown, serious, and fast paced, you might want to look somewhere else.
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2014
    7
    I notices this game really long time ago, but i don't liked the graphics and the movement looks terrible...
    Then there was a free-weekend and
    i gave it a try, i will not regret!
    This game is a really nice indie game, i had many hours of fun on public.
    You have diffrent classes, with diffrent skills, like the mole, who can dig into the most walls, or the other classes who can disgus as an enemy, the guy who can knock enemys down from behind and many other classes.
    Later you unlock more classes, there tons of missions and there not so easy.
    You get very fast used to the controls and the graphics, you can only see what your character see (except the one class, who can see enemys through wall), you also can pick up items during a mission, revive dead teammates (also the enemys can revive their teammates).
    I had a lot of fun i can totaly recommend this game!
    Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2013
    4
    Overrated silly game. I agree it has cool looks and remembers good games of old times but this one is not. The multiplayer is bad, usability is bad, I didn't like the classes either. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews