Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    91
    Brilliant design; a reward-happy, lighthearted multiplayer fray. One of the finest $15 shooters ever made.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    90
    Beautiful, bacon-fueled carnage. [Apr 2011, p.62]
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    85
    If you've ever dreamed of experiencing Team Fortress 2, DoTA and Left 4 Dead in one game, here's your best chance. [Mar 2011, p.104]
  4. Mar 4, 2011
    85
    Not many Indie titles get the spotlight they deserve, and this happens to be one of those titles, with a dedicated staff and frequent updates, it can only get better.
  5. 80
    Excellent, lightweight and easily accessible action entertainment combines the best of Tower Defense and Team Fortress. Modes and maps are scarce, but you should not miss it. [Mar 2011]
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    A surprisingly competent indie game that can't quite fulfill its ambitions. Time and patches should be kind to it though. [Mar 2011, p.106]
  7. Feb 5, 2011
    80
    Even when we lost matches or got crappy kill/death ratios, we were still having fun, which can't be said for a lot of shooters out there. And for PC players, you may just have the best version of the game. If you're curious at all, don't pass it up.
  8. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    Clever combat mechanics and diverse soldier classes make this third-person shooter addictive and entertaining.
  9. Mar 9, 2011
    75
    A shaky balance between fluid graphics and a gameplay not so convincible with too much leak.
  10. Feb 25, 2011
    64
    It's a pity that Monday Night Combat is not good enough to serve as an alternative to Team Fortress 2.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    You could not ask any more from a 3rd person DoTA style FPS running on the Unreal engine, it is fast, fun and furfilling when you get a great Grapple kill off on an enemy! The classes are fairly balanced. The maps are a almost replicas of each other with minor differences between each of them. On an upside I have noticed almost no bugs except a couple of Bots here and there catching on corners and impeading their slow progress across the map, but nothing to get worried about! Well worth the $15 Full Review »
  2. Feb 3, 2011
    4
    First impression was that this game was pretty fun. A few hours of play revealed heavy imbalances in the gameplay, and several game breaking glitches. One in particular keeps reoccuring: if you push just the right combination of buttons at just the right time, you cannot spawn until you leave the server. The announcer's attitude is quirky and fun at first, but that gets old incredibly fast. I do not need to be told to upgrade my skills once a minute, especially when I'm saving money for turrets, etc. You cannot disable the announcer, so the only option is to mute all voices, which takes a lot away from what little the game has to offer. This game fills a unique niche, being a of combination of TF2 and DOTA. It feels like it really could have been good, but between the balance issues, glitches, and overly obnoxious announcer, this just isn't worth the price of admission, or the infuration that goes with it. All of these issues can be fixed with patches, and maybe they will be. Until then, I will not be playing any more. If given a choice, go with TF2 (i.e. The Orange Box) instead. More content, fantastic balance and 3.25 years worth of support. I hope that someday I'll be saying the same about MNC as I am about TF2, and it is possible with some (relatively) minor game changes. I really want to enjoy this game, but just can't as it is. Full Review »
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    Top fun for dollar value. Graphically runs smooth, no glitches. Plenty of offline practice modes available however, the full experience is achieved with fast online competitive gameplay. Recommend to your friends! Full Review »