Monday Night Combat PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 65
  2. Negative: 11 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2016
    4
    2/15/2012: I want to like this game. But I don't. All the fun of leveling a character and shooting computer-controlled enemies just falls to ♥♥♥♥ when you have to face another player, an experience I've had in several MOBAs (I'm looking at you, League of Losers). MNC has the tactical depth and player base of your typical free to play game, while demanding skill and and dedication better2/15/2012: I want to like this game. But I don't. All the fun of leveling a character and shooting computer-controlled enemies just falls to ♥♥♥♥ when you have to face another player, an experience I've had in several MOBAs (I'm looking at you, League of Losers). MNC has the tactical depth and player base of your typical free to play game, while demanding skill and and dedication better spent on TF2. And I can say that with a completely straight face, because TF2 at least USED to be about skill and dedication. MNC only pretended to be. Then again, you can just play Blitz, which I always found much more fun. The fact that MNC's upcoming sequel IS a free to play game with microtransactions simply hammers home my point. If you MUST play such a game, at least play Tribes: Ascend. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2015
    2
    Monday Night Combat is an unbalanced **** mess that's dead, if you want to play this you need to find friends or join a steam group.

    Theres no reason to play no one besides the Sniper and Assault, Gunner is just a slow target, same goes for Tank, Support can maybe help but even then he's next to useless without airstrike and firebase spam and Assassin dies in one hit. The game's
    Monday Night Combat is an unbalanced **** mess that's dead, if you want to play this you need to find friends or join a steam group.

    Theres no reason to play no one besides the Sniper and Assault, Gunner is just a slow target, same goes for Tank, Support can maybe help but even then he's next to useless without airstrike and firebase spam and Assassin dies in one hit.

    The game's sequel while F2P is a million times better, no one hit ****

    The atmosphere is amazing along with blitz, the game's only strong points.

    Overall skip this **** and play the F2P sequel.
    Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Monday Night Combat is a truly unique game. It is a third-person shooter game where players take on the role of a clone in the gladitorial sport of the future. The objective it to try to destroy the opposing teams "moneyball", which is a round ball full of money. The moneyball hovers in the middle of a teams base and is shielded. There are two teams, and hence two bases on the map, eachMonday Night Combat is a truly unique game. It is a third-person shooter game where players take on the role of a clone in the gladitorial sport of the future. The objective it to try to destroy the opposing teams "moneyball", which is a round ball full of money. The moneyball hovers in the middle of a teams base and is shielded. There are two teams, and hence two bases on the map, each base spawns bots. Only bots can take down the shield. So, the human players must assist their teams bots to the opposition's base where the bots can destroy the moneyballs shield. However, this is easier said than done, as the other team is also helping their bots toward your base, therefore, you have to use all of your chosen classes abilites to defeat your opponents and ultimately win the game & the fame! Overall this is an awesome addition to the action genre and a must have for everyone.
    Monday Night Combat has a few minor glitches that overall do not hinder gameplay. The reason a lot of people dislike the game is because it has a very steep learning curve and they do not take the time to learn and end up dying repeatedly because they charge the heavy class head on and wonder why they die. That said the classes are for the most part unbalanced but, like i said, if you take the time to learn them, then you can counter anyone playing any class. Hands down the best 3rd person multiplayer shooter available. For $10 its a steal!

    Jester's Rating: 10/10
    Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    6
    Tower defense meets Team Fortress 2. Some clever new features plus a coop survival mode differentiate itself. Overall, I found it to be a ho hum experience.
  5. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Decent tower defence TPS, fun to play, there are few bugs, could do with more maps though. The commentary gets old fast aswell but still well worth the purchase especially if playing with friends
  6. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Excellent quality 3rd person shooter/dota game with funny themed characters and events including the well known fruit fornicating bot of penny arcade fame, given the fellas over at penny arcade check out everything they slap there name to this is high praise at least in my opinion. Graphics and sound are up to par, well worth it's bargain bin price.
  7. Oct 2, 2011
    7
    A fun, sports crazed game of the future.
    Similar to Team Fortress 2, Monday Night Combat is a class based shooter that also lets you upgrade your characters during the round.
    It also lets you customize your classes so you can alter your characters power ups and what suits best for you. Has a nice sense of humour however there is a lack of maps available but still not a bad game with
    A fun, sports crazed game of the future.
    Similar to Team Fortress 2, Monday Night Combat is a class based shooter that also lets you upgrade your characters during the round.
    It also lets you customize your classes so you can alter your characters power ups and what suits best for you.
    Has a nice sense of humour however there is a lack of maps available but still not a bad game with more variety this came can go a lot further
    Expand
  8. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Monday night combat is a terrific game. I just love upgrading my skills then building and upgrading turrets and going online with my friends on a crossfire match.
  9. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    this game was fun at release but no one plays it, most likely to do with the severe lack of maps. Save yourself some money and do not buy, go check steam stats to see how many people playing it, 120 peak per day, awesome. Oh and it has pretty much zero dota elements.
  10. Urh
    May 24, 2011
    2
    I'm starting to wonder if the game I'm playing, titled "Monday Night Combat" is the same one that other reviewers are playing. The only thing remotely positive I can say about this game is that it tried to be original by including a DoTA-style feature of incorporating wave after wave of utterly useless AI units (with the occasional mega unit thrown in to spice things up a bit).I'm starting to wonder if the game I'm playing, titled "Monday Night Combat" is the same one that other reviewers are playing. The only thing remotely positive I can say about this game is that it tried to be original by including a DoTA-style feature of incorporating wave after wave of utterly useless AI units (with the occasional mega unit thrown in to spice things up a bit). Unfortunately, this feature adds next to nothing to gameplay to a game which is otherwise utterly devoid of originality, balance, variety, humour, depth, or complexity (the last two should come as no surprise for something which is a port of an XBLA game, though). I openly scoff at those who dare put this game in the same league as Team Fortress 2. Expand
  11. May 5, 2011
    9
    I fell to the assumption that this was a TF2 knockoff for cash-in. How wrong I was. Really, it's more similar to DotA and LoL, but more freedom of motion. The game is a blast, very fun and lighthearted. More balanced could be used against snipers in some maps, but the game is full of strong counters, and with a decent team you will have a blast. Playing with your friends is best. The shortI fell to the assumption that this was a TF2 knockoff for cash-in. How wrong I was. Really, it's more similar to DotA and LoL, but more freedom of motion. The game is a blast, very fun and lighthearted. More balanced could be used against snipers in some maps, but the game is full of strong counters, and with a decent team you will have a blast. Playing with your friends is best. The short timescale for matches keeps things moving, and prevents the dragging back-and-forth battles that take so long in games like DotA. The game has been patched up decently, adding nice new features and giving the DLC that wasn't included with the XBL version. Definitely recommended, and bring some friends along to join in on the fun. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    The bastard child of tower defence and Team Fortress 2, and in both regards it hit the mark quite well, decent graphics, good multiplayer modes sadly only lacking a large variety of maps, decent sense of humor though again it gets old quick, overall a decent budget shooter/tower defence hybrid.
  13. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    If i had to sum this game up in one word, it would be Frenetic.

    There is a LOT going on during a match at all times. I'm a huge fan of Team Fortress 2, and after an hour of playing MNC, it makes TF2 look more like a tactical combat game than ever. The Arena style hearkens back to the days of Unreal Tournament with the tight close battles, insane moves, and constant action. The addition
    If i had to sum this game up in one word, it would be Frenetic.

    There is a LOT going on during a match at all times. I'm a huge fan of Team Fortress 2, and after an hour of playing MNC, it makes TF2 look more like a tactical combat game than ever.

    The Arena style hearkens back to the days of Unreal Tournament with the tight close battles, insane moves, and constant action. The addition of the bots to the team based model ensures that even if you can't find another player to shoot at, you are always in a target rich environment.

    It might be nice if there were a little more delineation between player ranks on servers so that when you start out, you are not going up against fully decked out veterans.

    For some fast paced, adrenalin pumping, quick in and out action, you can't go too wrong with Monday Night Combat.
    Expand
  14. Mar 13, 2011
    9
    Honestly in general this game is just a lot of fun! Think of LoL or DoTA, just first person. Also something to note is that this game is a LOT faster than those games, obviously.

    I would best describe this as a good pick up game. You pick it up, play for a bit till you need to go somewhere, easy to jump in and out of .
  15. Mar 7, 2011
    6
    A classy game with some really innovative ideas, perhaps let down by shallow gameplay and balance issues. It combines gamplay elements of DOTA, Team Fortress 2 and tactical shooters like BC2. Definitely was worth the price. The biggest issue is finding balanced online games, because one or two really good players on a server can soon cause the teams to become stacked. I'm not sure whetherA classy game with some really innovative ideas, perhaps let down by shallow gameplay and balance issues. It combines gamplay elements of DOTA, Team Fortress 2 and tactical shooters like BC2. Definitely was worth the price. The biggest issue is finding balanced online games, because one or two really good players on a server can soon cause the teams to become stacked. I'm not sure whether this game has the depth of gameplay required to keep me playing it long term, but if you are looking for something with a great sense of humour and a bit different, it's worth the budget pricetag they're asking. Expand
  16. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    Great game, would have been nicer if it was 10 buks, but no glitches, bugs or any outbalanced classes. Runs on most computers easily, so, no problem, best played when u have a team of your own, should give a ten, but if it was 10 buks, 10 stars ;P
  17. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    Very enjoyable Social game..
    It is a blast to play online but the game improves 10 fold when u get a few mates together on the same team.
    The graphics are great and there is a lot more to do in the game then TF2 offers. The classes are different and interesting and are all fun to play. The learning curve is not overly steep and as more maps are released this could be the greatest $15 i
    Very enjoyable Social game..
    It is a blast to play online but the game improves 10 fold when u get a few mates together on the same team.
    The graphics are great and there is a lot more to do in the game then TF2 offers. The classes are different and interesting and are all fun to play.
    The learning curve is not overly steep and as more maps are released this could be the greatest $15 i have spent on a game
    Expand
  18. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    There is more here than meets the eye. Sure, do the tutorial and use the single-player mode as training, but get your butt to the multiplayer crossfire matches ASAP. That is where the action is and let me tell you there is a ton of action to be had here. You will be trying new strategies all night long and having a blast doing it. Think Smash TV meets Tower defense meets 6x6 FPS. Wow! WillThere is more here than meets the eye. Sure, do the tutorial and use the single-player mode as training, but get your butt to the multiplayer crossfire matches ASAP. That is where the action is and let me tell you there is a ton of action to be had here. You will be trying new strategies all night long and having a blast doing it. Think Smash TV meets Tower defense meets 6x6 FPS. Wow! Will probably give it a 10 when the editor is available. Expand
  19. Feb 3, 2011
    4
    First impression was that this game was pretty fun. A few hours of play revealed heavy imbalances in the gameplay, and several game breaking glitches. One in particular keeps reoccuring: if you push just the right combination of buttons at just the right time, you cannot spawn until you leave the server. The announcer's attitude is quirky and fun at first, but that gets old incrediblyFirst impression was that this game was pretty fun. A few hours of play revealed heavy imbalances in the gameplay, and several game breaking glitches. One in particular keeps reoccuring: if you push just the right combination of buttons at just the right time, you cannot spawn until you leave the server. The announcer's attitude is quirky and fun at first, but that gets old incredibly fast. I do not need to be told to upgrade my skills once a minute, especially when I'm saving money for turrets, etc. You cannot disable the announcer, so the only option is to mute all voices, which takes a lot away from what little the game has to offer. This game fills a unique niche, being a of combination of TF2 and DOTA. It feels like it really could have been good, but between the balance issues, glitches, and overly obnoxious announcer, this just isn't worth the price of admission, or the infuration that goes with it. All of these issues can be fixed with patches, and maybe they will be. Until then, I will not be playing any more. If given a choice, go with TF2 (i.e. The Orange Box) instead. More content, fantastic balance and 3.25 years worth of support. I hope that someday I'll be saying the same about MNC as I am about TF2, and it is possible with some (relatively) minor game changes. I really want to enjoy this game, but just can't as it is. Expand
  20. Feb 3, 2011
    7
    Well designed and adequately polished to at least warrant it's price tag, but like so many games, full of a wretched, unfriendly, unhelpful and childish community screaming "umadbrah?!?!" Latency is good but guns seem to move pretty sloppily, even when fine tuned DPI-wise. Oh well, if you think TF2 moves too fast and lacks gravity, this is a much slower cousin, though I think we alwaysWell designed and adequately polished to at least warrant it's price tag, but like so many games, full of a wretched, unfriendly, unhelpful and childish community screaming "umadbrah?!?!" Latency is good but guns seem to move pretty sloppily, even when fine tuned DPI-wise. Oh well, if you think TF2 moves too fast and lacks gravity, this is a much slower cousin, though I think we always hoped for something more in the middle. Cuz only 2 classes move quickly. And jump boosters last only a couple seconds so they aren't too useful. Co-op mode is pretty boring, if you can find an unstacked server (i've seen about 2 even matches in roughly 30) the vs mode can be pretty entertaining. Needs some balance patches to remove assassins instant kill button, but really, most games have some OP problems at release, time will tell if they show love for this game and improve it, or if they're done now that they've finally moved this 8 month old xbox game to PC port. Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My first impression about this game was: cool and yea!
    After an hour of playing offline, I tried out multiplayer, it went smooth, no glitches...it was all good.
    But after 3 times playing the multiplayer, it got bored...it's all the same and too much of team fortress 2, the only difference: tf2 offers you more. In this game you can only level up...but I have the impression that these levels don't really matter because you gain no abilities or special items. It's pretty good for 11 $ but it get's boring very quick. You're not missing out if you haven't bought it yet!
    Expand
  22. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    You could not ask any more from a 3rd person DoTA style FPS running on the Unreal engine, it is fast, fun and furfilling when you get a great Grapple kill off on an enemy! The classes are fairly balanced. The maps are a almost replicas of each other with minor differences between each of them. On an upside I have noticed almost no bugs except a couple of Bots here and there catching onYou could not ask any more from a 3rd person DoTA style FPS running on the Unreal engine, it is fast, fun and furfilling when you get a great Grapple kill off on an enemy! The classes are fairly balanced. The maps are a almost replicas of each other with minor differences between each of them. On an upside I have noticed almost no bugs except a couple of Bots here and there catching on corners and impeading their slow progress across the map, but nothing to get worried about! Well worth the $15 Collapse
  23. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    Top fun for dollar value. Graphically runs smooth, no glitches. Plenty of offline practice modes available however, the full experience is achieved with fast online competitive gameplay. Recommend to your friends!
  24. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    You could not ask any more from a 3rd person DoTA style FPS running on the Unreal engine, it is fast, fun and furfilling when you get a great Grapple kill off on an enemy! The classes are fairly balanced. The maps are a almost replicas of each other with minor differences between each of them. On an upside I have noticed almost no bugs except a couple of Bots here and there catching onYou could not ask any more from a 3rd person DoTA style FPS running on the Unreal engine, it is fast, fun and furfilling when you get a great Grapple kill off on an enemy! The classes are fairly balanced. The maps are a almost replicas of each other with minor differences between each of them. On an upside I have noticed almost no bugs except a couple of Bots here and there catching on corners and impeading their slow progress across the map, but nothing to get worried about! Well worth the $15 Collapse

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 6, 2011
    80
    Excellent, lightweight and easily accessible action entertainment combines the best of Tower Defense and Team Fortress. Modes and maps are scarce, but you should not miss it. [Mar 2011]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 31, 2011
    90
    Beautiful, bacon-fueled carnage. [Apr 2011, p.62]
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Mar 21, 2011
    85
    If you've ever dreamed of experiencing Team Fortress 2, DoTA and Left 4 Dead in one game, here's your best chance. [Mar 2011, p.104]