Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Unique and emotional in so many ways, while tackling issues rarely before seen in videogames, it can be safely said without any hyperbole that this is one of the most important artistic creations ever to come out of Ireland.
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    61
    Montague’s Mount draws you in by creating an eerie atmosphere and a degree of mystery. Some puzzles leave you feeling satisfied, while some have you wishing for a hint system. It looks pretty good, despite some graphical hitches, and it’s backed up by some excellent audio design. There is definitely room for improvement, but it’s a decent debut title from this new indie developer.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    60
    Montague's Mount promises a journey through the mind of a tortured man, by the shores of an Irish island and endless emotions. Actually we got an adventure burdened by its design flaws and soft script although it has potential for the future.
  4. Mar 5, 2014
    50
    At first I was delighted with the dark atmosphere, but it’s not the story of madness that drove me crazy, but pixel hunting, repetitive objects, weak character models and slow movements of the protagonist. [03/2014, p.73]
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    50
    Montague’s Mount has a fantastic atmosphere, but is too slow to get really creepy. With a mysterious tone, you’ll want to discover it more and more. However, it has too many flaws to be memorable.
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    50
    Montague’s Mount is a pretty unique experience with a celtic theme and a good atmosphere. The puzzles are somewhat generic, the controls sluggish and the current version of the game is riddled with bugs. But all in all fans of the genre should still find a lot to enjoy here.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    50
    The debut installment of Montague’s Mount is very pretty and atmospheric, but the lack of plot, puzzles or scares so far should have you waiting until the next episode before you decide whether to climb on.
  8. Nov 12, 2013
    45
    A broken 3D graphic adventure.
  9. Oct 18, 2013
    45
    Montague's Mount is an interesting adventure game with an attractive atmosphere but with a weak storyline and confusing puzzles.
  10. Dec 10, 2013
    40
    Montague’s Mount really tries to aspire to their level only to fall quite short.
  11. Nov 9, 2013
    40
    Montague's Mount is a bad graphic adventure plagued by the backtracking and some of the worst bugs seen in recent years.
  12. Nov 2, 2013
    40
    Montague's Mount is an uncompromising effort to create an illusion of a dark island entrapped in a storm. However, it's forgetting that a game is entertaining if there are compromises. In this case the outcome is frustrating, a drab sloppy thing with crawling bugs along with bad design decisions on the top of it.
  13. Oct 17, 2013
    40
    The entire time I played Montague’s Mount, I felt lost, helpless, blind, crippled and confused. Unfortunately, that doesn’t make for a very good or interesting game.
  14. Oct 11, 2013
    35
    Between its lack of polish, its absurd puzzles and its weak writing, there's nothing here to merit a playthrough. Maybe a strong atmosphere can be enough, but it certainly isn't in this case.
  15. 30
    I was expecting (and hoping for) a spooky and atmospheric thrill ride, but instead got an ill conceived and unpolished first person puzzle game. The story is weak, the puzzles unintuitive, and the experience wholly unsatisfying. Explorers would be better served travelling back in time and playing Myst, or picking up one of the games I mentioned above. Steer clear of this one.
  16. 30
    With senseless puzzles that destroy any potential feeling of accomplishment, incredibly frequent glitches, a total lack of coherent storytelling, boring gameplay and sluggish pacing, there’s not much Montague’s Mount offers that can’t be found elsewhere in a more attractive package.
  17. Oct 16, 2013
    30
    Just like the island of Montague’s Mount is empty, so too is this game. There’s no substance — just darkness, rain, and the airy affectation of what “emotional” games should be like. But emotions are more than sad-looking photos, plodding pace, quiet narration and soft violin music. In Montague’s Mount, just like that ethereal mountain, emotion is decidedly absent. All that’s left is boredom.
  18. Feb 24, 2014
    20
    I could bring up a dozen more problems, major and minor, with the game, but what's the point? Montague's Mount doesn't have interesting puzzles or a structure that ties them into a coherent work about mental illness, despite its heavy-handed announcement of that intent. I respect the aim, but the execution is terrible.
  19. 20
    Failed attempt at making a game in the vein of Dear Esther. Makes no sense whatsoever and its atmosphere dissolves in a second, being immediately replaced by terrible frustration. [Issue#236]
  20. Oct 16, 2013
    20
    A haphazard collection of obtuse puzzles strewn about an ill-lighted world that does nothing to call attention to them. While it might be easy to assume these frustrations echo the protagonist's apparent mental illness, PolyPusher Studios utterly fails to teach you about the limits and goals of its own work, and does little to illuminate how its puzzles relate to the real-world experience Montague's Mount tries to evoke.
  21. Oct 16, 2013
    20
    It's been a while since I really had to struggle to get to the end of a game because it was that much of a let-down. Had I not had to review Montague's Mount, it would not have lasted ten minutes on my hard drive.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    First of all the games sure comes with an interesting atmosphere. You really feel lost, sometimes the rain falls and it's getting harder to see stuff. That's nice but then 'Montague's Mount' pretty much fails in terms of storytelling and game design! Besides there still are a few game-crashing bugs can that kill the fun. Sometimes the game fails to tell you why you really need to do that. At some points it tells you, you can't go there because there's some other task you have to complete first but it doesn't explain what that was again. Then there are pages all over the island explaining how to control the game. You can't take those, you have to read but on a small screen you'll have to go pretty close and might still have troubles reading what's on it. And it really doesn't make sense to explain the controls that way. Really... it doesn't! Also I could use the xbox360-controller only to move around. To interact I had to use the mouse and keyboard. Not ideal too but only a small problem. Maybe the developers should have given the game more time and polish. There is potential and it actually does have some scary moments but 'Montague's Mount' doesn't seem able to make any use of it! Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    Montague's Mount has so much potential to be more. A visually beautiful game, the atmosphere is great with the dark tones and somber music contrasted by a few pops of color from a light or something shiny nearby. The game has such a promising setting full of intrigue and mystery but the snail’s pace of movement only to be rewarded with a small victory over and over again and the nonsensical puzzle placement, and puzzles themselves take away any immersion or enjoyment I could have had and replaced it with frustration and anger. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    3
    It's not the worst cause I have seen worse although I haven't finished this and cannot continue for I am stuck on the part where you line up the orientations using your compass, I have tried at it for atleast 5 hours or more now and had shut down the game twice and then lost the progress so I would need to start from beginning of that part again. Graphics wise is bad, lots of darkness and blurriness, eyes can't focus too well when trying to concentrate. So many bugs in this game, had to restart the game 5 times because i either got stuck or camera was where i can't see anything after activating something and the gameplay path would not come open. I feel like a turtle after doing so much walking around in this game, atleast unlocked an achievement for walking 10 kilometers. I would'nt recommend this game since I can't even finish it due to the orientations looking so funky, graphics blur and dark and getting around so slow. I want to continue but just don't feel I should cause the game is full of bugs anyway. Full Review »