Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Montague's Mount is a horror/suspense game from Mastertronic and one-man development team Polypusher Studios.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Unique and emotional in so many ways, while tackling issues rarely before seen in videogames, it can be safely said without any hyperbole that this is one of the most important artistic creations ever to come out of Ireland.
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    60
    Montague's Mount promises a journey through the mind of a tortured man, by the shores of an Irish island and endless emotions. Actually we got an adventure burdened by its design flaws and soft script although it has potential for the future.
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    50
    Montague’s Mount has a fantastic atmosphere, but is too slow to get really creepy. With a mysterious tone, you’ll want to discover it more and more. However, it has too many flaws to be memorable.
  4. Oct 17, 2013
    40
    The entire time I played Montague’s Mount, I felt lost, helpless, blind, crippled and confused. Unfortunately, that doesn’t make for a very good or interesting game.
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    40
    Montague's Mount is a bad graphic adventure plagued by the backtracking and some of the worst bugs seen in recent years.
  6. 30
    I was expecting (and hoping for) a spooky and atmospheric thrill ride, but instead got an ill conceived and unpolished first person puzzle game. The story is weak, the puzzles unintuitive, and the experience wholly unsatisfying. Explorers would be better served travelling back in time and playing Myst, or picking up one of the games I mentioned above. Steer clear of this one.
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    20
    It's been a while since I really had to struggle to get to the end of a game because it was that much of a let-down. Had I not had to review Montague's Mount, it would not have lasted ten minutes on my hard drive.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm into psychological games, pretty hardcore, Montague's Mount is one of those psychological games I love. Visually I liked it, it wasn't overly dark, yet not obnoxiously bright. The atmosphere and weather changes I thought was quite amazing. The puzzles aren't all easy, yet they're not overly obnoxious. The only puzzle I had a real issue learning/solving was the Plinth compass puzzle, I played the game before it was updated and more 'help' was added to solve that puzzle.
    Throughout the game on and off it gave me a feeling of being watched.
    I did get lost a few times in the game, but once you figure it out, the game isn't that bad.
    I personally didn't have any issues with my game crashing or losing saves, no bugs. The game gave me no problems what so ever.
    Not sure how much this game changed with the update, or how much help was added, even before the update I did have fun with this game. As I said the game gave me no issues, some of the puzzles were easy, some were challenging. Either way, for one person making this game, I thought it was quite amazing and very well done.
    Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    7
    Game has some obvious problems but I very much appreciated the effort put into it and managed to enjoy it.

    It was taken to a huge extreme,
    but the feeling of helplessness was something I haven't felt in this way in another game.

    The game is beautiful, which added to the experience immensely.

    The puzzles were often infuriating... which few people will forgive it for. I won't either.

    I really wanted to enjoy this game and I did, but I feel like I will be in a minority.

    The game has so much going for it, that I feel it warrants far higher scores than what it has been given thus far.
    Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2013
    5
    Montague's Mount has so much potential to be more. A visually beautiful game, the atmosphere is great with the dark tones and somber music contrasted by a few pops of color from a light or something shiny nearby. The game has such a promising setting full of intrigue and mystery but the snail’s pace of movement only to be rewarded with a small victory over and over again and the nonsensical puzzle placement, and puzzles themselves take away any immersion or enjoyment I could have had and replaced it with frustration and anger. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    First of all the games sure comes with an interesting atmosphere. You really feel lost, sometimes the rain falls and it's getting harder to see stuff. That's nice but then 'Montague's Mount' pretty much fails in terms of storytelling and game design! Besides there still are a few game-crashing bugs can that kill the fun. Sometimes the game fails to tell you why you really need to do that. At some points it tells you, you can't go there because there's some other task you have to complete first but it doesn't explain what that was again. Then there are pages all over the island explaining how to control the game. You can't take those, you have to read but on a small screen you'll have to go pretty close and might still have troubles reading what's on it. And it really doesn't make sense to explain the controls that way. Really... it doesn't! Also I could use the xbox360-controller only to move around. To interact I had to use the mouse and keyboard. Not ideal too but only a small problem. Maybe the developers should have given the game more time and polish. There is potential and it actually does have some scary moments but 'Montague's Mount' doesn't seem able to make any use of it! Collapse
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    3
    It's not the worst cause I have seen worse although I haven't finished this and cannot continue for I am stuck on the part where you line up the orientations using your compass, I have tried at it for atleast 5 hours or more now and had shut down the game twice and then lost the progress so I would need to start from beginning of that part again. Graphics wise is bad, lots of darkness and blurriness, eyes can't focus too well when trying to concentrate. So many bugs in this game, had to restart the game 5 times because i either got stuck or camera was where i can't see anything after activating something and the gameplay path would not come open. I feel like a turtle after doing so much walking around in this game, atleast unlocked an achievement for walking 10 kilometers. I would'nt recommend this game since I can't even finish it due to the orientations looking so funky, graphics blur and dark and getting around so slow. I want to continue but just don't feel I should cause the game is full of bugs anyway. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    Tons of bug, not running fine most of the time, game crash and lost my saves twice! There's absolutly no communication at all, not even PR. Had tons of potential but cannot deliver! Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    Ok what is this s***. Its dark, its blurry, the notes are barely readable. I walked around for 10 min and had enough. The overall graphics and visuals are so bad you strain your eyes and get a headache. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews