User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 152
  2. Negative: 27 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2011
    9
    Fire and Sword is a unique take in the series, it could be considered the "Empire Total War" of the Mount and Blade Series, the introduction of Firearms drastically changes the gameplay, players can't charge headlong into musket/rifle fire, as bullets/musket balls can pierce all armor save the most expensive ones yet slow to reload. This forces the player to have a nice army composition, and plan out how to defeat the enemy. Castle and city Sieges/Defenses have been revolutionized. Players now have a wide range of actions he/she can do in order to capture a city they can bribe the guards to gain control of the gates, poison the water supply, blow a hole in the walls, and other particular actions. yet despite these advantages combat will mostly favor the defender as the range damage would instantly kill any heavily armored unit. The political intrigue of 17th century Eastern Europe provides a unique and interesting back story to players who read the Fire and Sword series, and the general historical events will enjoy trying to recreating history and appreciate the unique "What if" scenarios that the game creates. The only downside of the game that i am experiencing is difficulty curve when fighting range units, as a well placed musket shot can and will knock you out instantly in the beginning of the game, money "Talents" are much harder to get then the previous games, players will have to take on more quests and side jobs in order to pay for their armies, as Tournaments no longer exist (or i have yet to discover them). Armies are also harder to recruit, as the player can only recruit mercenaries via Taverns, and Mercenaries camps until they join a particular fraction. then they can recruit units traditionally, which is more historically accurate. Aside from That, I would recommend this to fans of previous games and those that are interested in 17th century eastern Europe. Expand
  2. May 17, 2011
    10
    Fire and Sword is great and a heck of an addictive game, although it is little similar to older mount and blades but i am still enjoying it. Bring of firearms in action has increased a lot of gameplay, Rifles and muskets really makes the scenario more challenging, just one shot and you are dead. the Grenades are probably the most fun part of the game, Although i would appreciate if we could hold more than 12 of them. The storyline is neither great nor bad. Although the reason i am giving this game a 10 is because of the multiplayer. which is extremely fun to play....Its just awsome, and because of the new items in the game, the multiplayer just gets better and better Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    after all the patches they did and continue to make, this game deserves a better rating. the muskets are a great addition and make the combat more thrilling. this game is a great buy, you really cant go wrong for $15
  4. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game fills a huge gap which Total War series left open. If you know sequel, this is not a big improvement but there are not many games which presents medieval fps warfare while you still can use macro advancements like recruiting mercenaries to build an army and so on. Price is absolutely a bargain, but I should say I prefer some stunning graphics with a more expensive price tag.
    Only
    missing thing is achievements and multiplayer leveling, which I suppose will have a negative effect on the total online play hours. In the following days game will release a Turkish patch to satisfy its local players, maybe we can expect an online experience/ladder system, or at least some achievements. Expand
  5. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun, multiplayer modes siege, battle, and captain-coop are quite entertaining. The guns make it different from the previous mount and blades....
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    10
    Mount & Blade: With Fire & Sword. This game (and the series) is a MUST HAVE game for any one that likes to see armies clash against each other with whatever weapons they got, this time with GUNS! and the best part, you get to be actually be inside the battle unlike the Total War series. Unfortunatly, the Visuals still will not impress anyone and a small percentage of players may notice there are some parts in the battlefield that looks slightly inferior then Warband which is never a good. But to be honest, you'll be so addicted and som immersed to this game you would'nt even notice. The gameplay itself is fairly the same as Warband though will the introduction of Muskets and pistols, you're strategy and the way you think will differ; both good and bad. The negative side about having guns is it can be quite boring sense it takes very long to reload. And unlike Warband, the player cannot charge into a rank of enemies and hack n' slash, killing 20 people all because a volley of Musket fire will devastate you. The positive side however is it gives a bit more diversity to the game and can make it very enjoyable once you have mastered the aiming of the Musket.
    The multiplayer is also very enjoyable. The feeling of being in the midst of a 50-man line all firing muskets simultaneously is just plain epic, no exaggeration there are all. Basic modifications of Trades, Recruitment etc has also made the game less complicated and awkward. Overall I give this wonderful game a 9/10. It is truely awesome and I recommend this game to anyone that is big into massive armies, medieval history or just want a faster-paced Total War game. +Addictive campaign
    +Great Multiplayer
    +Less-awkward management
    -Guns prevents you from being a 'hero'
    -Outdated graphics
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Disregard the bad reviews for the game. It seems a lot of "critics" are basing the game off of looks and not mechanics or its actual fun factor. With well over 100 hours of gameplay on both Mount and Blade:Warband and With Fire & Sword combined, I have seen the ins and outs and bugs (which they fix). A lot of players will complain that its hard. It is not a cakewalk nor is it an easy button game. "WF&S is like an ugly person who is awesome to hang out with". With the new "horde" mode added in for multiplayer, I enjoy it even more. Ignore the bad reviews again, just pay attention to the good ones. Expand
  8. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    This review is about multiplayer - im not a fan of single player games, so i hoped into multiplayer right in the first day. Single player is for civilians!

    I was bit sceptic about this game. Even after buying it on sale, i didnt run it for several days cause i have other games to play. After playing it however i felt in love and got addicted to it - Long time i havent spend whole days
    and nights with a game and feeling the hunger for more. At begining game might be frustrating, cause it takes day or two to feel the combat mechanics, but after you do that, you will also love this game. Combat system is epic and very skill-rewarding. Mounted combat is just awesome, just grab your sabre, sword, pike, pistol, bow or whatever you like and slash, pierce, chop or shoot your way trough enemies in game up to 64 players (not including troops players command in "captain" game modes).

    Gunpowder weapons adds to the athmoshpere covering battlefields with smoke. They are not very accurate tho and takes some time to reload.

    Melee combat is awesome. Its all about 3-4 directions of swings/thrusts and 4 direction parries + optional shield block. Very easy to learn, but hard to master. For example when you see enemy player raising weapon left, you can parry left, and the fencing begins :) If only parries-counterattacks and kick ability would be more rewarding in foot, melee combat i would give this game 10.

    I also expected some mediocre graphics at best and i was positively suprised. Game looks great. Animations are fluid. Seems they made them all with motion capture system so they are very natural. Also there is a ragdoll system which adds to the satisfaction when you put someone else's horse on your pike or slash a throat of enemy while galloping on your horse and then see him falling from his horse spouting blood.

    If you like skill-based, fast-paced multiplayer combat with mounts, swords and guns you must definitely try this game, you wont regret. So far i have had much more fun from this game than from any 50-Euro-League's games. And i have played a lot.

    p.s.
    There is also co-op mode. I have seen plenty of servers running "Captain Co-op" where players build their squads and command them, defending against waves of AI controlled armies.
    Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I gave this game 100 because i really enjoed it just to let every one know i have played all other mount and blade games and this one has good and bad things now 1st its not empire total war this game goes like this u fire one shot and then go in to hand to hand combat like in warband i did piss me off alitle bit wen i saw the reviews so low no other game can bring you the experience that mount and blade does this game is warbad but it has guns witch are accurate and take forever to reload so like i said you will shoot ones then you go and fight one bad thing i need to mention is in warband wen u become a lord of your own nation you can pick a name for it here you can not it just says ure a rebel country and other is that you can not have vassals (companions fighting with you) in warband you could offer a fief to your companion and then they will raise an army and fight with you and you can not do that here a big let down but thats the bigger change in this game besides the guns, so are there any good things? yes 1st now in every village you can talk to the elder you dont have to go into the city and look for him no more, and i think thats all for the changes. This game is cheep defiantly worth it and by the way the graphics are slightly better enjoy XD Expand
  10. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    With Fire and Sword It's a fun game, multi-player is strong with a good campaign. Worth the price and definitely worthy of the mount and blade name. Firearms definitely adds a new play mechanic.
  11. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    This game is great, the graphics are a bit on the low side because the series started out as an indie game and went on t be successful. Anyways, the game modes are fun especially Captain CO-OP and Siege. The people on here are fun and very skilled so be careful! Buy on Steam and Enjoy.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    83
    Good real history setting, but feels too much like a mod. Game would needs stronger and more visible plot element to differ itself from basic M&M formula. [June 2011]
  2. Jul 29, 2011
    60
    An above-average game from a time period that's really hard to find in current games. It is defected by several unfortunate design decisions and by sticking too much to its literary original. However, Henryk Sienkiewicz's fans and those 17th century warfare lovers should not hesitate to try it.
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    60
    With Fire and Sword is an expansion that adds very little to the Mount&Blade experience. It's still a solid game, but one would expect more innovation. Still, the hectic battles on horseback leave the player with a brutal appreciation for medieval combat.