Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With Fire & Sword also builds and expands upon the highly regarded combat system from Mount & Blade: Warband. Firearms have been introduced to the battlefield, opening up exciting new play-styles and options. Players can also utilize explosives for taking out groups of foes or to breach castle walls. In addition to the enhanced singleplayer mode, With Fire and Sword also provides a host of original multiplayer content including the new Captain Mode which allows players to control their own forces in online matches.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. May 13, 2011
    89
    The multiplayer is a blast and the battles just feel so epic. For $15, you really can't go wrong with this action RPG. It will take some patience, but once you understand how the game works, you will be hooked.
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    82
    An affordable, bottomless action-RPG that loves freedom. [Aug 2011, p.68]
  3. May 15, 2011
    75
    Gunpowder brings more tactical options to the fun and interesting Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword.
  4. May 11, 2011
    68
    The third episode of Mount & Blade has a setting and characters well defined, but lacks something that can truly renew the gaming experience.
  5. Jun 23, 2011
    60
    With Fire and Sword is an expansion that adds very little to the Mount&Blade experience. It's still a solid game, but one would expect more innovation. Still, the hectic battles on horseback leave the player with a brutal appreciation for medieval combat.
  6. May 11, 2011
    60
    This new addition to the excellent indie Turkish franchise constitutes the best and most complete choice for newcomers. Unfortunately, the veterans of the franchise won't find anything radical different that haven't already seen in previous installments.
  7. Jun 17, 2011
    40
    Stay away. [July 2011, p.98]

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 48
  2. Negative: 10 out of 48
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Fire and Sword is great and a heck of an addictive game, although it is little similar to older mount and blades but i am still enjoying it. Bring of firearms in action has increased a lot of gameplay, Rifles and muskets really makes the scenario more challenging, just one shot and you are dead. the Grenades are probably the most fun part of the game, Although i would appreciate if we could hold more than 12 of them. The storyline is neither great nor bad. Although the reason i am giving this game a 10 is because of the multiplayer. which is extremely fun to play....Its just awsome, and because of the new items in the game, the multiplayer just gets better and better Expand
  2. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game fills a huge gap which Total War series left open. If you know sequel, this is not a big improvement but there are not many games which presents medieval fps warfare while you still can use macro advancements like recruiting mercenaries to build an army and so on. Price is absolutely a bargain, but I should say I prefer some stunning graphics with a more expensive price tag.
    Only missing thing is achievements and multiplayer leveling, which I suppose will have a negative effect on the total online play hours. In the following days game will release a Turkish patch to satisfy its local players, maybe we can expect an online experience/ladder system, or at least some achievements.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    I recently got this game when it's on sale, and have already spent many hours on it. It is a great sandbox game where you can play in whatever way you like. You can make money through trading, combat, robbery or doing quests. You can battle it all alone (thus you run faster on the map) or hire a lot of soldiers to help you out. You can fight with a sword, a lance, a bow, or a firearm. You can befriend a faction or even joining it by helping its men in battle, or anger a faction by attacking its men. In all, how to play the game is absolutely your choice. However, the only problem (so far as I've only played for hours) is that leveling up is too slow. If you are fine with cheats, it won't be a problem for you, but I'm not, so I'm kinda losing enthusiasm. Maybe it's not a game that I should spend ten hours in one day to get a lot of achievements. But anyway, I like this game, I'm enjoying it, and I think I'll spend some time on it every day. Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2012
    6
    About as good as warband (if you dont have warband) but usually half the price. Just as in warband, the melee combat feels unbalanced/unrealistic, but I'm a good sniper so can hold my own with the muskets which are quite realistic. What stands out for me is the sometimes huge multiplayer sieges. When the game came out there was always a siege server with 200 players! The scale was epic! With some luck you might find a server with half that today, still pretty good. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    6
    I disagree with lot of people when they say this is a 'fair game''. I feel as though its much harder to survive compared to warbands because of the guns. Don't get me wrong they implemented the gun feature well and they are super effective... but are they too effective? To me it seems as though its caused an imbalance and it makes the game much harder as they do super effective damage (compared to archery) and are more direct and accurate. There are a few other problems with it, but what I've described is my main concern. I think the game was a good idea but i don't think they put as much into it as they could have. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    5
    The great thing about the mount and blade series hasn't been the graphics or the story, its been the combat and With fire and sword gets that wrong. Charging at the enemy to be once shot knocked out is boring. Its also much harder to get decent troops which i found particularly annoying as it makes the start of the game much harder and frustrating.

    The game does try to introduce some amount of story but i wasn't interested enough to keep playing.
    Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    **** game's boring that I cant tell how this game's good.Gamecube-like graphics, repeditive gameplay,this & that.Don't play this.

See all 48 User Reviews