Mount & Blade PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 465 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 465

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JetLi
    Mar 30, 2009
    6
    The game came out as a barebone; bland without salt n pepper. I'd have loved it with fish sauce and more chili sauce to it, but alas. It lacks several important things such as diplomacy which is very weak, story which is almost nonexistent, good graphics which is aging, multiplayer which has none of that for a strategy game or even roleplay. The most frustrating area of this game is The game came out as a barebone; bland without salt n pepper. I'd have loved it with fish sauce and more chili sauce to it, but alas. It lacks several important things such as diplomacy which is very weak, story which is almost nonexistent, good graphics which is aging, multiplayer which has none of that for a strategy game or even roleplay. The most frustrating area of this game is the sieging process. Helplessly getting slaughtered and butchered while trying to fight at the wall on a one ladder is no amusement. The only strength of the game lies with its cavalry gameplay, but still, the excitement fades rather quickly. For an indie, it offers a well deserved entertainment to the new player, but for us more experienced gamers, little. Credits should go to the well talented modders NOT the makers as the game strongly relies itself to the modding phase. Expand
  2. Hinotori
    Oct 2, 2008
    6
    The phrase "niche title" was created to define games like this. Mount and Blade has already achieved a cult following, and, like many other cult classics, features some amazing features along with some crippling issues. Of all the positive things that could be said about Mount and Blade, the titular mounted combat stands out above the rest. Nowhere else will you find mounted combat The phrase "niche title" was created to define games like this. Mount and Blade has already achieved a cult following, and, like many other cult classics, features some amazing features along with some crippling issues. Of all the positive things that could be said about Mount and Blade, the titular mounted combat stands out above the rest. Nowhere else will you find mounted combat handled this well and as entertainingly. On the negative side, the game contains a relatively bland and harshly unforgiving environment (proponents will cite this as "realism") as well as some mind-blowingly unintuitive mechanics. Mount and Blade is extremely newbie-unfriendly, as there is little to no indication as to how dangerous many of your enemies are. An inexperienced solo-adventurer without troops is guaranteed to have a short life. Some mechanics are curiously inconvenient, like the inability to sleep in a town if one is not a nobleman. Others are downright maddening, like the frequent inability of one's character to withdraw completely from combat even if the character is mounted and his or her opponents are not. The openness is a double-edged sword. On one hand, the freedom can be invigorating, with several potential avenues for success including trading, looting, participation in the arena, and vassalage. The openness can be completely overwhelming to a newcomer, however; a new character enters the world with literally no objectives whatsoever. I have been following the game since .6-.7 and while it has improved greatly in many areas (most notably the graphics which are fantastic for such a low-budget indie production), other areas have remained completely stagnant. As it has now finally reached gold, it is unlikely to change drastically and will remain a quirky, enjoyable title to get out whenever one feels a craving for what it does best. Expand
  3. MarkN.
    Oct 15, 2008
    7
    I started playing this game quite some time ago during the early beta stages and found myself enjoying the game very much, and playing several of the mods. However, I must admit there are still issues with the game. Combat is this game's biggest pro. It feels realistic, brutal, and dangerous. You'll have to learn the nuances of each weapon, but this is a fun process. Going from I started playing this game quite some time ago during the early beta stages and found myself enjoying the game very much, and playing several of the mods. However, I must admit there are still issues with the game. Combat is this game's biggest pro. It feels realistic, brutal, and dangerous. You'll have to learn the nuances of each weapon, but this is a fun process. Going from a solo adventurer to a commander is also a learning process, but once again a fun one. Building your character is a fun and rewarding process that makes a real difference you can see on the battlefield. The world is interesting, and there is an overwhelming amount of options. That brings us to the game's primary downfall: You build up your character, your equipment, your troops, your reputation... and then what? It's nice to have been able to explore the world, but I wanted a story, a challenge to work towards. Mount and blade, despite its wonderful underlying system, begins to feel pointless. Once you can beat most of the guys out there and afford expensive equipment, you'll begin to wonder what you did it all for. In the end, I never felt like I finished the game. Because the game has no big 'baron von evil who killed your father' or 'win the war for your people and be lauded as a hero' to work towards it and I just slowly fell out of love and drifted apart, and now I have no sense of closure. Overall certainly worth the $11 I paid for it at an early stage of development, and probably worth the price of a budget game. It's one of those games I keep returning to for short flings time and time again. Expand
  4. Dempster
    Sep 21, 2008
    7
    I've been playing Mount & Blade since around .5xx and have been following the development of the game off and on ever since. For what it's worth, Mount & Blade is a very entertaining title. It was developed by a husband and wife team on a nearly negligible budget, garnered out of pocket and with the support of its fanbase. Combat, being the central point of the game, is done I've been playing Mount & Blade since around .5xx and have been following the development of the game off and on ever since. For what it's worth, Mount & Blade is a very entertaining title. It was developed by a husband and wife team on a nearly negligible budget, garnered out of pocket and with the support of its fanbase. Combat, being the central point of the game, is done rather well. It's grin-worthingly satisfying to loose an arrow into someone's skull from 100 yards away, or to charge your armored mount recklessly into a mob of bloodthirsty raiders. But this can only be entertaining for so long for some people (like me). With hardly any storyline to follow, and no real goal or purpose to the game, it does tend to get dull very quickly. This usually makes for a game you play for a few days, then forget about it for a good six months or so. Bottom line is that it's a wonderful indie game made on a tiny budget by people in their spare time. If you need a quick combat fix, whether it's sniping with a bow, charging the front lines with a lance, or rushing into combat wearing nothing but a hat and swinging a claymore, then Mount & Blade will probably satisfy your violent urges. Expand
  5. SamMeyers
    Jan 20, 2009
    7
    It is a very fun game for the combat system, but with no story and pointless quests it soon gets to point where you don't want to bother playing it anymore. If they added a story and a more complex system it good be a lot better. But I think the graphics are good for a low budget game. Graphics doesn't make the game fun it is just the combat that makes you thirsty for more soIt is a very fun game for the combat system, but with no story and pointless quests it soon gets to point where you don't want to bother playing it anymore. If they added a story and a more complex system it good be a lot better. But I think the graphics are good for a low budget game. Graphics doesn't make the game fun it is just the combat that makes you thirsty for more so thats why I give it a 7 Expand
  6. Aaron
    Jul 31, 2009
    7
    Very fun for awhile, particularly the combat as others have mentioned, but the biggest problem is there isn't enough to do. I was hooked for a day or two and then suddenly I realized I had done just about everything and there was nothing exciting left in it for me. Still, despite this and other little annoyances (including the sad graphics), it's definitely worth a few bucks. It Very fun for awhile, particularly the combat as others have mentioned, but the biggest problem is there isn't enough to do. I was hooked for a day or two and then suddenly I realized I had done just about everything and there was nothing exciting left in it for me. Still, despite this and other little annoyances (including the sad graphics), it's definitely worth a few bucks. It won't last forever, but what is there is a lot of fun. Expand
  7. JS
    Oct 16, 2008
    6
    Mount & Blade features the best mounted combat ever in a video game, but that's about it. The rest feels either unpolished or, worse, unfinished. If I was rating this game a few months earlier when it was still considered beta, I would have probably given it a 9 or 10, but the decision to release the game as a final version was pretty bad. Worth the money if you got in early at a Mount & Blade features the best mounted combat ever in a video game, but that's about it. The rest feels either unpolished or, worse, unfinished. If I was rating this game a few months earlier when it was still considered beta, I would have probably given it a 9 or 10, but the decision to release the game as a final version was pretty bad. Worth the money if you got in early at a discounted rate, but overpriced now. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    Mount & Blade is a hybrid of RPG elements and real-time strategy gameplay. It has all the elements of a fun game: character personalization,massive variety of weapons, armor, and horses, and also engaging large-scale mounted combat later on. Yeah it does not have even good graphics in the standard of current generation but that does not make it a bad game. the game play makes its wayMount & Blade is a hybrid of RPG elements and real-time strategy gameplay. It has all the elements of a fun game: character personalization,massive variety of weapons, armor, and horses, and also engaging large-scale mounted combat later on. Yeah it does not have even good graphics in the standard of current generation but that does not make it a bad game. the game play makes its way around to finally be executed wonderfully in a video game. Couple this with the medieval-like battlefield element of combat and you have truly memorable skirmish experiences--perhaps even stories to tell when defending or besieging keeps and cities. Despite the lackluster quality, it is still a solid fun game. A definite recommend if you enjoy RPG and strategy game play. Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    I want to like Mount and Blade. The idea is great. Simulate being a feudal knight or lord. Manage a fiefdom or kingdom and lead your troops to battle. And Mount and Blade can be fun. However, this game really fails in single player and pushing your campaign forward. I understand some will stick with it and be rewarded. But having to go to a city to ask where someone is located every timeI want to like Mount and Blade. The idea is great. Simulate being a feudal knight or lord. Manage a fiefdom or kingdom and lead your troops to battle. And Mount and Blade can be fun. However, this game really fails in single player and pushing your campaign forward. I understand some will stick with it and be rewarded. But having to go to a city to ask where someone is located every time is quite tedious. You're forced to move inventory one at a time. I've often wandered the map and not known what to do. Graphics suck but it's not important compared to the aimless direction. This is in the category of could be great but just mediocre. Expand
  10. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    The original Mount Blade is amazing. Although outdated by it's successors, Mount Blade continues to amaze new players. However, it becomes repetitive quickly on into the game. There is not a lot of variation to it's missions. To compensate a bad campaign, combat is revolutionary. Simply amazing combat, in melee, ranged, or mounted.
  11. Rem
    Jul 15, 2013
    6
    Mount and Blade has alot of problems, but that doesn't stop it from being a deeply engrossing and addicting games that I've played in a while. It has technical problems and is graphically very unimpressive. But the medieval combat is simple yet greatly entertaining and strategic. In the world you do tedious tasks such as delivering message and cargo, but once you join an appropriateMount and Blade has alot of problems, but that doesn't stop it from being a deeply engrossing and addicting games that I've played in a while. It has technical problems and is graphically very unimpressive. But the medieval combat is simple yet greatly entertaining and strategic. In the world you do tedious tasks such as delivering message and cargo, but once you join an appropriate faction, things get cooking. It is a great feeling to watch 150+ units clash with each other onscreen all at once. Expand
  12. Jun 7, 2013
    5
    Mount & Blade is fun in small battles for me, since you get to be more in the action at that point rather than sitting by watching swordsmen slaughtering each-other. Another good part is that it matters what your sword goes through, it's not like swinging cardboard around, you can actually hit something in the way. The fun ends there for me, the game is repetitive and gets boring reallyMount & Blade is fun in small battles for me, since you get to be more in the action at that point rather than sitting by watching swordsmen slaughtering each-other. Another good part is that it matters what your sword goes through, it's not like swinging cardboard around, you can actually hit something in the way. The fun ends there for me, the game is repetitive and gets boring really quick. It had so much potential but they ruined it by not having a variety of quests and when I played they usually ended up being the exact same cattle quest at every village, which is the most frustrating quest in the game. The game is also full of bugs that ruin game-play. The game is partially saved by the modding community but it still comes short.

    Overall, this game is only worth your money in a very large sale and doesn't offer much game-play.
    Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    This game is pretty good and i find it weird me saying that.
    I downloaded the demo at first and after about half an hour i quit it uninstalled it and quite ignorantly just passed it off as a bad game. Something happened to me that doesn't usually happen to me though, i felt this urge to play it again and i decided i would try it again, The second time playing the demo i started to like
    This game is pretty good and i find it weird me saying that.
    I downloaded the demo at first and after about half an hour i quit it uninstalled it and quite ignorantly just passed it off as a bad game. Something happened to me that doesn't usually happen to me though, i felt this urge to play it again and i decided i would try it again, The second time playing the demo i started to like it, before i knew it i'd wasted 8 hours going on the demo and creating new characters once my time was up (hehe i am not so rich)
    I decided if the demo had taken 8 hours of my time, I'll buy it, that was my justification, i did and i'll never regret it. Absolutely brilliant game from what looks terrible in terms of graphics and interface.
    The thing is... you can spend hours, training your men, making peasants turn to knights, to take on a HUGE city, so you can have it as your faction, You'd think, after beating the city with an army you'd raised from scratch that you'd be able to have that city. Nope, If you take over territory you get a small chance of owning it, the king of your faction ultimately decides and he usually offers you compensation of 900 Dennars (The Ingame currency), which wouldn't even be able to buy you a new sword, horse or piece of Armour, taking into the account the men you have lost, and the wages you've paid for said men in training you make a considerable loss and you see some other poncy lord sitting in the castle that he had (probably) tried and failed to take for himself.
    Now, you may say i ranted a little bit there but it's a core game play mechanic and i think it should have had a little bit more thought put into it.
    Oh combat, i have to tell you about this because you use the mouse to control your swings (which direction etc) and i was a little bit unsure of this method, It isn't brilliant but it REALLY isn't as bad as i thought it would be, and with a bit of practice you do in most cases get the sword swinging the way you want too, mounted combat is awesome too, especially with a long weapon it's so fun riding past someone at high speed and then slicing them up before they even get chance to swing, it's so satisfying!!
    Graphics i would say aren't bad, I've seen worse and in certain lights the game does actually look really good.
    I gave this game a seven because of un-immersive character conversation, bad weapon selection system and the occasional bug.
    If your thinking of getting it, play the demo, you'll get a really good idea of what the game is about and how it is played.
    Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2014
    7
    literally the same game as its sequel warband.

    (honestly I don't know why their metascores are separated, dino horde for instance is treated the same and changed more.) nothing unique or different about it. warband was an update, basically a great big patch that was sold as a separate game somehow. dont buy both, skip this you'd already have it with the improved warband release.
    literally the same game as its sequel warband.

    (honestly I don't know why their metascores are separated, dino horde for instance is treated the same and changed more.) nothing unique or different about it. warband was an update, basically a great big patch that was sold as a separate game somehow. dont buy both, skip this you'd already have it with the improved warband release.
    7/10because warband got 8 from me, warband with mods got 9, nothing gets 10 unless its perfect. I should dock them for selling a content patch as a whole new game(at best it was an expansion, so dlc) and the "mount and blade pack" containing this and warband gleefully gives the impression they aren't the exact same game seems a bit of a ripoff but I liked it too much to justify that actually eating points.
    warband is mount and blade with the addition of splitting off to your own side, marriages(both smaller changes than that sounds) and the upgrade of arabs from raiders to a kingdom(even that is kinda meh as an addition, I actually liked the old map without them). and multiplayer. multilayer is the big deal.

    don't buy this buy warband. this is just warband without multiplayer.

    that said awesome.
    Expand
  15. Mar 30, 2015
    6
    Kind of a fun for a first time you play it, but gets more and more boring as you spend more time in the game. Vanilla literally sucks. Mods can really enhance your enjoyment. I mostly play Song of Taliesin, its my favourite mod from the couple I tried. SoT fixed rubber horses and many things about weapons and stuff. And also its situated in my favourite era. But still you will get bored ofKind of a fun for a first time you play it, but gets more and more boring as you spend more time in the game. Vanilla literally sucks. Mods can really enhance your enjoyment. I mostly play Song of Taliesin, its my favourite mod from the couple I tried. SoT fixed rubber horses and many things about weapons and stuff. And also its situated in my favourite era. But still you will get bored of idiotic AI and running around for food and money for those lazy bastards who will die few hours after you paid them. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    88
    A Medieval action RPG with a great battle system, and there are many ways you can play the game. The game doesn't have a storyline, which is why it becomes a bit boring and pointless after a while, but it does have many good mods and they will keep the game fresh. [Sept 2008]
  2. A fantastic game. It's hampered by a few problems, but nothing major. It provides ground breaking gameplay that I am sure will be imitated by others.
  3. 100
    For a game with such a heavy emphasis on medieval combat, Mount & Blade is just shy of perfection.