Mount & Blade PC

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 451 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 451

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertD.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Great Game, Must play and possibly the best StrategyRPG of the year!
  2. GergelyB
    Dec 8, 2009
    8
    As many have said it, this game can be bland at times (towns / villages / castles / quests after a while get really repetitive), there are small problems with the engine (collision bugs, and the famous "mountain-climbing horsemen") However, the combat system still really shines. The excitement of riding into battle knowing that all it takes are 2 or 3 "lucky" hits from your opponents to As many have said it, this game can be bland at times (towns / villages / castles / quests after a while get really repetitive), there are small problems with the engine (collision bugs, and the famous "mountain-climbing horsemen") However, the combat system still really shines. The excitement of riding into battle knowing that all it takes are 2 or 3 "lucky" hits from your opponents to take you out is unparalelled. The castle siege is bland, indeed. I mean, who in their right mind would attack a castle with just one siege tower or ladder? To the complaints about this however. You call yourself gamers, but can't adapt to a simple challenge that a game offers to you? Maybe try using your head a bit. You know, charging up that ladder headlessly isn't the only option - here's a tip: get a force weighted towards archers, tell them to hold position, get a crossbow / bow yourself, shoot down most of the defending army's archery force and THEN storm the walls. I guarantee, you won't be slaughtered like ducks then. I reckon most of those who gave this game a bad review didn't even try to work around it's flaws, while it's entirely possible. I recommend! Expand
  3. VersusT.
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    This game is so addicting! it's hard to get bored when you have a world, not to mention all of the mods avaliable for free(there are are of mods to improve gameplay, improve graphics, etc.). This game is fresh, there are not many games to compare this with. Wether you are a RTS or FPS fan, this game is definately worth.
  4. MarkE
    Feb 2, 2009
    9
    Great game. There's actually a fair degree of depth to the game as you learn it but it presents it in a fun easy to enjoy way. It's been a while since I've played a game that could reproduce that time travel affect where you check the clock and wonder where the heck those 6 hours just went. It's definitely not a game for everybody though, if you don't want to be a Great game. There's actually a fair degree of depth to the game as you learn it but it presents it in a fun easy to enjoy way. It's been a while since I've played a game that could reproduce that time travel affect where you check the clock and wonder where the heck those 6 hours just went. It's definitely not a game for everybody though, if you don't want to be a character in a medieval world than don't play it. If you're looking just for a hack and slash don't play, it's a big part of it but the rest will drive you nuts, if you're looking for an rts it's probably not for you also. It's very nice. That said the quality is there, they're not super advanced graphics but they're done well enough and the animations are bang on which is so much more important. The audio is great also. I love this game and for the amount of fun I've gotten from it I almost feel bad for having got it on sale on steam. Expand
  5. ChrisS
    Sep 21, 2008
    9
    If you look at the game as an RPG and not a hack n slash, it's well worth your time.
  6. MaxF
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    The most remarkable thing about this game is that it was created by two people, a husband and wife team. This game exists because of their passion for game design and their many, many hours of hard work. I am not affiliated with the company, mind you, I just know the backstory because a friend of mine interviewed them for GamerGod/OGX a few years ago, and was so energized by the The most remarkable thing about this game is that it was created by two people, a husband and wife team. This game exists because of their passion for game design and their many, many hours of hard work. I am not affiliated with the company, mind you, I just know the backstory because a friend of mine interviewed them for GamerGod/OGX a few years ago, and was so energized by the earnestness and grassroots nature of their effort that he evangelized the title to everyone he knew. It worked. I gave it a whirl and, graphics not withstanding, was very impressed. No, it's not Oblivion. No, it's not Titan Quest. If you are disappointed by that, then you are probably under the age of 25 and have no context for your critique. The fact of the matter is that Mount and Blade pulls off mechanics that millions of dollars worth of market research and computer sciences have failed to produce (for one reason or another) in twenty years. If there is any justice in the world, the man and woman responsible for this will be hired by Bethesda and made Game Directors for Oblivion Online (the game I dream about at night). Sadly, there is little justice in the world and this will likely never happen. Instead, the ignorant (like some of my contemporaries here in the comments section of MC.com) will likely ignore this title because it is "ugly" and continue to play the same game over and over (read: Warhammer Online or Diablo, or whatever). I'm giving this game an 8 because it is not perfect. Obviously, it would have been nice to see an Unreal Engine used or something of that nature, but I fully understand why this wasn't possible. Nevertheless, I like to vote on an absolute and objective scale and not one that makes allowances for situational data. That said, the fact that everything aside from the graphics is so amazingly engrossing and well-thought out still warrants a very, very high rating. Expand
  7. IulianM.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    For an indi game, Moun and Blade deserves praise, there for I give it a 10 out of 10. The sheer splendor of the mounted combat surpasses every big budget game to date, and it's been doing so since the first beta release in 2005, when Bethesda was trying to come up with reasons that Oblivion will not have mounted combat. Mount and Blade is well worth the 22 Euros it costs, and the For an indi game, Moun and Blade deserves praise, there for I give it a 10 out of 10. The sheer splendor of the mounted combat surpasses every big budget game to date, and it's been doing so since the first beta release in 2005, when Bethesda was trying to come up with reasons that Oblivion will not have mounted combat. Mount and Blade is well worth the 22 Euros it costs, and the people that got it for 15 while it was still in beta got just about the best deal for a game they could ever get. Expand
  8. SergioG
    May 20, 2009
    9
    Played the demo of this game to test it out, I have to say at the beginning I thought it was just another fail RPG. But the game made me change my mind. In this game you are just thrown into the world and do as you please. Be it helping people to hunting down bad guys to doing arena matches. There is just so much to do in this game and as sad and anti-social as it sounds it just feels Played the demo of this game to test it out, I have to say at the beginning I thought it was just another fail RPG. But the game made me change my mind. In this game you are just thrown into the world and do as you please. Be it helping people to hunting down bad guys to doing arena matches. There is just so much to do in this game and as sad and anti-social as it sounds it just feels like your really inside another world. This game isn't for everyone how ever, there is alot of reading to do since there isn't any talking in the game apart from those funny taunts from enemies. Graphics are just fine, I prefer gameplay over graphics and this game is just what I've been looking for. A real legendary RPG, if you're like me... you'll be buying this game after the first ten minutes of the demo. Expand
  9. HunterB
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    It's actually most like the Total War series, without the campaign mode, and where you actually play one of the characters on the field during battles. Most fun I've had in a game in ages. Game review sites have overlooked this game because it's graphics are a little ordinary...I didn't see anything difficult getting into this game at all. The AI's a little It's actually most like the Total War series, without the campaign mode, and where you actually play one of the characters on the field during battles. Most fun I've had in a game in ages. Game review sites have overlooked this game because it's graphics are a little ordinary...I didn't see anything difficult getting into this game at all. The AI's a little retarded, though...like running into walls/invisible walls on side of map and get stuck...altho those make great for a crouched lance mwaha. Expand
  10. JulianJ-W
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Very good game, even though the graphics are not the best, the gameplay really brings out the best of it.
  11. ClementiS.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. IT is so new and different from any other RPG I played. My personal game of the year.
  12. krazyJ
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    The graphics, lack of interesting quests and lack of any storyline at all, really weighs the game down. but the awesome combat system and the constantly changing world in which you are playing in weighs out the ugly parts and brings the game to shine.
  13. PatrickClemmensen
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Its an awsom game, iv played it almost from the time were they start making the game, and i have seen the improvements to the game. its really worth buying.
    I would go as fare to say its one of a kind, Before i startet playing this game i was always complaining about ther wasent a game like this with that much freedom.
    Enjoy it.
  14. Temujjin
    Oct 2, 2008
    9
    For what it is, this game is amazing. Sure the AI can be horrible and the graphics are dated, but when a game is this fun and addictive who cares. I've been playing the game for about a year now and have been able to see it grow and expand under the development of its large fan community and it's relatively tiny development team. Yes, this game is an independent game that pretty For what it is, this game is amazing. Sure the AI can be horrible and the graphics are dated, but when a game is this fun and addictive who cares. I've been playing the game for about a year now and have been able to see it grow and expand under the development of its large fan community and it's relatively tiny development team. Yes, this game is an independent game that pretty much just got picked up by Paradox as a publisher. The combat is both fun and challenging to master (especially horse archery), the overall game play is addictive, and there is a gargantuan host of modders who have been working with this game for a few years and will help to improve it even more. If you're looking for a fun game to last you a long time, want to try something new or just want to help independent game developers out then definitely check this game out. Expand
  15. JoelBem
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    Great game, hopefully the developers can get support and upgrade this game even more. Gameplay is awsome prob one of the best, but there is 2 major flaws which are noticable. First of is the Story well there is none, which some people may like as you can create the story, making this one of the most free roaming games ever. But some people need some guidelines or what not. The second downGreat game, hopefully the developers can get support and upgrade this game even more. Gameplay is awsome prob one of the best, but there is 2 major flaws which are noticable. First of is the Story well there is none, which some people may like as you can create the story, making this one of the most free roaming games ever. But some people need some guidelines or what not. The second down fall is sometimes the game can go slow and also say if you have a party of 50 and you get defeated, and get takin prisonier well, your 50 men are gone unless you think you can take on the army again and get them back its impossible to get them.
    But enough with the flaws. The high point is the combat its fun, and sometimes with mods you can have up to 1000 men on a screen in your right in the middle. Also there are plenty of mods
    Expand
  16. EricH.
    Oct 7, 2008
    9
    Kaarel got it right. Not a pretty game, but real role playing. Be a toady for the lords or be a bandit. The story doesn't lead you. You must make the story. A bad choice in combat means losing what you've spent hours building up. What other game has a level of reality like that. The combat has to be experienced. It cannot be explained. Try the demo.
  17. Josh
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    Incredibly addicting and the large community based around the game gives you ample opportunities to find some of the incredible mods for the game.
  18. RegG.
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    Probably the best PC game I have ever played. The combat just doesn't get boring, and while the rest of the game may just be an excuse for the combat, it has that playability and fun factor that just seems missing from most modern games. If only other developers focused on producing good gameplay first and foremost, and worried about graphicssoundother cosmetics once the gameplay was Probably the best PC game I have ever played. The combat just doesn't get boring, and while the rest of the game may just be an excuse for the combat, it has that playability and fun factor that just seems missing from most modern games. If only other developers focused on producing good gameplay first and foremost, and worried about graphicssoundother cosmetics once the gameplay was right, we'd have much better games across the board. But then maybe we'd be too busy playing to buy new ones ? Expand
  19. KelR.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    I love the game! Thank You TaleWorlds for making a medieval RPG without: magic, witches, warlocks, dragons, trolls, elves, fairies, goblins, ghouls, and all that GARBAGE. I've waited 20 years for someone to make this game and it's finally hear! Bravo, community SUPPORT THIS GAME!
  20. WidowMaker
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    The ratings of 1 and 10 so far on this game, are both wide of the mark somewhat, in my opinion Whilst M&B does not boast superb Graphics, brilliant AI or cutting edge gameplay...it is fiendishly addictive, and with the modding community thriving, I can see myself playing it for a while yet. Quite how Orion can comment on 'Empires Total War' when only a trailer or two has been The ratings of 1 and 10 so far on this game, are both wide of the mark somewhat, in my opinion Whilst M&B does not boast superb Graphics, brilliant AI or cutting edge gameplay...it is fiendishly addictive, and with the modding community thriving, I can see myself playing it for a while yet. Quite how Orion can comment on 'Empires Total War' when only a trailer or two has been made available, is quite beyond me, although I am also looking forward to that. As an indie release, M&B is quality, but not anywhere near as polished as a large gaming company release (which is to be expected of course!). Expand
  21. AlexV.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Terrific fun, a bit like elite it gives you freedom to do as you wish, and the combat is excellent. Swear fealty to a king or back an usurper, or even try to carve out your own kingdom. My favourite moment was holding off an enemy siege on my castle and ending up completely covered in (the enemies) blood.
  22. DrokDrok
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    Rpg, medival tactical battel, trade simulation, best combat simulation since severance bod, absolutely free world, party-member interaction etc. etc. etc... what can I say: finally somebody didn't bother coming up with the hottest latest best fancy whatsoever grafical cinematic wonder cgi that is outdated 3 month after release but instead took the time of development to create Rpg, medival tactical battel, trade simulation, best combat simulation since severance bod, absolutely free world, party-member interaction etc. etc. etc... what can I say: finally somebody didn't bother coming up with the hottest latest best fancy whatsoever grafical cinematic wonder cgi that is outdated 3 month after release but instead took the time of development to create something more persistent: this will be played when no one remembers shadermodel 3 or GeForce9x ... Its about gameplay and fun, not about a mindless hardware stresstest! Perfect! Expand
  23. StuR.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    If you can get past the 2005-esque graphics you'll find some of the best gameplay mechanics to grace the PC. Truly a victory for Indie devs everywhere this game has truly come through to provide one of the most addictive and exciting games ever. In terms of the medieval combat system M&B has no peer, it requires a huge amount of skill and timing, but it pulls it off beautifully, If you can get past the 2005-esque graphics you'll find some of the best gameplay mechanics to grace the PC. Truly a victory for Indie devs everywhere this game has truly come through to provide one of the most addictive and exciting games ever. In terms of the medieval combat system M&B has no peer, it requires a huge amount of skill and timing, but it pulls it off beautifully, giving the player far more control and a far greater challenge than any other game of its type. It really puts the combat in Oblivion to shame. Although the game itself is a tad buggy, doesn't have a true central-story, and is perhaps a little lacking on the graphics side of things, the overall experience of this truly open sandbox is amazing. I've been with it since the beta and loved every minute of it. Ps - if in doubt try the demo, its essentially the whole game, but you'll be capped to level 8 until you purchase a key, this should give you plenty of time to see if the game is for you and you won't have to d/l anything extra if you decide to keep playing. Expand
  24. Kaarel
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    Got it on Friday. Next thing I remember, is waking up on Monday morning. Don't know what happened but it was awesome! Highly addicting, I mean HIGHLY! It is awesome riding with your king's party battering down foes, capturing enemy lords and demanding ransoms from their families, being assigned a lord of a poor, small hamlet in a war-torn border region, slowly building it up Got it on Friday. Next thing I remember, is waking up on Monday morning. Don't know what happened but it was awesome! Highly addicting, I mean HIGHLY! It is awesome riding with your king's party battering down foes, capturing enemy lords and demanding ransoms from their families, being assigned a lord of a poor, small hamlet in a war-torn border region, slowly building it up into a prosperous village. Even the inevitable loss of your entire army in a hopeless battle and you being imprisoned can be fun, traveling around the kingdom looking for recruits to refill your army and seeing them advance day by day is a nice refreshment. This all however, pales in comparison to the combat. This is hands-down the BEST medieval-style combat I know. It feels even better than Might&Magic Dark Messiah (even though the game was overhyped, melee combat did own), and a lot better than Oblivion. It just feels so nice riding with your lance down among your fellow knights, breaking the line of advancing footmen. Archery is also pretty awesome, if you know how to do it. The emphasis is of course on mounted combat, as that was the main style in medieval Europe. Why do so many games of that time focus solely on infantry? There are some bugs, the graphics are weak, quests are monotonous, but all of these can be changed by modding. Overall, I highly recommend it (not if you have to write a paper and the deadline is somewhere in the next month, of course). Expand
  25. IeuanS
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    An awesome game and won with great gameplay and relitavly good graphics. you ca do what you want without some stupid computer turning round and stopping you. A brilliant game to play to just waste however. However that is what it is. A time waster game, if you are buying this because you are looking forward to an action packed fun filled game I wouldn;t bother. This is purely a game to An awesome game and won with great gameplay and relitavly good graphics. you ca do what you want without some stupid computer turning round and stopping you. A brilliant game to play to just waste however. However that is what it is. A time waster game, if you are buying this because you are looking forward to an action packed fun filled game I wouldn;t bother. This is purely a game to play when you want just a bit of fun or your bored or even that you don't want to play really intense gaming. But overall I recommend the buy. Expand
  26. PavelShekurov
    Feb 3, 2009
    9
    The feel of medieval combat is so smooth and intuitive, it's amazingly addifcting. Yes, the storyline is thin and kinda boring after a while, but the tactical combat is so exhilarating, you'll be looking for battles just for the heck of it. A bargain for the gaming value.
  27. Damian
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    This game has something called awesome gameplay, which a lot of pretty games lack these days. And the graphics are not bad at all, they could be improved but I find them good. and it has a lot of graphical configurations that can be adjusted. I have played oblivion a lot, and in my opinion this game is so much more fun, the complex dynamics of the battles completely hooked me up. They did This game has something called awesome gameplay, which a lot of pretty games lack these days. And the graphics are not bad at all, they could be improved but I find them good. and it has a lot of graphical configurations that can be adjusted. I have played oblivion a lot, and in my opinion this game is so much more fun, the complex dynamics of the battles completely hooked me up. They did a good job, and they are still working to improve it. Also there seems to be a big modding community working on great mods. Expand
  28. MartyJ
    Apr 13, 2009
    10
    For anyone who likes medieval type era games this is a must. Bought it on a whime and haven't looked back in over 1 week of straight gameplay. Has short term and long term goals worthy of strivig for and constantly challenging you in new ways. If your undecided i can recommend you won't regret it.
  29. MattH
    Apr 26, 2009
    10
    This game is unbelievable to play, especially when using one of the amazing mods for it. As is the case with Oblivion, the mods are getting to be as good as the game, and almost make the game not worth playing without them. I give this game a perfect 10, its really really awesome.
  30. TomM
    May 10, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed playing this game a lot. Graphics definately needed a lot more work, however, the gameplay was brilliant, especially the horse mounted battles. build your army take over towns. its freedom of choice do watever you want. great gameplay bad graphics as simple as that.
  31. WilliamG
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    I enjoyed playing this game after giving the demo a test drive. The gameplay may get repetitive at times but it makes up for it in nice huge battles. The modding community also adds tons of new content for the game but you must get it for your correct version or else it will not work. Quests are quite simple and not much of a brainer but the real value lies upon the modding community. I enjoyed playing this game after giving the demo a test drive. The gameplay may get repetitive at times but it makes up for it in nice huge battles. The modding community also adds tons of new content for the game but you must get it for your correct version or else it will not work. Quests are quite simple and not much of a brainer but the real value lies upon the modding community. This game is not for everyone though so do try the demo first! Expand
  32. RyanR.
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Are fancy graphics what makes games 'awesome' these days? -Yes, they can lead to more appeal towards the game, but I personally didn't mind the lackluster model textures in Mount&Blade. The sheer amount of stupid fun this game generated, was almost overwhelming. -The sick, almost perverted pleasure of bashing a fellow combatant in the head with a giant, bone-cleaving axe Are fancy graphics what makes games 'awesome' these days? -Yes, they can lead to more appeal towards the game, but I personally didn't mind the lackluster model textures in Mount&Blade. The sheer amount of stupid fun this game generated, was almost overwhelming. -The sick, almost perverted pleasure of bashing a fellow combatant in the head with a giant, bone-cleaving axe and having him slowly, but surely slump over and fall off his horse never got old. I would go as far as to say that this game will be treasured in my household for years to come. If you are reading reviews in order to decide whether or not to buy this game, take in consideration that the expansion for M&B will be coming out soon, and the models will be updated/replaced, along with some features of the game play itself. Play the demo, and decide for yourself if this game is for you... Expand
  33. WilliamE
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Mount&blade has had me hooked for years now whether i am playing the native game or the many mods the community has made
  34. VictorR
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Great game! Very entertaining, offering a good mix of strategy and action, but ultimately simply entertaining to play. Well worth more than worth my purchase. Can't wait for the next one!
  35. NiklasJ.
    Oct 1, 2008
    9
    A fantastic openended game with marvelous combat. Compared to it's high budget counterparts it's very average looking but having played the beta for a long time I find that this is a gem that you can come back to again and again and again and.
  36. BenH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    I've been playing Mount & Blade literally for a few years now (bought the beta version early), and I'm of the opinion, as many people are, that is has some of the most enjoyable tactical combat simulations ever. While the overworld contains a dynamic faction system that is somewhat engaging, the game really shines when you enter the procedurally-generated combat mode. Swinging a I've been playing Mount & Blade literally for a few years now (bought the beta version early), and I'm of the opinion, as many people are, that is has some of the most enjoyable tactical combat simulations ever. While the overworld contains a dynamic faction system that is somewhat engaging, the game really shines when you enter the procedurally-generated combat mode. Swinging a sword, shooting an arrow, and other weapon uses have directional, damage, and time variations that simply don't exist in other "press-A-to-shoot" games. Additionally, once you've accumulated 20+ members of your party, you'll find yourself giddy with the possibilities of how you can approach battles. In no other action game that I've played can I tell my archers to occupy a specific hilltop, place the infantry slightly in front of them to guard against approaching enemies, then swoop in on the advancing enemy with my cavalry on their sides or flanks. It really is such a dynamic, original experience that I would encourage anybody to at least download the trial. Expand
  37. DanB.
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    I really enjoy this game. Fantastic role playing with enough character statistics to keep you busy for hours. The combat is 2nd to none. For those that say this game isn't pretty, or visually appealing, I beg to differ. I think it looks great. In fact, give the visual enhancement mods. a try, and get a big boost in color and textures. There is a wide variety of weapons to chose from, I really enjoy this game. Fantastic role playing with enough character statistics to keep you busy for hours. The combat is 2nd to none. For those that say this game isn't pretty, or visually appealing, I beg to differ. I think it looks great. In fact, give the visual enhancement mods. a try, and get a big boost in color and textures. There is a wide variety of weapons to chose from, each weapon having a unique purpose with advantages and disadvantages including speed, reach and damage factors. Since you get 4 wpn. slots to chose from, you have to chose wisely for each battle. Basically you can be a mounted warrior or a battle hardened foot soldier, the choice is yours. The sound effects are fantastic. From shields breaking to your well placed axe, swords clashing, arrows thumping into you or your shield and of course blood curdling screams from your fallen prey. You can hire 'Heroes' to join you [no probably not the cheerleader], or recruit from villages or towns to build up your army. If you're into blood, well...it's got enough to thrill you....but, sorry no decapitation or limb removal animations. Ok, so I like it...but there's always something odd with many games out there....this one not excluded. When you first start the game...you are utterly lost, aside from a training area that you're close to...go there and begin..then check out some towns,castles, villages etc...and begin doing Quests. Soon enough, you realize what's going on...and what the purpose of doing Quests are. Once you get the hang of it..eventually you'll be granted a village, and after invading enemy territories etc, eventually your King may reward you with a castle or two. That's when the next round of fun begins. Sieges. Invade enemy castles, towns, villages or vice versa...protect your own from invaders. Everything seems to have consequences, so don't forget to buy food for your party and be active in killing enemines.... or the 'morale' will decrease and your Party Heroes may start leaving. There's an active community that have made many,many mods. for this game as well. Anyway...2 points off for a confusing start to the game, [i.e. lack of storyline] requiring a great deal of patience to understand what your options are. Don't be dissuaded initially by how difficult it actually is to land an arrow or a well placed sword/axe/club/polearm etc. It takes time and practice to increase your character attributes and to understand angles and arrow flight patterns etc...fun stuff. Think of it more like a simulator where the speed of your horse, angle etc...play a definite role on how much damage you'll exert to your target. You'll be pro in no time, have fun. Expand
  38. Knazawzome
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    As a palyer from early BETA stages, I have seen this game rise from the smallest little thing to a massive expansive game. The only problem is that the 'decisions' in the beginning of the game lack to make a diffrence during later gameplay when your a fully-pledged knight or a stealthy assasin. Overall; However, the game is Perfect. I suggest it to all people who love old school As a palyer from early BETA stages, I have seen this game rise from the smallest little thing to a massive expansive game. The only problem is that the 'decisions' in the beginning of the game lack to make a diffrence during later gameplay when your a fully-pledged knight or a stealthy assasin. Overall; However, the game is Perfect. I suggest it to all people who love old school RPGs or slashing up those peaseants sand-box style! Expand
  39. AaronL
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    If you can ignore the last decade graphics and animation (slightly exaggarated), this game is easily one of the best rpg games ever. Extremely addictive, and really meets what sandbox stands for. If you have been constantly disappointed by the new over hyped games with nothing but flashy graphics, misleading claims and 3000 good critic reviews (while scoring about 2/5 on amazon on the If you can ignore the last decade graphics and animation (slightly exaggarated), this game is easily one of the best rpg games ever. Extremely addictive, and really meets what sandbox stands for. If you have been constantly disappointed by the new over hyped games with nothing but flashy graphics, misleading claims and 3000 good critic reviews (while scoring about 2/5 on amazon on the users side), then this game is for you. Expand
  40. JasonJ.
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    A last gasp of old-school mechanics, creativity, customizability and fun for the PC, something currently in its losing battle to the death with entertainment conglomerates who are blessed with huge production values and console-moneymaking dreams.
  41. ZéM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    I really don´t know the reason for the diference in the "professional" rate and the rate of the users. Even so, I think the reason for that is that the professional critics are only pleased by the standard game industry and don´t like what is new and different. In my opinion the game is great. Of course that the grapihics could be better and bla bla bla. But the core of the I really don´t know the reason for the diference in the "professional" rate and the rate of the users. Even so, I think the reason for that is that the professional critics are only pleased by the standard game industry and don´t like what is new and different. In my opinion the game is great. Of course that the grapihics could be better and bla bla bla. But the core of the game, the idea of the game, to bring the player to a medival world in witch we can be a almost everything, is fantastic and well built. You can raid citys, conquer forts, help kings in his conquest. This game has no story or script u make your one story and i love that kind of game- i like games were i can be me in a new world, were i can dream. For me, the battles in this game are great a i even think that the battles simulations are the best you can try in pc games. Plus the game have many new modes created by other players [and you can creat one to ;) ] and it can give you so many hours of playing (naturaly my girlfriend hates the game LOL). Take it for me, try the game and i'm sure that you will love it (you can try it first). I don´t give 10 because i never give 10 (you never know whats comming in the pc games). Expand
  42. T.J.Y.
    Dec 9, 2008
    9
    Person99's review caused me to actually sit down and type up one on this game as his views are VERY skewed. First let's discuss the graphics that seems to pop up so much in these reviews. They are dated a couple years back... sure. They might be comparable to say City of Heroes. They both have the same texture styles. But, this game has more than Person99 gives credit to. Person99's review caused me to actually sit down and type up one on this game as his views are VERY skewed. First let's discuss the graphics that seems to pop up so much in these reviews. They are dated a couple years back... sure. They might be comparable to say City of Heroes. They both have the same texture styles. But, this game has more than Person99 gives credit to. Looking closely at a figure you can see his beard, unshaven cheeks, and various hair styles. All of which you have access to when you create your character at the start of the game. So there's definitely more than "textureless skin". If the graphics don't appease you, you are more than welcome to join the Taleworlds forums and download a mod for enhanced graphics. These will be more crisp and higher definition than the stock. Which again, is not lacking. It most definitely is more superior than say, Rome Total War, or other combat/battlefield games of the genre. Now to gameplay. Easily the most innovative combat system for a game of this type. You control every aspect of your character. You can choose which direction to block or strike with the mouse movement, and control his movement on foot or horse by keyboard controls. Easily the best feature is the fact that you have directional attacks. For example, moving the mouse up and striking (left mouse) is an overhead strike. Left and mouse button is a left sweeping cut. Down and right also have unique attacks which are different for most weapons you can get your hands on. It makes for a very fun and exciting combat system. You'll see the normal RPG system of upgrading your stats. But, due to this being a player controlled combat system, stats affect only things like increasing power in strikes (more damage) or speed. They wont make you overwhelmingly superior... that's limited by your actual in-game skill. The environment in-game is fun and fairly large. You'll have the freedom to go where you want on the map, and do what you want. If you want to fight as a Knight for the Swadian kingdom... go for it. Want to be a lone archer on foot... go for it. Lastly the modding community is fantastic. You have mods for almost every time period (from the BC's to Star Wars). They developers were nice enough to support the modders and give them just about every tool they need to make a functioning mod. I highly recommend this game to anyone who might like the medieval time period, and enjoy combat games. I only went with a 9 instead of 10 because there are slight bugs or unfinished elements... but nothing that makes this game breaking in anyway. Expand
  43. Novahawk
    Jul 10, 2008
    10
    It's already a demo and a in beta stage. A wonderful game indeed. RPG in the best sense of it all. Very non linear, you can do just about anything you want; steal, negotiate, barter, fight, fight with your army (well done by the way), rule a kingdom of your own and defend it to the last man and much much more.. As I said in the past, graphics are not the most important thing for a It's already a demo and a in beta stage. A wonderful game indeed. RPG in the best sense of it all. Very non linear, you can do just about anything you want; steal, negotiate, barter, fight, fight with your army (well done by the way), rule a kingdom of your own and defend it to the last man and much much more.. As I said in the past, graphics are not the most important thing for a game, and indeed, you'll note on this here. Highly addicting! Mark my word. Try the demo for yourself. You won't be disappointed at all if you've tried RPG before or not. A must have for RPG avid fans. I ended up buying a digital copy of it instead of waiting for its release. Expand
  44. BrettF.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    The combat model is unmatched, and there is a great mod community available. Hard to believe that this game was pulled off by a very small Indie developer team.
  45. Tom
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    So far this is the best game I've played all year. A lot of really innovative gameplay with a ton of depth and replay value.
  46. AaronP.
    Sep 25, 2008
    9
    Extremely fun and addictive game that I'd recommend to anyone.
  47. TelyS.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    People who focus on the technical short comings of the low budget this game has (the simple graphics, lack of voice acting and a strong storyline) completely miss the point. Its not Oblivion, nor does it want to be, so please stop the comparisons. Apples and oranges. If its anything, its a medieval version of free form space sims like Escape Velocity or Freelancer. Mount and Blade has People who focus on the technical short comings of the low budget this game has (the simple graphics, lack of voice acting and a strong storyline) completely miss the point. Its not Oblivion, nor does it want to be, so please stop the comparisons. Apples and oranges. If its anything, its a medieval version of free form space sims like Escape Velocity or Freelancer. Mount and Blade has incredibly well-tuned combat that is unlike anything else out there. It also has some of the most useful skills I've ever seen put in an RPG, skills that make leveling incredibly addicting. It can be brutally hard when you are low level, but this only makes your future triumphs all the sweeter. This game is an example why PC gaming will always be at the cutting edge. Expand
  48. LSD
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Great game, 9 because there's no voice acting and a few collision bugs here and there, and only a small amount of quests, though they are repeatable. Other than that, great game, you can train your soldiers to fight before taking them out on the battle field, own castles and villages, collect their taxes, upgrade them with windmills and schools, and a fantastic RPG element. It's Great game, 9 because there's no voice acting and a few collision bugs here and there, and only a small amount of quests, though they are repeatable. Other than that, great game, you can train your soldiers to fight before taking them out on the battle field, own castles and villages, collect their taxes, upgrade them with windmills and schools, and a fantastic RPG element. It's a lot like TES4 only better combat, less blinding Bloom effect, and more FREEDOM. Expand
  49. stephenp
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    a brilliant revert in sacrificing graphics for gameplay, other game designers could learn a thing from Paradox Interactive
  50. JamesL
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    Great game. Its not the most graphic intense game, but great for playing on my dell studio 15 laptop. Its fun to go on your own adventure.
  51. SJT*
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    Mount and blade, is just perfect. Sure, if you look at the graphics, it might look a little bit outdated, but it's actually still more than decent. The lightning and shadow effects are actually well done, and the textures aren't too bad either. So those who complain about graphics, seriously, please use your eyes. Secondly, this game is excellent in gameplay. The amount of Mount and blade, is just perfect. Sure, if you look at the graphics, it might look a little bit outdated, but it's actually still more than decent. The lightning and shadow effects are actually well done, and the textures aren't too bad either. So those who complain about graphics, seriously, please use your eyes. Secondly, this game is excellent in gameplay. The amount of gameplay it offers really is unexpectedly high. Sure, to some people it may just feel like an extended beat 'em up, but if you take the time to realise how many functions there are in this game, you'll have to admit that a game on this level made by lower resources is still amazing. The physics are also amazing, bodies roll downhill pretty good in comat, which I can't even say of many modern games. So once more, stop complaining about such things because it actually manages to do things really well. It really keeps me wondering, what could Taleworlds produce with a high budget? Because what they show in this game is simply amazing. This game is the most underrated game by official reviews I have seen so far on Metacritic, all reviews rated under 90% are not worthy to be called reviews. If you really play the game fully in all it's functions, every person comes to understanding that the game is more than great. You are truly missing out if you don't play this game. Expand
  52. ChrisR
    Mar 2, 2009
    9
    I really enjoy it. I love that I can even play it on my 4 year old laptop with integrated intel graphics using DirectX 7 as the renderer. I love that I can sweep through the battlefield on horseback with a huge army and capture an enemy lord, or let him go and gain recognition. I love that it's a game designed to take an obscenely long time to develop what you're doing and I really enjoy it. I love that I can even play it on my 4 year old laptop with integrated intel graphics using DirectX 7 as the renderer. I love that I can sweep through the battlefield on horseback with a huge army and capture an enemy lord, or let him go and gain recognition. I love that it's a game designed to take an obscenely long time to develop what you're doing and isn't another FPS where you romp through the single player in an evening and only really get any value out of it if you're interested in multiplayer. Will it get old? Sure.. all games do. It's still the kind of game you can pick up now and then for an addiction, and if it gets too easy can be upgraded to levels of increasing difficulty. This game is of extremely high value in relation to it's price vs. how many hours of entertainment can be gotten out of it... just watch out for carpal tunnel. Expand
  53. SergeT
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Mount&Blade features a complete, working, dynamic world with a realistic economy, trade, and political tension. This alone sets it apart from most games. When you get into the combat, mounted or otherwise, you realize that even though this game is from an indy developer, it is on a higher level than 99% of all games out right now. Anyone who would compare it to Oblivion would be an idiot, Mount&Blade features a complete, working, dynamic world with a realistic economy, trade, and political tension. This alone sets it apart from most games. When you get into the combat, mounted or otherwise, you realize that even though this game is from an indy developer, it is on a higher level than 99% of all games out right now. Anyone who would compare it to Oblivion would be an idiot, for Oblivion does not even come close. Expand
  54. DanW
    Jul 28, 2009
    9
    This game is unique in setting and combat. No other game has such detailed, realistic combat on such a scale. Some reviews complain about the graphics but with a single mod it looks fine. So many reviews have totally missed the mark with this game. (On that note I think the PC zone UK review should be removed as it gives no basis for the comments it makes) This is a amazing game.
  55. MaartenV.
    Jul 30, 2009
    8
    When you start playing this, be prepared to get rolled by random bandits and massive enemy armies quite often. All part of the fun tho, because makes it more of a challenge to build your own decent army. when you finally have built yourself a decent army thats when the real fun starts. ploughing trough 200 man armies with 60 knights is just epic. The mounted combat is unique and fun When you start playing this, be prepared to get rolled by random bandits and massive enemy armies quite often. All part of the fun tho, because makes it more of a challenge to build your own decent army. when you finally have built yourself a decent army thats when the real fun starts. ploughing trough 200 man armies with 60 knights is just epic. The mounted combat is unique and fun (alltho the different kind of attacks and animations are very limited) and be able to have special companions adds to an allready very good game. The main downside of this game are the animations. they seem really unnatural and are very limited. But the downside is completly overshadowed by the mounted combat wich is absolutely mint. This is the kind of game where you will need to invest time in in order to fully experience it. Expand
  56. MikeF.
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    Mods, mods, mods! Holy crap, as if this game wasn't great enough there are fantastic mods to beef up your gaming experience. Graphics mods, gameplay mods, total conversion mods, all of 'em. There are some very professionally done mods that add tons of new features that make the game so much more rewarding and add so much more depth that they will keep you playing this game Mods, mods, mods! Holy crap, as if this game wasn't great enough there are fantastic mods to beef up your gaming experience. Graphics mods, gameplay mods, total conversion mods, all of 'em. There are some very professionally done mods that add tons of new features that make the game so much more rewarding and add so much more depth that they will keep you playing this game forever. If you thought the vanilla game was 'average' or 'could have been better' I'd take a look into the great modding community for this game. You won't regret it. And, if you haven't bought this game yet, DO IT. It is totally worth it. It has so much to offer. Expand
  57. JacoP
    Aug 15, 2009
    9
    Once you get over the dated graphics and the fact that there is no storyline, except for the one you make, you'll find a very rewarding and enjoyable game. The fighting dynamics are responsive and fun. Other games might look better, but they don't play this well. Comparing this game to Oblivion is truley misguided. Oblivion is a fun RPG in it's own right, but the combat Once you get over the dated graphics and the fact that there is no storyline, except for the one you make, you'll find a very rewarding and enjoyable game. The fighting dynamics are responsive and fun. Other games might look better, but they don't play this well. Comparing this game to Oblivion is truley misguided. Oblivion is a fun RPG in it's own right, but the combat isn't nearly as intense and rewarding as that offered in Mount & Blade. Fighting on horseback never felt this good. Battles really feel big and you'll often have a hundred men filling the map at one time all screaming and clashing steel... You won't find that in Oblivion. The only negative is the possibility that you might lose a couple of weeks of your life to this game. Expand
  58. ChrisHarvey
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I liked this game a lot. Sure, its quests aren't all that great, and after awhile, it can get rather dull. But the battles are fun, I can stay up for hours just finding people to fight. The other thing that will keep this game alive for years to come, I think, is its mod community. There are some really good mods out there, and the game fully supports them. So if you are getting boredI liked this game a lot. Sure, its quests aren't all that great, and after awhile, it can get rather dull. But the battles are fun, I can stay up for hours just finding people to fight. The other thing that will keep this game alive for years to come, I think, is its mod community. There are some really good mods out there, and the game fully supports them. So if you are getting bored with the original game or gave it a bad review, look again, play a mod. Trust me, you will have more fun. Expand
  59. ScottG.
    Nov 14, 2008
    9
    This game features what is without a doubt, the best melee combat system I have ever played (the list of which includes TES4 and the entire Dark Forces/Jedi Knight series.) It focuses on a more realistic approach to combat. Everything has its strengths and its weaknesses. Ranged units can pick off infantry easily, which can tople cavalry with their pikes, which can ride ranged units into This game features what is without a doubt, the best melee combat system I have ever played (the list of which includes TES4 and the entire Dark Forces/Jedi Knight series.) It focuses on a more realistic approach to combat. Everything has its strengths and its weaknesses. Ranged units can pick off infantry easily, which can tople cavalry with their pikes, which can ride ranged units into the ground. A variety of third party modifications and worlds ensure a great potential for replay value, and the game sports a simple and easy method for (dis/en)abling them at-will. It does have a few issues however. Some of the RPG elements of the game become repetitive (perticularly NPC dialogue could be developped a little more) and there are a few skills which seem (to me) to be all-but useless, and the lack of any sort of multiplayer playing mode really hurts. It's a part of my recipe for the perfect RPG/strategy hybrid: M&B's combat system, matched with the world of The Elder Scrolls series, and a decent multiplayer mode of gameplay. Expand
  60. MarcL
    Nov 15, 2008
    8
    It's a great game, although I'm going to deduct points for lack of guidance and 'some' poorly designed quests that could have been ironed out long before the retail release. Why? Because these issues have been present ever since the game was designed...pushing 5 yrs. ago. People, please ignore those that give this game a 10. It's simply b.s. Some of these people It's a great game, although I'm going to deduct points for lack of guidance and 'some' poorly designed quests that could have been ironed out long before the retail release. Why? Because these issues have been present ever since the game was designed...pushing 5 yrs. ago. People, please ignore those that give this game a 10. It's simply b.s. Some of these people will lay claims of playing this game since BETA stage and that they've played video games for over 15 yrs. I have this to say to them: who cares! You're simply not in a position to give a game a 10, when you're clearly overlooking its quest flaws. So before you lay claim to your BETA fame, keep in mind you're speaking to someone that has played games long before Atari, Commadore 64 or IBM compatible games were even heard of. This does not make me an expert, but it does give me an honest look at what the game designer could have improved upon prior to release. Expand
  61. AlvaroH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I think the reason for that is that the professional critics are only pleased by the standard game industry and don´t like what is new and different. Totally agree with you. Outstanding idea that NO OTHER industry developed game have produced. There are toons of high budget industry games that are much less addictive than M&B.
  62. DanW.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    I discovered this game shortly before its official release, and the animations and graphics have only gotten better since then, as well as some aspects of gameplay. It just has so much to offer- battles that feel real, an open living world, and of course EXCELLENT mounted combat. Compare the riding in this game with that of TES: Oblivion- it puts it to shame. There are still some annoying I discovered this game shortly before its official release, and the animations and graphics have only gotten better since then, as well as some aspects of gameplay. It just has so much to offer- battles that feel real, an open living world, and of course EXCELLENT mounted combat. Compare the riding in this game with that of TES: Oblivion- it puts it to shame. There are still some annoying gameplay issues (a rather silly skill system, some buggy sieges) and some features that seem half-implemented (town/castle improvements, rebel factions, wooing ladies) but it's more than just a sandbox game. Definitely give it a try if you're a fan of the escape velocity series (one of my favorites) or if you like completely non-linear games and/or medieval combat. Expand
  63. NoahM
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is probibly the most ground breaking MedEvil game on the market today. If you ahve alot of time on your hands then i would most definatley recommend this game to you guys. The mounted combat is almost perfect. The events in the game are incredible. At any moment any kingdom could wage war with another, of course you can choose (if you want) to join one of them. There are 4 factions This is probibly the most ground breaking MedEvil game on the market today. If you ahve alot of time on your hands then i would most definatley recommend this game to you guys. The mounted combat is almost perfect. The events in the game are incredible. At any moment any kingdom could wage war with another, of course you can choose (if you want) to join one of them. There are 4 factions with lords of all sorts. Very good game, made by a small Turkish family. They did a good job. Expand
  64. NicholasG.
    Sep 16, 2008
    10
    Innovative and intense game.
  65. AlexX.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    The game has been in development for years so it is certainly not made for a quick buck. Also, the community is not paid to advertise it, the guy who made it has no income other than the sales, which isn't much, so he can't afford that bullshit like big companies can. Reviewers who give it 1 instead of 10 probably just played for a few hours on the easiest settings and thought The game has been in development for years so it is certainly not made for a quick buck. Also, the community is not paid to advertise it, the guy who made it has no income other than the sales, which isn't much, so he can't afford that bullshit like big companies can. Reviewers who give it 1 instead of 10 probably just played for a few hours on the easiest settings and thought all you basically do is find bandit groups to kill so you can buy better stuff for your character. They're simply not smart enough for this game. I'm sure you, dear reader, have higher intelligence. The game has a lot of depth and neat details everywhere, especially in your relations to other NPCs and nations. You'll discover many cool details in how people, enemy parties, potential allies, etc respond to you. Open ended role playing at its finest. Please don't expect Oblivion when you play this. Compare this game ro Sid Meier's Pirates! Instead. Put that in a realistic medieval setting (yes, no magic and elves here, so the LOTR/Oblivion comparisons are stupid) add amazing realistic melee and ranged combat, add a LOT of depth in regards to the things you can do and your relationships to NPCs and nations (imagine if Pirates! allowed you to be a governor, make and break alliances, wage wars, large scale battles and sieges, do interesting quests, and many more things), and you will have a vague idea of this game. Simply? Pirates! but with depth. If Pirates got so good reviews, this should get tenfold that. Anyone who can't see it either didn't give this game a real chance, or has been playing it for way too long and forgot all the cool things now he focuses on just making a super duper character with the optimal exploiting paths he discovered. Expand
  66. AngP.
    Sep 25, 2008
    9
    A game that shines despite the fact that it was started by a husband and wife (as in only 2 people) development team. It is by no means perfect but the gameplay is unmatched by any action game I have ever played. Combat physics is on par with even high end games. There are some bugs that need to be worked out, and the graphics could use some work, but these are already being corrected by A game that shines despite the fact that it was started by a husband and wife (as in only 2 people) development team. It is by no means perfect but the gameplay is unmatched by any action game I have ever played. Combat physics is on par with even high end games. There are some bugs that need to be worked out, and the graphics could use some work, but these are already being corrected by the modders in the massive online community, if not by the developers themselves. Absolutely worth the money. Expand
  67. ToddD
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have played this year and I have never played a game that represents mounted combat like this. If you ever wanted to experience what it was like to be a medieval warlord this is the game for you. An absolute gem.
  68. JoeC
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Very impressive game--think of a cross between Sid Meyer's Pirates (in terms of open-ended gameplay) and Dynasty Warriors 3, 4, or 5 (in terms of slaughtering the enemy by the dozens). There's a lot of playbvalue in this little package. May be good to have a generally new graphics card & system.
  69. VictorJ
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    At first a bit confusing but after messing with the interface, options and a little trial and error, this is a magnificent game. Yeah, the visuals are indeed lacking but the game itself is well made. Well done, Paradox Interactive. P.S. Hopefully they're working on a sequel.
  70. NeilZ
    Dec 4, 2009
    8
    The game is pretty fun and the combat system is awesome. The graphics are lacking, but they haven't bothered me at all. The biggest issue I had was the inability to assign vassals while I was ruler of my own kingdom and you are always known as a rebel kingdom. The missions can get a bit repetitive, but the game play is always pretty good. This is a fun game to go back to whenever you The game is pretty fun and the combat system is awesome. The graphics are lacking, but they haven't bothered me at all. The biggest issue I had was the inability to assign vassals while I was ruler of my own kingdom and you are always known as a rebel kingdom. The missions can get a bit repetitive, but the game play is always pretty good. This is a fun game to go back to whenever you have nothing better to do. I would definitely recommend this game. Expand
  71. JohnB
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    From a fan of the intricacies of Star Wars Rebellion, I present a spiritual successor. Graphics are incredibly dated, reminding me of old-school Delta Force from when I was kid. Combat is interesting but when mounted, you can single handedly drop 14 enemies even at a low level. Regardless, everything is open to you. Kind of like starting out RIGHT after college, the world is your oyster. From a fan of the intricacies of Star Wars Rebellion, I present a spiritual successor. Graphics are incredibly dated, reminding me of old-school Delta Force from when I was kid. Combat is interesting but when mounted, you can single handedly drop 14 enemies even at a low level. Regardless, everything is open to you. Kind of like starting out RIGHT after college, the world is your oyster. Make money trading? Fine. Obliterate random bandit groups? Ok. Take over the world? Here here! Even tournaments await you. Excellent, addictive game even with bad graphics :) Expand
  72. MiroslavLulic
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    This game is the best indie game i have seen. The community works and adds so much to the game. With additional tweaking and mods you can get a beautiful game that looks great in 1680x1050 and has great depth. The best game ever for $20. Give it a chance
  73. FredF.
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    I'm 38. I'm as old as you can be and still be a gamer for most of my life. I've seen the PC game rise, expand, and stagnate since I had my old C-64 back in the early 80's.

    This game gives me hope that PC gaming isn't being totally destroyed by design by committee crap that needs to be dumbed down enough for the Xbox crowd. M&B is the BEST game I've
    I'm 38. I'm as old as you can be and still be a gamer for most of my life. I've seen the PC game rise, expand, and stagnate since I had my old C-64 back in the early 80's.

    This game gives me hope that PC gaming isn't being totally destroyed by design by committee crap that needs to be dumbed down enough for the Xbox crowd.

    M&B is the BEST game I've played in 10 years and I've played a bunch.
    Just get it, you won't be disapointed.
    Expand
  74. BrendanH.
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    I really love this game, its got great combat systems. also I love owning your own cities and armies, its great. The only reason that i didnt give this game a 10 is that I dont have fun playing as anyone but a commander, i find everything else boring. but commanding is great, you can really affect the way things turn out in the big picture. And when it comes to graphics, they are adequate,I really love this game, its got great combat systems. also I love owning your own cities and armies, its great. The only reason that i didnt give this game a 10 is that I dont have fun playing as anyone but a commander, i find everything else boring. but commanding is great, you can really affect the way things turn out in the big picture. And when it comes to graphics, they are adequate, but graphics dont matter as much as gameplayy Expand
  75. Timb
    Apr 29, 2009
    9
    This game is very fun with alot of replay value. The graphics aren't anything pretty and the engine seems to chug a bit despite the poor visual quality. The most fun I had with this game was getting an external battle modifier that allowed you to go over the 200 unit per battle limiter that's in place, and instead letting you go up to 1000 units per battle, and maybe this was This game is very fun with alot of replay value. The graphics aren't anything pretty and the engine seems to chug a bit despite the poor visual quality. The most fun I had with this game was getting an external battle modifier that allowed you to go over the 200 unit per battle limiter that's in place, and instead letting you go up to 1000 units per battle, and maybe this was why it lagged so much, but it was definitely much more fun this way. I only wished you were able to control your units a bit more directly with the overhead map. Expand
  76. AndersS
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    I have only tried the Demo and i think its allot of fun factor in it. Sure the grafics is not the best but hey i get to kill people from my horse lol ^_^. Adventure: I ran into a village and i stole a cow,Villagers got pisst and i had a option to flee or fight...i CHARGE !! and to my suprice i see 50 villagers attacking me and i am alone with my cow. ! Yiikes...!!! =D i am definitly buyingI have only tried the Demo and i think its allot of fun factor in it. Sure the grafics is not the best but hey i get to kill people from my horse lol ^_^. Adventure: I ran into a village and i stole a cow,Villagers got pisst and i had a option to flee or fight...i CHARGE !! and to my suprice i see 50 villagers attacking me and i am alone with my cow. ! Yiikes...!!! =D i am definitly buying this game !! Expand
  77. AllanBarnes
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    An amazing game played like the world map from Sid Meier's Pirates! mixed with real time third person/first person combat, with multi-directional attacks/blocks and mounted combat. All attacks use real physics and aiming, meaning that you will do more damage charging into an enemy swinging your sword than getting a glancing hit while running backwards, even though it's the sameAn amazing game played like the world map from Sid Meier's Pirates! mixed with real time third person/first person combat, with multi-directional attacks/blocks and mounted combat. All attacks use real physics and aiming, meaning that you will do more damage charging into an enemy swinging your sword than getting a glancing hit while running backwards, even though it's the same weapon/skills/attributes. Pretty amazing stuff. TRY THE DEMO!!! Expand
  78. JeremiahGuffey
    Dec 27, 2008
    9
    This is hands down one of the best indie games on the pc.
    The heart of the game is the combat, and that is where the game shines. There have been quite a few games that have tried mounts and mounted combat and still to t his day Mount and Blade is the only one that imo has done it any justice.
    Understanding that this game is from a small up start dev team (It started with just two
    This is hands down one of the best indie games on the pc.
    The heart of the game is the combat, and that is where the game shines. There have been quite a few games that have tried mounts and mounted combat and still to t his day Mount and Blade is the only one that imo has done it any justice.
    Understanding that this game is from a small up start dev team (It started with just two people) you can't expect to have modern day graphics but over time they have provided some good graphical updates since it started.
    The developers are still updating and working on the game and plan in the future for multiplayer support.
    Expand
  79. WalterF.
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    One of the most amazingly fun games iv'e ever played. For one the gameplay is fantastic, starting out as a lowly peasant and working your way up. The combat was pretty fun being able to parry strike depending on the direction of the attack instead of one parry for all strikes like allot of games. Horse combat in this was very fun. The horse combat also adds in your choices to ride One of the most amazingly fun games iv'e ever played. For one the gameplay is fantastic, starting out as a lowly peasant and working your way up. The combat was pretty fun being able to parry strike depending on the direction of the attack instead of one parry for all strikes like allot of games. Horse combat in this was very fun. The horse combat also adds in your choices to ride with heavy armor or light armor but the speed bonuses give you extra damage. There are lots of choices like this you must decide. On top of all this fantastic, fun gameplay it lets you conquer lands and become the lord of castles, towns and villages. It even has medieval tournaments like jousting and random rabbling and hacking at each other with axes and swords. Yes, yes the graphics are out of date but the amazing re playability of the whole game makes up for all of that. I highly recommend this game 10/10. Expand
  80. Rogueboy
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    Currently my favourite game to play; there is no story other than what you create yourself so if you want to beat a game and move on, I imagine it would be rather difficult in this game. Gameplay is almost spot on, sometimes the hitboxes are off but for the most part they are spot on. There are a few things I would change in the game but they are not big things, for example when you press Currently my favourite game to play; there is no story other than what you create yourself so if you want to beat a game and move on, I imagine it would be rather difficult in this game. Gameplay is almost spot on, sometimes the hitboxes are off but for the most part they are spot on. There are a few things I would change in the game but they are not big things, for example when you press Q to bring up the quest menu, you are not able to close the quest menu by pressing Q you would need to click on the close button. A small thing but something I look for, buying items took a while until I found out that pressing control key immediately brings the item over, or when selling prisoners using the control key will sell all units of that type. Overall a good game, graphics are no Oblivion but I wouldn't consider it that outdated. Expand
  81. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    I just purchased this game a few days ago and let me tell you, it's amazing. The entire experience is wonderful. The horseback combat is intense. The game is great, trust me I own over 300 games. My review is based on the total package.
  82. JohnHammarberg
    Nov 12, 2008
    8
    This reminds me of Heroes of Might and Magic but with 1st person combat instead of the chessboard. The combat system is amazing once you get the hang of it. There are both player skill and character skill levels involved. The graphics is not the best but that should not be a problem for a game like this. There are RPGs/Strategy games out there wil a lot less graphics than this that score full pot.
  83. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    While this game is a bit limited in scope, it is by far the best first-person medieval combat simulator ever made. It obviously didn't live up to the vision of the designer in terms of making the fiction come alive, but for being best in class (even if it was only one of them) it deserve the highest mark.
  84. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    Like the majority of users, i dont think this game is half-assed atall. Its momentum based combat system is fast paced and unique, there is a large variety of things to do, if you actually try to raise an army and I dont see the seige mode as a huge problem, because if their archers are taking your men out as they climb the ladder, put it upon yourself to kill them with a bow, and if youLike the majority of users, i dont think this game is half-assed atall. Its momentum based combat system is fast paced and unique, there is a large variety of things to do, if you actually try to raise an army and I dont see the seige mode as a huge problem, because if their archers are taking your men out as they climb the ladder, put it upon yourself to kill them with a bow, and if you dont have a ranged weapon with you, then why are you even seiging a castle? Duhhhhhhh, theres gona be nooooo archers guarding the walls. Get an f'ing clue retards, the game does have many flaws, I admit, but some of the accused flaws are not the games, they are yours. Learn to play. Expand
  85. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    Very good RPG strategy, nice fight system. M&B is very extended game and you can play as you want. Battles in game is no bad bat can be better because sometimes is too boring. I really like this because i like good RPG and goo strategy game, M&B is great connection. Game play is great but game have too many bugs and this have too ugly graphics. I advice this game RPG fans and my rate is 7,7/10
  86. AnonymousMC
    Jan 3, 2009
    8
    I have to just say, this game has the charm of old school games that were made with love and passion.Yes it has old graphic, but it doesn't distract you from playing, it has some anoying limitations, but rational ones due to the power of nowdays PC and complexity of the game.The freedom of roaming the world and kick anybody's butt is paid with no story at all, but itsI have to just say, this game has the charm of old school games that were made with love and passion.Yes it has old graphic, but it doesn't distract you from playing, it has some anoying limitations, but rational ones due to the power of nowdays PC and complexity of the game.The freedom of roaming the world and kick anybody's butt is paid with no story at all, but its understandable.Mods are really great ones you get bored with the native game.Combat is really fun, not seen in nowdays games.I finish this saying" buy the game and support developers with fresh ideas and original gameplay and we can be awarded with greater game in future!" Expand
  87. LukeP.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    This game, now that it is finished is amazing. The roleplaying and combat aspects of it are way better than any of the critics give it credit because they critique the beta version. In an ingenious and still morally positive marketing scheme they sold it cheaper as a beta with the promise of free updates. I bought this game at 12 dollars and now I am rewarded with a complete game that This game, now that it is finished is amazing. The roleplaying and combat aspects of it are way better than any of the critics give it credit because they critique the beta version. In an ingenious and still morally positive marketing scheme they sold it cheaper as a beta with the promise of free updates. I bought this game at 12 dollars and now I am rewarded with a complete game that allows me to play as a medieval type fighter in an extremely fun environment. Pay no attention to these old reviews. If you missed out on mount and blade when it first started it isn't too late. If you got it a long time ago and haven't returned, you should. A lot has changed. Expand
  88. PeterR
    Jan 28, 2009
    8
    I bought this on sale on Steam a week ago and it turned out to be much better than I expected. From the screenshots the game looks incredibly unpolished, and while this is still true to a degree, it runs well and seems almost completely bug-free. This is the sort of game that has no main quest, no predetermined story to speak of, but merely throws you into a savage, war-torn land with I bought this on sale on Steam a week ago and it turned out to be much better than I expected. From the screenshots the game looks incredibly unpolished, and while this is still true to a degree, it runs well and seems almost completely bug-free. This is the sort of game that has no main quest, no predetermined story to speak of, but merely throws you into a savage, war-torn land with nothing but a "Mount and Blade". The game loses points because, while there is plenty to occupy you, the game can be a little boring at times. The epic battles in which you get to lead dozens of troops are great fun, but once you look past this, there isn't much you haven't seen before. But if you like what the game gives you, you will get tens or hundreds of hours of fun out of such a dynamic game. A great bargain buy. Expand
  89. AlexP
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    This game, although lacking in some of the graphical effects large studio games have, is immersive with its endless campaign and great mounted combat. the combat in this game easily beats most other medieval RPGs, with its directional attacks and the ability to command your troops. this is one of the most underated games by official reviews. if you haven't played this game you are This game, although lacking in some of the graphical effects large studio games have, is immersive with its endless campaign and great mounted combat. the combat in this game easily beats most other medieval RPGs, with its directional attacks and the ability to command your troops. this is one of the most underated games by official reviews. if you haven't played this game you are missing out on a great RPG experience. Expand
  90. AnonymousMC
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    After reading many of these, most people mention the graphics and how "old" they are. I just want to say it was made by an indie developer and not you mega studios. Gameplay is amazing, both horse combat and foot combat is great. Being able to capture forts, and cities and having to fight for them is a massive plus. This game is like no others and even though its an indie game, it stillAfter reading many of these, most people mention the graphics and how "old" they are. I just want to say it was made by an indie developer and not you mega studios. Gameplay is amazing, both horse combat and foot combat is great. Being able to capture forts, and cities and having to fight for them is a massive plus. This game is like no others and even though its an indie game, it still rivals those of the bigger game studios. Expand
  91. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game has a unique expierience, hard to get going and learn, a large learning curve, but once you get it going its REALLY COOL. but the problem arises that you can kill entire armys with just an axe and a ladder, then you realize the game consists of the same missions, the same content, the same invasions, but for some reason it never gets old and you continue to massacre endless enemy armys.
  92. Koo
    Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, easy to get in to. Mount & Blade had me hooked from the beginning - with its classical hand-drawn artwork and rousing classical music. Also, unlike most games, the training section of the game is superb and well worth playing through. Mount and Blade is a fairly compact game (604 MB download from Steam) and runs stable in 64-bit Windows (e.g. Windows 7 x64 or Vista x64).Excellent game, easy to get in to. Mount & Blade had me hooked from the beginning - with its classical hand-drawn artwork and rousing classical music. Also, unlike most games, the training section of the game is superb and well worth playing through. Mount and Blade is a fairly compact game (604 MB download from Steam) and runs stable in 64-bit Windows (e.g. Windows 7 x64 or Vista x64). While the graphics in M&B are a bit pedestrian, the gameplay and music are thrilling and addicting. If you can look beyond the screenshots, give the demo a try (it's free and a fairly quick download). If you like Strategy RPG's, this might be your new favorite. Expand
  93. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My Character was the best, xbow skills, bow skills, 2 handed sword skills, riding skills, Reached level 40 and have conquered all but 10 castles/town(s). I only wish one thing, I want a bodyguard that I can customise, but hey they added that kinda stuff in fire and sword so hey. Expand
  94. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    this is a great game. the graphics are sub-par even for '08, but the fighting system is so well done it was almost exactly copied by skyrim. the game goes in depth letting you interact with lords and own land, also letting you siege castles, and take prisoners later to be sold. there is a matter of unrealism and finnicky controls to deal with, along with the grinding nature of certainthis is a great game. the graphics are sub-par even for '08, but the fighting system is so well done it was almost exactly copied by skyrim. the game goes in depth letting you interact with lords and own land, also letting you siege castles, and take prisoners later to be sold. there is a matter of unrealism and finnicky controls to deal with, along with the grinding nature of certain quests. the horses simply refuse to speed up/slow down properly and can ride up 60 degree slopes though not without a speed disadvantage which plays a heavy role in the combat system, and one of the quests involves taking 5-7 men at the lowest level and grinding their stats until they become high level seargants. it took me 16 days game time, which is only counted inbetween every 3 sessions, which IRL was about 3-4 hours. it is worth it though if you are trying to become a vassal or gain the favor of a lord. Expand
  95. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I got this game and put alot of time into it. and not even 2 minutes were spent in the native mod. in short this game is all about mod, and its modding community. if you buy this game. put the time in to learn how to install mods. download a few and you'll have a blast.
  96. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Really entertaining sandbox fantasy game for around $10 USD. Sandbox fun. Epic first-person battles. Castle seiges are decent. The persisent aspect is good. Battles with mounted soldiers can be severely annoying and makes you want to turn the game off. One annoying combat bug. Nice RPG aspects. Although a novelty game, its distributed long enough to keep you entertained long enough.Really entertaining sandbox fantasy game for around $10 USD. Sandbox fun. Epic first-person battles. Castle seiges are decent. The persisent aspect is good. Battles with mounted soldiers can be severely annoying and makes you want to turn the game off. One annoying combat bug. Nice RPG aspects. Although a novelty game, its distributed long enough to keep you entertained long enough. Patience is required. Some system bugs (ex. occasionally crashes on exit). Supposedly there are a lot of good mods. Expand
  97. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    While this game is a masterpiece, Warband does everything better. But I'm not here to talk about Warband, this game is very addicting and fun in every way from the micromanagement and trade to the fighting and strategy.
  98. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    This game is so addicting! it's hard to get bored when you have a world, not to mention all of the mods avaliable for free(there are are of mods to improve gameplay, improve graphics, etc.). This game is fresh, there are not many games to compare this with. Wether you are a RTS or FPS fan, this game is definately worth.
  99. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Mount and Blade played with some of the best mods is insanely fun! Undoubtedly, one of the best games I have played to date.. This game is a hidden gem of gold. If you like the genre and still don't have it, make no mistake and grab it right now.

    Can't wait for Mount and Blade 2 to come out!
  100. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    A truly original, well thought out and polished game. Gameplay is solid, deep and engaging. Combat is visceral and makes sense. The tutorial doesn't cover anything but the basics, so there are a lot of nice surprises. I played for a year before I realised it was possible to control my troops.

    The graphics are barebones, but the design is good. The character generator is without
    A truly original, well thought out and polished game. Gameplay is solid, deep and engaging. Combat is visceral and makes sense. The tutorial doesn't cover anything but the basics, so there are a lot of nice surprises. I played for a year before I realised it was possible to control my troops.

    The graphics are barebones, but the design is good. The character generator is without parallel. The weather is well executed. The randomly generated maps are a pleasure to explore and to strategically exploit. There is a lot going on on the campaign map and the battle map, but load times are virtually nonexistent.

    The mod community is the best you'll find anywhere, producing countless excellent full conversions. If you have any minor problem with the game, they've probably fixed it.

    I got this game expecting a low budget Elder Scrolls, but it's original, it's huge and it's brimming with kinds of satisfaction that no other game can offer.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    88
    A Medieval action RPG with a great battle system, and there are many ways you can play the game. The game doesn't have a storyline, which is why it becomes a bit boring and pointless after a while, but it does have many good mods and they will keep the game fresh. [Sept 2008]
  2. A fantastic game. It's hampered by a few problems, but nothing major. It provides ground breaking gameplay that I am sure will be imitated by others.
  3. 100
    For a game with such a heavy emphasis on medieval combat, Mount & Blade is just shy of perfection.