Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    70
    A solid premise let down by rote design. [Issue#250, p.64]
  2. Sep 3, 2014
    70
    The game gets an A for effort, but unfortunately the same can't be said of the core gameplay mechanics, which are dull and repetitive. The storyline is engaging, but other than that there's not much to write home about. [Aug 2014]
  3. 40
    The triple-A presentation is hindered by monotonous gameplay, stilted PC controls and stupid action bits. [Issue#244]
  4. Jul 30, 2014
    50
    A less than successful attempt at what could have been a novel concept. [Aug 2014, p.57]
  5. Jul 16, 2014
    40
    Lacking in meaningful challenge, Murdered: Soul Suspect fails to deliver on its promising premise at every step. [Sept. 2014, p.70]
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    55
    There’s a fun game to be had with the right mix of these elements — ghosts, crime-solving, a troubled cop and a serial killer — but Murdered: Soul Suspect just isn’t really it.
  7. Jul 9, 2014
    56
    Murdered is a one-note game bent on repeating the same formula over and over again.
  8. Jul 2, 2014
    50
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is the newest addition to the small field of triple AAA adventure titles and offers some pleasant new surprises but an uneven storyline, poorly developed characters and unfocused gameplay keeps this game from rising above mediocrity.
  9. Jun 23, 2014
    76
    I really liked the look, the atmosphere, and the story behind Murdered: Soul Suspect, but I really hated the interface and the game elements.
  10. Jun 13, 2014
    64
    Finally a game with a large publisher behind it that deliberately resists the mass market! Unfortunately Murdered has not become the game that it could have been.
  11. Jun 12, 2014
    60
    By no means is Murdered: Souls Suspect one of the best titles of the year, but it's one of the most likeable ones.
  12. Jun 10, 2014
    80
    If you’re a fan of mysteries, Murdered: Soul Suspect would be a worthy purchase.
  13. Jun 9, 2014
    70
    This is a game that needs to be approached with the right mindset in order to be fully and properly understood. Murdered is an interactive movie with a story straight out of the best 90's b-reel supernatural horror flicks that dominated the video store of an era long bygone. The challenge level is extremely low but the mood and nighttime atmosphere the game evokes are hard to deny. Destined for Steam Sale must-buy status, Murdered is a game that will engage you and take you back to a simpler time, even as it celebrates its b-movie heritage and paper-thin actual gameplay.
  14. Jun 8, 2014
    50
    I really wanted to like Murdered: Soul Suspect, but -- like L.A. Noire -- it's a detective game that manages to gets its most essential quality absolutely wrong. The backdrop of Salem lends a lot to its central mystery, but at no point will Soul Suspect ever put your deductive skills to work. That's fine if you're indulging in an episode of CSI, but I like my thinky games to require more than just passive interest.
  15. Jun 6, 2014
    67
    There's a lot of potential and the game's concepts are genius. But the game itself is too easy, too simple and that's a pity.
  16. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    Overall, Murdered: Soul Suspect is an enjoyable but simplistic mystery adventure which, although it features a well-detailed game world and well-written plot, is far too short for its own good. It's a game which I'd recommend to fans of this genre, but only at sale price.
  17. Jun 5, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect discloses an interesting ghostly-noir soul and an original action-adventure detective body, but its investigations are too easy and their dynamics are too shallow to entertain for more than six, seven hours.
  18. 50
    The story is genuinely interesting and kept me playing far after the fun had drained out of the game. But in all honesty, I cannot recommend it. With a couple tweaks, this could have been an awesome game, but as it stands Murderer: Soul Suspect is dead on arrival.
  19. Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Murdered: Soul Suspect is an interesting game somewhere between a spy story and a ghost mystery. The events are intriguing enough, but gameplay-wise the game pretty much consists of doing the same thing over and over again, for the small amount of time requested to see its end.
  20. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    Murdered has some really strong foundations but not enough real substance. The game lacks atmosphere fit for this kind of game and the story takes you down a really obvious road. Hiring a BAFTA winner, Jason Graves, who was responsible for Tomb Raider's music, didn't help. Murdered: Soul Suspect is a big disappointment - a weak thriller and a far-too-easy adventure game.
  21. Jun 3, 2014
    70
    An entertaining thriller that does not leave its mark as hoped.
  22. Jun 2, 2014
    55
    Being a ghost in Murdered is enjoyable in fits and starts, yet the use of your powers is brutally limited, resulting in an almost entirely scripted and therefore watered-down afterlife experience.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 73
  2. Negative: 9 out of 73
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    After reading so many bad reviews, I started to think I had just pre-ordered a flop. But once I started playing, I got pulled into it's greatAfter reading so many bad reviews, I started to think I had just pre-ordered a flop. But once I started playing, I got pulled into it's great story and fun game-play elements. It's not quite an open-world game, yet it's not linear either. It's kind of like L.A. Noire meets The Longest Journey: Dreamfall. The game isn't perfect, but it's the best game experience I've had this year and that's all I care about. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    Still more interesting than pressing and holding Q to hack the world. I like this game and I've been waiting for it since the very firstStill more interesting than pressing and holding Q to hack the world. I like this game and I've been waiting for it since the very first teaser trailer. It's something more than that mediocre tag critics stuck on it. Full Review »
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    A first impression here. It's not bad as some of the review sites out there might want you to believe. It's and adventure game, think LA NoireA first impression here. It's not bad as some of the review sites out there might want you to believe. It's and adventure game, think LA Noire without the action and driving. It's a slower paced game where you'll have to look around for clues to solve puzzles to move to the next area, so if you're looking for an action FPS or something like that, it probably won't be for you. It's a good looking game with better graphics than watchdogs that I picked up last week, and has alot of graphics settings to play with, runs smooth on ultra/high on my HD 7870, although the frames per second seem to be locked to 30. I'd give it a 7 out of ten, it is kind of pricey though for what it is, but would definitely recommend it at say $25. Full Review »