NaissanceE Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NaissanceE is a first person exploration PC game developed on UDK by Limasse Five with the participation of Pauline Oliveros, Patricia Dallio and Thierry Zaboitzeff. The adventure takes place in a primitive mysterious structure and the game mainly consists to explore and feel the deep and strong ambiance of this atemporal world but platforming and puzzles areas will also enrich the experience. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    80
    NaissanceE is not a horror game. Yet the hairs on the back of my neck were at attention for most of the 10 hours I spent in its world.
  2. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    A long, mysterious journey across an alien world that eludes our logic and communicates with us through its architectural madness.
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    75
    As it is, the game still comes recommended...but only for non-epileptic players who have a high tolerance for frustration.
  4. Mar 11, 2014
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. NaissancE is a beautiful game, but without much direction it can feel like a never ending mire of running, jumping, and falling. That being said, is the game worth spending $20 on? Certainly.
  6. Feb 27, 2014
    60
    NaissanceE is an intriguing game which mixes a fascinating atmosphere with platform and puzzle gameplay. It's a shame those checkpoints, too rare or misplaced, make you want to stop playing despite your really wanting to see the end.
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    45
    NaissanceE could’ve been a neat game but Limasse Five should’ve just stuck with making a cool artistic world and left the actual gameplay at home. I may have then complained that there wasn’t enough game in it, but at least I would have actually enjoyed it.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    This game sets out to make you feel alone and it keeps it promise.
    On an emotional level this game really delivers.

    At first you explore
    simple yet confined level structures that very soon give way to absolutely monumental feeling set pieces that will have you in awe.
    The art style is in itself consistent and works very well, especially when paired with the rather excellent audio design. This visual and acoustic experience seems to always matche perfectly.
    The game really manages to deliver a wide range of experiences and emotions, from feeling lost in a huge and fascinating world to adrenaline pumping action sequences and solving the occasional puzzle, it does it all very well.

    The one thing I especially enjoyed is the at times very clever level design. While being a linear game with areas for you to explore it never feels like it is linear. In fact, I could swear I was making my way through at random or at being driven by interesting set pieces.

    Don't however expect much of a story. Not in the traditional sense anyways. Whatever happened or happens is up to your imagination. That is a good thing though.

    All in all, if you're looking for a game that will take you on a bit of an emotional rollercoaster ride while making you feel small, forgotten and alone, then play it.

    The thing that stayed most with me is the level design. Simply brilliant.
    Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    This game is a huge recommend. It's an amazing journey through a massive structure which feels of some alien design. Environmental navigation and puzzles are very satisfying within the artsi and surreal, shades of grey pallet. Becomes a true test of mouse and keyboard prowess in the later stages. A true PC gamers must play. Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    3 words "absolutely **** breathtaking" ^_^
    nothing else to say but since the review must be at least 150 characters long, i could say it kind
    of reminded me of portal 2, Chapter 6 "The Fall" in portal 2, where you are all alone in the abandoned old version of Aperture Science labs.... that was epic.... this little game multiplies this feeling by a 1000 times.
    i felt so small , more than I already am, so i gave it 10/10.
    Great atmosphere.
    Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    The player starts the game lost and confused. However, quite early, the character reaches a place where the game opens up and reveals its real face. The structures, in my opinion very influenced by Lovecraft and 'cyclopean' architecture, work to create giant spaces, bottomless pits and huge structures that make an acrophobic such as me experience the game in a very different (panicky) way.
    Outwith scenes apart, the physical puzzles inside use the player's reflexes and speed as well as their wits and puzzle-solving skills to move forward. This offers a pause in the exploration and 'admiring' of the gigantic outside vistas.
    As the game progresses it adopts a more surreal tone, which, in my opinion, goes perfectly well with the whole Lovecraftian feel the game has for me. The last chapters truly amaze and surprise you as you get nearer to the end. Truly a surprising and refreshing experience.
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    An absolutely fantastic game. The vistas are breathtaking at times and downright frightening and confusing at others. I had particular impressions of the style of BLAME! at times. At others, another great game, Kairo came to mind. The overall tone is not a happy one, so beware. Loneliness and confusion bordering on madness are the overarching theme.

    The choices the game sometimes throws at you are also very satisfying despite their ambiguity and certainly warrant at least a second playthrough. There are puzzles, there is platforming and there even are eastereggs and traps.

    The sound design is also brilliant, with a constant ambient soundtrack that perfectly compliments the scenery.

    The only negative points I have to mention are the sometimes questionably spaced checkpoints during hectic platforming parts. This is manageable though, if a bit frustrating.
    Also, I felt the game could overall have done with a bit more puzzling and a bit less platforming.

    But those are minor gripes and do not take away from an, in my opinion, resounding success.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    For fans of creativity Tsutomu Nihei this game - a real gift! For the rest - a mix of Journey, Stanley Parable and Pink Floyd. Game about architecture and loneliness with a stunning musical accompaniment Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    2
    It's much less breathtaking than it looks. The puzzles, at least during the first hour or so which was all I could endure, involve pressing light switches to move floating light sources around that make certain platforms appear and disappear. At first it looks like a clever mechanic like Closure (but in 3D), but it's really just switches. In HUGE levels, with no particular idea of where you're supposed to be going or why. It isn't open exploration, there's a linear route - and it's just intentionally not marked out well, or indeed at all. It's like: if I crawl through this little space here and jump over these boxes I'm in the "next" area, which is much like the last one except the boxes are a different way round. The gigantic scale looks good, but it's dull to wander round it. Another game that had this problem was EYE: Divine Cybermancy - if you've played the particular couple of maps in that with vast outdoor areas that take five minutes to walk across but have nothing to interact with or particularly look at on the way, that's pretty much NaissanceE. Only, without anything to do at the end of the long walk, or anything to look at on the way other than grey boxes.

    Another puzzle that annoyed me early on involved navigating down a big grey "lift shaft" type thing by hopping from ledge to ledge (long drops kill you forcing a return to the last save), and the puzzle is that the only available light source slowly drifts up and down the middle of the "lift shaft" so that you have to wait 30 seconds between each jump. I hate it when games make things difficult in the game that would be easy if you were physically there - and in this case could feel for the sheer drops at the edges of the ledges.

    I'm being really down on this game. It does have a moody, mysterious atmosphere going for it. But probably so would Halo if you removed the plot and replaced all the scenery with grey boxes and put a sort of pixelly filter over the front of everything. And it could well have profound spiritual revelations waiting further into the game, about loneliness, or whether anything means anything... but I just have a creeping suspicion that I could get the same revelations by walking around a shopping mall at night wearing dark glasses. They seem to be patching it lots, and it's a genuine indie not a cynical cash-in, I could just have done with more freedom to get lost walking round a huge grey building, the linearity at the start was a huge disappointment. Back to Anti-Chamber for me!
    Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews