Napoleon: Total War PC

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 23, 2010
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 510
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2012
    4
    Well, CA, was wrong when making Nappy a full game. This game excels barely on single player. On to graphics, the effects and terrain actually look better, but the models don't really look good as expected, the soldiers look "shiny", and their faces seem all the same, just with different mustaches and beards. The campaign drop-in battle addition is actually pretty cool and interesting,Well, CA, was wrong when making Nappy a full game. This game excels barely on single player. On to graphics, the effects and terrain actually look better, but the models don't really look good as expected, the soldiers look "shiny", and their faces seem all the same, just with different mustaches and beards. The campaign drop-in battle addition is actually pretty cool and interesting, though there's really something; CA forgot to improve the A.I. It's dumbed out as Empire's. The campaign is still fun, but when fighting in real-time battles with A.I., it's not really fun. Napoleon is basically Empire, with fewer factions and a new title screen. This game only excels in multiplayer. There's no dumb A.I. that puts its cannons behind hills, or any exploitable stupid act they perform. If you're that guy that doesn't play singleplayer (specifically, the campaign) at all (like the Prince of Macedon), this game may suit you. Although, beware of noob players. Expand
  2. SteveM
    Feb 25, 2010
    1
    It's still the same broken game as before. They didn't fix anything. They just removed the features that didn't work. Diplomacy didn't work so they took out most of the factions and made it France vs everyone else. The AI couldn't figure out the whole naval thing so they took most of that out of the game too. The battle AI still sucks. This is the EXACT same It's still the same broken game as before. They didn't fix anything. They just removed the features that didn't work. Diplomacy didn't work so they took out most of the factions and made it France vs everyone else. The AI couldn't figure out the whole naval thing so they took most of that out of the game too. The battle AI still sucks. This is the EXACT same garbage as E:TW was. Don't fall for it like I did. Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un acquisto pessimo, vedere vanificare le ore impiegate a costruire qualcosa rende solo più nervosi al contrario del suo fine di divertire. Sicuramente sarà l'ultimo acquisto fatto da me ed amici. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    An utter and complete disappointment. Napoleon TW just like Empire TW did not offer any new ideas or real improvements compared to its predecessors. I liked both Rome and Medieval II a lot better. Napoleon feels like very much like a scenario DLC for Empire TW, which I also did not really enjoy that much. Somehow Napoleon manages to actually oversimplify important aspects of the game andAn utter and complete disappointment. Napoleon TW just like Empire TW did not offer any new ideas or real improvements compared to its predecessors. I liked both Rome and Medieval II a lot better. Napoleon feels like very much like a scenario DLC for Empire TW, which I also did not really enjoy that much. Somehow Napoleon manages to actually oversimplify important aspects of the game and unnecessarily complicate requiring some tedious and annoying micro management. I will keep playing Medieval 2 instead. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    2
    Napoleon: Total War is in my opinion the worst game in the entire franchise. In fact, it's worse than the Napoleon mod, made for M:TW 1. The truth is, this game shares many problems with E:TW. The difference being that I was willing to forgive that game somewhat because it had just come out, had a lot of new features and had some promise. This game though? They have no excuse.

    What we
    Napoleon: Total War is in my opinion the worst game in the entire franchise. In fact, it's worse than the Napoleon mod, made for M:TW 1. The truth is, this game shares many problems with E:TW. The difference being that I was willing to forgive that game somewhat because it had just come out, had a lot of new features and had some promise. This game though? They have no excuse.

    What we have in this game is the worst unit AI I have seen. I can't believe it is still so broken from E:TW. Units will never fire at their side, even if a unit is standing on the side pouring shot into them. When you order a unit to move, it will often just walk in front of your own lines and then walk next to the enemy, the path finging is horrible. And, to make matters even stupider, your other units will NEVER attempt to avoid friendly fire. Working your cannon and a full is crossing your path? Why, you just shoot through them of course! Who cares if you kill 40 odd people, it was there fault for walking in front of you. God knows you couldn't possibly stop loading, aiming and shooting your gun for a brief few seconds while they walk past. This isn't just limited to the cannons either, your men are perfectly happen to shoot friendly units. If one of your other units slightly overlaps them, they won't have some men not fire, they won't position themselves between the other people. They will just happily blast all their friends. Another failure in the AI, and this is one I am totally fed up of seeing, having been in the game since M:TW 2 and is still in the latest Shogun game. That is, Cavalry are almost totally incapable of chasing down routing units. They will charge up to the fleeing unit, charge past them, and then very slowly walk in the same direction as them, only interacting with the enemy if they happen to bump into them. I've seen hundreds of people escape purely because my mounted units are totally incapable of getting it into their artificial heads that they can actually DO SOMETHING! You don't have to slowly walk after 1 person who is running when 100 people from the same unit RUN PAST YOU!

    This absolute failure of the unit AI (There are many more ways they fail other than the examples I listed) in my opinion totally ruins any chance this game had. Every single little detail in a battle has to be micromanaged because the developers clearly can't be bothered to put effort into this game

    As for the other aspects of the game, what do you get? You get some micro campaigns, massively dumbed down from Empire, so they end up as stupidly simple little things compared to previous expansions. The graphics are normally a strong point for these games, but I think this game suffers along with Empire. Units will turn into sprites when you zoom out a bit, but sprites and 3D units seriously don't mix, making it look horrible. All bullets fired by people are still mini meteors with a blazing white trail behind them. Rain is just hideous, and turning graphics to the top just makes everything look shiny and bloom-tastic.

    I hate to say it, but this game is really bad. Don't waste your money or the 25GB of HD space it needlessly takes up
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    4
    Having played most of the TW games each for many, many hours this is my least favourite. The campaign maps are mostly land and pretty boring if you liked the naval elements of Empire. Although the graphics and effects are a step up from Empire, some gameplay elements have been removed, namely the fire-by-rank ability, which I found to be ridiculous and the main reason why I will neverHaving played most of the TW games each for many, many hours this is my least favourite. The campaign maps are mostly land and pretty boring if you liked the naval elements of Empire. Although the graphics and effects are a step up from Empire, some gameplay elements have been removed, namely the fire-by-rank ability, which I found to be ridiculous and the main reason why I will never play this game again. If you are new to this franchise leave this one alone, get Empire or Shogun 2. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    0
    Does not launch and the support refuse to do anything or bring money back. Typical fraund.
    Does not launch and the support refuse to do anything or bring money back. Typical fraund.
  8. Jun 9, 2014
    3
    Dissapointed small maps, worse animations then empire total war, poor and short campaign, and just very poor to be a CA game and the units r way too similar

    just a bad remake of empire total war
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Napoleon Total War is a great RTS game, an incredible homage to the real french emperor. With great gameplay, and several game modes for single player and multiplayer, it's a great addition to the series. But it relies heavily on the basics of Empire Total War, so it feels a bit held back due to the lack of real improvements.
  2. Not brave or bright enough to wow Total War veterans, but the battles and improved multiplayer save the day. [Mar 2010, p.80]
  3. 89
    Napoleon is an enjoyable addition to the Total War franchise but it's not as a big a game changer as previous sequels. While Napoleon and his armies were probably every bit as terrifying as Mongols, Vikings or Barbarians, the scope of this sequel is a bit more limited.