• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Napoleon: Total War defines a new standard within the genre with exciting characters and a cinematic narrative, mind-blowing battle sequences and an unrivalled mix of turn-based and real-time strategy. Take command and lead your armies on land and sea over three campaigns: Italy, Egypt and Mastery of Europe. The seamless mix of objective-based missions and sandbox experience makes this the most complete Total War experience to date. Napoleon features fully integrated multiplayer modes and a complete set of online functionalities: Steam achievements, gameplay bonuses, uniform editor and voice communications. Advanced weaponry enables new tactical options and even more exciting real-time battles on an epic scale, while the highly detailed environments and improved battlefield buildings guarantee a realistic recreation of famous historical battles. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. 93
    The cannon may be the final argument of kings. But the Total War series is undoubtedly the king of the real time strategy genre - and Napoleon: Total War could very well be Creative Assembly’s crowning jewel.
  2. Napoleon: Total War doesn't redefine Total War but that was never its intention. The bottom line is that Napoleon: Total War is a must have for all who like those dashing battles of the 19th century.
  3. SEGA made good use of the experience made with Empire to improve its RTS formula, resulting in a more effective gameplay. Although Napoleon: Total War has its shortcomings – even with the AI – it still manages to keep the player involved throughout, thanks to its thoroughness and rather accurate historical setting.
  4. But if you’re willing to accept them, along with the awful AI and the linearity – the most controversial two aspects of NTW – then you’ll probably accept this game as a sequel worthy of the series’ reputation and a proper mise-en-scene for France’s closest call when it came to winning wars.
  5. Hardcore Total War completists are unlikely to be disappointed. [Apr 2010, p.128]
  6. Open a fine wine, break out the stinky cheese, and dig deep into this rewarding and challenging game.
  7. 40
    While the strategic level is an admirable attempt at something halfway between the elegance of Civilization and the historical specificity of Europa Universalis, it doesn't have the benefit of letting a human player take over. Here, once again, the game falls apart when it breaks out of the strict scripting of the story-based missions.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    This in my opinion is the best of all games in the Total War Do not have a variety of units as large as those of Rome and Empire, yet it has very different variations. The combat animations are excellent and exciting during a fight you feel inside the scenario, the action, the bangs, the shots, it's just exciting, not to mention the presence of epic Napoleon Bonaparte. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    This game is Empire total war on cocaine. They pretty much took that game and made it a lot better

    sadohaskidghaskigdaisgdsdhgjshdgjahgdjsadhgasjhgdjasgdjhasgdjhasgdjhasgdjhsagdjshagdjhsagdjhasdhgasjhasdgas
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game was pretty good on launch and definitely a lot better than Empire Total War was. I really enjoyed this game. A lot of new units with the new feature where units automatically gain back their losses through replacements when in friendly territory was a definite plus. It cut out the micro management of having to select all units in a stack and click the replenishment plus button or actually moving them back to a city to retrain them like in older titles. Plenty of good things to say about vanilla Napoleon Total War, but I can not leave out the modders who have done an outstanding job of providing endless replay ability with new mods still coming out today. This is a win win for any total war fan, so definitely pick up this copy and enjoy for yrs to come. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    the game has a lot of improvement since empire but i felt it that even with these improvements that empire total war was significantly better on the fact that the campaign was so much more extensive nonetheless i feel it is a considerable contribution to the total war series. the biggest leap total war has taken was that of medieval 2 to empire and i wish to see more gigantic leaps like that in the future. no matter what happens though i will definitely forever be a fan of the total war franchise because they in my opinion are the only true strategy game in the world and i do not say those word lightly Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Napoleon Total War is good game, that's for sure. Graphically, game is superb. Explosions are beautiful and soldiers are fairly detailed (at least better than how Empire total war was), but that means you won't be able to see what Napoleon total war has to offer if your PC is not good, so keep that in mind. Napoleon total war is pretty similar to its predecessor Empire total war, but adding more features into game, such as cold/heat attrition makes invasion more challenging and stronger rebel forces requires you to put more attention toward town management. Also, this game have overall better multiplayer experience than its predecessor. However, game's scope is only limited to Europe; don't get me wrong since it is still wide, but it feels narrow because its predecessor had very large scope, stretching from America to India. Also, game is very heavily focused in five factions Britain, France, Austria, Prussia and Russia. Each have unique tactic and unique units, but when it comes to more "minor" faction, such as Portugal, Spain, Denmark and Sweden, it is very lacking. First, you can't play them in campaign, and second, their units are standard. I hope there were more depth into each factions, not for all but at least faction you can play in custom battle. Although it is better than Empire total war since it had exactly same looking unit with just minor differences in stats. However, this game is more fast paced for better multiplay experience, so line infantry and cannons in this game have phenomenal reloading speed. It's minor issue if you just want to enjoy the game, but hardcore historians may feel offended by this. So, game is pretty good, but I can't help but feel this game is standalone expansion pack of Empire total war. If you are more singleplayer-centric gamer, you may want to pass this one since it's not that different from Empire total war. However, if you just want to break free from bugs of Empire total war, want to pursue Napoleon's ambition, or just want to jump into wonders of total war franchise, this is game for you. Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2012
    7
    I believe that this game delivers what it intends to. I love the tota-war franchise and the gameplay style. The Napoleon theme also enriches the game a lot. Would give it more if not for the lack of improvements from Empire. Also some buggy features, overall a good game. Buy it if you find it at a decent price. The development team needs your support, not fanboysm. Not a full price. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    1
    Napoleon: Total War is in my opinion the worst game in the entire franchise. In fact, it's worse than the Napoleon mod, made for M:TW 1. The truth is, this game shares many problems with E:TW. The difference being that I was willing to forgive that game somewhat because it had just come out, had a lot of new features and had some promise. This game though? They have no excuse.

    What we have in this game is the worst unit AI I have seen. I can't believe it is still so broken from E:TW. Units will never fire at their side, even if a unit is standing on the side pouring shot into them. When you order a unit to move, it will often just walk in front of your own lines and then walk next to the enemy, the path finging is horrible. And, to make matters even stupider, your other units will NEVER attempt to avoid friendly fire. Working your cannon and a full is crossing your path? Why, you just shoot through them of course! Who cares if you kill 40 odd people, it was there fault for walking in front of you. God knows you couldn't possibly stop loading, aiming and shooting your gun for a brief few seconds while they walk past. This isn't just limited to the cannons either, your men are perfectly happen to shoot friendly units. If one of your other units slightly overlaps them, they won't have some men not fire, they won't position themselves between the other people. They will just happily blast all their friends. Another failure in the AI, and this is one I am totally fed up of seeing, having been in the game since M:TW 2 and is still in the latest Shogun game. That is, Cavalry are almost totally incapable of chasing down routing units. They will charge up to the fleeing unit, charge past them, and then very slowly walk in the same direction as them, only interacting with the enemy if they happen to bump into them. I've seen hundreds of people escape purely because my mounted units are totally incapable of getting it into their artificial heads that they can actually DO SOMETHING! You don't have to slowly walk after 1 person who is running when 100 people from the same unit RUN PAST YOU!

    This absolute failure of the unit AI (There are many more ways they fail other than the examples I listed) in my opinion totally ruins any chance this game had. Every single little detail in a battle has to be micromanaged because the developers clearly can't be bothered to put effort into this game

    As for the other aspects of the game, what do you get? You get some micro campaigns, massively dumbed down from Empire, so they end up as stupidly simple little things compared to previous expansions. The graphics are normally a strong point for these games, but I think this game suffers along with Empire. Units will turn into sprites when you zoom out a bit, but sprites and 3D units seriously don't mix, making it look horrible. All bullets fired by people are still mini meteors with a blazing white trail behind them. Rain is just hideous, and turning graphics to the top just makes everything look shiny and bloom-tastic.

    I hate to say it, but this game is really bad. Don't waste your money or the 25GB of HD space it needlessly takes up
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews