Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 601 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Natural Selection 2 is a revamped version of the Half-Life mod that will be available through Steam as a stand-alone purchase.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    91
    Natural Selection 2 is one of the best FPS online of the last years. It blends FPS and RTS perfectly. Buy it.
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    Tightly designed version of the eternal struggle, aliens versus space marines. Maps make it too easy to lose one's bearings and biting/hitting a marine could use some visible feedback.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Natural Selection 2 isn't great only because it's different, but because it does asymmetrical multiplayer so damn well, offering up a variety of experiences in one small game.
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    80
    Natural Selection 2 has quite a few things to be nitpicky about. Pared down strategy elements, scanty arsenal of weapons, lack of single-player missions and decent tutorials – yep, it's all there, but, in contrast to shooters that come off big assembly lines, the developers put love and effort into making of this game.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    80
    In keeping with its title, the steep learning curve is a form of natural selection of its own. If you're not willing or able to drop the badass space-marine demeanor you have been conditioned to adopt by other titles, you'll regularly play a huge part in the downfall of your team. At the same, it's a hugely satisfying experience to act as a well functioning military unit or monstrous collective. I'm sure this form of intergalactic Darwinism will continue to thrive in its own little biotope.
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    Natural Selection 2 offers a promising combination of strategy and first-person shooting, but disappointing execution holds it back. [Editor's Note: this quotation and score are from the original GameSpot review. Metacritic, per long-standing site policy, only accepts a publication's first review/score for a given game.]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 220
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Based on a 10 year old Half-Life 1 mod, the developers set out to create a standalone sequel, company, and their own engine (The Spark Engine)Based on a 10 year old Half-Life 1 mod, the developers set out to create a standalone sequel, company, and their own engine (The Spark Engine) to one of the most popular Mods ever created. No small feat. What they have accomplished has been nothing short of incredible. Not only is the game more fun and more accessible to new players than the first game was, but their source code & tools come with the game, so ANYONE can make their own mods in a simple scripting language called Lua. Teamplay is encouraged by the game mechanics themselves, which forces players to play together, encouraging a friendly vibrant community. With the community's backing, the amazing game and technology you get for such a low price, this might just make NS2 one of the most important games of recent times. Not just for how amazingly fun the actual gameplay is, but for what it could mean for Modders and total conversions in the future. This game might just spawn the next Dota. A truly spectacular achievement for such a small company. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    This game was/is created by the community. It is a complex, but rewarding game. The learning curve is steep, but worth it. The game is openThis game was/is created by the community. It is a complex, but rewarding game. The learning curve is steep, but worth it. The game is open source as well, meaning you can do whatever you want (modding wise). There are consistency checks when you log into a server, so there are not hackers all over the place. 95% of the people I have talked, and played with are very helpful, and would take the time to explain any questions to a new player. I can't write enough about how the game plays, feels, looks, because it has to be seen/experienced for yourself.

    I gave this a perfect score because even now, post-release the developers are improving the game play, the maps, the art, the load times, and putting new things into the game (more buildings, more abilities)
    Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    When I log into Steam, it's to play this game! An amazing blend of FPS with RTS, in which you face off as aliens or marines. I've played otherWhen I log into Steam, it's to play this game! An amazing blend of FPS with RTS, in which you face off as aliens or marines. I've played other multi-player FPS and they just don't keep me coming back for more the way NS2 does. Also, the developers (www.unknownworlds.com) continue to push out patches and new content for free! Also, the developers are very involved with the community and keep them well informed on the game and their efforts. The game is also highly mod-able and the developers promote modding. It used to have a steep learning curve, but the developers have since made the new player experience much better and recently included significantly better tutorials. This one is definitely worth checking out! Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Incredible fun with friends of solo. Had not heard of this before but was amazed by the quality of the game. Huge fun, atmospheric and ifIncredible fun with friends of solo. Had not heard of this before but was amazed by the quality of the game. Huge fun, atmospheric and if played in the dark at night can even be creepy when you hear enemy aliens crawling through the vents around you.

    The game has depth and real substance to the gameplay, and team work is absolutely essential. For the commander, it is like playing a slow paced but deeply tactical Star Craft where your marines and units are real people with differing levels of skill.

    at 18 quid on steam this game is an absolute steal - buy it, get your friends to buy it, and enjoy!
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Great game. I play the NS1 and it was a great game and the squeal is better. It's very balance game. The developers team said that more mapsGreat game. I play the NS1 and it was a great game and the squeal is better. It's very balance game. The developers team said that more maps are comming. I would like my friends play too. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Buy this game if you like:

    - Natural Selection 1
    - Nuclear Dawn
    - Savage series
    - Left 4 Dead series
    - Alien vs Predator series
    - Gloom(Quake 2)
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2014
    0
    Any game that doesn't even start gets a zero in my book, because that is how much fun I got out of it. I feel bad for the guy who gifted it toAny game that doesn't even start gets a zero in my book, because that is how much fun I got out of it. I feel bad for the guy who gifted it to me, but I'm glad I didn't pay for it. Expand

See all 220 User Reviews