Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    91
    This is one of the best sports games of all time, even better than the predecessor. Improvements like the new physics make the game even more authentic than before.
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    90
    NBA 2K12 is a true act of love for basketball: a fun game with great audio and graphic, and with several gameplay's improvements. Higly recommended.
  3. Oct 8, 2011
    85
    NBA 2K12 retains its crown as the best basketball franchise by offering a number of worthwhile improvements across the board.
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    84
    2K's NBA is still the best sports simulator out there.
  5. 80
    Its visuals are perfect, controls are friendly and historical matches are fun. [Nov 2011]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    0
    This game is garbage....if you want to play the career mode (My player), avoid it at all costs since you'll just get frustrated. Its scripted, game wins/loses are scripted and there's nothing you as a player can do about it, no matter how well you play. Blocks are scripted, meaning that once you block someone or get blocked, you cant do anything until the blocked player does a 180 around the blocker. Shots are absolutely horrid, there's no sense of control over the player (on average you'll be missing 4-5 out of 10 every time, no matter where you shoot from). Too bad there's no alternative basketball games out there. Guess it makes sense that this game is garbage, lack of competition. I'd give it a -10 if there was such a score. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    The best sport simulator to date.Good game play changes. Very nice feature like training camp,very useful to learn special movements.But strange blacktop and bad online stability spoils the impression. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2012
    1
    This game looks so fun, and i think it's a great game... for console... this game is **** for pc, and i utterly regret buying it. no game have ever been more frustrating to me. even if you really try to learn some of the moves that you can do, you go in the training camp mode, and they even show you how to do it... on a ****ing ps3 controller! what the hell am i supposed to use that for? also blocking people seem to be near impossible and i still, after around 4 hours of gaming, haven't for the life of me figured out how to dunk... whenever i run up to the net press the buttons that should make me dunk, my player for some reason stops up instead, and holds on to the ball, making me end up hoping to win on 3-pointers. so as a result, this game is one of the worst games i have ever played on pc, and i think if you make a game that is so obviously meant for consoles... do not sell it for pc, or at least have a big fat warning sign when you buy it... Full Review »