NBA 2K14 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K13 was a monstrous release for the world's #1 NBA video game franchise, with more than 38 Sports Game of the Year and "Best Of" mentions. NBA 2K14 will raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
NBA 2K14 - Developer Diary: Pro Stick Controls
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 11, 2014
    84
    NBA 2K14 is generally speaking excellent, but you get a feeling that major improvements are being saved over to NBA 2K15. [Nov 2013]
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    80
    But that aside, NBA 2K14 continues to do the main things right when it comes to a basketball game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 47
  2. Negative: 29 out of 47
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Better game than last year, But was hoping for a little more. For $30 it's a good buy. Would have glady paid $60 for a few more featuresBetter game than last year, But was hoping for a little more. For $30 it's a good buy. Would have glady paid $60 for a few more features though.
    8.5 I rated 10 because too many people gave this a 0 rating,
    Come on people let's be fair. It's the best basketball game on the market.
    I challenge anyone to name a better B-Ball game than 2K14.

    Can't wait for NBA 2K15.
    Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2015
    8
    Seeing as how there aren't too many sports games left for PC gamers, the fact that '2K Sports' continues to put out anything is refreshing, toSeeing as how there aren't too many sports games left for PC gamers, the fact that '2K Sports' continues to put out anything is refreshing, to say the least. Remember when you could play any sports game that you wanted to on your computer? Yeah well, I can't hardly remember those days either. What the hell happened there? Oh well, anyway, I'm sure this release is an awful lot like the previous year's release, but I don't own that version so here's a review for 2014. This game is great. It's as simple as that. And no, not because Lebron James is on the cover. That's just an added bonus. No, this is simply the best basketball game ever made...to date. I mean, what else do I need to say? Do you like basketball? You do? Do you like video games? You do? Shocking. Then this is a no-brainer. Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2014
    7
    The last basketball game for me to play was NBA Live '03, and the last one before that was NBA Live '98. I have very fond memories of them,The last basketball game for me to play was NBA Live '03, and the last one before that was NBA Live '98. I have very fond memories of them, particularly '98. I heard that the NBA Live series suck nowadays, so i decided to check out the 2K series.

    While it doesn't have the magic of the old games, it's still pretty good. It's challenging without being frustrating, the commentary and soundtrack and game modes are all good as well.

    However, being that we're in 2014, i did expect better graphics than this. They're not awful; still, something quite better could've been accomplished.

    It's entertaining enough. And it will be more so with a gamepad. Playing this with a mouse and keyboard will be limiting.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    3
    Only slightly better than 2k13. Once again most online features are stripped away from the PC version in exchange for a $20 lower price. TheOnly slightly better than 2k13. Once again most online features are stripped away from the PC version in exchange for a $20 lower price. The feature "StatsTM" they (2k sports) bragged about for so long before the release isn't working, they also bragged about adding "more than 3000 new animations" for player movement/interaction, but there don't seem to be more than 30, if that many.

    Many of the bugs/glitches/gameplay issues from last year are still in the game. A few have been fixed but some are even worse now. MyCareer/MyPlayer mode is 99% the same as in 2k13- all the bad stuff has been carefully preserved and nothing new has been added so if you intend to spend your time mainly in this mode- save yourself the money and the frustration.

    The only saving grace this game possesses is that Live2014 was such an epic fail that it basically solidified 2k's monopoly over the NBA simulators market and as NBA 2k14 proves- having a monopoly is good for the company, bad for the product and customers. 2k proudly following in the footsteps of the former Sports Sim kings of EA Sports who they dethroned. Irony.
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    1
    Worst game in all NBA 2k. No improvements in graphics and physics of models since last year. Worst gameplay: AI is stupid, but when you levelWorst game in all NBA 2k. No improvements in graphics and physics of models since last year. Worst gameplay: AI is stupid, but when you level up the difficulty, it shows really incredible situations: during money time your opponents with rating of 65 or 70 score 3 points in 80% situations or make a steal easily from LeBron or other star player and win the game, their speed become insane for some moments, they knows your actions before you release the buttons, and many many many other silly things which make the game imbalanced. Music and sound is OK, but nothing great. This game isn't good anymore, totally waste of time facing annoying gameplay. Expand
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    1
    Okay, so I have to do a review because never has PC been treated so poorly. The PC version of this game is horrible. And I'm pretty sure thatOkay, so I have to do a review because never has PC been treated so poorly. The PC version of this game is horrible. And I'm pretty sure that it was intentional, simply because they want people to think the next-gen consoles are more powerful than they are, as well as cause they want people to have to buy the next gen consoles. This game not only is ugly as hell compared to the next gen versions, but it's not even as good in gameplay or game mods. It's horrible, and I honestly am ashamed that this could even happen. PC is the most powerful platform and they made the game with one, but some how try and say that "Most people wouldn't be able to run it" I mean I think that was EA's excuse for not having ignite on FIFA 14, but it probably apply's here too. The my career mode is horrible. It felt like playing Smackdown vs Raw back in 2006 or something cause the dialog is the same every time, and it has no consequences. It's **** and I hope that no one buys it. This is one game I hope you torrent first, cause it's not worth the money, they don't deserve it AT ALL. Expand
  7. May 7, 2014
    0
    Horrible horrible horrible game, built for frustration and not much fun to be had. The controls are abysmal, they are on the level of theHorrible horrible horrible game, built for frustration and not much fun to be had. The controls are abysmal, they are on the level of the worst play controls for any game I've ever played. Trying to control your players is like trying to control someone with a 2 second reaction time on the slickest of ice. Nothing makes intuitive sense in this game AT ALL. From the times you will press the pass button and instead of passing to the most obvious wide open player in front of you, it throws it across the court to a guy in double coverage, to the times when your guy is tripping over his own feet for 3+ seconds while you are unable to pass it to the painfully wide open guy - this game is just awful.

    Running a play from the play book is comical, good luck trying to execute any of that in a timely fashion. The game doesn't even feel finished - and it's like the 10th incarnation of this trash so there's absolutely zero excuse.

    The MyCareer mode is a complete joke. Playing offense is atrocious enough with your completely gimped player, but defense is just beyond believable. How do people put up with this **** I guess I forget the demographic that typically gets sold on this game hasn't necessarily seen a good game before to know how comparitively awful of an experience this game provides compared to even the most mediocre of games out there. I played perfect defense (which is hard enough to do in a game that provides no good way to defend a ball handler) and was up in a guys face the whole time, all the way until the point where I'm directly on him and jumping up to block his shot, perfectly right in front of his face. Shot cock violation. Do I get "team points" for forcing the violation? Nah. But what do I see as the screen refreshes and the ball is being inbounded? Yep - I lost team points for "Bad shot block attempt" ARE YOU KIDDING ME??

    If you have any self respect at all, don't throw your money at this sorry excuse for a game. Even getting it on sale for 7 bucks was not worth it in the slightest. These game devs must be laughing all the way to the bank with this trash, it's even worse than Madden if you could believe it.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews