Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: NBA 2K13 was a monstrous release for the world's #1 NBA video game franchise, with more than 38 Sports Game of the Year and "Best Of" mentions. NBA 2K14 will raise the bar yet again, providing the best basketball gaming experience for legions of sports fans and gamers around the world.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    84
    NBA 2K14 is generally speaking excellent, but you get a feeling that major improvements are being saved over to NBA 2K15. [Nov 2013]
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    80
    But that aside, NBA 2K14 continues to do the main things right when it comes to a basketball game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 40
  2. Negative: 27 out of 40
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Better game than last year, But was hoping for a little more. For $30 it's a good buy. Would have glady paid $60 for a few more features though.
    8.5 I rated 10 because too many people gave this a 0 rating,
    Come on people let's be fair. It's the best basketball game on the market.
    I challenge anyone to name a better B-Ball game than 2K14.

    Can't wait for NBA 2K15.
    Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    8
    This is the first basketball game I've played since probably NBA Shootout on the PS1, so I'm not gonna complain about the lack of updates from last season. I really enjoyed 2K14, for the most part. The gameplay is pretty smooth once you get the hang of it, and MyCareer mode is a lot of fun. Here's the thing, though. I pretty much had to hack my stats using a cheat program to get any enjoyment out of this. If I didn't, my player would start off his rookie season unable to dunk and regularly missing wide open layups. I understand that they want to make this kinda RPG-like in that you level up your character as you play, but in the NBA, a guard who was regularly clanking layups and couldn't shoot from past 10 feet wouldn't even get past training camp. Once I rigged my stats, though, things were a lot beter. The other thing is that your coach's AI is absolute crap. You could be singlehandedly bringing your team back in the 4th quarter, and all of the sudden you'll get pulled from the game for the final four minutes. WTF is that? Well, those are all somewhat significant annoyances, but to me, they really don't outweigh what this game does right, which is making it feel a heck of a lot like you're leading an NBA team. I give it 8 out of 10. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    6
    I PLAY THIS WITH AN XBOX CONTROLLER:

    Get ready to learn some new controls because that's precisely what your first few hours into this game
    is going to be, and they aren't even that good. Basically the first problem you will find in this title is the fact that the pro stick and the shooting stick are basically read at the same time, so in other words when you want to shoot you will do some kind of move, but when you want to spin or eurostep into the paint, the player will just stupidly shoot over the head of the defender. that's right, if you push the right stick to the right or left, it's still read as a shot, and the player will shoot regardless. You can't even remove or create the button layout from 2k13 (b,b spin, b,x hopstep, x,x eurostep, etc.) The game's not all bad, but you can tell right off the bat that the focus for 2K was for the games that will be releasing for the next gen consoles, as there really is nothing new here. MYPlayer has a glamorous new menu screen and the simming is quicker to help get you back on the court, so that's a plus for those MyPlayer gamers out there. Also when you are subbed in, you can now see a sit rep of the person you will be matched up against, his ratings in specific areas (inside scoring, outside scoring, post D, perimeter D, etc.) as well as stats he has on you currently in the game. This is a nice new sight so you aren't just walking in blind anymore. You can now block dunks and easily get rid of those pesky point guards who try to show boat in the paint, so enjoy. This goes to another problem though, the ball. The ball is the strangest thing in the game, it bounces weird, and can virtually be bounced around a defender on a pass. The ball just doesn't look right, especially on passes. AI is still pretty shotty, as they will at times lock down your guys and other times just let you disrespect them with little to no resistance. Word of warning, you plan on getting the next gen games, just wait for 2k14 on that. If you're not, I would say you have about a 60% chance of liking it. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    3
    Only slightly better than 2k13. Once again most online features are stripped away from the PC version in exchange for a $20 lower price. The feature "StatsTM" they (2k sports) bragged about for so long before the release isn't working, they also bragged about adding "more than 3000 new animations" for player movement/interaction, but there don't seem to be more than 30, if that many.

    Many of the bugs/glitches/gameplay issues from last year are still in the game. A few have been fixed but some are even worse now. MyCareer/MyPlayer mode is 99% the same as in 2k13- all the bad stuff has been carefully preserved and nothing new has been added so if you intend to spend your time mainly in this mode- save yourself the money and the frustration.

    The only saving grace this game possesses is that Live2014 was such an epic fail that it basically solidified 2k's monopoly over the NBA simulators market and as NBA 2k14 proves- having a monopoly is good for the company, bad for the product and customers. 2k proudly following in the footsteps of the former Sports Sim kings of EA Sports who they dethroned. Irony.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    1
    Purely a roster update, and no fixes from last year's bugs. Please don't give 2K your money, they don't deserve it. No texture updates, game looks like it is from the beginning of this generation instead of at the end. My Player mode yet again pits you against people who are on average 10 or more points overall better than you, the game will dock you points for your teammate mistakes. This game is closer to NBA Jam than the NBA. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2013
    1
    What an utter waste of money. The game is nothing you couldn't have gotten from an older variant and does nothing to really impress you. I can't help but feel I wasted both my time and money on this. Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2013
    0
    unfortunately I bought this game at Steam. I played so much the NBA 2k12, but the 2K14 is worst!
    First, the game just open when I set to "XP
    compatibility" and click on exe manually.

    The graphics is horrible, the gameplay is outdate....
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews