User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 18 out of 29
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanMajerle
    Oct 7, 2006
    0
    Did Bill F. and Mike C. below even play this game? "A new high?" I hope you're being sarcastic. "Fun as hell?" Literally, I'm sure. As in "This game is as fun as being set to fire by demons." The game is so buggy that you'll get frustrated up to the point of writing a bad review on some website. The guys below already said it: Don't buy Live 07. Get 2K7 or pray for 08,Did Bill F. and Mike C. below even play this game? "A new high?" I hope you're being sarcastic. "Fun as hell?" Literally, I'm sure. As in "This game is as fun as being set to fire by demons." The game is so buggy that you'll get frustrated up to the point of writing a bad review on some website. The guys below already said it: Don't buy Live 07. Get 2K7 or pray for 08, because this franchise can use some devine intervention. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Oct 1, 2006
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! The game crashes on almost every occassion and there are numerous bugs within the game which can blow your mind, leaving you to wonder how did EA ever even let this game out in the stores. Its impossible to play the game without constant anger and dissappointment. Obviously they never did any kind of testing, and you can tell they have no respect whatsoever to their DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! The game crashes on almost every occassion and there are numerous bugs within the game which can blow your mind, leaving you to wonder how did EA ever even let this game out in the stores. Its impossible to play the game without constant anger and dissappointment. Obviously they never did any kind of testing, and you can tell they have no respect whatsoever to their customers. It is said that there will be a bug fix, but whatever they come up with, EA cannot be trusted any more. They have lost their touch and also their customers who has been loyal to them. It seems each year NBA LIVE is getting worse, and this years version is by far the worst of them all. For years and years EA has done nothing to listen to their customers and finally have totally let them down. Again, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! There is no hope, NBA LIVE is just not worth it anymore. SAVE YOUR BUCKS! Expand
  3. LawrenceP.
    Oct 4, 2006
    0
    What a waste, EA Sports just doesn't care!
  4. RazvanT.
    Mar 2, 2007
    0
    Bad game, bad, bad game ... it's the nba that takes the series down.It's horible ... do not, under no circumstances buy this game !
  5. JasonC.
    Nov 6, 2006
    0
    Can't play dynasty mode because after any game played, the game crashes. So, this game is worthless basically. Point guards ran by the computer shoot 80% of their teams shots...pathetic...this game is the worst release of a game I have ever witnessed as a consumer.
  6. AnthonyG.
    Dec 2, 2006
    2
    I have to agree with the negative guys on this one. It gets 2 from me for being able to change Freestyle superstars on the fly and for the added depth in dynasty mode; but its hard to put up with Point guards scoring far too easily, characters not so much skidding but actually freezing on court, the constant rebounding problem which EA seem to refuse to fix and the now lessened camera I have to agree with the negative guys on this one. It gets 2 from me for being able to change Freestyle superstars on the fly and for the added depth in dynasty mode; but its hard to put up with Point guards scoring far too easily, characters not so much skidding but actually freezing on court, the constant rebounding problem which EA seem to refuse to fix and the now lessened camera angles to choose from.. Even with the patch the game doesn't feel great. I also give the opinion that this isnt worth the money this year and i will be taking my copy back for a refund. Its sad to see how lttile attention to detail that there is in this years version of the series. Poor form EA. Expand
  7. JeffH.
    Oct 6, 2006
    0
    There's a reason that the big fansites have held a petition to call EA to order. Don't buy this game before it gets patched (properly). It's the worst Live ever.
  8. B.MacBryce
    Sep 29, 2006
    4
    Nobody would play this if the NBA license wasn't there. It doesn't even remotely resemble real-life basketball and the gameplay is as buggy as ever. I hate the way Live's animations dominate the game and take me away from the in-game decision making. They should try to make a real basketbal sim with less impressive visuals first before focusing on irrelevant things like Nobody would play this if the NBA license wasn't there. It doesn't even remotely resemble real-life basketball and the gameplay is as buggy as ever. I hate the way Live's animations dominate the game and take me away from the in-game decision making. They should try to make a real basketbal sim with less impressive visuals first before focusing on irrelevant things like superstar-specific eyecandy moves. Expand
  9. AlexK.
    Jul 11, 2007
    3
    This game is not at its best especially from last year. When i exit dynasty mode it never did save, it's useless because thats the first thing i go to.
  10. BobH.
    Dec 21, 2007
    0
    Game play is adequate if not buggy at times. The interface and underlying data management is very poor, they've broken some golden rules by shipping (and never fixing) software that is basically broken.
  11. CameronV.
    Dec 21, 2007
    0
    What is with this game!? It's got bugs! I thought software you buy was supposed to work! They never patched it.
  12. DavidW.
    Dec 13, 2007
    0
    I read these reviews but thought "it's a game right? They can't be serious about the crashing? Surely EA would have patched the game almost immediately?". Well I have been disabused of my baseless faith in the games/software industry. It's now almost 2008, I bought the game a month ago, and the patch that everyone has been screaming for has never come. I would almost go as I read these reviews but thought "it's a game right? They can't be serious about the crashing? Surely EA would have patched the game almost immediately?". Well I have been disabused of my baseless faith in the games/software industry. It's now almost 2008, I bought the game a month ago, and the patch that everyone has been screaming for has never come. I would almost go as far as saying that this game is a fraud. Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. If you're desperate to dunk on a desktop, a patched version of Live 07 likely won't offend your senses to the core, but you can do better on just about any other platform.
  2. PC Zone UK
    70
    It's still one of the best basketball sims available, just don't expect much beyond recycled goods. [Dec 2006, p.85]
  3. A severe disappointment to fans of the genre. While EA has added many of the features that were missing from last year’s offering, there are still too many issues that need to be ironed out, including the animations, the flow, the online gameplay, and the challenge.