User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SjaakB.
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    The best.
  2. ManvirS.
    Nov 10, 2004
    6
    Graphics are not as i expected them to be. Simulation in dynasty mode is slow. Managing team is a lot more comlicated.
  3. DoronF.
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    This is good game, the best game that EA ever published. walla this game is sugar.
  4. Nicolo
    Jan 23, 2005
    7
    Wow.
  5. JohnB.
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Compared my PC copy of this game with my friend's PS2 copy and I'm amazed at how good the graphics look on PC. That coupled with the Dunk Contest and Dynasty make this a must have!!
  6. MartijnV.
    Nov 21, 2004
    8
    First I tought the Graphics look worse that 2004's but when I played a bit longer it looked better and better. I don't like that PDA thing in the Dynasty mode, but this title has overal improved very well witch makes it a good game. And the Slam Dunk Contest is ofcourse a real good addition.
  7. GiandeG.
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Recalling the need to revamp the 2001 "realism" and the 2003 "gameplay", this new EA addon definitely provides a cure for the sickness. with nba live 2k5, u get a dose of realism (u must see to believe the ten man motion capture and defensive spacing), and the suave' moves that would incite a continiuous Dynasty mode. This is it, the best basketball game made for the gamer.. Thank you EA.
  8. Golo
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    Best basketball game i have ever played.. details controls and most importantly.. gameplay.. are as precise as i have ever seen on a basketball game... i'm more amazed how good of a basketball game this is each time i play it and see something new.... solid game in every sense! highly recommend.. the ps2 version is horrible compared to the PC version.. thats a nish nish.. i guess us Best basketball game i have ever played.. details controls and most importantly.. gameplay.. are as precise as i have ever seen on a basketball game... i'm more amazed how good of a basketball game this is each time i play it and see something new.... solid game in every sense! highly recommend.. the ps2 version is horrible compared to the PC version.. thats a nish nish.. i guess us PC gamers lucke out for this one... respek. Expand
  9. BjS.
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    The EA Sports Freestyle Control continues to revolutionize your ability to play simulation basketball?and, now more than ever, it's about expressing your game in flight with Freestyle Air. In addition to all-new dunks, alley-oops, and adjustable jump shots in mid-air, new user-controlled put-back and tip-in technologies reward players who box out, wipe the glass, and go back up for a The EA Sports Freestyle Control continues to revolutionize your ability to play simulation basketball?and, now more than ever, it's about expressing your game in flight with Freestyle Air. In addition to all-new dunks, alley-oops, and adjustable jump shots in mid-air, new user-controlled put-back and tip-in technologies reward players who box out, wipe the glass, and go back up for a quick bucket. On defense, take more control over shot blocking to own the paint. Freestyle Air elevates NBA Live 2005 above the rim in the all-new NBA All-Star Weekend mode by allowing users to take complete control and create jaw-dropping, customized dunks in the Slam Dunk Contest. With thousands of unique dunk scenarios?from bouncing the ball off the backboard, to jumping from the free throw line, to going between your legs in mid flight?Freestyle Air lets you express your game on the court, and above it. Also featuring the 3-Point Shootout, the Rookie Challenge, and the NBA All-Star Game, All-Star Weekend is available as a stand-alone game mode as well as within Dynasty Mode. Be the architect of your own unstoppable dynasty, and watch your franchise flourish for 25 seasons. Jump into games with simulation intervention and use the customizable PDA to stay updated with important league news, team information, and other announcements. New free agency logic allows users to negotiate contracts and manage the salary cap using real dollars for the first time. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 90
    EA did their homework and pulled together a solid basketball game this year. There isn't much to complain about in NBA Live 2005. And with the addition of the Slam Dunk Contest, the replay value is huge.
  2. 89
    In one year, Live has really transformed its 5-on-5 game into more of a sim without losing the fun and flash of previous seasons, Dynasty mode has been revamped completely, and the AI across the board, from the trade scenarios to how players behave on the court, is far superior to any basketball game EA Canada has ever put out.
  3. 70
    Improved graphics, a deeper dynasty mode, and an All-Star weekend simulator that's genuinely fun to play.